Customer Reviews for 2001_Jaguar_Vanden Plas

2001_Jaguar_Vanden Plas

Average Customer Rating:
3.571 of 5
3.6
 of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
5 of 7(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001_Jaguar_Vanden Plas
Review 1 for 2001_Jaguar_Vanden Plas
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Jag review

June 6, 2011
By Joe
from NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is the quintessential Jaguar. Fantastic lines and styling. Vehicle is a head turner and a pleasurable drive. Engine reliability is sound. Some issues with some parts have been addressed with new part releases but need to find a vehicle that has been well maintained. This is a genuine Coventry, England built model."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2001_Jaguar_Vanden Plas
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

undoubtedly the best road car i have ever driven.

March 26, 2011
By jw
from arlington, texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"stylish, comfortable, plenty of zip when needed. the long wheel base xj8l vandenplas is the greatest. i've had 3 in the last ten years."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2001_Jaguar_Vanden Plas
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

worst luxury car I've owned

November 11, 2010
By Road warrior
from Detroit, MI
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"After spending over $10,000 in repairs and service for 4 years, the engine conks out...which can be replaced for another $7,000. No thanks. the well earned reputation for mechanical inadequecies is much deserved. The only benefit to the car was the looks..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2001_Jaguar_Vanden Plas
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Piece of Art with a Smooth, Peformance Kick.

March 30, 2010
By Bandung Baby
from San Diego, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The most amazing automatic transmission that makes your forget it's not a manual. It doesn't kick down a gear with a nasty thump when accelerating uphill.
The exterior speaks for itself. The interior is amazing. The rear seats have plenty of room, the front seats have the snugness of a sport bucket, with the plushness of a Lazy Boy. The reviews that deplore the minimal interior cabin must prefer wasted space that makes other luxury sedans so boxy and unattractive. I'm over six feet and have plenty of headroom."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2001_Jaguar_Vanden Plas
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Car!

January 16, 2010
By JimzJag
from Washington, DC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this from a member of my family 2 years ago with 78,000 miles on it who bought it new and pampered it. Beyond usual maintenance he had to replace the fuel injectors at about 45,000 miles ($800.00). When I bought it I had to have the interior roof repaired as it was sagging down from the glue losing adhesiveness ($450.00). I use the car for business (financial planner) and it is great! Very comfortable and makes a great impression on clients and at the golf course. A big car..don't expect high performance and handling but if you need it for merging on the highway..the power is there. Beautiful car inside and out with a classy ride. We (my wife and I) LOVE it!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2001_Jaguar_Vanden Plas
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a great ride

December 22, 2008
By kingpalm
from Palm Springs, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"When we replaced our 2001 vanden Plas with the new 2009 we were very sad. The details on this car, the low profile and the weight are greatly missed. We experienced no problems with this car except the usual maintenance and care. it will be missed."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2001_Jaguar_Vanden Plas
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

most costly repairs on a car I've ever owned

September 22, 2008
By land yacht lover
from Detroit, MI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought this 2001 VDP in March 2007 with approximately 70k miles. After researching the brand and the particular vehicle I thought it was a safe bet to buy. I pampered and treated the car with kid gloves. But every thing on the vehicle begin to break down, the front suspension - $3000 repairs, the back suspension and brakes $2000 in repairs, the cup holder, the windows not fitting tightly, the doors not unlocking...it has been a nightmare. And last but not least, the transmission has blown. I went to the repairman, who told me he had quoted 3 of the same repairs that week! The cost? $4,200. With kids in college and the economy so tight, I have had to put the car in the garage and store it until I can raise the cash and I'm back to driving my wife's old van. Needless to say, I think this car is a totally beautiful piece of mechanical garbage....I was fooled by her beauty, but it has been nothing but a beast. Save your money and your sanity; when you go to the car lot and see that gorgeous body and you hear her beautiful siren call, run, don't walk, run away as fast as you can."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.