Customer Reviews for 2003_Dodge_Dakota

2003_Dodge_Dakota

Average Customer Rating:
4.118 of 5
4.1
 of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 17(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2003_Dodge_Dakota
Review 1 for 2003_Dodge_Dakota
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good for first 10 years

April 6, 2014
By hammer
from cogan station pa
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"great truck for first 10 years only few minor problems'
2 new starters, several blower motor resistor. after year 9 bed starting rusting out above back wheels. I have the 4.7 engine and I would say I have used it hard. year 11 involved me spending 2000 dollars to pass inspection. new ball joints, wheel hub, rotors where pitted, and leaf spring shackles rusted off.. hopefully good for another 10 years. or as I say from the dealer lot to the junk yard.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2003_Dodge_Dakota
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most Reliable car ive owned

October 13, 2013
By Sports Car Enthusiast
from Corning New York
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I would recommed this type of vehicle to a friend or family , i have been happy with it . I want to find another one very soon ."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2003_Dodge_Dakota
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

just keeps running

September 5, 2011
By max954
from Coral Springs, Florida
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"bought this truck in 2006 with 50,000 miles. It still runs like new without any repairs up to now. (Sorry, just installed new windshield wipers last week.)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2003_Dodge_Dakota
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Truck

August 8, 2011
By Sandman4X4
from Marthas Vineyard
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought new in 2003 Reg. cab 4X4 SXT 5sp. locking diff. 3.92, this truck can work, I was delivering bottled water with it for 8mos. I could get 40! 5 gal bot. in the bed, at 4.8lbs@gal=1920lbs!! yes I was overloaded, every day!, sometims twice a day! had plenty of power, suspension never bottomed out, not like the bosses 2004 Tundra (broken springs). I made a 950 mile round trip m/t going with 10 knox-down picnic tables in back 950lbs., towing a trailer with another 35 tables 3,987lbs. at the Cat scale: 9,210lbs. total gross combined weight! thru the mountains on rt. 80 in Penn. to Mass. on the trip out emty got 21mpg on the hyw. on the trip back 14.5! not bad. I was going to buy a new one, but the screwd-up the style of the newer truck. But I think this truck will last a long time, 63,000 so far I did have to replace the ball joints, so what, and the water pump went out at 49,000, covered under warranty, I only give it a 4 star on comfort because it is only a reg. cab. GOOD TRUCK."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2003_Dodge_Dakota
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dakota Quad Cab

July 30, 2011
By Dan
from Cleveland
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very reliable truck so far.
I bought this truck used 3 months ago with 90,000 miles on it because I wanted a truck for once and was looking for something with an exteded cab. Came across a great looking quad cab and bought it for a reasonable price. Truck has a V6 in it and although I thought about buying a V8, thought it would be a little better on fuel than the V8.
All in all, not a bad truck. Lots of room in the quad cab for passengers and the bed is just a tad under 5ft 6 inches so it's not a full 6 Ft bed... Not bad though for weekend projects or medium duty work or towing.
Truck drives very well, was well maintained by the previous owners and I've had no issues with it since owning it. Fuel milage is consistent at about 19 MPG combined. Best I have seen was about 22.5 on the Highway and worst was about 17. Not too bad for a truck and a 3.9 Liter V6 moving it.
I've been told the 4.7 Liter is about the same in milage but has more power for towing. Something to think about...Since I don't really tow anything I took the 3.9 liter and am happy with it. Drove the truck to South Carolina from Ohio and was pleased with the overall comfort and ride. Gas could be a bit better on the long haul but again, it's a truck..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2003_Dodge_Dakota
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the best

May 25, 2011
By 32mike
from Madsion, alabama
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i have the 03 Dodge Dakota Stamped with the 5.7 liter V-8, i love my truck i cant find any stampedes on the road though, so i think they are hard to come by. but this is and awesome truck!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2003_Dodge_Dakota
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

one problem

January 4, 2011
By Broke from PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is not your truck if you want excellent gas mileage. It is a great truck if you dont need a full size all the time, but still want enough power to tow a camper, haul firewood to a campsite, or any other truckly things. If you want good mpg's get a inline 4 motor from ford or chevy and call your buddy with a real truck to help you when the work needs done."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2003_Dodge_Dakota
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It's an ok truck

December 3, 2010
By gmrich
from Michigan
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"the 3.9 has very poor pick up when you floor the gas pedal. When I drove it through a hilly mountain area could't get over 60 mph on the moderate inclines to save my life. This was in 2003 so the truck was brand new."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2003_Dodge_Dakota
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

reliable mini truck

April 5, 2010
By Winny
from Asheville, NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"We have a 2 WD 4.7l V8 with about 145kmls. It's a reliable truck with up to 17 mls / gal. V8 is powerful and fun to drive. Truck is practical and comfy even on longer rides. We had some minor defects like broken power locking, cabin has a water leak, etc. but no major issues. Divetrain is good and has no oil leaks at all."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2003_Dodge_Dakota
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2 Trucks 2 Dakotas

March 25, 2009
By Second Time Dakota Owner
from Clarion, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I was the owner of a 00 Dakota slt, when i sold it I purchased a 03 Dakota slt because I loved the first one so much! Both had terrific power with the 4.7 engine, decent gas mileage for the engine size, bigger than other compact pickups, very friendly cabin cabin area. All round great pickup! Know a friend with V6 and regrets it shifting so much (tranny strain) My 4.7s actually get better on gas!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2003_Dodge_Dakota
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nice truck got for good price

July 23, 2008
By jstew
from columbus,ga
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great truck bought used got a great deal looks brand new needed somethin to haul a boat and dirt bikes does great gets decent gas mil..... for a truck gotta v6 and does the job fine um like i said got for cheap and still holding its value above what we paid and i love the quad cab awesome truck...."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2003_Dodge_Dakota
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

cheap truck

October 23, 2007
By truck,s for me
from California
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"always having a problem with water coming in from under carpet some where.took to the frahm dealer two times.almost 600 hundred dollars later it is still the same.engine light comes on and off.tune up's didnt change anything.Ecept to my bank acount.I paid $6700. for the sxt 3.7 v6.And it had 31286 miles on it..Pice of junk.Never by dodge trash again"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2003_Dodge_Dakota
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not Much Truck, For the Money

May 17, 2007
By SSgt
from Olympia, WA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I bought my 2003 Dakota 4X4 new, $28,000. The 4.7 liter engine has never seen 17 MPG, as stated on the sticker. Rarely goes above 15 MPG. Plenty of power, provided I'm not towing anything over 2000 lbs. Reliability is out the window, the rear differential gears broke, sending pieces of metal throughout the diff, that cost me several hundred dollars to repair (even under warranty), the replacement parts for recalls have fried and the sensor canister was exposed to a (small) mud puddle and cracked costing another $300+ to fix. (Becasue it was my fault for driving through the puddle, ON AN ASPHALT ROAD!) Save your cash and get a Toyota or Nissian."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2003_Dodge_Dakota
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Truck

April 12, 2007
By Dakota lover
from San Diego, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Best truck in the class, bought it used, and have had absolutely no problems. I love the way it drives and I love the pickup and speed."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2003_Dodge_Dakota
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great vehicle, great pricing

February 24, 2007
By Pheno
from Chili, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Altho the 3.9l lacks complete power, it still gets up and goes. Very comfortable interior design, with extended cab. Comfortable driving and great handling. Rear wheel drive makes for a bit of a hastle in the wintery months, but for a few months of the year its worth it, unless you find the 4x4 version."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2003_Dodge_Dakota
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Dakota

February 4, 2007
By Dakota
from wichita ks
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"i purchased this truck new, Mechanically this trsuck has been a good truck but when it comes to the little things its not so good. such as the brake release lever snaped one day. The glove box handle broke the comfort is pretty bad, the ride is rather rough and the gas mileage is horrible ( but it is a dodge ) for as small of a truck as it is i cant belive im getting about 12mpg city my brother has a 2002 tahoe and ges 16mpg city and its twice the size with a bigger engine. I'm looking to get rid of it soon, the dodge truck just isnt for me. i'd save a little more money and go for a GMC or a Chevy"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2003_Dodge_Dakota
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Only a few minor problems.

February 1, 2007
By Bossman
from Detroit
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've owned a quad cab 4X4 since new (3.5 years now) and overall it hads been a good truck. Only a few monor problems like a leaking shock absorber and the heater fan resistor died (no fan in winter). I like the looks and power of the 2003 model but the handling is rather "boaty" for my feel."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.