Customer Reviews for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid

2001_Dodge_Intrepid

Average Customer Rating:
3.842 of 5
3.8
 of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
0
13 of 19(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Review 1 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Issues with test drive

October 20, 2013
By Buhbye2u
from West Allis, WI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"On 10 /19/2013 I took this Intrepid on test drive and it was making extremely loud noise coming from the rear end make sure you find out what was wrong with it before buying"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Hate the 2.7

January 17, 2013
By Schwan
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This was my first car, I bought it with 149k on it in great condition. I had it for 2 months before I was replacing the water pump which is inside of the engine itself and everything needs to be taken out in order to get to it. After a thousand dollars I got it running again for about a year and then the engine blows on me. Took it too a mechanic and a filter got clogged with slugged and the timing chain broke and bent all of the rods with it. It had a nice ride but, it is just a money pit after awhile"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2002 Intrepid R/T's

July 13, 2012
By Mr. Intrepid
from Albany, N.Y
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The nickname is real... I've had 3 '02 Intrepid R/T's, a 2000 R/T, and, a 2002 ES, and 1994 Base Model Intrepid - ALL w/ 3.5l, or 3.5l H.O. (R/T's) engines. No 2.7l's.
All were bought used w/ less than 30,000 1-owner miles, except the original '94, ordered (to get a 3.5l engine) new on 10/18/93 (delivered on 12/09/93), and 1 '02 R/T bought w/ 67k.
Other than test drives of other cars, and work suplied vehicles, I've driven only Intrepids, by choice, since 12/93, and only R/T's, since 2/04.
Maintenance can get expensive on Intrepids, because they last so long. (201k+, 113k, & 108k at accident loss, on 3, and 131k on the over heated loss, all still going strong, 'til being killed) However, the only non-maintenance item ever needed was a new engine due to rapid total coolant loss, and trying to make the next exit in 93 degree weather. (It was only another 1.3 mi., but, when I stopped her, she never ran again.) Repairmen claim the 3.5's were "pretty much bulletproof... UNLESS you really overheat them."
The '02 R/T's were the epitome of the Dodge Intrepid line; all Intrepids having excellent styling, capacity and handling, esp. for their size -- the R/T's took things up a notch, w/ stiffer suspensions; wider 225/70-17 tires (vs. 225/60-16); upgraded, faster-response steering pumps; and, a 244 H.P., 250 ft/lbs of torque H.O. uprade to the 234 H.P./248 torque standard 3.5l, using short/long fuel rail technology.
Any of the 3.5l engines moved the Intrepids well... the H.O. engines also did it relatively effortlessly (55 mph never reaching 1700 rpm, 65 @ about 21-2200 rpm; and on rolling type roadways, not flat), w/ better gas mileage in actual usage, than the standard 3.5's, in the ES and (upgraded) base models.
Why go for the '02? They were the last of the breed (only 2000 - '02), and benefited from all earlier improvements, incl. the highest H.P. & torque, and, even gas mileage w/ continual refinements to the computers for the manumatic transmission and fuel delivery programs.
Plus, while the standard equipment list was already the longest on R/T's over any other trim, starting w/ an ES, and then adding upgrades; but, most "options" that were available on '00 & '01 R/T's (not the moonroof, leather seating, CD-changer or full-size spare, but, everything else), actually became standard on the '02.
Why did I have so many? During 2008-10, I was "overtaken" (the other vehicle moves into the lane you occupy, where you occupy it!), by a tractor-trailer, a huge honkin', blinged-out Escalade, an appliance delivery "box" truck, and a small (but, not a van) school bus. None were my fault, each other driver claimed to not see me there, but, each was in the process of passing me... and, Intrepids are NOT small cars!); however, I still lost a car to each accident, and, immediately set out in search of another.
Intrepid R/T's were "replaced" w/ the SXT's, in the latter half of '02, continuing until "04... but, they weren't even close. SXT's started as base models, that were upgraded to better-than-ES suspensions, but not R/T's level, w/ the 3.5l H.O. engine (upped to 250/250), and no manumatic (std. on R/T), was even available, as an option.
Anybody out there have a nice 2002 Intrepid R/T, they'd like to sell, now?
With the way traffic is getting these days, I'm also afraid to buy anything brand new.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car!

March 22, 2012
By RT Driver
from Wisconsin
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought the R/T new and have done very little maintenance on it. Handles great in snow w/good triple tread tires and rides real nice. Style is great! Only replacement of water pump and a tie rod in 142,000 miles. Other than that, just general maintenance (e.g., oil changes, belt replacements, flushes, etc.) It just started having issues w/'warm starts' - speculation is something with the sensors. As w/technology...it can't be tested unless they can run diagnostics on it when it is acting up. One could pursue this, but it may be the start to 'trickle maintenance' that may start nickel and diming us. Due to mileage on the car, we are opting to trade it in. Our only complaint is that of others...the location of the battery! One has to have it put up on hoist in order to change the battery. I saw that they are still putting the battery for the 2012 Avenger there. Sure wish they would still manufacture Intrepids. Our choice of car to replace the Intrepid R/T will be the Charger SXT (battery is under the trunk (like the spare tire). Hoping the dealer 'works w/us re:$$$ - Oh so EXPENSIVE!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nicest car I have owned.

December 6, 2011
By Love My Car
from Cincinnati, Ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The leather interior is nice.
The body style is what I like the most, it is sleak!
I like that it came with a 4 disc cd player!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall quite economical and comfortable

April 25, 2011
By Old Al
from Cumming, GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I took delivery of this vehicle as a new company fleet leased vehicle, driving it about 70,000 miles for business and then bought it off lease for $2665 upon retirement. I drove it for another 60,000 miles, just recently trading it in on a new Honda Ody. The only trouble I had with it was that the water pump needed replacement at a cost of nearly $900 since the car is hard to work on. It gave great gas mileage, averaging in the mid-20's locally and nearly 30 mph on the highway. The water pump replacement was done at about 95,000. The Intrepid was the best car I ever owned, truly exceptional for a Chrysler product. My previous 1999 Chrysler 300M was a maintenance nightmare, by comparison."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

01 Intrepid SE

June 21, 2010
By HarleyGirl
from St. Louis, MO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Roomy, great ride, dependable.
A great car.
Only thing...the driver's side inside door handle broke once...made of plastic. Other than that...great car.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best all around car I've owned

July 9, 2009
By Like this Dodge
from Indianapolis, IN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very comfortable car - rides smoothly and is a great road car. Mileage on the road is 29-30 mpg and gets about 20 - 21 mpg in town. Acceleration is average - nothing to brag about. Purchased car used (rental) with 26K miles on it. Now has 120k and is going strong. Minor issues like an oil leak via the that sensor needing replaced. Car sits low which is a plus driving - low drag, etc. but as I get older a bit of an issue getting in and out. Overall it has been a very good vehicle requiring just good basic maintenance."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Completely Satisfied

December 5, 2008
By Travel'n man
from Sacramento, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My Intrepid has turned out to be a real gem! The great looks are obvious, but it has been one of the most reliable cars I have ever owned. Never had a major repair and still runs great, no issues with the engine at all. It could use a little more power with the 2.7 L V6, but with 29 MPG on the Hwy, I can live with it. No problem getting onto the freeway or passing anyone. This car has super comfortable seats in roomy cabin and a big trunk. It also has lots of premium features for a car in this price range.
Definitely would reccomend this car to a friend. Everything you could want in a dependable family car with some STYLE!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lousy 2.7 engine

September 4, 2008
By GTO fan
from Lebanon, PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Great looking car, but were just told the engine needs replaced. Has 104,000 miles on it. Our mechanic told us these are notorious for that. He found metal fragments in the oil, said this isn't the first one he's encountered. It started out with a tapping sound, like the engine was low on oil, but it wasn't. Tapping would go away, but come back. Came back with a vengeance a couple weeks ago, wasn't exactly the "death knock", but might as well have been. We bought this used, wish I had known they have this problem. The body of the car is still in great shape, love the looks, the shape, just don't know if it's worth putting another motor in. Will not put another 2.7 in though. That is entirely too small for that size car. My wife loves the car and will miss it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car I've driven

February 10, 2008
By Discriminating Owner
from Washington
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car has been very reliable and feels like I'm spoiled with all the features. It has surprisingly good turn radius. I do U turns frequently, as I'm in outside sales, and this car has always impressed me; especially considering it's size. It also fits surprisingly well into all those compact parking stalls. And, visibility in the car is excellent. A true joy to drive and never worried about break downs."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

right at 200000 mi.

January 31, 2008
By Mr HYDE
from Ellensburg, WA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Purchased it used with 30, 000 mi. was a rental car. The 2.7, when empty can suprise you, but with all 4 boys with us its pretty average in go power. You have got to let the engine wind up though. Wife commutes 40 mi. one way on the freeway, so the only problem so far is the #3 plug blew out. I was able to put in an insert and works fine. Changed only 1 fan belt so far. Someday, the timing chain? We have a 92 Accord with 287,000 mi. It needed a tranny at 80,000. Go figure."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice ride, and reliable

December 5, 2007
By Mopar Guy
from SC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car rides very smooth, and the engine runs very very quiet. it took me awhile to get used to that, as i thought the car stalled at the light. I am very happy with this car overall, and have no real issues with it, other than its slightly underpowered with the 2.7, but then again, its a 4 door sedan, so i guess thats par for the course."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Handsome but un-reliable

October 25, 2007
By Architecture nut
from East Tennessee
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"The Intrepid is one of the most handsome designs on the road. You have to hand it to the styling team at Chrysler, they put out beautiful cars. However at 50,000 the transmission went south and had to be rebuilt to the tune of $2200. At 60,000 the oil pressure started dropping to the point that the engine would stall at red lights. My mechanic tells me that the 2.7 V-6 is notorious for sludging and there is no cure. The car ate tires, would not stay in alignment though I am a careful in-town driver. I will never own another Chrysler product due to dissatisfaction with this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best looking car around!!

September 27, 2007
By Intrepid lover
from Chicago,m IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love this car!! Unbelieveable that they no longer make this sharp looking car! After putting 32,000 miles on, I've only replaced thie tires. Wonderful car, reliable, comfortable and all the added features inside are great!! I keep this car maintained every 3,000 miles and have it completely detailed once a year-----Hope to keep this car a long time!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Trans and engine are junk

September 8, 2007
By Intrepid Fan! NOT
from Utah
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I thought this was a great car for the first 50K miles. I am very detailed with my vehicles and get the service done more often then required and pay attention to all details. At 50K I started chasing oil leaks around the engine in various places, a new one this month. At 60K I had to replace the cooling fans ($600 total), then at 65K I had to replace the thermostat which is in a nightmare location at the bottom of the engine ($150). After 50K I couldn't seem to get the alignment right so had to replace the struts ($200). At 50K the transmition started shifting hard and occasionally slipping. At 78K the tranny blew out, ($2600). Now the engine gets hot randomly at times that are not consistent. The computer and the mechanics say that nothing is wrong so I expect that the engine has a sludge problem. I don't want to sell it to someone and have them come back a month later with a blown engine, so what to do? I will never buy a Chrysler product again and am looking at Toyota now. My friend bought the exact same car the month I did and he went through a tranny and his wife blew the engine with an over heating problem on the freeway so his is already in the junk yard. Good luck with yours, I would trade it in as soon as possible, especially if it has the 2.7 engine."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good looks

February 11, 2007
By Eldon
from Spanish fork, UT
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"it looks very good and looks very fast but under the hood it has just 200 horse power and it could take you a day or two ta get to speed. the inside of the car you sit kinda low but as long as your not short your ok
but i love it just need some more horse power."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Car

November 28, 2006
By Neil
from Fayston Vermont
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this car with 42k, currently have 75k, have changed oil religiously, gave it a poor man's motor flush, two oil changes within 300 miles, runs handles better than most any car I've owned. 23.4 miles per gallon all the time in mixed driving. The interstate is this cars best friend, very, very stable and the aerodynamics really come into play. It has been a great car, very good stereo too."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2001_Dodge_Intrepid
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Don't buy it!!!

August 21, 2006
By Nadia
from Kansas City, KS
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought the Intrepid 7 months ago. It's the 2.7L engine, 200hp, it had only 40K miles on it, 1 previous owner, took it to 2 mechanics to check it, and they said it's good. The first thing that happened was an oil leak, which thank God it wasn't from the engine, so with $250 and a new oil pan with seals and what-not can got fixed. Then I had to replace the steering rack! I've never heard of such thing - a car needing a new steering rack!!! At less than 47K miles, it is rediculous! That itself was $850. After that I had to buy a new battery, but that's normal I was told, for a 5 year-old car, but the battery is behind the front passenger tire, so no place was willing to change it for free, since the tire had to come off to change it! How dumb is that? What's even dumber is me buying it because I wanted a big car and I needed it to last me about 4 years, but at the rate I have to fix stuff... I am looking for another car right now. I've researched enough to know (little too late) that my type of engine is notorious with the timing chain snapping, and breaking pistons and messing up the whole engine. Dodge is aware of the problem, but they won't get you a new engine unless it's still under factory warranty (<30K miles)! And that happens right around 60K miles!
I love the size, I love the trunk space, I love the design, I love the way it rides...but mechanically - piece of junk! I can't afford to fix it! And the seals on the car itself that go around the doors when you shut them, shrunk and started coming off, so I had to cut them and glue them.
It's worth to pay the extra money and get a Honda or Toyota...
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.