Customer Reviews for 2002_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class

2002_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class

Average Customer Rating:
4.462 of 5
4.5
 of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2002_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class
Review 1 for 2002_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2002 C230 Kompressor Coupe

November 1, 2012
By Kompressor
from NY NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this 2 years ago with 69,000 miles. For 17,000 miles more it has been trouble free and a joy to drive. Solid, quite, awesome performance, hatch back hauling, 4 real seats and great gas mileage. Way better choice than most 4 cylinder used cars in this category, and even today (vs. other used cars) I see these are priced right."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2002_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

solid auto; would purchase again

May 9, 2012
By My Merc
from Middle Ga.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned a 2002 C-320 Sport Wagon for nearly 4 years. The mileage is now 78,000. The 3.2 litre engine provides great power for a small car. The sport suspension is terrific; even though it is a wagon, it handles like a sports car. The car has been relatively trouble free for the 45,000 miles I have driven it. I purchased the extended warranty and the annual service has averaged about $1000 with all of it being covered in the warranty. The interior is comfortable. The cup holders are a joke. There are no other issues with the car. The origional sticker for the car was over $42,000 in 2002. I paid $16,000 for it in 2008. I considered a trade up to a used 2008 E-350 and found the dealer only allowed $7000 for the wagon so I decided to keep the wagon. The car is a blast to scoot around in and I agerage 23+ MPG on an 8 mile work commute and 27 MPG on the road. I'd never consider a new Benz due to the depreciation. Great used ones are available if great research is done to find the right car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2002_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

C-230 WITH KOMPRESSER

September 6, 2011
By FIRST MERCEDES
from CLEVELAND OHIO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"GREAT RUNNING CAR FOR A 4 CLY. MUST USE HI TEST BUT THE PERFORMENCE IT GREAT. VERY LOW TO THE GROUND SO LITTLE OLDER FOLKS MAY HAVE A HARDER TIME GETING IN AND OUT."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2002_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2002 C230K -MT

April 29, 2011
By LovaLova69
from FLORIDA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought my car in 2003 with 10k miles on it paid 19k.
Drove 85k miles and with few minor problems.
I've noticed after 80k the bulbs start to burn..not big deal cheap to replace. Maintenance is cheap also.
BIG plus is the road side assistance life time for free.
2 time battery went down and it was replaced right on the spot..1 time free of charge brand new battery.
Great gas mileage.
I am a happy user..
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2002_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car

April 27, 2010
By benzGuy
from Denver, CO
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I loved the look of the car and performance. Overall I enjoyed driving it. I am tall so i had to have my seat back which made it very difficult for anyone to fit in the back seat. when i had a full car, it wasnt fun. It is a fast car for the V6 powered engine. The feautures were great, bose speakers which really sounded awsome, rear sun shade for my kid was great. I would reccommend this vehicle to anyone exept if you expect kids or people to be in the rear seats a lot, they and you wont be confortable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2002_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Little problems make me nuts!

July 13, 2009
By Former Merc Fan
from Los Angeles, CA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought this C320 wagon for my wife (who is 4'11") with 32k, and also purchased an extended warranty. Thank God for that. Love the look of the car, although it's too small for me (I'm 6'2"), while the mileage and handling are very good. However, the air cond. is, at best, marginal (we live in LA) and can take 20 minutes to cool the car at 85 degrees. 100? Forget it. It has also suffered a host of reliability issues -- some big, some small and infuriating. To wit: the driver's door seal has malfunctioned more than 3 times, been repaired... and recurs. The glovebox door has fallen off twice. My wife and I have cut our fingers on the trim around the shifter. The cigarette lighter is locked in the down position and cannot be removed. Now, in the summer heat, the car is having vapor lock problems-- despite it being fuel injected. Oh, yeah, and the sound system is only good when it's cranked... and I mean CRANKED! Otherwise it sounds like a transistor radio from the 60s. This is my sixth and last Mercedes."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2002_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect car for the price

December 4, 2008
By Mike
from New York
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I owned my C230 Kompressor sportscoupe for more than two years. Its performance and styling in unbeatable for the price. Instead of buying a used Japanese car (for the same money) I bought my Benz and I never regret. The sportscoupe definitely attracts attention and lets you enjoy all the good things of owning a Mercedes-Benz. It is a Mercedes at the end, not "like a Mercedes.""
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2002_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kompressor Guy

February 3, 2008
By Kompressor Guy
from Sunny South Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Of all the Mercedes we have owned and shared in our family, this vehicle stands out as the best value and most useful vehicle. It has been virtually trouble free for the past six years since new. It is comfortable and handles well with excellent performance for an inexpensive economy car. We get 32 mph on the highway and high 20's around town. The hatchback with it's removable privacy shade combined with the fold down rear seats provides mini-station wagon hauling capacity. The resale is also extremely good; I recently turned down an offer of 70% of what I paid new for this six year old vehicle with 53,000 miles on the odometer. In addition, even if you are off warrantee, you still have Mercedes road side asistance forever and they will send out a technician capable of getting you up and running, like replacing the battery on the spot, instead of just towing you in."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2002_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliable, versitile, sporty

November 12, 2006
By Anti-SUV
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Premium amenities and safety features in a value priced, economical (25+ mpg) package. Hatchback with folding rear seats makes it very versatile."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2002_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

C320. A lot of car in a little package

October 2, 2006
By Bob in Burbank
from Los Angeles
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 2002 vintage of this car came with the 6 cylinder engine and virtually every option that you could ask for, power seats, self dimming mirrors, burlwood dash, etc. The car just feels safe, solid and luxurious. It was unfortunately a bit pricey for the mass market so Mercedes lowered the specifications in later years, including dropping the "standard" to the C230 (four cylinder) from the 320 (six cylinder) engine."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2002_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car!

July 31, 2006
By Peter
from VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It's a great car! Very comfortable and stylish. It is not very cheap to do any kind of mantaince on this car, but it's worth it. It is Mercedes, that is all I want to say! I love this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2002_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quality Auto

July 20, 2006
By Wes K
from Louisville,Ky
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a quality automobile, a touch of elegance with an abundance of German engineering. I have never owned an automobile with such fit and finish, multiple safety features, and elegant styling."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2002_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

'02 M-B C230 Kompressor Sports Coupe

May 17, 2006
By Benz Fanatic
from Lenexa, Kansas
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned a 2002 Mercedes-Benz C230 Kompressor Sport Coupe for a little over a year now, and so far it has been excellent. The handling is really nice, it jumps when u floor it, and I have had no major problems. The internal computer lets you know everything right in front of you on a digital display under the speedometer, from "passenger door open" and "change brakes soon" to "left front marker light out". It'll tell you everything, and you can do almost anything from the steering wheel, just mess around with the buttons on the wheel for a while and you'll figure out how to change the display and see how fast your going, change the station or volume, even how many miles you have left in your tank based on your speed. This car has it all and if you get one with the options you will be happier with this car, than a brand new pontiac or chevy for the same price. This car will meet your every need, and Mercedes does a great job with reliability, even though it doesn't show in reviews, I've owned three Benz's and never had any problems that cost more than a few hundred bucks to fix. This car is beautiful, stylish, and luxurious and I recommend it to anyone interested."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.