Customer Reviews for 1998_Cadillac_DeVille

1998_Cadillac_DeVille

Average Customer Rating:
4.769 of 5
4.8
 of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1998_Cadillac_DeVille
Review 1 for 1998_Cadillac_DeVille
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great classic ride!

April 11, 2013
By catwoman0129
from Dowagiac MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I had been looking for another Deville for a while after having owned a 1995 about 5 years ago. Regrettably, that model year was susceptible to cracks in the aluminum motor mounts, and we discovered a problem with over-heating the first time we found ourselves driving in the mountains. Knowing we could not in good conscience try to re-sell the vehicle (we had obtained it in a personal vehicle trade), we traded it in during the Cash for Clunkers promotion. But I always wanted another one....without, of course, the motor mount problem. Assured that problem had been solved in later years' production, I found a beautiful one-owner 1998 at an area dealer. I didn't "need" another car, but I wanted the convenience of being able to listen to my audiobooks on cassette or CD's. Since they don't put both audio options in vehicles anymore, I guess you could say I bought the most expensive cassette player on the market! But I also got a great car with a luxurious, comfortable ride and great mileage for a "boat." It actually gets better mileage than my 2009 Toyota Venza!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1998_Cadillac_DeVille
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pure Joy

February 10, 2013
By lwh1959
from Chandler, Tx.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car, by far, is the most enjoyable car I have driven. I was lucky enough to be at the right place at the right time, just when a person traded this Caddy in on another car. I have had to replace only the battery, and wiper blades, and a small leaking hose. The car had 96,000 on it and it has 103,000 now. It gets extremely good gas mileage, I have just now begin to have an A/C leakage problem. The controls on the steering wheel are a BLESSING, as I dont like to look down, while I'm driving to adjust the radio, or turn it up, nor adjust the A/C or heat. It can all be done on the steering wheel. The ride is excellent, and performance is out of this world considering the size and weight of the car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1998_Cadillac_DeVille
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very riliable

January 23, 2012
By greg
from saco,maine
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"best ride i have ever purchased.car is just like new with only 42,000 miles.you don,t feel the bumps and in maine that is very hard to achieve."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1998_Cadillac_DeVille
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

caddy mechanic

December 29, 2010
By caddy fan
from stroudsburg pa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"always loved this generation deville. the only thing hurting these cars is the northstar headgasket problems. if it wasnt for that these cars would be the best in the world in my book, since when the motors are running properly the cars are a joy to drive. but. the northstars of this generation and the one after it all accumulate a blown head gasket at atleast 130.000 miles. i would never buy or own one with over 80,000-85000 miles, since at that point they are basicly a ticking time bomb. this problem can be a 1800-2500 dollar repair, and your replacing one hilage milage northstar engine with another middle-high milage northstar, wich will eventually due the same as the first did."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1998_Cadillac_DeVille
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Great Car

January 6, 2009
By Mr. Blonde
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I received my 1998 Deville when my grandparents passed away and it only had 22,000 miles on it. Everything worked and it road on a cloud of comfort. It is quite large tho, its as big as a yacht, but the Northstar V8 as enough power to pull and and then some. The acceleration is very good, but the handling is no Lotus..obviously. The problems that kept on coming up was electronic problems with the windows. These little gremlins came up quite a few times. But in all, it is a really good car to own."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1998_Cadillac_DeVille
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Car

November 6, 2008
By Car Expert
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My dad bought this car in 2005 and I love it. After I messed up my car, my dad went out and bought a seville and let me drive this car full time. The handleing and braking power has saved me from numerous accedents and it is a very smooth car to ride in."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1998_Cadillac_DeVille
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A ROLLING EXECUTIVE CHAIR !

March 4, 2008
By JP
from FLORENCE, KENTUCKY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 1998 Cadillac Fleetwood Limited is an unusual car from many standpoints. Cadillac "outsourced" the construction of their Flagship sedan to Superior Coach Company (a division of Accubuilt) in Lima, Ohio. Superior, took a normal 1998 Cadillac deVille, stretched it 12"), and made a luxury cruiser worthy of royalty.
The Fleetwood Limited is powered by Cadillac's standard 4.6 litre, 275 horsepower Northstar V-8 engine coupled with front-wheel drive, anti-lock brakes, magnasteer and traction control.
For a price that was substantial for an American-made luxury car ($52,000), you got all the amenities you'd expect in a formal luxury sedan, including the usual Cadillac luxuries of power windows, door locks, lengthened and strengthened chassis (119.8 inch wheelbase, overall length of 221.8 inches, with a trunk capacity of 23.5 cubic feet), full tuxedo grain vinyl top, rear seat reading lamp, cellular telephone installed in the center driver's armrest, nuance leather seating areas in black, automatic dimming compass rear-view mirror, heated front seats, rear wheel well fender skirts, dual air bags, front side air bags, Zebrano wood interior trim, power rear view mirrors, power antenna, digital climate control, cruise control, adjustable tilt steering wheel, rear defroster, and other upgraded components. The Fleetwood Limited package added $6,630 to the price of a Cadillac deVille.
I have further customized the car with an E&G Custom Chrome Grille, all "new" style Cadillac emblems, New Simulated top, New Moonroof (SUV size), 2008 Fender Engine "ports" (cut-out fenders and installed), and other items, etc.
To say that the 1998 Fleetwood Limited is rare is an understatement.
If you are NOT driving a Fleetwood you are NOT driving a True Cadillac !!
Mine is a Triple black beauty. Black Paint, Black Top, Black interior.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1998_Cadillac_DeVille
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If Ain't a Cadillac, Don't Drive It

June 14, 2007
By Only a Caddy Driver
from Tallahassee, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This car has been great since day one. The Northstar engine is great and provides plenty of power especially with highway driving. The A/C gets cool very quickly (a plus in the Florida heat), and the 12 disc cd changer makes for enjoyable road trips to Miami from the panhandle. One problem with a ground wire breaking and the air suspension compressor going out, but the repairs didn't spoil the joy of the car.
And about 26 mpg on the highway at 75mph ain't too bad for a car this size!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1998_Cadillac_DeVille
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Worse Caddy out 3.

February 13, 2007
By bizness
from Kentucky
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I've owned three Caddy's and this has to be the most disappointing. Several problems with electrical, radiator, HVAC, starting problems and on and on. Very nice to look at and does turn heads and draws compliments often. They have lost a loyal customer. I am buying foreign."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1998_Cadillac_DeVille
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great vehicle, been in the family since new.

January 14, 2007
By Joe
from MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent Car, one of the best I ever purchased, very reliable, good performance and great ride. This vehicle has beeen in my family since new and has always provided reliable transportation."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1998_Cadillac_DeVille
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pure Luxury

December 19, 2006
By Retired Traveller
from Seattle, WA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We have owned our DeVille for 5 years. We have driven it all over the country and have never had a problem!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1998_Cadillac_DeVille
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

full sized luxury at a reasoable price.

December 13, 2006
By Retired and loving it
from Somerset, NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Extras you'll love: power, memory, heated leather seats.dual zone auto temp control.
Rear windows that lower completly.
Great audio system.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1998_Cadillac_DeVille
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good mileage for heavy car

September 13, 2006
By Gammy
from Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I only drive heavier vehicles because of highway traffic safety statistics which highly correlate with vehicle weight..better chance of survival in collision and fewer injuries. This car gets excellent gasoline mileage despite it's weight. Lots of room and very comfortable on long trips. No major problems. Love the ability to check vehicle functioning on the Information panel."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.