Customer Reviews for 1998_Toyota_Corolla

1998_Toyota_Corolla

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 of 5
4.7
 of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1998_Toyota_Corolla
Review 1 for 1998_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very very reliable car

July 7, 2014
By Denise
from Los Angeles
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I think the most important feature of this car is that it is very reliable. I did the regular maintenance and in the 10 years that I have owned it, it NEVER caused any problems on the road. Not once, I had to call AAA. Considering its age, you would think it doesn't do well in high speeds, but you feel secure. (granted, I never tried to go over 75 mph.) I think I can use this car for ten more years without big problems. My model is CE, and I wish I had automatic doors and windows. The AC works really well. In a few seconds you get the cold air if it's too hot outside. But my main concern has always been reliability and performance. In both grounds, this car is excellent."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1998_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I love this car

November 28, 2013
By B-Fat
from Clinton Iowa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my first car and well it is just amazing. I cant see myself in anything else... this car has great turning I have put almost 5000 miles on it since i bought it about a month ago. I couldnt ask for anything better. though when i got it the cd player didnt work and the rear passenger window doesnt roll down. I am having a problem with the center console like i have read in other reviews. the rear cupholder is broken as well... but other then those flaws i would definitely get this car. it is a great car for going and doing really anything...."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1998_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An bland appliance of a car

February 3, 2013
By tyler500e
from Kansas City, KS
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The corolla is a car for people who don't care about driving a fun vehicle. I have 1998 Corolla and have had it for 9 years and I have put over 100,000 miles on it, and it now has over 170,000 miles. The car has never had any serious problems and has been 99% reliable.
It does burn oil now though. Also the interior is CHEAP. Seriously, the interior bits are VERY CHEAP. Plastic trim and parts have broken, peeled off , and become very disfunctional.
The door handles on the inside and outside of the front doors have broken multiple times. The mechanism in the front passenger door broke, rendering the door useless. The center console hinge has broken multiple times. The cup holder tray gets stuck and doesn't work more than it does work. The rear cup holder plastic has broken.
The suspension has always been too soft, and the car has so much body roll when turning/cornering, you would think you're driving a van.
I've been in the market for a new car, and even a lot of the new toyotas seem to have cheap plastic-y interiors and too soft suspension with excessive body roll in corners.
This corolla has been mechanically reliable, and that is it. Just about everything inside the cabin of the car has broken at one time or another. The car get's decent gas mileage.
If you are looking for a cheap car to get good gas mileage, but aren't looking for a fun or comfortable car, then I would suggest an entry level toyota like the corolla or camry.
It has got the job done, but I will not be buying another toyota."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1998_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliable, Great mpg, very economic! Handles well!!

October 16, 2012
By Josh
from Coaldale, PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Received this car as a gift, and it runs really well. It handles very smoothly, in rain, snow, or sleet. The visuals are lacking to a minor degree, however, the functionality makes up for it in strides. As long as it is maintained you should have no issues whatsoever!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1998_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

98 corolla

September 25, 2012
By rg
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this is a fantastic car if you dont want to spend money on gas or parts. i bought mine with 115,xxx miles on it and now have 174,xxx miles with now issues with it. i estimate the shocks and struts will need to be done by the time 200,000 miles comes around but thats to be expected in most vehicles (especially in new "pot hole" jersey). parts and labor to repair this car (if you ever have to) is very cheap and easy to work on. i have gotten up to 44mpg in this car many times. i average about 35 and the tank is cheap to fill. the crash test rating on this car are also fantastic especially considering its not the biggest thing on the road. also note the tires for this car are very cheap, it takes 185/65/r14 tires. i get ultra high performance tires for $62 each on tire rack.com. just something to keep in mind if its a commuter car like mine is tires go faster than you thing. the 1.8 isnt underpowered but certainly doesnt have and excess of horse power but it gets you from point A to B without an issue."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1998_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good car

March 25, 2012
By John
from Philadelphia, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"first i had 2001 nissan sentra auto, then 99 solara auto, and decided to buy a stick shift, and got this car, this car is the best so far, plus its a stick shift, I like how you leave all those bmw's tl's n all that stuff behind when u move it from its place, very very easy to do manuevers and it is very reliable, and cheap to maintain, good for college students"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1998_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great First Car

February 1, 2012
By jamielee
from New Jersey
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought our 1998 Corolla used for my 17 year old - it's a great first car. It was easy to handle and reliable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1998_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Car for the Buck!

March 15, 2010
By Used Car Rookie
from Bronx, NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I needed a good used car but was inexperienced and naive about cars and dealerships.
I researched for months and went to many dealerships and just took in what they did and what they said. I also asked everyone I know, questions on how to buy a good used car and what to expect.
I used Cars.com to view prices, because I wanted to be in know about what each one cost according to their year and mileage.
I am happy to say, my research and using Cars.com paid off. I purchased a 1998 Toyota Corolla in excellent condition and at a great price. I am now finally relaxed and pleased! Everyday I love getting in my car (which I did fix up with some modern accessories) and enjoying the ride."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1998_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My First Car

November 27, 2009
By Corolla Driver
from Boston, MA
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the first car I've owned, my dad gave it to me in 2005 with about 70,000 miles on it. It now has 129,0000 miles on it and still runs fine. During the time that I've owned it has been very reliable with only a few minor problems and it's been a real gas saver. My only complaint is that it is a very small compact car with little leg room. If you're looking for a reliable car thats good on gas get this car, if you're looking for a big comfortable car to drive with a lot of people in it, don't get this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1998_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliable and Dependable and will miss it!

July 24, 2009
By Love My Car
from Wausau, WI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great economical little car. A blast to drive and get around in! Perfect car for the student. Comfortable and great gas milage - averages 30 to 34 miles per gallon."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1998_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good car

June 25, 2009
By Owner
from Oklahoma City, OK
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Consistently get good gas mileage. Runs quite and cool. Style is not as great as it could be, but you can't beat the reliability and the gas mileage for the money."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1998_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this car - handles well and very reliable

March 26, 2008
By Toyota owner
from Guilford, CT
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This was my first new car. It was wonderful. I never had to worry about it breaking down. The only problems I had were routine maintenance. It hugs the curves and is fun to drive. The steering is very responsive. It does not have the HP of fast cars, but this car can move. The GAS mileage was perfect. I sometimes got 40mph opn long trips. The 10 gallon tank is more like 11.5 and runs forever. I loved this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1998_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Best Car I've Owned 'Til Now

June 19, 2007
By MsIrisM
from Oklahoma City area
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My car is 9 years old, made in November 1997, bought in July 1998 with just under 10,000 miles on it, now has 123,000 miles on it. Up until this year I have not had to take it in for silly, inconvenient, costly repairs. Since 2007 started, I have had to replace the inside door handle (which I did myself for under $10), a new starter (which after eight years is pretty darn good service) and a ball joint went bad on one of my front wheels. I will never need to put a timing belt in it because it and all subsequent Corollas have a chain. I've always just turned the key and it fired right up, it cranks a little bit more these days, but after all the original Japanese plugs are still in it. Hail has damaged the exterior, but it's still a handsome car with it's Sanddrift Metallic finish and black trim.This car, the eighth generation, is better looking than the current generation, and I'm going to hate to give it up when it's finally time to do so."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1998_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nothing to fix until 65,000 miles

May 6, 2007
By "Don't Want to Deal With Car Issues" Irene
from San Francisco, CA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car is not only the most reliable car on the road, it runs forever! With all recommended maintenance, my Corolla LE didn't need anything done to it until I hit 65,000 miles. And then it was just a new little plastic air vent in the front."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1998_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Reliable, good gas, price and comfort!!

March 8, 2007
By Love Toyota Corollas
from MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the best car I've ever owned. Mine was totalled out, (because I was rear ended). I'm renting a 2007 (non-Toyota) vehicle, but all I can think of is having my wonderful 98 Toyota back! It handles much better and is much more comfortable. Whatever year a Toyota Corolla is; they just seem to be nicer than most new or used cars!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.