Customer Reviews for 2001_Lexus_RX 300

2001_Lexus_RX 300

Average Customer Rating:
4.478 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 of 23(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Review 1 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unbelievable Purchase

July 24, 2013
By Car Lover
from Small town, South Carolina
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My purchase of a 2001 RX 300 Lexus is right on for this period in my life! I had the best salesman I've ever had, and he had a take-it-or-leave-it attitude about the vehicle. Although it's dated, I am thoroughly enjoying driving my "new" vehicle. It's clean and performs remarkably. I can't say enough about the great deal I was afforded."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good sale

December 14, 2012
By Lexus
from White motor company
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I has a very experience. I felt very comfortable and white motor company helped look at possible problem. Which was just a sensor."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great All Around Vehicle

December 4, 2012
By Retired Motorcyclist
from Massillon, Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased as a certified preowned vehicle and paid a little too much, but very happy with it. Very comfortable ride, excellent room for long trips for four adults with plenty of storage space. Overall size makes it easy to park and maneuver in traffic."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Ride

November 26, 2012
By Justguy
from MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Purchased 2001 with 48K. Extremely comfortable ride. Stylish interior. Leather seats and higher profile(SUV) makes it very easy to slide in and exit easily. The interior is stylish and the exterior design looks very up to date for being 12 yrs old! The 3.0 engine has plenty of pep if you need to excellerate for merging in traffic. The back seat has plenty of leg room for passengers. Lots of room in rear storage area.
Cons...
Nav system is dated and not very intuitive.
The mileage is rubbish. It doesn't get near the Hwy MPG stated in specs. I drive almost entirely highway miles and avg is 18-19 , doesn't seem to vary at all city to hwy.
Comfort, room and styling...this is a great car. If you don't mind the poor gas mileage.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best all-around car I've ever owned

September 21, 2012
By Luxury Mom
from Northwest Arkansas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had my 2001 RX300 for 10 years and have loved this vehicle the entire time. It has seen me through 2 kids (now 9 & 7) and has grown along with us. Very reliable and safe (AWD version). Will be trading it in for GX470, but I'm a little nervous about getting such a big SUV. The RX is really the perfect size for hauling kids, groceries, sports stuff, etc. Had regular maintenance performed at Toyota dealer and feel like it would run forever. No problems with transmission as others have reported, but I admit I drive like a "little old lady". Seats are very comfortable, even on regular trips of 4+ hours. Love that it has lots of pockets and holders for purse, phone, sunglasses, etc. Sorry guys, but it's a well-designed woman's car. Kids, dog and Mom still love this ol' car. The GX is more manly and not designed for a woman driver, but I hope it's as reliable and comfortable as the RX."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Seems great so far.

September 4, 2012
By RX Bob
from Overland Park
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I'm pretty happy with my recent purchase. Has 109K miles and had the power locking mechanizm replaced on the drivers door. Not a big deal."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Still looks great

September 2, 2012
By Davec
from Illinois
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"My wife's car
Owned the car for 9 years.
Very comfortable, fit and finish first class, still looks very good.
Not as reliable as I expected from a Lexus. Replaced wheel bearings, door locks. Replaced the engine at 92,000 miles (free by Lexus). Replaced the transmission at 145,000 miles.
We're about to replace it with a RX350
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I must have got a lemon

December 17, 2011
By working manscar
from JOHNSON CITY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I also own a 2001 RX300 with aprox the same miles as this one. I love the styling and comfort of this vehicle. It has a wonderful ride. However i have owned the car just over 2 months and the heater has quit working, the gas milage sucks and it uses more oil than gas. I bought this car thinking a lexus
was the most reliable car on the road but i hold my breath every time i get out in it wondering what is going to go wrong next.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Honesty

November 21, 2011
By Clay
from Colorado
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great car!! Buy it!!! Good gas millage 22 city/ 25 hwy. Very comfortable for road trips or the market. Great sound system. Perform routine maintenance and 200K is easy..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice SUV

July 15, 2011
By Abby
from kenner, LA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just bought this suv and love it, it runs so great. This is first lexus and i really enjoying it. I will do the next one again lexus."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

January 17, 2011
By Lou e g
from Gastonia, NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a true luxury vehicle.. bought in Oct 2010 it
had 99k miles on it. have put on 4 k miles and no
problems. Ride is fantastic. smooth and comfortable
change trans fluid and oil.. purchase a ext. warranty just in case.. drink holder is the only bad part of this
car. drinks are not secured.. design flaw, but everything else is ok.. on screen computer give
mpg, but it should tell how many miles you have left to drive until tank is empty.. visibility is great
25 mpg on highway.. must use prem. gas that sucks
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car I've ever driven

December 17, 2010
By lexusLUVA
from Cary NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"from BMW to Saab/Volvo & Mercedes... this is the one I would POUR money towards to keep on the road... but after slamming more than 120Kmiles onto this SUV - I've put minimal $ into it, surprises me every year! I bought it for the ample rear leg room for growing children - but the car continues to accomodate changing needs from family trips to single passenger transport... this is a great choice for the look, the cost and the feel on the road. I just hope my heart will survive if I ever need to replace it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great vehicle with problematic transmission.

November 9, 2010
By TravelGeek10000
from Spokane, WA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The 2001 Lexus RX300 is a great vehicle that will easily last 300,000 thousand miles and that in style and comfort.....but expect to replace the transmission at $5K every 100,000 miles. I love my RX300 so much that it has had two transmissions replaced and still gets to park in the garage. Heated leather seats and a peppy V6 gets in and out of the city with ease. Regular maintence will cost close to a grand a year, not bad for a regal Toyota."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great lexus

June 9, 2010
By shortey
from CHICAGO IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"what a suv if i had the money i would love to have 2 LEXUS IN MY GARAGE LOVE IT GREAT ON GAS AND GREAT PERFORMANCE ."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Vehicle!

March 4, 2010
By JDL
from buffalo, ny
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Our RX just turned 10 yrs old. I had it detailed and when I went to pick it up, it looked like it came off of the showroom floor! 91,000 miles and haven't had one warranty issue! Great service (always dealer serviced), great car, great experience. Just bought an 2010 RX and kept the old one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent except for transmission

January 9, 2010
By Geo
from Pennsylvania
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Owned this car for 6 years after purchasing it used. At 96K miles the transmission needed to be replaced. I read online that this is not uncommon in 1991 model even though dealer said it was not. Saved $2000 by having the replacement done by Toyota instead of Lexus. Everything inside and out, other than transmission, is holding up great. The ride is wonderful except it is slow when merging onto the highway. I will be passing the car onto my 16yr old daughter and feel confident she will be safe in it. Hope to break 200k miles!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Quality on road today

November 12, 2009
By Loyal Lexus Customer
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"If your looking for a quality reliable vehicle you need to look no further.I have been extremely happy with this automobile,the finest car Iv'e ever owned.The ride is smooth and plenty of power,the 4wheel drive really nice to have in inclement weather.The Lexus product will easily do 200k,I definately recommend this vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Cheap interior appointments

January 14, 2009
By senior citizen
from Atlanta, GA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Have owned this car for 60K miles and everything interior that is made of anything but steel has broken or crumbled. Very cheaply finished "luxury" auto. Buying another American luxury in attempt to get the menory of this cheapo out of my mind."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Affordable Luxury

October 9, 2008
By LuvmyLexus
from Irving, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The best thing about a Lexus is it is made by Toyota so you know it's reliable. Also, instead of paying high prices for oil changes, you pay the same as if you were doing it on a Toyota. Maintenance is not expensive and it's a GREAT SUV to drive. I've had mine for almost 2 years and have loved every day of it. I would recommend a Lexus to anyone. The only reason I gave it a 4 on comfort is because I had a Volvo prior to the Lexus and the seat felt like it wrapped around you and I don't get that feeling with the Lexus. On that note, I still recommend it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2001_Lexus_RX 300
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth every Penny

October 5, 2007
By Jim
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my RX 300. Handles great in the snow and is very reliable. I traveled across the US with no problems. Seats could be a little more comfortable and the stereo could have been made easier to reach."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.