Customer Reviews for 2000_Nissan_Xterra

2000_Nissan_Xterra

Average Customer Rating:
4.389 of 5
4.4
 of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 18(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Review 1 for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

tough truck for those needing an offroader

January 12, 2013
By nismofan
from texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i have had my x for almost a year now and not much wrong so far, it has 155,000 miles on it now and had 144,000 when i bought it. the starter died, factory 13 years old so didnt surprise me, the distributer also went out 2 months later but once again a factory part so after seeing that didnt surprise me, its got moving parts and moving parts fail eventually. but i have found out i am not good at mods as every mod i have done to this truck caused issues. such as "fixing" the sunroof noise caused it to leak(now fixed with silicone) and trying to rig up my own battery hold down left me on the side of the road. but so far no issues from the manufacture process of this car just things that eventually wear out that have had to be replaced and preventative care. and the other things that have broken or leaked were of my doing from trying to fix what wasnt broke. great truck deserved its motor trend truck of the year award!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The last real suv

September 16, 2012
By xtremexterra
from fort worth,tx
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i have had my xterra for about 6 months now,i must say its not for those who want a luxury car ride. It is for those who want a rugged, no frills suv that can take them to work, and take them on a weekend adventure in the same package. This truck has been nothing but reliable in the half year i have owned it, only 1 thing has broke, and it was a $130 fix an an hour of my time, not bad. the only other expense is gas, and routine maintenance, great suv for those who are tired of the car based ones and want a real capable true to its roots suv, I recommend it to everyone in the 4x4 market"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

rugged,fun,relaible

June 25, 2012
By kms1990
from fort worth,tx
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"bought my xterra with 145000 miles on er and she runs strong exterior is great if you find one that the plastic bumpers have faded put tire shine gel on it let it dry just like new those bumpers are my only complaint on body, the tires are an odd size 265/70 15 so not many choices but there are good ones and not that expensive interior the cruise control main button could be in a better spot but not bad love it all round great suv real bumpy ride but its built on a truck frame and built to go off road so bumpy means its fun"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good vehicle for 11 years

December 12, 2011
By ex terra driver
from Tallahassee, FL
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Xterra was what it was sold to be: a rugged SUV that could do most anything. It had good ground clearance and sufficient power to do what needed to be done. Repair record was worse than expected and eventually lead to my getting rid of the vehicle though 11 years of service is pretty good. Utility was better than expected with good towing capabilities and other cargo storage. Gas efficiency was underwhelming."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Xterra at 200k and strong

August 5, 2011
By small4x4guy
from Central Michigan
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My 2000 X-Terra XE just turned 200K miles and it is still tight and strong. Repairs so far; recommended services per Mfr. Maint Schedule, all. Cut the rattling heat shields off the stainless exhaust. Aluminum shield welded to a stainless exhaust. Bad idea, good news is the ORIGINAL exhaust is fine at 200k! New rear leaf springs at about 60K, I wrestled with the factory Nerf bars and paint not sticking to them for the first 6 months I owned it then the dealer got tired of repainting them and asked if they could have them Rhino-coated, I agreed and they look and perform great. This was a first model year vehicle that despite the caution of a lot of friends turned out better than I could have ever imagined. I'm so happy I just had it painted and some surface rust repaired and plan to drive it till it melts down. It is the only vehicle that at over a couple of years old everything still works, e-locker, windows locks etc. One complaint, the key fobs both broke at around 50K and were a poor design. All things considered I can live with it (unless there is a Nissan exec reading in which case fix them for me, this was a great review!) also the engine could have used a few more horses (New model has 230, 2000 had 170) and the seats are in need of some padding they are like the racing seats in a cafe car, and with the stiff 4x4 suspension it wears your but out after about 3 hours in the truck. I have since owned a Titan (sucked), and am back at long last to a Jeep. My wife drives the X-terra now and when I mentioned selling it she gave me the wife look. If you have one, keep it, If you are considering one, consider that the price has only gone up less than 2k in 11 years. Buy it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

12 years and going strong

May 25, 2011
By xbrooklyngrl
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had my 2000 Nissan Xterra since Oct. 1999. It is the original model with a V6 engine. The truck has just under 160k miles on it. Overall it has been very reliable. However, I have never liked having to take the rear seat cushions out to put the seats flat the back (which is a hassle); the gear basket on the roof is useless in my opinion and its a hassle to keep clean also, it has always seems like warm air comes through the vents (I usually keep it turned to the defrost position). Overall, I think it was a good value for the money when I bought it. However, I would not buy another Xterra. Mainly due to the price of gas, the body styling on the newer models and the fact that there are way for options for vehicles of this type."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car

March 28, 2011
By jonny
from New York NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love it! Its great for off roading and just having a good old time! You realy end up getting your moneys worth!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most reliable truck I've ever Owned

March 5, 2011
By Off Road Enthusiast
from Illinois
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This truck is a good first truck for you son to start out with. It is not big enough for him to tow a huge boat. It is very reliable, It will get you were you need to go."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Xterra, simpley amazing

March 3, 2011
By robbie m
from Grand Haven, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"100% sure, best car/truck i have ever owned very fun for offroading, and the fact that it is a stick shift makes it amazing."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pretty good

May 18, 2010
By Jme
from monroe,la
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had the xterra for two years it was horrible on gas i mean horrible, I had constant problems with the engine, It shook constantly stopping at red light were horrible. But towards the end I got hit by a 2005 F250 3/4 ton truck and my xterra sure did hold up. It was totaled but i think any other car or truck that got hit as hard as I did wouldnt have made it. This is a very sturdy and safe car. I would definitely recommend this."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Its a craps shoot

August 13, 2009
By Nismojason
from Louisville, KY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"SE model, owned for 4 years (85,000 to 135,000 miles) I had many problems with my X throughout ownership. Headgaskets and cracked exhaust manifolds are VERY common in the 00-01 models. Also had trouble with the power steering. Horrible gas mileage gets worst with age, by the end of ownership I was averaging 13.8mpg. Also a very slugish acceration. That being said, this thing was unstoppable in snow & mud and for the most part handled well and drove comfortably. If you are seriously interested stay away from earlier models."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Car

June 25, 2009
By chandler
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned the Xterra XE for 9 years now and it's a great reliable car. I bought it when I was in grad school and I now have three kids that I drive around everywhere. Very spacious and realiable. It has never broke down. The interior is easy to keep clean and the exterior looks great after all these years. Very good handling, great car for the price!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The nex

April 28, 2009
By famous
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"sweet ride all around will go for 300,000 miles plus, i have owned 3 nissan trucks, two pathfinders and an xterra, very solid truck, will haul anything and very sporty looking."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this car!

August 7, 2007
By xterra owner
from st louis, MO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"If I hadnt had to get a minivan to fit all 4 car seats in a car, I would never stop driving this xterra! I love it. It does well for gas mileage, and it handles really well. Plus it has a lot of great features! I love it!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

stylish but terrible gas mileage

August 6, 2007
By nija boy
from Lagos
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"handles fairly well. could use more power especially since it consumes so much gas. overall a decent suv for the money."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

tough truck

July 26, 2007
By xterra fan
from vb, va
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"its the toughest compact suv made were it lacks in the power it makes up in the dependability and durability. would make a great first car for a new driver."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good car..u get what you pay for

June 24, 2007
By i love sports cars
from chicago
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"ive owned this vehicle for 7 years, so far no problems what so ever, knock on wood, hopefully years of reliability to come.."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2000_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Reliable and quality throughout, but....

August 20, 2006
By Xterrany
from Syracuse, NY -- Seattle, WA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I do enjoy this vehicle. It has never left me stranded or without room to transport friends or items. The same cannot be said for the 1997 Pontiac Grand Prix that it replaced. The seats have proven to be very comfortable even when it became the home for my 6 foot frame on a drive across the country. No failures or gremlins have plagued this car either. It certainly did deserve its Motor Trend award at the time of its creation. However, in this time of gas crunching and environmental responsibility, I cannot help but feel a little guilty driving the Xterra even when cargo needs warrant it. This vehicle has been a trustworthy companion for 6 years, it is with heavy heart that I part with it, but times have changed as have my needs."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.