Customer Reviews for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe

2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe

Average Customer Rating:
4.632 of 5
4.6
 of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Review 1 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car!!!

January 22, 2010
By ghill
from Ripley, MS
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just bought this car 6 mths ago, with 150k miles, but it drives like brand new. No problems whatsoever. LOVE IT!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'll drive it for ever if I can

August 11, 2012
By Kassman
from Palm Springs, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car used with about 40K on it. I now have 227K and have virtually no problems, just routine maintenance. I love not having a car payment. I will keep my Santa Fe until she say "put me to sleep, I served you well". Once a year I take a long trip of 2,500 miles and never suffer from lack of room or comfort This is the most reliable car I have ever owned.."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nice ride

April 3, 2012
By santa fe owner
from michigan
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I am very happy with my purchase. its smooth, handles snow and ice good. the sleek design is a plus,as is the sun roof.opens and raises! love it!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty good!

January 23, 2012
By Stephanie
from Minneapolis/St. Paul
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought my Hyundai Santa Fe in March of 2009 with 89,000 miles on it for $7000ish including tax and title and had it until someone hit and ran it when it was parked until October 2011.
Great in the snow, I had it in the worst winter in the last 20 years in Minnesota, and it never got stuck once. The gas mileage is fair, I'd fill it up once per week at about $45 per tank. The interior is nice, and the exterior is okay. I didn't like the little love handles on the front sides.
The check engine light would go on periodically which was super annoying. Nothing was ever really wrong with it though when I took it in. Usually it came on if I excellerated too fast of if it was super hot that day.
It also did this sputter thing at stop lights that was annoying, but my mechanic said it wasn't something to worry about.
Before someone hit it and totaled it, I was planning on spending $400 on a tune up, which is to be expected with a car that age.
Overall, it's a pretty good car for the money. Some annoyances, but really safe, and decent gas mileage. :)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Well-Made Vehicle

July 25, 2011
By Hillian
from Cedarville, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently sold my 2002 Santa Fe, but loved every one of my 132,000 miles. The only flaw was an air conditioner that refused to work after three complete replacements, an additional repair on the first one, and several thousand dollars. I could not subject my baby son to the July heat any more in it.
The engine was flawless. No major repairs other than typical maintenance. It had zip to it, drove great, and was comfortable leather. A good car if the AC works!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

260,000 miles and still going!

February 28, 2011
By P2
from Daniels, WV
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 2002 Santa Fe in Feb. 2002. Review written 2/2011. I've got 260,000 miles on it and it's still going strong. I travel 140 miles round trip 5 days a week for work on the WV turnpike (serveral mountains and many curves). The AWD has gotten me thru many snow/ice storms. Other than routine maintenanace the only repairs have been (1) leak in the air conditioner system, covered by warranty and (2) broken belt & loose pulley. The tires last for 90, 000 miles on this baby. Will replace w/ another Santa Fe when this one dies."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Vehicle

February 2, 2011
By BDO
from Indiana
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very safe and reliable vehicle. Great quality for money. Gets me where I need to go and has the look of a high-end SUV without the gas mileage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

125000 Miles Still Awesome

September 13, 2010
By Wally
from Dayton, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought car with @ 20K miles. I have changed the oil and had 2 tires replaced thus far...are you kidding me??!! Car runs like the day I bought it. A simply amazingly well manufactured vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Automobile

November 29, 2009
By Hyundai fan
from Hilton Head Island
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"You can't go wrong with a Santa Fe. This baby has 130k miles and runs like new. With the triptronic transmission, i still have the original brakes. timing belts are expensive every 60k but its worth the investment vs getting a new vehicle. Highly reliable, excellent engineering. Decent mileage, smooth ride; 2.7 V6 excellent weight distribution."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

160K and still chuggin'

September 28, 2009
By JaguarMoonStar
from Long Island, NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My 2002 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS is an amazing vehicle, especially for the money. I've brought it on the beach for some four wheeling, I've pushed it over 110mph, it has over 160,000 miles on it, and it's still running quite well. It's really going to be emotional the day I have to give this car up..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I would buy it again

July 2, 2009
By Chad
from Colorado
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought the car in 2002, this review is written in 2009. We have had the car into the dealer once. The check engine light was on, the issue was covered as a free repair/recall issue. Otherwise, no other problems in 172,000 miles. Ok gas milage. We will consider buying a Santa Fe again when this one dies...which could be a long while from now."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliable Car

June 23, 2009
By Santa Fe 2002
from Houston, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned both Acura and Lexus before; they both are 6 cyl and run great. But after around 13k miles, both cars have the same smoke problem coming out from the mufflers. Compared to these cars, Santa fe is a great car with much lower price to own. Its V6 2.7L engine is powerful enough to drive and tow. My Sant Fe is 12k miles now but still runs excellent and never given me a problem except change some light bults."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Clydesdale

April 26, 2009
By Brian
from Fairfax, VA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife bought her SF with 30k on the clock in 2003. Two kids and 80 thousand miles later, this car has been nothing but good to us.
Performance- being a car fanatic, my only complaint is that the passenger car engine has a passenger car torque curve. You really need to get the RPMs up to make things happen. However, we have had it loaded with firewood and towing a trailer, and it got us where we needed to be. Mileage is so-so, but the AWD is great in the slick (and designed w/Porsche assistance).
Looks: Well, you don't confuse your car for anyone else's in the lot. The paint scratches somewhat easily, but it buffs out easily, too. Interior has been holding up great.
Repairs: Timing belt at 65k ran 300 bucks, struts/shocks at 110k were about 800. Other than that, just routine maintenance with our local mechanic (CSC in Chantilly).
Reliability: Never left us stranded, this thing has gone everywhere and done everything for us. I used to be quite anti-Hyundai, but this ownership experience has completely changed that. You're getting a phenomenal bargain on a car that, sadly, has lousy resale value."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this car!

December 27, 2008
By Lisandra
from Rockville, MD
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned this car for 6 years now and have put 115,000 miles on it. I have never had to take it in for servicing outside of routine maintenance. I have a basic model, without bells and whisles. Of the many things I like about it, I can mention it has lots of cubby holes for storage, a full sized spare tire, and 3 power outlets that come in handy with all the electronics we use nowadays. I'm absolutely beside myself for having to trade up to a minivan, due to a growing family. I would highly recommend it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best bang for the buck!!

October 16, 2008
By Hyundai lover
from New York
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have driven this car for almost 100k miles and have had no problems, guess thats why you see more and more on the road everyday, they last!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Has been great car

August 31, 2008
By BigG
from Prescott,Az
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Only have 4 cylinder but pulled a very long trailer with two quads.I aslo have pic. of the entire quad in the car. Thought I'ld never get it out had the hatch back stuck shut.Bought it used 60,000 miles only one mech. problem timing belt.
I now have 120,000 and have no leaks and still runs great.This car reminds me of Toyota Corolla Tercell I owned in the 80's.
If you clean your own car the enterior is challenge to clean the vents.For some reason headlight covers are blured.
Overall this is a great car for lots people or stuff.I would consider buying another one.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No complaints

March 11, 2008
By Shadow caster
from Chicago,IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car has been good to me for 6 yrs. I only had some minor problems in the beginning. Replaced a fuse and fixed a oil gasket ring which were all under warranty. The warranty was awesome and never really used it. I have 111,000 mile on it and it runs better than ever. The original tires lasted 90,000 miles and the exhaust is still original. MPG is low due to the all-time 4WD. dealerships were all good. Always started even in the Cold Chicago Winter! for a fair price of 21,500 I feel I got my moneys worth and more. I highly recommend this car. Took this car all over the country and had 100% trust in it. Later!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Some good and some bad...

July 30, 2007
By Hyundai Girl
from Alberta, Canada
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've owned this vehicle for 5 years and what I loved most about the Santa Fe was the interior space and the superior fuel economy (manual). Also liked it's pep and quiet smooth coasting at high highway speeds, although somewhat gutless in passing. What I didn't like was putting in new front brakes, timing belt, release bearing and clutch all within 88,000 km's!! Luckily, most were covered under the warranty... but now that it's up, I'm not feeling very secure in it's reliability judging by past experience. Would I buy another Santa Fe? Possibly, as the 2008's are sure to have been improved and fine tuned since it's early days. In summary, I'm gonna miss my Santa Fe... but am looking forward to moving on to a superior vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2002_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car, great price

March 26, 2007
By New mom!
from Detroit, Michigan
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my Santa Fe LX!!!! I have a 6 month old daughter and this car has great storage, safety ratings and from experience, it is very reliable!! We have owned many vehicles, but this one has had no maintence issues and runs so smoothly! Cup holders are everywhere and it is so easy to get in and out of! Highly recommended!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.