Customer Reviews for 1999_Chevrolet_Suburban

1999_Chevrolet_Suburban

Average Customer Rating:
4.385 of 5
4.4
 of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 13(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1999_Chevrolet_Suburban
Review 1 for 1999_Chevrolet_Suburban
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

13 years and still chucking

January 29, 2013
By samick rider
from Palm Bay, FL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"the truck is absolutely incredible. big on the inside and on the outside. big engine and LOTS of power. every year my family take trips from central florida to tennessee with 4,000 lbs of pop-up camping trailer and gear on the back. we broke 200,000 miles on its first engine which the mechanics said was never supposed to happen. regretably we had to replace the engine at 250,000 miles due to a busted radiator the made the engine block go boom. still it is running as strong as it ever was. i love this truck and one day i hope to buy it from my father and turn it into an off road beauty with the same engine it has used. i love this truck and hope to have it for years to come."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1999_Chevrolet_Suburban
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1999 SUBURBAN -

November 16, 2012
By NEWLY RETIRED
from Chicago Suburb, Illinois
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought our 99 Suburban used after our 88 was totaled. Both have been awesome. We replaced the trans 2 yrs ago it now has 224K miles and is beginning burden my wallet. Looking to replace it, problem is, no one has as big a truck, new suburbans don't have the 4x8 bed, 99 was the last year for that. Chevy runs strong."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Towing
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1999_Chevrolet_Suburban
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Suburban from used car dealer

April 23, 2012
By Used Suburban Buyer
from Costa Mesa California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I recently bought a 1999 used suburban from a dealer in Costa Mesa CA. After riding it for a day, my service engine light came on. After showing it to a repair person, I was told that the catalytic converter needs to be replaced. It will cost approx. $1200 to repair. I have a feeling the dealer knew about this. In addition, I mentioned during the test drive that the AC was not working properly, which they told me that a compressor will only cost $200 to replace, estimate I got was $800. Make sure when you buy a vehicle to spend extra on Carfax (dealer showed a different report that did not have repair record). I got the vehicle at a good price (2000) less than market value, but it ended up the same due to repairs. Recommend doing your homework prior to going to the dealer who will say anything to sell you the vehicle. Suburban runs good, but I have a ill feeling about the used car dealer...I guess trust is not one of the values of used car dealers, especially the one I went to."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1999_Chevrolet_Suburban
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Classic

December 28, 2011
By Peteryyz
from Las Vegas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have always wanted a Texas Cadi and now I have one it is a great vehicle and well worth the Money we spent"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1999_Chevrolet_Suburban
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great truck

June 20, 2011
By Joe!!!
from New York, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i have a 97 tahoe and im looking to upgrade to a suburban the tahoe never leaves me stranded and is so easy to maintain and work on for me gm is hands down the best american car company if your looking for bang for your buck power reliiability roominess etc ...
wish i could afford a new one but for now ill stick to the old dependable ones :)
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1999_Chevrolet_Suburban
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliable and spacious

September 29, 2010
By Value Spotter
from Irvine, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This SUV has it all. My Burban has over 200,000 and is running great. I really love the value that I've received from this SUV."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1999_Chevrolet_Suburban
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

still going strong

July 13, 2010
By gravy
from Florida
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We now have 183000 on our '99 C1500. This is the second one we've had. The first one, a '92 had 194000 on it when it was traded. The '92 was a 4X4 and had the bucket seats. The bench seat is a little less comfy and doesn't go back far enough for me, but it's my wife's every day vehicle. Over all it's one nice SUV. The 5.7 is adequate unless you're hauling a big heavy trailer, and ours gets 18 mpg on the road (15 city). This is probably the last one for us unless we find another with low mileage. Wife doesn't like the newer body style. Our daughter has a 2005 and I don't car much for ir eiter."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1999_Chevrolet_Suburban
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best car ive had

October 2, 2009
By GM buyer
from grand prairie tx
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i bought my suburban about a month ago. i have always wanted a suburban and now i finally got it. its a 1999 my favorite suburban year because of the engine and the way it looks like inside out. the power is powerful 0-60 in no time and keep in mind the size of this suv, its one of the biggest of all and its still this strong. and the thing i love bout this truck is that thirs is a lot of accesoris for it. since i love it so much i have bought lots of things for it like projector lights, led tail lights oher things to make it look even better or cooler. me i dont like small cars because theyre week as in power, looks, and at crashing. and you can do a lot more with a suburban thanith a litle honda and also its american. iam proud to drive my chevy suburban and i always tell my friends to buy one there everything you need. they say that they wouldnt cus of gas but really it does not use that much. plus gas is not that expensive anymore so their is no need to think about that."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1999_Chevrolet_Suburban
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WILL OUTLAST MOST

April 8, 2008
By CJCHEVY
from ATHENS TN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"WE LOVE OURS. THE GAS MILEAGE IS OKAY BUT IT HAS A 44GAL. TANK SO WE CAN GO A LONG TIME BETWEEN FILL UPS. WE HAVE 180,000MILES ON IT AND PLAN ON KEEPING IT ANOTHER 180,000. tHE RIDE IS SMOOTH AND COMFORTABLE. THERE IS PLENTY OF ROOM FOR EVERYONE AND EVERYTHING. WE HAVE THE 4WD AND LIVING ON THE FARM IT COMES IN HANDY. WHAT PEOPLE NEED TO KEEP IN MIND IS THAT THESE ARE TRUCKS AND THEREFORE HANDLE AS SUCH."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1999_Chevrolet_Suburban
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

BAD CAR, DON'T BUY IT EVER!!!

February 15, 2008
By JJ
from NH
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"This car does HORRIBLE on gas mileage!!!$ 120 to fill the tank!!! HORRIBLE WIND NOISES!!! All you can hear is wind and the road. I couldn't hear my portable DVD player with the volume up all the way. Shakes like heak on the hi-way. DO NOT GAT THIS CAR, YOU WIL REGRET IT!!! Its ugly on both the inside and outside. It is LOW QUALITY all around. The doors shake on the inside when you open and close them. I don't like this car at all!!! NOT AT ALL RELIABLE, CAN NOT TRUST THIS VEHICLE AT ALL!!!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
-18points
1out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1999_Chevrolet_Suburban
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not a bad car!

January 5, 2008
By Car Enthusiast
from Salem, NH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My 1999 Chevrolet Suburban is a pretty good car. We have had some minor problems with the windows and the door locks. It rides incredibly smooth. IT COSTS A FORTUNE TO FILL THE GAS TANK, ABOUT $115-120!!! It does pretty well on gas for its size though.The interior is a little cheesy with all the plastic, I suggest a 2000 Suburban or newer, thought the '99 model isn't bad. TONS OF CARGO-SPACE!!! Even with the third row of seats up, there is still a full size trunk. It starts a little rough in the winter but runs very, very well. If you have a large family, the Chevrolet Suburban is the ride for you! This is a reliable, great car, you should get one with the 4x4 though for the winter."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1999_Chevrolet_Suburban
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best family vehicle ever made.

December 19, 2006
By chevy lover
from California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Mine has 206K miles and with proper maintainence still runs like a champ. I can pull my travel trailer with no problems and the engine still has 120lbs. compression per cylinder. I have a family of 6 and everyone plus the dog is comfortable. A very comfortable vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1999_Chevrolet_Suburban
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love this car

November 21, 2006
By SUV Mom
from Provo, Utah
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this car for what it is...an SUV. It is a very comfortable ride and have enjoyed mine for several years now!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.