Customer Reviews for 1997_Lincoln_Town Car

1997_Lincoln_Town Car

Average Customer Rating:
5 of 5
5
 of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1997_Lincoln_Town Car
Review 1 for 1997_Lincoln_Town Car
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Modern Classic

May 2, 2012
By No Pain Wayne
from Iowa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I said for years if I could find a good '97 TC I would buy it. IMOH the styling went way south with the '98. Picked up my Silver Signature Edition TC with 64K miles on it in Florida one year ago. Didn't realize it was the touring model until I got home (16" wheels, large anti-sway bars front & rear, dual exhaust). Superb comfort, good fuel economy, classic styling for less than a used Cavalier. I've put 15K miles on it and hope to run it many, many more."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1997_Lincoln_Town Car
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car ever

February 27, 2012
By Selling man
from New Orleans
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is our third Towncar, our second 97 towncar. It's big and comfortable and gets over 25mpg on the highway. I have been a salesperson for 42 yeaqrs and have driven dozens of cars many, many miles. The 97 Towncar is, in my opinion, the best car ever made."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1997_Lincoln_Town Car
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value, great ride

October 20, 2011
By roadrunner1
from Tulsa, OK
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My 97 Town Car now has 206,000 miles on it and I'm the second owner. When I purchased it 8 years ago, it had only 47,000 miles on it and I never thought I would ever drive a car as long as I have driven this one. It owes me nothing, continues to perform nearly as well as it did when I got it and the needed repair work over the years has been very minor compared to almost any other car I have owned in my 71 years. Not only is the air ride rear suspension a delight to ride on, but the fuel mileage using the recommended low octane fuel rivals a lot of much smaller cars being sold new today with an easy 25 mpg highway.
I had considered selling or trading this car several times over the years, but it's difficult to give up a machine like this one that never gives me any trouble and costs so little to maintain. Like any car, it requires some needed repairs from time to time, but if it is well maintained, oil changed with Mobil 1 on a regular basis without fail, etc., this is a car you can depend on year after year after year. A year ago I took it on a 1,500 mile road trip and had no trouble with it. Consumer Reports lists this car as one of the most reliable ever made and due to the fact that Town Cars have huge depreciation from new, buying a used one is one of the best bargains out there today. If I have to replace it at some point in the future, it will be with another Town Car.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1997_Lincoln_Town Car
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Looking for second 1997 Lincoln Town Car

February 13, 2011
By PGAPRO
from North Port, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased present 1997 TC with 54,000 miles in 2004. Car now has 205,000 miles. I am looking for second TC. Plan to drive the second TC 200,000+ miles. Take my present TC to Indiana and only drive during summer. The (new)second, plan to drive it this summer west through Montana, Texas, Indiana and back to Florida.
Only minor repairs and able to get used replacement parts. At 190,000 air suspension went out and replaced with springs. I have spent less than $3,300 for major repairs. Replaced radio control for $50 and heat/ac for $300. Awesome car! Ford make another model this good
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1997_Lincoln_Town Car
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Small Limo

November 25, 2010
By the 11 year old kid that knows to much about cars
from Hawthorn Woods, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
""This car is like a mini limo. It is the last of its kind the sharp and pointy look after that came the rounded look. Even though this car is used for just getting around it also has many transporting skills. This car also still runs so strong after many years and will keep running strong for years to go on!""
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1997_Lincoln_Town Car
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car I've Owned

October 28, 2010
By Tall One
from Mason, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my '97 TC Signature Edition! I bought it (for a great price, I might add) with 71,000 miles on it and I am still driving it with over 163,000! It's extremely comfortable, basically a living room on wheels and the many power gadgets still work great! There's lots of room for our two car seats and the enormous trunk is great for all the kids stuff when we travel. Other than typical maintenance and few sensors, then biggest repair I've done was replace the intake manifold at 153,000, which I knew was common on the 4.6 V8. I was surprised at how much power it has given the weight of the vehicle and only having 210hp, but the torque helps. It gets good gas mileage at close to 20 mpg. on average and 24-25 mpg. on the hwy (I don't baby it either). These are great vehicles for great price!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1997_Lincoln_Town Car
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OLD RELIABLE

February 27, 2010
By Bob the designer
from Wichita, Kansas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"The 1997 Lincoln Town Car Signature model is the best car I have ever owned, and I have owned over 50 cars. I bought it for $3000.00 because it had high mileage of 151,000 miles. I have now owned it for 2 1/2 years. So far, I have bought 4 used tires with good tread left for $40.00 at a garage sale. Other than that, I have not spent one penny on anything except regular oil changes. It always starts, rides quietly and serene, has an enormous trunk, each and every one of the electronic doo-hickeys work perfectly, gets great gas mileage with 19 mpg all around, and 25.3 on a 1,200 mile trip. I have never heard of a car that was more dependable than my Lincoln. Oh...I forgot to mention. I did spend $39.99 plus freight for the stainless steel wheel well trim that is standard on the Cartier model. I don't think they make cars any better today, when reliability is considered."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1997_Lincoln_Town Car
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car I've ever had

September 6, 2009
By Cartier Owner
from Denham Springs, LA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I was fortunate to purchase my '97 Town Car Cartier edition for a very reasonable price in Oct. 2008. It is very roomy, comfortable and relaible. Gas mileage is reasonable since it is not used over 500 miles per week. My husband has a spinal cord disease which causes him a great deal of pain, and the Town Car is excellent for him because is allows him to ride comfortably. The muli-function buttons on the steering wheel are very handy. It allows me to keep my eyes focused on the road. Six passenger seating in a sedan is hard to come by in newer cars. The Town Car does not disappoint, and the style is still outstanding."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1997_Lincoln_Town Car
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car I have ever driven

June 4, 2009
By Sonny
from Anchorage, Alaska
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"I have owned two Town Cars- a 1993 Signature and a 1997 Cartier. I would still be driving the 93 if it had not been totaled by a drunk driver. The Cartier is noting but pure comfort and power. I have driven the Cartier for 10 years now and really wish that Lincoln would go back to this design. The last of the great American luxury cars."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1997_Lincoln_Town Car
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Looking for another

November 8, 2008
By Happy In Texas
from Central Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"I have owned two. Both used and loved them both. One got an honest 27 MPG on the road. The other only 24! 16+ in town. Much better than SUV's and so roomy and comortable and quiet. Didn't have serious problems with either, but found someone who wanted them more than I did! Now, I want a third, before they are just too old to be reliable. I have considered a little newer T/C but haven't found one that is as quiet as the 97's. I also owned a '91 that I loved, but it was a money pit -- unlike the 97's. My biggest grip was no in dash CD player. One had it in the trunk, but was a chore to change CD's. That being said, it will NOT keep me from finding one more cream puff!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Having fun
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1997_Lincoln_Town Car
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Comfort, Luxury, and Power

February 2, 2008
By Pilot
from Ocean Springs, MS
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car is all about comfort. I often say it is like driving around on my living room couch. It has an eight-cylinder engine that responds to the request for acceleration and speed. I love the digital dash; wish my other car had it. The mileage is not bad either; I get about 22 miles to the gallon. All in all, if you find one of these that has been kept up, you should seriously consider owning it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1997_Lincoln_Town Car
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super Car

December 1, 2007
By Billy Boy
from Hampton, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have owned this vehicle and driven it for over 100,000 miles. Purchased it used from a dealer. 24 - 25 mpg on the road is a reality. Do not know of a vehicle that rides as good. Have purchased other used TCs in the meantime - 3@'96 Models - and still am driving my '97 with 139,000+ miles.
Saves on personal property taxes by having two used older model TCs. Finally had a breakdown about 5 weeks ago - cost me $800 for an intake manifold replacement. Not bad for some 5 years or so.
Wish they still made the '97 body style, but will not stand in the way of improvement.
Enjoy the day
Bill
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1997_Lincoln_Town Car
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most comfortable of the Lincoln

November 11, 2007
By Maximum Comfort Seeker
from Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"More comfortable, by far, than the third generation Town Car which replaced this body style. Outstanding economy (25+ on the highway) with a level of comfort that is unsurpassed."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1997_Lincoln_Town Car
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i do own 2, traded in one

April 1, 2007
By limolady
from daytona florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I used to have a limousine service in NJ, Route 78was my main drag. I drove my first 1997 Towncar for 213 000 miles on mostly that highway. I now live in Florida, where people do not drive, they take the car out for a walk!!!!!!! But my new (used) 97 Towncar is performing perfectly. I love those cars."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.