Customer Reviews for 1999_Toyota_Corolla

1999_Toyota_Corolla

Average Customer Rating:
4.529 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 of 17(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1999_Toyota_Corolla
Review 1 for 1999_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most Reliable Car Ever

January 3, 2014
By Corolla Owner
from NJ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My 99 has 325K and still going strong. My first spark plug change was at 230K and it finally started sipping oil...about 1qt per 1K. Only work I've done to the car was a valve cover gasket, spark plugs, plug leads, and a cat. Oil change every 3K. I'm averaging 33mpg and I'll drive it till it completely dies. Unfortunately, I've driven the new, '13 and '14, Corollas and they don't seem to stack up. Granted they're new, but I get the feeling that they simply won't last as long as my '99. Sadly I may have to change to a Sentra for my next car. If you can get one of these with 150K or less, go for it, I don't think you could kill this car with anything less than a bulldozer.."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1999_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best and most reliable car I have ever owned!

November 6, 2013
By baby boomer
from Albuquerque, Nerw Mexico
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love the way this car drives! It drives smooth on both city and highway roads. It has a tight steering wheel and responds well to turns. I get about 20 mpg in the city and 28 mpg on the highway. I have 140k miles on my 1999 Camry and with regular maintenance I have not had any major problems. This car is very reliable and I have driven it many times for 2000 miles at a time with no mechanical problems. The seats in front are very comfortable and the trunk has lots of space for miscellaneous items that you may need to stow."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1999_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I've been looking for a car like this for 40 years

February 18, 2013
By frugalista
from Porter, Tx
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently (Oct 2012) bought this car used. When I first starting looking for a reliable, no frills car back in the early 70's, I looked at Corollas but couldn't afford one as a college student. Now I finally found a good 1999 model with only 55,000 miles. If it lasts as long as I hear the Corollas will last, I will be dead before it wears out. Being 13 years old, the car has some interior and exterior cosmetic problems but it is very reliable transportation for getting to work. It has a more comfortable ride than my mom's 2009 Honda Fit. With the manual transmission, I get 35 - 37 mpg in mixed driving. It has adequate power for entering traffic and passing. I would strongly recommend this car to anyone needing basic, reliable, no frills transportation."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1999_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really good car

December 5, 2012
By High schooler
from Reno NV
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my first car I have a LE 4cyl Auto and its a great car. I'm 5'7" and I drive with the seat all the way back however it isn't extremely small except for the back seat. Mine has 153K miles and is still running well they are good cars reliable not powerful but gets to 70-75 easily stereo is good good fuel economy I get about 31 mpg"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1999_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car for the money

June 16, 2011
By Casanova
from Gevena,OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This cars go for ever. I seen them with over 200,000 miles on the eng. and still going. You wont be desopointed at all.. Great buy for the money..!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1999_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

January 1, 2011
By Eluena
from Seattle, WA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car in August, 1999. I take care of it with proper maintenance, etc. I have never had a problem with it. Car is dependable and it's going strong at 136,000 miles. I'm moving and shipping it back to Pacific Islands. I'll stay with Toyota!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1999_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car Ive had

January 31, 2010
By ToYota
from Columbus,OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought mine with 130 miles and it now has 210K and still runs like the day i got it. Unfortuneately we have moved to the country and we have hit 4 deer but car was very protective and easily repaired with no permanant damage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1999_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very very very relaible

September 12, 2009
By amazing car
from nj
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car is AMAZING, very reliable. with 152,500 miles the car is almost new, starts EVERY time no problem at all. The ride is a little harsh but good, and good gas mileage. its a good small car"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1999_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

1999 Corolla

March 29, 2009
By Jay
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very reliable small car. Fuel efficient and easy to work on. Easy to find parts and they are pretty cheap. Rides smooth on the city streets and on the highway."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1999_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value for the Buck

December 14, 2008
By corolla Lover
from north fork,ca
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have had mine for 350001 miles now and have never had the valve cover off,just regular maint.and oil changes every 4 to 5000 miles and lots and lots of commuting ,220 miles a day for four years, plus still doing a hundred a day now and feel like i can still trust it with my daughter driving it to high school next year...Great car and i will buy another one soon..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1999_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty good car

November 22, 2008
By mav
from Southern California
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had this 1999 Corolla CE for a few months now. It was inexpensive to buy and insure. No maintenance costs so far.
It provides a comfortable ride and is less punishing on my spine than my old Civic. Performance is in line with its 120 horses, which is to say it is adequate but far from powerful. It corners without much drama and comes to a stop from speed fairly quickly.
The interior is small, especially for the rear-seat passengers where there is hardly any useful legroom. Controls are simple and placed logically. Trunk space is bigger than expected for a car in this class.
Fuel economy has generally been great. Never sat down and calculated it, but I'm at the gas station so infrequently now and filling the 13 gallon tank is not expensive. I've done rough math in my head and figure to be getting 30 mpg at a minimum in mixed driving.
It's a nice little car. Recommended."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1999_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fuel Sipper, great for transportation.

April 30, 2008
By JKI
from Boston, ma
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Drove it for 70K miles, and over that time I easily averaged 35 MPG, which was awesome because I was a student for every one of those miles. Good for long hauls. Big trunk, but weight on the rear wheels limited what I could carry. Engine noise was a little much, especially on hills. Putting anyone over 5'8" in the back doesn't help make friends either, it can get cramped fast. The car is transportation and little else, no frills or special options. From the aspect of a daily driver and economic choice you cannot go wrong. As any other Toyota, it produced as advertised and I am confident this one could keep going way past the 140K it has now. Those commercials with Corollas with 300K+ miles aren't jokes, there is a reason behind it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1999_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I Love My Corolla!

February 22, 2008
By Travelling Musician
from Van Nuys, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had many used vehicles and this one is by far my favorite. I purchased the car back in 2003 with 42,000 miles on it. I now have 116,000 miles and except for some paint that has been chipping off of the bumper I have not had any problems. It gets fabulous gas mileage. Even during the frigid Northern Ohio winters my car started right up. It has been across the country 5 times with no problems. After this car I will always buy Corollas."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1999_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliable and economical

October 26, 2007
By Toyota fan
from Illinois
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought our car used. The only problems we've had were at 145,000 miles when we had to replace the alternator, and just now, at 149,000, when the front hood latch broke. We don't feel very protected in the car and it's horrible for our child's seat. At highway speeds it's a little noisy. But it's extremely reliable and durable, and it's great in the city -- it can squeeze in any spot. Not really a family car but great for singles and couples."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1999_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Piece O' Junk

June 18, 2007
By 6th time Camry owner
from Salem, Oregon
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We expected this to be a great little car, BUT.. the driver's visor always fell out of the ceiling when deployed, the plastic molding fell off the ceiling over the passenger door, and every time the car was driven, the outside mirrors tilted down until all the driver could see was the asphalt. It took less than an two hours to see the road on both sides and the car didn't have power mirrors. Plus the car rattled like it was ten years old. All of these started happening well within a month of buying the car brand new. We hated the car immensely and resented the payments. However, it got better. A barely 15 year old unlicensed kid tried to beat us across the road and failed, so we T boned him at a skidding 40-50 mph leaving a clear imprint of his back tire in the midddle of the front bumper of the Corolla. The air bags deployed and all five of us walked away and the hated little thing was totaled."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1999_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stands up well to abuse.

August 19, 2006
By Echo_Shell
from Waterloo, ON (Canada); previously Columbus, OH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We have had many Corollas; for instance the last one we had owned was an '86 Corolla DX which passed on after I forgot to do an oil change while long distance commuting. The odometer read over 250K miles. Case in point, we called her, "Good 'Ole Silver".
We bought a '99 Corolla two years ago and have put substantial mileage on it. Back then, the odometer read 165K. It is now 201.7K.
Do the regular maintenance and this car's engine will outlast its frame. It has a very reliable and peppy engine when coupled with a manual transmission.
This automobile will get you where you want to go fast and without putting undue stress on your finances due to it's great gas mileage. When I drove to Ohio from Waterloo, Ontario (Canada), I got 42 miles/gal. It's a great little car when you don't have a lot of money and drive a lot.
It is not the most comfortable car; however, I got for the reliability, low maintenance costs, and high value for the money. For a small family, you can not beat this car. The Honda Civic is a great car; however, it is matched by an equally reliable car at significant cost savings. If you have a choice; buy the Corolla. I have never looked back."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1999_Toyota_Corolla
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review from Anu

May 18, 2006
By Anu
from Chicago
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Tayota Caorolla is a excellent vehicle. It is my first car and i have full satisfaction using it. I would deffinitely recomend to my friends. My friends, who are using it also have the same feeling. It is a proven model from a proven company and good to go for long drives for a sweet cute family."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.