Customer Reviews for 2002_Mercury_Mountaineer

2002_Mercury_Mountaineer

Average Customer Rating:
3.875 of 5
3.9
 of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
11 of 16(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2002_Mercury_Mountaineer
Review 1 for 2002_Mercury_Mountaineer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Suv Ever

July 10, 2013
By Car Lover
from New York, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 2002 mountaineer in 04 and i loved it ever since. With only 25,000 miles on it this truck it checked off everything that i was looking for in a midsize suv. Its spacious, comfortable, reliable and my family loves it as well especially when it comes to long distance driving this truck will get you where you need to be in the most comfortable way. With 160,000 miles on it now the truck still runs as great as it did when i first bought it. This proves that if you take care of your car it will take care of you. Im looking forward to many more years with this truck and i recommend it to anybody that is looking for a preowned midsize suv."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2002_Mercury_Mountaineer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

To many issues

May 25, 2013
By jbm1976
from Kittanning PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I just bought this moutaineer and on my way home the check engine light came on and the od light started to flash. I looked the issue up online and it's a common issue. then i was making tight turns and it felt like it was gripping. looked it up online and another common issue. then I was going down the road a day or two later and a hear a crack from the back of the suv. i get out and dont see anything. then later that night i see the passengerside is sitting lower then the drivers side. Broken spring. looked it up online and another common issue. I bought a pair of rear quick struts to replace them both. as i was taking it apart it was already broken at the top of spring and it broke on the bottom of spring as well. upper break was all rusted like it was broken for some time. then i replaced the other side and it was also broken at the top of spring. It could or broken sideways and hit the tire making me wreck. I can't believe ford never had a recall on the springs. The one i bought has the tow package. But from what i am reading online dont tow anything heavy! weak transmissions and they wont last! My rear a/c was making clicking sound. 32 dollar part on ebay to repair that. not to bad. also lots of poeple with that issue online. another common issue. as for the flashing over drive light and check engine light. the transmissions are known to have Solenoid issues. most tranny shops want to replac the hole tranny at a high cost. This isn't needed all the time. You can just replace the Solenoid Block saving a lot of money. I did this repair myself.
Still didnt get all wheel drive gripping issue fixed as of review!
These are known for having to many issues. If i would of known about all these issues I would of passed on buying one.
now for the features. 3rd row seating is nice but never used it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2002_Mercury_Mountaineer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun to drive, comfortable and reliable

April 11, 2012
By Loves sporty vehicles
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought my 2002 Mountaineer used in 2003 and have loved it & all the added extras. I commute 60 - 100 miles a day, 4 - 5 days a week, & mostly on the highway with all the cell phone & texting idiots, and I love the comfort & safety of driving this vehicle. Since going over 190, 000 miles, that's when expensive things have been occurring. Repaired the A/C, a valve cover spring, & other similar type issues. I feel all associated with the high mileage. I love this vehicle, but due to gas prices I'm looking at replacing my Mountaineer with the Edge. Smaller & better on gas & I'm sure I will love it just as much as my Mountaineer."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2002_Mercury_Mountaineer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Most Unreliable Ever

December 7, 2010
By Lover of SUVs
from Cincinnati
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"It was the most unreliable car I ever owned. Too bad, because I loved everything about it.
In 99,000 miles, I had 22 repairs ... electricals, sensors, trim, wheel bearings, rear end, rear wiper motor ... just endless.
Normal maintainence was inexpensive and reasonable, but with the 22 repairs on top of it ... never another Ford product.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2002_Mercury_Mountaineer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love my Mountaineer!

August 24, 2010
By Kassi from Cali
from Fresno, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have never had a more comfortable, reliable vehicle. This car has been dependable and I had over 140k miles on it before some man plowed into me from behind. I cried when the insurance company told me it was a total loss. I wasn't ready to give it up and still not, but I have no choice. I just hope that the next vehicle I purchase will get me and my boys to the places we want to go and be so comfortable and spacious. There aren't a lot of Mountaineers out there, if you find one, snag it! You won't be sorry!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2002_Mercury_Mountaineer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for my large family

May 18, 2010
By Mrs. H
from Illinois
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This vehicle came with low miles, & a decent price. It was well taken care of by the previous owner. It gets the same gas mileage as the smaller family van I had previously driven."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2002_Mercury_Mountaineer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Wow, what a stinker

May 2, 2010
By Frustrated
from Clear Lake, IA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This SUV listed out at $38000 when I bought it and it has cost me a ton in repairs. I am more than ready to trade it and now I find out it has no resale value."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2002_Mercury_Mountaineer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Magestic Lion Look

December 30, 2009
By Olu
from Hyattsville, MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It's an impressive ride. Solid. Dependable if well taken care of. I have driven the AWD V8 through blizzards while other 4*4 SUVs were skidding.
All cars have their weak point. So its always advisable to get extended warranty.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2002_Mercury_Mountaineer
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Too bad not better customer care

February 14, 2009
By former customer
from Spring, Texas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We owned a Ford Explorer and the transmission went out literally just after the warranty expired. It was awful and after 2 rebuilt transmissions we gave up and decided to buy another suv. My husband still believed in Ford workmanship so he convinced me we should get the Mountaineer. It's a 2002 and I'll admit to loving the way it drives. It's pretty comfortable inside, but there is a little motor in the rear air that goes out every couple of years. First time it went out under warranty. After that we have had to pay 4 times to have it fixed. One of the service guys even admitted they have that part break all the time. However, the only help we ever received (and believe me I asked alot!) was the dealership we took it to for service gave us 10% off. I love those guys, but we will NEVER buy another Ford Mercury product."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2002_Mercury_Mountaineer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I really like this truck but......

June 15, 2008
By CW
from Ann Arbor
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"be prepared for a few common problems areas. These trucks have had a lot of issues with their transmission. When my transmission had to be rebuilt at 100k, I looked on the internet and it was a very common issue. Seems most vehicles have their weak spots, this one just happens to have an expensive one.
On the bright side though, that is practically the only repair I have had to do other than routine maintenance and I'm pushing 150K now.
I have really enjoyed the truck. It is comfortable, has tons of luxury options and is real fun to drive.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2002_Mercury_Mountaineer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

has never let me down the do it all suv

November 29, 2007
By Carlitos Way !!
from Los Angeles, CA.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This vehicle is a great mid size suv. I have put it to some really hard towing and I could not ask for anything more! Manuavarability is great when in comparision to large suvs, the 3rd row in the back is not bad even for an adult when in comparision to a Tahoe with the 3rd row. Price when purchasing as a used car is possibly the greatest value. Unlike the 4RUNNERS besides this is still a more comfortable ride and you can fit by getting in and out all seats alot easier than alot of other mid size suvs. V-6 engine is a great engine that Ford makes for the mountaineer and the explore, I have work at a Ford store as a service advisor and I know that the vehicle is a well proven one in comfort and convenience the mountaineer has most of the options that are an option on the explore, its a great buy definitely would recommend to a friend.."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2002_Mercury_Mountaineer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Constant mechanical problems

June 13, 2007
By Doc
from Vernon Hills Il
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Nothing but trouble. Transmission went out at 60K miles and cost 4 grand to fix. Gas valve went out, drivers window wouldnt go up. I did ride great and looks great but not very reliable"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2002_Mercury_Mountaineer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This has been a great all around vehicle.

December 23, 2006
By OHV Man
from St. Louis, MO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It has been a joy to drive and enjoy the performance handling and comfort of the 2002 Mercury Mountaineer. I would not be selling it except I recieved a company car. I would recommend this SUV to anyone."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2002_Mercury_Mountaineer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2 Explorers & 3 Mountaineers

October 4, 2006
By bengy
from SF, East Bay Area
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Every 2 years we look at all the Suv's then always end up buying another Mountaineer or Explorer, nothing else comes close in Value, Comfort, Power & Reliability for us. My 2006 Model is another in this long line that we really cannot find anything better under $50,000."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2002_Mercury_Mountaineer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2002 Mountaineer

June 8, 2006
By Mother of 3
from Iowa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought used in 2003 and have not had any problems, except some wear on the exterior that I'm not happy with.
Extremely comfortable, great air conditioning, lots of room, Easy to put seats down for hauling stuff and then back up for 3rd row. Easy to get in and out of 3rd row. Very reliable"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2002_Mercury_Mountaineer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Family Vehicle

May 19, 2006
By Mountaineer Fan
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love the Mountaineer. Space is really important with 3 growing boys with friends and cousins who love to spend time with us. This 7 seater is very comfortable for long and short drives. My only concern is the ability to cool off the 3rd row quicker but there is seemingly no problem with heat circulation. The storage area behind the 3rd seat is also great for groceries and other things. My favorite feature is the fact that the 2nd and 3rd row lie down so that we can do our own deliveries and save money. The largest thing that I can remember is a hot water heater. Because of all of these great features, when it is time to upgrade, we will consider the Mountaineer as a top choice."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.