Customer Reviews for 2002_Acura_TL

2002_Acura_TL

Average Customer Rating:
4.263 of 5
4.3
 of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
16 of 19(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2002_Acura_TL
Review 1 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

most reliable car i have owned

August 18, 2013
By usanyc99
from Brooklyn NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"super car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great car but...

August 13, 2013
By Dinghy60
from Brooklyn, NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought my 2002 TL in 2001. It runs great and have not had any engine issues. I give it 3 stars for reliability because at 45,000 miles I had to put in a new transmission. Rides well, still looks great, fit and finish are holding up well although the front drivers seat as 3 cracks in the leather which I did treat from time to time. Also wheel covers pit easily, I kept them clean and got the break dust off regularly but still pitted. Changed the battery and had a major problem resetting the radio. Controls are well placed and it offers a smooth comfortable ride. I can give this car 4 stars overall."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car

May 9, 2013
By Dave
from Covington, LA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really nice interior, however; I don't like the back end of the exterior. The only negatives I would put on this car is the requirement for premium gas."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Cannot believe these reviews

September 29, 2012
By needyouradvice
from Southlake, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought a 2002 TLS brand new. Albeit the car is a nice riding car with a balance of power and luxury. I was simply disappointed in the total cost of ownership relating to the poor quality and reliability of this car. That is why I am shocked at some of these reviews. Aside from normal maintenance, here were the key areas that struck me this way. First, I am on my third transmission, thank God that it was all under warranty. But at that rate, I was replacing transmissions every 35k. Second, the disc rotors would warp every 35k. After my second time with that costly repair, I installed Brembos and had no problem since. My third item is that the engine mounts need to be replaced every 30k. Thats $800 a pop. And lastly dont buy cars with low profile tires. Havent found a tire that lasts over 30k. Been replacing them every couple years. I have been an avid Honda lover for years until now. Run."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2002 Acura TL

September 15, 2012
By TL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The best vehicle I've owned. As with all cars, some parts needed to be replaced over time. After ten years, though, it nearly runs like new."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most reliable car I've owned

August 21, 2012
By Acura
from Maryland
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Nothing bad to say about this car. I bought it used and drove up the miles. Only things replaced were the timing belt and breaks. Very reliable and safe car!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

all around great sport sedan (type-S)

February 4, 2011
By acura owner
from chicago
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After 80k miles it has all the energy, keeps comfort, good milleage and never breaks. keep rotating tires often to give them more longevity; 260bhp are a bit demanding on the front wheel drive. very few choices of good all-year tires if you live in cold climates (expect at least $700-800) a set."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Recurring Transmission Problems

May 3, 2010
By Sam
from Texas
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought a 2000 model. Transmission went out recently. The extended warranty is out at 100k miles. Transmissions on these models are horrible. Dealer wanted $3500 to replace transmission. Do not buy this car!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-3points
5out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent car since it is a Honda

July 7, 2009
By lookingforacar
from New Jersey
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Honda makes great cars that are reliable and long lasting. My 2002 TL Type-S has decent power and handling for a sedan and has given me no problems whatsoever. There was a recall for a hot 3rd gear (oil cooler installed I think) but other than that and normal maintenance it has been great. 7-8 years old and approaching 69K miles."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car

February 10, 2009
By edelman
from Columbus, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this car. Never had any problems, super comfortable, great features, and strong as a tank. Highly recommended."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

power

January 5, 2009
By tom
from California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great car once the tranny was fixed. I give Honda a lot of credit for making their service solid. 288,000 and going strong. amazing"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

02 Acura TL

October 31, 2008
By Acura
from Nampa
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It has 80,000 Miles and is falling apart SRS airbags break Brake fluid low,
go to have it serviced strip out drain plug now it leaks!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
Primary use for this car: Commuting
This vehicle was purchased: Used
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car I ever had

September 22, 2008
By LBJay
from Long Beach CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got the car in Sept 2004 with 39K on it is now Sept 08 with 143K on it. Only problem is the radio going to anti-theft mode and the code not working to unlock it at 120K. Other then that it has been usual maintenance of tires, oil changes, and battery. The brakes seem to last forever by the way have not changed them yet. By the far the best of my 3 cars over my 16 years of driving."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my car BUT:

May 6, 2008
By Sophia
from new jersey
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"the transmissions in the type-s are known to fail, this is a factory defect from 99 to part of 03. the trans will fail to shift, slip, downshift (on its own), and will even throw itself in neutral. This is due to a 3rd gear shift being bad, if the work was done by acura prior to 3/2005 the trans will fail again, anything done by acura after 3/2005 is fixed. I love my car to death, wouldnt trade her for the world, but the trans put me back $1900. with aamco to rebuild and fix the issue."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Got More Power Than I Know How to use!!

December 24, 2007
By Great Car
from Nampa Id
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Get On Freeway speed limit 65 I find myself going 85!! Tons Of Power!!
Great For Driving In Winter with TCS!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reliable to a point

October 13, 2006
By Jones
from Houston, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I own 2002 tl s daily driver, I drive about 70 highway miles rt 5 days, so far the car has been fun to drive, nice throaty sound when you step on it, tight handling for a large sedan. I have had trouble with the front rotors, they warp quickly so you get steering wheel shudder when braking, which leads to fast tire wear. Acura did have a recall for the transmission oil jet replacement, which I had done, so I thought I was in the clear. Not so, recently my transmisson went out, lcukily I was covered under the warranty. I ve been reading other acura forums and the repeat transmission and rotor problems are the largest complaints."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Entry Level Luxury Car

October 9, 2006
By Chandler
from Bloomfield, NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a wonderful car. I would recomend getting the navigation system if you are looking into an accura. Other than that, this car has it all. I feel it is reliable and safe."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome car!

September 19, 2006
By Relmbo
from Cary, NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is one of the two best cars I've owned - the other being a Toyota Camry. The one major difference is that Acura service is the service you would expect from a luxury dealership - 1st class treatment all the way."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2002_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

IMMACULATE CONDITION 1 OWNER LEASE RETURN

June 14, 2006
By YaRubb Enterprise LLC
from Dallas, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"MINT CONDITION 1 OWNER LEASE RETURN VEHICLE. RUNS DRIVES EXCELLENT. LOOKS EXCELLENT. INETRIOR IN GOOD CONDITION."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.