Customer Reviews for 2001_Land Rover_Discovery

2001_Land Rover_Discovery

Average Customer Rating:
3.9 of 5
3.9
 of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 10(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001_Land Rover_Discovery
Review 1 for 2001_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great versatile car!

April 7, 2013
By Discovery lover
from Ohio, USA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great car, owned for years, very reliable, commands respect, great looking. Towed my boat, love the double sunroofs, the skylights - so unique and so capable! No major issues in 30,000 miles, car is strong & tough. Love it like the day I bought it!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2001_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Disco II

April 11, 2012
By Ron
from California
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Well built SUV. Rugged and Elegant.
Handles all weather and terrain well. We've driven this car through deep heavy snow and also through rain and flood type conditions. But the classic body styling gives it elegance and style!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2001_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

WHOLE LOT OF TRUCK

May 9, 2011
By MIGHTY MIKE
from NEW JERSEY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"OVERALL I CANT COMPLAIN, THIS TRUCK GROWS ON YOU.ALTHOUGH IT IS KINDA PRICEY WHEN COMING TO REPLACE OR REPAIR ANYTHING.BUT I HAVE NO REGRETS PURCHASING THIS VEHICLE. ITS BEEN A PLEASURE SO FAR.OWNED IT FOR A YEAR AND A HALF AND DONT PLAN ON GIVING IT UP ANY TIME SOON."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2001_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Serious Gas Hog

December 14, 2010
By The Ol'Sarge
from Independence, MO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Has features you never heard of but two real problems. Seems to be always listed as "4WD". It is not, it is AWD. All 4 tires, ALL the time. Gas mileage. AWD + V8 = terrible gas mileage. Common things are too proprietary. Wheel sizes, for example.
Good side. Suspension is rock solid. You can't break it. Immediate response with steering.
I love it but wish it were in a V6 or at least go from 4WD to 2WD for flat terrain or highway driving. As it is, I'll be keeping the economy car. The Discovery will be for special occasions."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2001_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love my Disco II

July 22, 2010
By Disco D
from Seattle, WA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Bought a 2001 Disco II late April and it is a great vehicle if you can handle the typical LR issues."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2001_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I have loved this suv

April 1, 2009
By buckshot
from northern Illinois
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I don't usually review these vehicles, but just had to on this one. I've owned this Discovery now for over 3 years. I bought it with 89000 miles and it was in excellent condition. It now has 106000 miles and still in excellent condition. What I think I like most about it is the comfort in the drivers seat. My wife doesn't care for it cause she is small and it doesn't fit her but I love the seat and the driving position I can obtain with it. I just feel so comfortable in that seat. The gas milage wasn't too bad for a second car that was just my local get around car and the one I used the most to go hunting in locally. I got around 15 mpg I think, maybe up to 18 on the road but rarely used it for a long trip. It doesn't have a lot of pick up and get up and go but it isn't supposed to. I used it to pull my trailer and quads and tractors etc. It has been super reliable with no problems at all. It has plenty of room in the back and the kids liked the stadium seating. What I guess I liked the least about it was how all the buttons and dials and insturments and methods of adjusting them is all backwards from what you are used to here in the states with US made cars. I've gotten used to it though. My other vehicle is a Jeep Grand Cher. and it is much more responsive in the snow and challenging traction conditions. It seems to me that the European cars at least the Land Rovers are just a little bit behind the US cars in technology but again I really like this Discovery and would definately get one again for a second vehicle to do some heavy duty work locally"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2001_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Timebomb

January 13, 2008
By Tripnjive
from Virginia
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"While no one comes close to Land Rover in Off-Road engineering, the overall reliability of the car is suspect. I bought my Discovery II (2001 SD model)one year old, used. Problems encountered: leaking windshield (twice), engine trouble (twice), Basic electronics (window motor, blinkers, etc), and transmission issues. I bought it as a toy, and as a status item. It can still be fun as the weekend offroader. But as reliable family transpo, you shouldn't risk it. Mine is seven years old and requires an engine rebuild now which may cost more than the vehicle is worth. Add in the fact that the testy engine can take only premium fuel, and the fact the 4.0L is less than responsive, I'd look at an older 108 or Defender model, where at least maintenance is expected and the vehicle is not supposed to get you and your child safely between A and B."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2001_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In love with my Rover

November 19, 2007
By Land Rover Lover
from Springfield, MO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I only gave the Discovery 4 stars for performance because it's a bit sluggish for a V8 going from a full-stop and accelerating. But it is a very heavy duty SUV and quite sturdy, so I understand it has to get some momentum going. Once your moving, it really moves. No hesitation on steep hills or for passing other cars. Really a gorgeous car!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2001_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car!!!!

October 12, 2007
By Love My Rover
from Springfield, MO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this car because I feel it embodies the true spirit of an SUV. You get the comforts of a luxury vehicle, but with true sport and utility use as well. It's not a prissy SUV, but it's definitely no clunker!!!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2001_Land Rover_Discovery
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Suv

June 18, 2006
By DjDex
from Chicago
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car is like a train on tracks.
It is like a fridge in the summer and a sauna in the winter. Lovely car to drive and very safe car to drive. This is affordable luxury for the distingushed driver.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.