Customer Reviews for 2001_Toyota_ECHO

2001_Toyota_ECHO

Average Customer Rating:
4.818 of 5
4.8
 of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 22(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Review 1 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Economical Car

June 10, 2012
By Echo Owner
from Silver Spring, MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 2001 has the timing chain. The most economical car I've ever owned. I have the 4 speed manual, which is very economical , more than the automatic. This is ok if you like to shift gears.
The car has plenty of head room as others have stated and you can stretch you legs also. The car is easy to get in and out of and the back seat passengers have enough room also. The car has little pickup but cruises easily on the highway. It can easily go 60 and 70 mph. I got 42 mpg on my first test. I reccomend the car.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car ever owned

June 1, 2013
By GLowe
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this car new in 2001. Have used only synthetic oil since the first oil change. Current mileage: 303,000 and still running strong.
I've hardly repaired this car, ever. It will go 40K-60K with no repairs. Rolls effortlessly. Never eats tires. I got 120,000 out of a set of 80,000-mile Michelins!
Gas mileage is consistent at 38-42 mpg.
In 300,000 miles, I've replaced 1 water pump, 1 alternator, and the rear shocks.
Original engine, original trans, with NO repairs on either.
I'm 6'4 and have more headroom and legroom that any other car I've sat it, even luxury sedans. Huge trunk, nice back seat.
I plan on keeping this car as longs as it wants to be around.
Thank you Toyota!
Absolutely the best car I've ever owned.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2001 Echo

December 25, 2012
By Dr Bob
from Eldersburg
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great value for the money, especially if a manual transmission. Auto trans is good also. A basic car that works! Get 32 to 39 mpg. Got 41.7 mpg once. Lowest mpg 29 once."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Over 300,000 miles

August 4, 2012
By echo lover
from St. louis, MO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The echo is hands down the best small car ever. I purchased a well maintained 2001 echo 5spd with 89,000 miles on it. Drove it 5 days a week 200 miles per day round trip commute, and numerous other weekend trips. 40-45 mpg every tank. Only mechanical issue was the ignition coils went bad one by one around 200,000-250,000 miles. Each was $100 plus 10 minutes of my own labor. Other than that I had routine maintenance, and one wheel bearing (around 275,000m). Drove it till she had over 300,000 miles n sold it for $1800. Best car ever... sniff."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

most reliable car i've own

May 11, 2011
By money saver
from NH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i bought my echo bran new 11 years ago , i have put some money in to it but that beats a car payment i love my ehco"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great handling

November 25, 2010
By Vacationer
from Southern Maine
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great price. Very low emissions. The best gas mileage I've heard of in a conventional vehicle: 42 mpg.
The instrument panel in the center is great. As I'm 6'2"", there's no need to take my eyes off the road, tuck my chin down to my chest and peep through the steering wheel to check my speed, gas gauge, odometer, etc as I would in other vehicles.
The trunk is amazingly deep, and the comfort is fine for two in the rear seat of the 4 dr sedan. Give me one of these and skip the hatchback -- there's plenty of room for suitcases or gear.
If you're sensitive to road noise, look elsewhere as it tends to boom inside this vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliable Practicality and Fun

June 10, 2010
By hpver
from Bakersfield, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought our 2001 Echo new in Feb 2001 (4-dr, auto trans and AC but otherwise no frills -- manual everything). As of June 2010, we have 97K miles on it and have never had it in the shop except for a change of the front brake pads. Other than that, routine maintenance, fluid changes, new tires, etc. are all that's been done. It still runs great; we use it almost daily. I wish they still made this car. Because of its reliability and MPG, it's one of the lowest cost vehicles a person can own. We intend to drive it until it dies.
One of the reasons for the reliability is that Toytota has been making 1.5 litre engines for a long time and they do it very well. And the 2001 model has a timing chain, so no changing a belt every 60K miles.
The trunk is huge for a car of this size, and the car seats four adults comfortably. My son is 6 foot 2 now and can still drive it comfortably. A sports car it's not, but it does everything we have needed and then some. And after almost 10 years of hard use, including kids who are now teenagers, the upholstery, interior and paint is still in good shape.
I still get 30 MPG or more around town and about 38-42 on the highway. The car is tall for a small car, and a little light, so high winds buffet it a bit, but it holds the road and I've never felt unstable or unsafe in it. It can turn and park in small spaces and is very easy to drive. The center guage cluster is easy to get used to and I like that it leaves more windshield to see through ahead of me when I'm driving.
The professional auto press generally panned this car as dumpy looking and tinny, but those of us who have actually bought and driven one almost universally love and praise it. Trust the latter. This is a car you can buy with your eyes closed."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This car has never something wrong.

June 4, 2010
By Jecho :D
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car two years ago and I don't regret it. On the down side, it takes a while to get used to the gauge cluster stacked in the middle of the dash, if you have long legs then you feel like the seets arent long enough, but except that, THE CAR IS PERFECT!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

my first car

June 2, 2010
By Tanya
from Chicago
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I love this car! its my first car and i still have it for 3 years now. runs very good, no problems at all. i got into an accident recently and all i can say for now i think will be a total loss, but i think its a very good car for the 4000$ i paid for it. next one will be a toyota too,but not echo lol."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car If You Can Find One

May 25, 2010
By 06titan
from Palm Bay, FL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought our Echo new, in 2001. Manual seats, manual windows, automatic with AC. Plain and simple. It now has about 150K miles on it and still runs and looks great. Normal maintenance (fluids, tires, battery, shocks) is all we've done over the 9 years we've had it.
Did you know 2001 was the "only" year the Echo came with a timing chain (versus a belt)? That means no belt replacement every 50-60K miles, which will save you a few hundred $$$! We highly recommend this car for anyone in the family. It's cheap to run, cheap to maintain and reliable.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

finest motorcar ever made

December 12, 2009
By burditt1971
from International Falls, Minnesota
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My sister bought a 2000 Echo new, and the first time I rode in it, I was so impressed that I knew there had to be an Echo in my future. It took a while to track one down, because I never buy new cars (let somebody else eat that first year drop off in value) and nobody that ever bought one ever seems to want to sell it. (My sister has 175,000 + on hers and won't sell it because they do not make them any more)
I finally bought a 2001 and it has more than lived up to my expectations.
Of course Toyota quit making them. We, the customers were getting WAYYYYY to much value for price, and that had to end. The Yaris does not make a pimple on the butt of an Echo. Ya gotta love those auto manufacturers.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my Echo

October 7, 2009
By Blue
from Millburn NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have a 2001 Toyota Echo and will keep it as long as it will run. As far as I'm concerned there's nothing on the market I would want for replacing it and I'm sorry they're no longer available. It has been very reliable, handles well, has excellent gas mileage and is never in the garage except for routine maintenance. I find the driver's seat very comfortalbe as well."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

i love this car!

September 7, 2009
By katbird_27
from graham, WA, USA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this after a car wreck and needed a commuter car. I get in and was HIGHLY impressed by the fact that the speedometer and other gauges were in the CENTER of the dash! i think that was the #1 selling point of this car for me! I had heard of it before with it being a gas sipper and it hasn't disappointed there either as it gets ON AVERAGE 40 mpg! only problem with it was the fact that there is no tape deck :("
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little car

August 8, 2009
By Teendriver
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car is great, my parents bought it brand new in 2001 and we've had no problems with it. It's got about 65,000 miles on it and gets great gas milage. The only thing is that when you drive it above 65 MPH and there is a gusty wind it tends to squirm around a little. Another thing is that it's underpowered and the auto version is a little slow off the line and acceleration. I'm pretty tall and I fit in with room to spare. It's a great car for a new driver and anyone who wants a very reliable and efficiant car"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved it!

May 13, 2009
By IHeartSmallCars
from Bay Area
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Awesome car! Bought it with 70K 3 years ago after a lot of research. Great hwy gas mileage, good city mileage, easy to park. Big trunk for such a small car. It isn't flashy so it never got messed with (important when living in a big city). Lots of headroom. I love that it sits higher off the ground, it has better vision & I don't hit my head getting in like in all of my old cars. Got in a bad car wreck recently, t-boned. The car was a total loss, but we walked away. Can't wait to buy another one!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic car.

November 22, 2008
By Muscle car lover (Echo ain't no muscle car!)
from Los Angeles
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought car in 2002 with 20,000 miles from dealer for $6000. I have done NO repairs whatsoever, only oil and air filter changes. 95k miles now, I changed the original spark plugs at 93k, and they still looked new, except well worn (the gap was about .060).
I put an aftermarket cruise control on it for $200, and works well.
I have a picture of me going 115 mph on the 40 fwy in AZ I believe, so it has some power.
With cruise control set at 65 mph, I averaged 46.5 mpg from CA/AZ border, through NM, and up to Colorado.
I am 6'3", 250 lbs, and have room to spare. Headroom is always a problem with smaller cars, but this car is like and old VW bug, plenty of headroom. It is kind of why it looks so dorky from the outside.
I have auto trans, and it is a bit sluggish off the line to about 15 mph, then it scoots. The manual trans models are noticibly faster off line. A friend of mine does burnouts in his, and is still running fine at 170k miles."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car, but fun? Eh!

June 17, 2008
By Can't Complain
from Gibsons, BC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Can't complain at all. Had it from new, and never been to a garage. Great mileage and easy to drive. A bit light on the highway. It is easy to drive, but not as much fun as a VW or a Mini. I had a VW Cabriolet I wanted to keep instead of the Echo, but my wife said no, the Echo is just too darned practical!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best mph car out there!!

May 29, 2008
By Corey
from Westport, MA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The car is very small and can fit in almost any spot and parallel parking is super easy. I get on average 40 miles per gallon which is great with gas prices. I have had to have NO major work done and no breakdowns in the seven years I've owned it. The speedometer in the center of the dash is much better then behind the steering wheel, easier to see. There is so much random spaces to put things. The drawer under the passenger seat is awesome! The trunk is big even though it looks on the small size."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Commuter Car

October 13, 2007
By Family Man
from Cincinnati, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 2001 Toyota ECHO in 2003 with 17K miles on it. It has been perfectly reliable. Not one thing has gone wrong. I have not had any repairs. I always go at least 5,000 miles between oil changes. It gets great gas mileage. I average 38 MPG. It is comfortable and the sound system is great. My only wish is that it had more horse power. It can be weak when going up steep hills, getting on the freeway or passing at high speeds. It is a car that will be faithful and reliable and very easy on your wallet. I would definitely recommend purchasing this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2001_Toyota_ECHO
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent car! Extremely reliable!!!

June 19, 2007
By ECHOlover
from Allentown, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 2001 ECHO used two years ago. It had 60,000 mi on it. Now it's right at about 110,000 mi. I have not had ANY problems. It is a very comfortable car, awesome on gas and has plenty of storage space inside. I would recommend one to anybody!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.