Customer Reviews for 1998_Honda_Accord

1998_Honda_Accord

Average Customer Rating:
4.364 of 5
4.4
 of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 of 22(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1998_Honda_Accord
Review 1 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car

November 21, 2014
By Young adult lookin for a truck
from Providence, RI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car has been in my family since 2001, my dad bought it used and then handed it down to me. Car has over 260000 miles on it as it drove from Rhode Island to Boston everyday for over 12 years. Car is fantastic, only issue is the timing belt went late last year and since then there have been a slew of issues but you can attribute that to the car having over 260 k on her. Shes still peppy and gets going quick sometimes it shifts a little later than it should but still runs fairly well. With ease it could be doing a lot better had she been maintenance better (or at all) but 260k+ with little money into it and no maintenance by far an excellent machine."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best car i owned...

November 13, 2011
By Samuel
from Detroit, MI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is my first Honda Accord, with 130K miles on it and had automatic transmission - I love that car. This 1998 Honda Accord I bought used with 23K miles on it, its the V-4, automatic 4 door Sedan with all the toys (leather, spoiler, power seats, etc.,). Worked like a dream. In the future, if I ever purchase another Honda car I will be sure it's a Automatic transmission. ,Whatever i describe is too less........."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Okay, but transmission troublsome 42K 08 EX-L V6

August 30, 2011
By Sporty Family Guy
from Dallas, Tx
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"First, I love the interior. The layout, the color, (black leather), the center console with the radio dial etc is all very attractive.
The engine is very smooth, and has no problems as far as I can tell. I get ~21mph, and the oil change interval is very long, in fact I decided to change the oil when the indicator showed 30% because it had already been 6K miles... I don't trust the oil life sensor.
Lots of squeaks and rattles, LOTS. Very frustrating. the rear deck rattles with every bump, the shifter console squeaks if you even look at it, and generally the plastic seems very cheap, heck they even used hard plastic on the majority of the upper dash, shame on honda-very tacky.
the suspension seems to be a bit too squishy, and the pickup seems a bit slow considereing its horsepower until you find out that this thing weighs almost 2 tons! AND you really cant' carry more than a total of 4 people even though there are "5" seats because if you do, you exceed the vehicles load capacity! Seriously! (not sure if this is the same for all cars though)
The transmission is terrible, shudders from second to third, slow from third to fourth, Hard downshift from 5th.
I regret buying it, but I still really like the interior styling and ride, just wish the quality problems weren't there.
Take away: Buy a Maxima instead. (unless you need the rear seat to fold down like I did)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Car

May 4, 2011
By Accord Driver
from Highlands Ranch, CO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is my second Honda Accord. My first was a 94 LX Sedan. That car was amazing and had 259,600 miles on it the day I got into an accident. My mom and dad had bought that car for me a month before I received my license and I ended up driving that car 5,000 miles last summer! This is a great car, still a 4-cylinder like my previous one. And don't get me wrong I love it, but, the transmission is starting to slip and being 17 I don't exactly have 4 grand for a new tranny! I love the leather and the sunroof which are serious upgrades to the old one. And this car only has 162,678 miles on it as of today! I bought it with 157,500 on it and the tranny was slipping even then back in November. If Honda had put in a better tranny I would maybe give the car more credit than I have. Oh and not to mention the fact that i have been getting 19.8 miles to the gallon COMBINED city and highway!!!!!!! The car is supossed to get 23 in the city and I drive very conservatively most of the time! And the car seems to lag at times when pick up is really needed, then VTEC (variable valve timing) and the car gets a sudden boost!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We love our Hondas

March 14, 2011
By Stephanie
from MI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My husband had Hondas before we met & we have had many since we've gotten married. His family has also had many Hondas, especially the Accords.
Anyway we have the V8, which is pretty rare from what I understand. I LOVE the pep the engine gives. I'm not a speed demon until I get behind the wheel of this vehicle. It definately responds well. We've had this vehicle for about 2 years now and haven't had any major issues w/ it. I think we've done the typical maintenance things w/ it, replaced some brakes, and maybe some bearings (we live off a dirt road). Out of all the Hondas I've driven/owned over the years this one is my fav! The comfort of the seats is typical of a Honda... not very comfortable. The sun roof and leather seats are a nice bonus. Hubby drives a long commute w/ this vehicle and raves about the great gas mileage it gets. We typically take this one w/ us on a long trip because of the savings. It has a huge trunk which is great for anything you'd want when you have kiddos w/ you. One issue... which I've found w/ almost every vehicle.... you can't put a rear facing infant seat behind the driver. It's fine for me because I'm shorter, but hubby needs the seat as far back as it will go.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Car (with an asterisk)

November 7, 2010
By Honda Lover*
from Oklahoma
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I had my 98 Honda Accord EX V6 for 8 years and had only one major problem - replaced the alternator. That is until my transmission started slipping & jerking, and then I found out that certain years of Accords had high transmission failures. Well I couldn't afford a $4k trans replacement, so I traded it in. I already miss that old car, it was really a great car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

1998 Honda Accord Ex Sedan. Transmission Problem.

May 12, 2010
By Ed
from Hackensack, NJ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this car brand new in 1998. Kept up with all the scheduled maintenance. Engine light came on at 80,000 miles, catalytic converter had to be replaced, cost over $800. Summer of 2005 the trans failed at about 134,000 miles. Took it to the Dealer, and the service guy referred me to a transmission place to rebuild the trans. They rebuilt the tran, cost $3200, gave me 15000 mile or a year warranty, car felt great, drove like a new car. 5 months later, trans started slipping. Took it back to the shop, by this time the 15,000 mile warranty had ran out. The guy claimed he replaced sensors, charged me again, $180, and said he needs to open the tran again, because it's still not shifting right, and would charge me again to correct the problem. I told him no, he said the car won't last 9 months. I'm Still having the same problem 5 yrs later at 217,000 miles. Check engine light came on at 197000, replaced oxgen sensor to correct the problem. Cost $119. Replaced starter at 210,000 miles, cost $150. Replaced the radiator at 203,000. Replaced wheel bearings about 4 years ago. Other than the transmission issues, this car is great. I wish i had purchased a stick shift back in 1998 instead of the automatic. Contacted honda of america and they said my vin number was not one of the many cars with the know transmission problems for these honda accords. I think honda should replace this transmission for free, but that will never happen."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You'll never go wrong with a Honda.

May 1, 2010
By Jeff
from Nashville, TN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have driven a lot of cars, and this one really stand out when it comes to comfort and handling. Mine is the V6 and it's very strong and smooth. I'll most likely buy another one down the road."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PERFECT USE CAR

March 12, 2010
By ACCORD-23
from QUEENS
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"THE BEST CAR TO PEOPLE W/O MONEY JUST NEED GAS AND CHANGER OIL EVERYTHING GOOD UNTIL SOMEBODY CRASH MY CAR FOR THE BACK"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Honda's Are Worth It

September 29, 2009
By Honda All the Way
from St Paul, MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My parents bought me my '98 Accord EX and I have loved every mile. A week or so ago, then transmission finally went on the car and it's the only problem I've ever had, and it now has 140K miles on it.
I was the third owner of the car and it has been an amazing machine. I can't afford a new transmission in the car and will definitely shed a tear when I have to say good bye to my baby after six years.
I suppose it's never easy to part with your first car, especially when your first car is this awesome."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best used car on the planet!!

December 7, 2008
By Luke
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my Honda(s).. all I will ever buy. This 1998 Accord LX has been excellent for 10-years and shows no sign of letting up. If maintained properly Honda's will run for 300-400 thousand miles. I have pushed one to 200K and have friends that have as well."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car

November 29, 2008
By Shane
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this car with around 150k miles on it. Its run great ever since! Its very obvious the last owner did not keep up with it which is the only reason for most of its problems. It now has 185k miles and had started having overheating problems. I replaced the radiator and a couple hoses had busted due to wear and tear. This car works great and you can definitely feel the engine is better compared to other 4 cylinders. This car will most likely last us up to 250k at the rate its going!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent used car option

July 11, 2008
By Long time Honda Fan
from eastern PA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 98 LX used (but it was well maintained) with over 100K mi on it as a car for my soon-to-be driving son. Reliable, 4-cyl, air bag. I now have 166K on it and runs like a sewing machine, and very little maintenance. With aftermarket intake, header, and exhaust, I regulary do 300 miles per day and get 32mpg at 75mph, run it to redline, and autocross it. 5 speed allows it to be nimble, quick, and fruggle. Comfortable for 4.
Only negatives: Not great in the snow, and I should have got the EX in order to get rear disc brakes and ABS.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Engine Light problem!

January 27, 2008
By Everyday driver
from Chicago, Il
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The car drives well and in most respects the vehicle is good. However, when it comes to emission controls this vehicle fails miserably. I have been trying for years to get a correct diagnostic on my vehicle for the OBD check engine light, but have yet to find out what the problem may be. It becomes a problem years down the road and after reading other experiences I've noticed that I am not the only one who is having this problem. Even more it gets worse as you continue to hold on to the vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVE THIS CAR

January 15, 2008
By LODYLO_2007
from LANSING, KS
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"THIS IS THE BEST CAR I EVER HAD. IM ONLY 19 BUT IVE HAD 2 OTHER CARS BEFORE AND NEITHER OF THEM WAS AS RELIABLE AS MY ACCORD. THE EXTERIOR IS GOOD THE APPEARANCE IS A REFRESHMENT IN THE MORNING. EVEN THOUGH IT JUST TURNED 10yrs OLD THE CAR IS STILL IN STYLE AND I WOULD RECOMMEND IT AS A GOOD CAR FOR A TEENAGER."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"The Best Car I've Ever Owned & Driven"

December 12, 2007
By Honda Lover
from Ahoskie, NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car is the best I've ever owned & I recently bought a 2008 EX-V6 as well. They are both good performers, this car has excellent performance & ride. The transmission & engine are very attentive to throttle response!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

It was a great car until the transmission blew

December 11, 2007
By Former Honda and Acura Fan
from Atlanta, GA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"My transmission went out under 50,000 miles on my 98 Honda Accord. Less than 3 years later, I began to have the same problems with the replacement transmission. This apparently is not an uncommon problem in used Honda Accords. This same problem occured in my sister in law's 2001 Honda Accord. Do your research before you buy or make sure the transmission is under warranty."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Of Any Price Class!

October 23, 2007
By Sarge
from Southern California
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Over the 10 years (purchased 'used' in 1998 w/2,900 miles) I've owned this vehicle, it's rewarded me with unmatched reliability, durability, engineering features, comfort, and pure pleasure. The 3-Liter VTec V6 is the only choice - great performance, excellent fuel economy and this engine is as smooth as a calm lake. The vehicle came completley loaded with options - and they all perform as new today with no repairs. The best point is that Accords reward you with excellent resale value once you've decided to 'move on' to another (and it'll be a n Accord!). In 170,000 miles, I've spent less than $2,500 in maintenance/upkeep/repair (including tires, barkes, oil changes, etc.) and consider this a raging bargain! How many, regardless of nameplate or pice grouping, can match that?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

192K after 9 yrs and still going strong

July 10, 2007
By Lady Driver
from Afton, VA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. No major problems in 192K miles highway and country driving."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1998_Honda_Accord
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Fifth and BEST car yet

May 26, 2007
By New Honda Lover
from Colorado
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Driving the vehicle will show you that it's worth the money. Smooth ride, especially on the highway and especially if you have VTEC. Has been reliable 9 years later and starts everytime, even in the winter. The body style is definitely an eye catcher and will not be fading away in the next 5 years. The truck space is extremely sufficient, especially for being a coupe. Great mileage for the gallon. Clean and quiet engine deserves recognition as well."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.