Customer Reviews for 2000_Land Rover_Discovery

2000_Land Rover_Discovery

Average Customer Rating:
3.667 of 5
3.7
 of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 of 9(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2000_Land Rover_Discovery
Review 1 for 2000_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Master Mechanics Only

April 25, 2013
By RoverH8R
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"As Jeffzz9 said, you MUST be a gearhead to own of these. You need to be able to do a Head Gasket job or know someone who does and will not charge you $100+ an hour. The head gaskets will go bad every 40-50K Miles. The timing cover gaskets will go bad about every 60K miles, a head or timing gasket job will cost you $1500 minimum each time. Add in other repairs such as crank seal, purge valve, inertia switch going bad causing your Discovery to suddenly jerk and the engine to shut off going 65 on an interstate, yes, this happened to me, and this SUV will drive you crazy. Oh yeah, the ABS lights will go off a lot too, they're affectionately known as the 3 Amigos on the forums, ABS, Traction Control & Hill Descent. I meticulously maintained mine, changed the differential and transfer case gear oil every 20K, had transmission fluid changed regularly and never had a problem with any of those, but it is the Engine that will bankrupt you. I changed the oil every 3K religiously and I had the coolant changed every two years whether it need it or not and my head gaskets went bad 3 times in 138K Miles. If you do not have enough skills, or time, to do a head gasket job make sure you have an independent mechanic in your area who knows Rovers before buying one, the dealer will quote you $5K + every time you take it to them, if you read the Rover forums you will see this is common. If you want a true off-road SUV and you are an ASE certified mechanic who can pick one up for $750 and do the repairs yourself then this is a great SUV. You must do a pre-buy inspection before buying one of these, chances are there are many things wrong that may not be obvious. Take care of you car and it will take care of you was definitely not my experience."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2000_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tools required

January 25, 2012
By Jeffzx9
from Clarksville, OH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As Mr. Vonderharr said in his review, there was a significant change between the Discovery 1 and Discovery 2. I own a 1999 Discovery 1, and absolutely love it, through 160K trouble-free miles. I have replaced numerous items myself, including a recent head gasket and water pump job, BUT, if MAINTAINED PROPERLY, a Land Rover will likely out-last its owner. Very over-engineered and will go anywhere. Very logically designed for ease of service for the owner, and plenty of aftermarket support. There are Rover guys out there like me who are glad to help other owners. However, if you do not own tools and or enjoy maintenance, I would suggest you look elsewhere, because dealer service will bankrupt you. There is nothing else quite like a Land Rover; for better or worse. A definite vehicle for gearheads."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2000_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rovers are Underappreciated; mine is INCREDIBLE!

December 11, 2011
By David
from Plano, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned a Rover Discovery II for about a year, and the vehicle has been consistently wonderful. It has tremendous power, has been extremely reliable, and remains one of the most stylish rides on the road. You often see these vehicles with well over 200k miles. I think they are among the best bargains in luxury SUVs because of their undeserved bad reputations. This simply improves the value per dollar, making the vehicles that much more desireable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2000_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall GREAT TRUCK!!

August 16, 2011
By roverguy67
from Holyoke ,MA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this is my 5th Land rover. I have had no problems in the years that i've owned it... I have replaced the alternator, serpentine belt, water pump, all belts and hoses, mass air flow sensor.... but these are expected on an 11 year old truck with over 100,000 miles.... I have had no problems with my truck... in fact it is the best truck that i've ever owned... these trucks need VERY specific maintenence.... if you maintain them properly... they are amazing!! Thank you to J.E. Robinson automotive for keeping my truck trouble free. I love that my truck is so solid feeling, and tough.. wonderful off road... and it is wonderful in massachusits winters......"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2000_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best SUV i had

April 8, 2009
By john
from austin
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"wow i have my baby for 5 yrs and i have 214k miles on it i bought with 110k miles 5years ago and have no problem runs great i do always oil change every 3000 miles very nice SUV"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2000_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The worst car I have ever owned

December 16, 2008
By Top Gear
from Metro New Jersey
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I find it hard to write a review on a car that spent 3/4 of the time i owned it in the shop. Land Rovers are the most unreliable cars I have ever seen. To get any work done at the dealership you need to book it in months in advance as its always full. You can only take them to the dealership where you get charged $140 an hour labour."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-3points
5out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2000_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very solid and safe SUV! Recommend!

June 30, 2008
By JimDandy
from Highlands Ranch
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"reliable, solid, high end finish....love it. I purchased mine used so got a great value, but I would hate to pay the new price as the depreciation on these is pretty out of sight.
Great SUV though!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2000_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Have had some mechanical problems

March 29, 2008
By Starr
from West Virginia
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"we have had to put our Land Rover in the shop 3-4 times in the past 2 1/2 years for mechanical and electrical issues."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2000_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amazing used SUV for the money

March 21, 2008
By Rover Dude
from Milwaukee
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have 0ver a hundred thousand on mine and love every minute of driving it. Yes it is a Land Rover and you need a mechanic that understands the systems not some buick monkey wrench. I have had no issues other than regular upkeep. I would recomend for a winter driver that needs something to get through the nasty. Don't drive like a sports car to the soccer field and you'll get 20+ mpg. Enjoy"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.