Customer Reviews for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee

1999_Jeep_Cherokee

Average Customer Rating:
4.71 of 5
4.7
 of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 of 31(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Review 1 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Its a shame jeeps still aren't built this way.

November 10, 2008
By Colin
from Springfield
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have researched this vehicle extensively since I have owned it. If you can find a Jeep Cherokee(xj) that has been well cared for BUY IT!!! Mine has the 4.0L high output bulletproof engine paired with the extra durable AW4 transmission. I have about 140,000 miles on mine and I wouldn't hesitate to drive it to California tomorrow. It shows no sign of wear in the way it runs or sounds. The 4x4 system has gotten me out of a lot of tough situations out in the country where I reside. Its a shame that they do not use the 4.0L motor anymore. I am getting ready to graduate college in the next year. I wanted to purchase a new vehicle, but I have decided to look for the same Jeep with less miles, or possibly drop a new factory motor in mine when it dies. I LOVE THIS VEHICLE!!!!!!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Commuting
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great vehicle

August 4, 2014
By jeeper
from Goshen IN.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My 1999 Jeep is the best vehicle I have ever owned !! It has been the most reliable of any car or truck I've had."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Once a Jeep always a Jeep

September 6, 2013
By Jeep Man
from Berlin, NH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It's a Jeep Thing, and only a Jeep owner would understand! It is ashame that Jeep/Chrysler discontinued the Jeep Cherokee.................."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great truck for all ages

September 3, 2012
By Jeepboy
from Wisconsin
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"If your an off-Road enthusiast this is the truck for you!!! Because there is no where that a jeep cherokee can't go!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect First Car

August 19, 2012
By C Jordan
from Tampa, FL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"When I first started getting driving lessons, I was learning by driving my mom's '99 Cherokee Sport. When I finally got to get my permit (which i kept for a couple years) I was able to do a bit more driving especially on the interstate due to where we lived. A few months ago, I bought the Jeep from my parents for my first car. I love my Jeep. The 4.0L is so reliable and can sure take a beating. I've seen several on the internet & other places for sale with 200k+ miles on it! I'd be a little happier if it was a little longer so that i could drive comfortably and not have the seat all the way back. The back doors are a little small but I'm always driving it. For value, you could go out and find one in pretty good shape or around $5k. I'd say that's a pretty good buy but I'm a bit young."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

brother d

August 18, 2012
By brother d
from Moorpark, california
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great condition, new at tires 30" new fender flares, a.c. Fan, plugs, disruptor, wire a/c compressior and more runs strong and perfect
still havevwarranty
o"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my Jeep like family...

June 26, 2012
By effingjen
from Van Nuys, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had a 1987 4WD Jeep with 290k miles that (thanks to an oil slick) I drove into a wall at 60mph. I drove it home from the accident... and it still ran. I gave it to a family member - still running - a couple of years later (and it's STILL running in 2012). When I came into a few bux and needed to purchase another private-party vehicle, I looked for a Jeep - specifically the 4.0L engine. From what I understand 1999 was the last year of the "square" body, and that was what I wanted. I found a 2 door Sport with leather, all the bells and whistles, running boards, etc with 87K miles on it. The engine will last to 300k without complaint, it is SUPER safe, and crazy reliable. I have NEVER had to tow a Jeep... they just keep on going. Although I have had a couple of minor issues with electrical (all the bells and whistles tend to cause issues like that), but I have NO complaints. I am about to come into a large chunk of money and I was looking at new cars (mostly for mpg)... and I just can't help but wish that they still made them like they used to. This thing is a ROCK with a forever-engine... and I cannot see myself buying one of the new plastic models. People who have older Jeeps LOVE their Jeeps... it becomes part of who you are. Whether I keep it or not remains to be seen - but I love it so much that if I do give it up I will require visitation."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Takes Rust to Stop One

April 3, 2012
By Lady Q
from Tonawanda, NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought my Jeep years ago with only one previous owner. He'd taken good care of her, but drove the heck out of it and she was covered in rust. Completely reliable and all repairs were easy.
Most irritating thing, and common for the model, was the rear doors could get stuck easily. If someone tried opening the door when you hit the power lock switch, it would get stuck between and not open. You had to remove the door panel to fix it. Simple, but annoying.
Comfortable, decent mileage, held together really well. Easy to crawl under her to check things out without even having the jack up the Jeep. Good engine.
Finally gave mine up when all the rust started breaking things. Excellent car, lasted me for years and I didn't give her up until nearly 200,000 miles."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1999 Cherokee Limited

December 31, 2011
By Jeep Jr.
from PA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What a great buy for the money. This is the iconic SUV. All of the other's are copies. Some of them are more comfortable and many get better gas milage but for the money none offer a better value.
The Cherokee limited has all of the features of the 97-99 model years considered by Jeep Cherokee enthusiasts to be the best of the breed. It adds the much needed ABS and the great advantage of the NP-242 shift on the fly 4x4 transfer case. You also get the luxury of a full leather interior, heated seats, and an overhead console.
Considering the current price of these capable offroaders and their creature comforts they represent a value hard to beat if you can find one with a resonably low amount of mileage. Anything under 125k is considered just broken in. At the current prices even the relatively poor fuel economy
can be forgiven. If kept in good repair they hold their value very well.
If your looking for a great winter vehicle and don't want to spend a fortune these are great."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wish they still made these... or something similar

December 29, 2011
By PTEP121
from Arlington, VA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought my 99 XJ in 2005 on ebay - took a chance because I was looking for a green 5-speed manual. Never regretted it one bit. I had always had my eye on these for their design, rather compact size, and ruggedness and this hasn't disappointed one bit. If you take care of it you will be rewarded!! It shares a ton of components with the Wrangler but without the soft top and WITH a ton of extra storage for gear, etc. Back seat isn't very comfortable for actual adult human beings, but it folds down completely flat and can haul a TON of stuff back there (or a very happy dog with his head out the window :)). Four wheel drive has been amazing - has yet to let me down in the snow or on the beach. Gas mileage isn't terrible for a rugged suv - I just filled up yesterday and got 17.3mpg in my most recent tank with about 40/60 highway/city driving. Two main issues in its 12 year existence: AC Compressor went in 2008. Acquired the dreaded "Death Wobble" which has been known to plague jeeps, but replaced upper control arms and got new tires and it was gone. Beyond that, with regular maintenance and care this vehicle will last you a long long time. I'll be sad to see it go when the time comes... the jeep is part of the family now :)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my Cherokee

October 24, 2011
By Cherokee Lover
from Indianapolis, IN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I looked at twenty Cherokees before I bought mine. It had 80k miles on it and near mint. I had to have the AC worked on and brakes redone. Now, it is a flawless beast. I love the look of the Cherokee and it is a blast to drive. Can't wait for the snow!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!!!!

September 25, 2011
By thejeepboi
from St. Louis, MO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i love my jeep it has never broke down and its just plain awsome... i wish Jeep still made jeeps like this now there not that reliable anymore"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Greatest Jeeps Ever Built

August 16, 2011
By Jeep Driver
from Dallas, TX
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The XJ or Cherokees are truly the best Jeeps ever built. Especially the 1999 model year. 1999 has the most up-to-date body with the great 4.0l engine WITHOUT the multiple coil ignition (it has a standard distributor) and the flawed casting head (0331 casting number)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best vehicle I have owned

July 22, 2011
By Regretting getting rid of my Jeep, Richmond, VA
from Richmond, VA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife brought the 1999 Jeep Cherokee Sport to the relationship. We used it for several years without ever giving us a problem. When it was no longer needed for daily duty I put larger tires on it and started using it off road for fun on the weekends. It was great on the beach and the most capable stock vehicle I have ever wheeled off road in the mountains. It could be counted on to tackle some rediculous trails and get me home after. The biggest automotive regret I have in my life is getting rid of it. I traded it for a 2005 Grand Cherokee Limited. Most people would find that a much better ride but I never trusted it off road (everything is electronic, not mechanical like in my 99) and it drank gas like nothing else I have ever had. I miss my 99 Cherokee Sport."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my Jeep Cherokee sport Two Door

April 4, 2011
By Guy with a Jeep Cherokee
from Denver, Co
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I own a 1996 Jeep Cherokee Sport two door, and i've owned it for about two years now, ever since i've had my permit. I've loved my Cherokee, its never broken down on me once. I just recently put an exhaust on it, and replaced with a sports clutch. (For Fourwheeling) Plus, the Performance and speed is pretty impressive, mine does 0-60 in 7 seconds. I hope someday that Jeep creates another Cherokee sport. I'm going to buy another Jeep Four door so i can fit more people in it. But other than that.. Jeep Did a great job on the Cherokee."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I want my Jeep back :(

December 22, 2010
By Mom
from cold Tundra of Wisconsin
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently totalled my 99 Jeep Cherokee in a head-on collision. Prior to that, it was the greatest vehicle I have ever owned. I never worried whether it would start, never worried whether it would get my family & me from point A to point B, never worried about a thing! It was so low-maintence....The last hurrah of this awesome vehicle was to save my family's life recently. It it weren't for its sturdy steel frame, I'm certain we wouldn't have walked away from the crash the way we did.
If you are fortunate enough to find a 99 Cherokee for sale-snag it up. If you own one now, don't ever let it go...you will not find a safer, more reliable vehicle. I wish they still made these!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

exactly what I WANTED!

December 21, 2010
By cherokee enthusiastgreat for a 12 year old
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is an excellant jeep for being 12 years old. It is in great physical and asthetic shape and runs---well, like a jeep. The 4.0 inline six is a bear of an engine. One of the best torque producers ever built. Truly bullet proof. Heated seats, power windows, door locks, power front seats (both),heated and power side mirrors. More bells and whistles than I ever thought came on a jeep, AND they all work!
The one major drawback is I have to feed this beast!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

These Engines last forever

October 19, 2010
By Jeep lover
from Chambersburg , PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We have 2 Jeeps with over 200,000 miles on each and they are still running strong. As long as you do your regular maintence these babies last forever."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Long Lasting Reliable Friend

June 13, 2010
By 1999 Jeep Cherokee Classic
from Toms River NJ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I received this vehicle from my father and he had put 150 some thousand miles on it. It is now 2010 and it is still purring along with some minor issues that can be remediable with a few services. The car is now at 260,000 miles and I hope to continue to work this car up until 300 and hopefully further. Very reliable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1999_Jeep_Cherokee
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great value for the money

May 29, 2010
By Wayne
from Vassaboro, Maine
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great value for the money. Excellent winter vehicle. The only problem that I've had to date is the coolant system."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.