Customer Reviews for 2001_Subaru_Outback

2001_Subaru_Outback

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 of 5
4.3
 of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001_Subaru_Outback
Review 1 for 2001_Subaru_Outback
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

dissapointed

October 8, 2012
By honda lover
from portland oregon
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"the interior is cheap and the seats are uncomfortable, be must be made for small people. i like the styling of the exterior. the starter went out early on and the brake
roters warped. the knok sensor went bad and the dealer could not fix it so i took it to my local guy.
i do love the way the awd works
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2001_Subaru_Outback
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my car!

September 22, 2012
By Vika
from Tobyhanna, PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I recently purchased a 2001 Subaru Outback and I LOVE IT. It is a reliable car and a great deal for my money. I recommend this car for anyone who wants an all wheel drive stylish reliable vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2001_Subaru_Outback
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First car I've owned in years

March 27, 2012
By bonbon
from Apple Valley, MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've been driving jeeps and minivans. This is the first car I've owned in years. I really enjoy driving it. The mpg is great compared to my last vehicle.
Hope to have this for years.
The only annoyance I've had is the wind noise in the driver's side front window. There is no frame around the window (which I love when the window is down) but there is wind noise on the driver's side. Don't know if that can be remedied or not.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2001_Subaru_Outback
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love my 10 yr old outback!!!!!!!!

February 25, 2011
By my outtie
from Denver, Co
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My 10 yr old Outback is the best...wish I could afford a newer one.....no credit waaaaaa :( Maybe win I win the powerball....I may buy 2 more or maybe a forester or tribeca?????????????????????????????????????"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2001_Subaru_Outback
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

dependable

November 14, 2010
By globug
from vermont
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very dependable in vermont winters, especially on our steep dirt road. One problem I have, and that is with the latch to the trunk. It is routinely very hard to open due to rusting. Other people that I have talked to that own a Subaru outback have also reported the same problem"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2001_Subaru_Outback
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT GREAT GREAT!!!!!!!

October 19, 2010
By OUTBACK LOVER
from NYC, NYC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love My outback, it's awsome in the snow and it rides smooth, I got about 130k on my outback LL bean editions and it doesn't look like it's gonna quit anytime soon, it rides like a horse."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2001_Subaru_Outback
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2001 outback - backin' out

October 5, 2010
By joksta
from Norwalk, CT
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Not a bad car overall but the wind noise is a pain and we've had to have the brakes done every couple years... but it's safe and mostly reliable"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2001_Subaru_Outback
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car ever

June 28, 2010
By Soob Dood
from Hamilton, ON
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned this car from the begining. I now have 316,000 km and it showes no signs of stopping. since me buying this vehicle I have talked it up so much that 3 of my friends each bought one, and so did my wife and she never listens to me. The car obviously speaks for itself."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2001_Subaru_Outback
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mixed feelings? Hard to say

November 14, 2009
By Mr Random
from Upstate, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My wife bought this wagon from her parents last year ('08). Her parents were told by a dealer, shortly after they bought it in '02, that it had the motor (2.5L) replaced already...really?!?!
Whether that's true or not, the car held up it's end very nicely since then. It's not old, but it has 175K and a rust problem (thanks NY!!). I spent a good $500+ on parts this year since her parents didn't want to sink any money into it last year (hence selling it dirt cheap to us). I can say, for the miles, 2 front struts, a knock and camshaft sensor, catback exhaust, rear wheel bearing and control arm bushing, front caliper, pads and rotors all around and a tranny fluid change are pretty good for the amount of miles. The most expensive part ended up being a set of tires; sadly, 1 is almost shot already due to noticing too late that the rear end was out of alignment (control arm bushing loose).
The motor and tranny are very smooth and are leak/smoke free. You really have to hit the gas to climb a hill and the car does not have much power, especially with passengers. Very comfortable ride with lots of space front to back! Heated cloth seats are wonderful when -20* outside! Heater and a/c are amazing!
Worst con: avg mpg in low 20s with 4 cyl. Car is way too heavy, even with AWD. Best mileage was 26 on hwy trip.
The gas mileage and rust holes are making us look for something else likely in the coming spring."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2001_Subaru_Outback
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent car- has held up well

May 1, 2009
By Model Boater
from Boston area
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought new in '01, have 120K miles on it now. Car has been incredibly reliable. We have 4 cyl with 5 speed manual.
Had one major issue-- at about 85K miles, the head gasket was leaking. Estimate was $3K for repair-- but it turned out to be covered by a recall- so it was no charge.
Pluses:
- still very comfy - heated seats are great!
- Interior materials have held up well to 8 years of wear.
- we have averaged about 24 MPG
Minor complaints:
- Interval wipers are not adjustable- you can't vary the rate.
- keyless entry system has stopped working
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2001_Subaru_Outback
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love My Subie!

March 27, 2009
By Love my Subie!
from Alaska
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got this car 6 years ago and it is just the right size for hauling bikes, kayaks, and camping in the back end (barely but it works!). The only thing I have had to replace is the hydraulics in the trunk...great little car. Hope it lasts me another 6 years."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2001_Subaru_Outback
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

very practical car, mechanical disappointments

November 26, 2007
By steve
from jay, maine
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"i bought this car used at 96000 miles. up here in snow country, Maine, all wheel drive is the way to go and i would rate this car very highly as practical, safe transportation. it has started every day and gotten me through lots of snow and rough roads with all season tires.
the layout and dimensions of the car are convenient and practical for both passenger and cargo carriage.
i have run into serious mechanical problems that i did not expect with a subaru:
the transmission went, requiring replacement, at 120 000 and right now the engine is being rebuilt because of a ring failure and leaking head gasket. i am a careful driver and maintenance fusspot so this has not been an abused vehicle. the transmission replacement cost $1300 (parts and labor) and the head gasket/short block replacement will cost about 3000 +-. these sorts of main item failures seem excessive and make me question subaru reliability.
that said, my research suggests that both ring and manual transmission failures are pretty rare issues for these cars so i might have just had bad luck. head gasket replacement, though is pretty standard.
i would buy another one simply because, for the money, noone else offers the features i want= manual transmission, all wheel drive wagon.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.