Customer Reviews for 2003_Ford_Taurus

2003_Ford_Taurus

Average Customer Rating:
4.414 of 5
4.4
 of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
26 of 29(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Review 1 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great car

July 4, 2010
By Newsman
from Rochester, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had heard about the Taurus being a great car, but was REALLY impressed once I got one. We bought it used, in mint condition and it's never given us a problem. AC is terrific, and our SE came with a factory installed 6-CD player -- a feature you quickly become addicted to."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Huston, we have a problem.

June 7, 2013
By Tuner Dude
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Aaaaaaaaaaaaallllllllllllllllrighty. So, seems like everyone here has nothing but good things to say about this car. Which i can sorta see why.
I got my 03 SES in August of 2011. Not bad. 75k miles on it. All black. Alloy rims. Kinda pricey though. At 6,540, it's a bit of a let down.
I do love how reactive it is. You hit the pedal- you immediately feel it. The bucket seats are nice too for those long car trips! the alloy rims look sweeeeet paired with the black paint. Not to mention how convenient the sunroof is. But as to everything, there are downsides.
I can't sit in it for more than 2 hours without getting suuuuupppeeerrr sore. BOTH the heat and AC have gone out within 2 months of one another. Tried re-filling the Freon. Turns out i need a whole new component. Not only did BOTH my tail light wiring harness' short circuit, but so did the head lights, 2 days later. My shocks are done for (No, i do not drive recklessly) as well as my ENTIRE rear strut assembly. My taurus had this really funny problem it uhh... heh... shut off on me while i was driving, 75 down the highway and boom. Power steering, abs breaks, lights. Everything. COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN. I honestly hate this car. The sound system is absolutely awful. My girlfriends 93 jetta is 10x louder than mine. That's not even the worse part. 3 of my four speakers have holes in them from the previous guy. What's even better is the screws are stripped. So, they're in there for good. "
DO NOT GET A TAURUS IF YOU'RE LOOKING FOR A FUN CAR. It's pretty good for a grocery-getter. Not much of a hot rod. SOOOOOOO MANY PROBLEMS.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Greatest Car Ever Made

November 9, 2012
By Taurus Enthusiast
from Green Bay, WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned my 2003 ford taurus for 7 years now, and have had zero problems with it. My car is the most reliable one I've owned, and is extremely comfortable to drive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVE MY 2003 FORD TAURUS SES!!!

July 23, 2012
By Love My Taurus!
from Raleigh, NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Talk about getting your money's worth....
Got my '03 Taurus in late 2003, used, with 20,000 miles for $13,500 compared to the new 2004s that were on the lot for $25,000. I've had a few minor repairs here and there, can't remember what all for, and I go through brakes like it's nobody's business but that's not the car...it's my rammy driving. :)
I have had no major problems with this car whatsoever. My dad and husband take very good care of everything under the hood (which, obviously, helps prolong the life of my baby). She just turned 150,000 miles and still running strong, getting about 22 mpg to work and 28 mpg on road trips! It's been paid off since 2007, so I've had no car payment for 5 years and no major repair bills. It's been a dream.
I always hear people bashing Fords but my parents have a 1999 Ford F-150, my sis has a 2001 Ford Escape, and my other sis has a 1988 Mustang and a 2005 Ford Fusion and they're all still running great! Put a little extra attention under the hood, and they'll last you a loooooong time. :)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My 2003 Tauras

July 23, 2012
By tauras lover
from San Antonio Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this car is a replacement for my car that was totaled. I bought it a a great price, really belonged to an old lady and had 16000 miles on it. So far it has been a great car. It looks like it came off the showroon floor. I have only pit several hundred miles on it but sofar am delighted"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ENJOY!!!!!!

February 17, 2012
By RandyMan
from Houston, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I sell Fords and usually buy these for commuter cars and keep them until about 100 K miles. This one is a SEL loaded with all options but a roof. The DOHC optional V-6 runs strong and is very reliable. This one only had 39K miles and looked like brand new. I have had great experiences with 2 former similar Taurus' and expect the same from this one. Low maintanance and roomy. Failrly good gas mileage with plenty of power for everyday commuting."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good up to 100K

January 9, 2012
By Bossbandbob
from MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Except for continually warping brake rotors, this was a pretty reliable, roomy and comfy car until it hit around 100,000 miles.
After that the AC condensor went, 3 of 4 coil springs broke, I started getting bucking on the freeway, heater motor blew out, license plate lights would not work and brake rotors warped for about the fourth time!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Car for Daughter in College

November 5, 2011
By Fairfax Dad
from Fairfax, VA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I wanted to find a safe, reliable car for my daughter to take to college for her Junior year. I wanted the car to last relaibly past her graduation (2 yrs away). I got a Taurus because they have good safety and reilability ratings in owner review. We got an 03 with 71 K milew. One month after buying it we drove it 3000 miles to her college in California. We enjoyed the smooth, comfortable ride, roomy interior, great air conditioning, and nice sound system.
Advantages of this car:
- Roomy interior
- Nice ride
- Reputation for reliability
- Easy, less-expensive repairs (my daughter cracked a tail-light backing into a dumpster, and was able to get a replacement inexpensively over the Internet and then replace it herself.)
- Inexpensive purchase cost compared to other cars
Disadvantages
- Weak performance from Ford V-6
- Transmission is not smooth
- Column-mounted gearshift is clunky.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MY TWO DAUGHTERS VEHICLES

July 13, 2011
By Darrin
from New Jersey
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought the first 2004 Taurus for my older daughter. it was in great shape & ran well. I have kept it serviced & it has run perectly. gets great fuel mileage. I liked it so much I bought my yuonger daughter an identical 03 Taurus for her."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

first car and proud of it

June 8, 2011
By college kid
from Corbin, KY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought the car with 127,000 miles on it and have never had a problem. I have the SES deluxe edition and I am very proud to own this car. The only problem with it is the cloth in the interior is a little flimsy. Otherwise, highly valued car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great car

March 30, 2011
By teacher of kids
from Thumb area, MI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We are buying our second one. It will be for our kid.
We keep minimal insurance on the cars it saves us thousands over life of car. the "new one " now has 205,000 miles on it. Its worth the risk. I expect another 50-60K from it. we have a 1999 also. It is AMERICAN MADE.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good car

January 23, 2011
By dewy
from Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Ford makes a good car, unlike a toyota you dont have to worry about anything going wrong while driving."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A very poor car

January 14, 2011
By Mad man
from Alabama
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"My wife and I bought this car for a dealer, at 44,000 miles trans went out. cost 3,000 to replace, now i will never own another, go to google and see for ur self. Stay away from Taurus."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car I have ever owned

December 21, 2010
By makmatt
from Chicago Illinois
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned a good number of cars in my life and the 2003 Ford Taurus is the best car I have ever owned. I purchased it used with under 24,000 miles and it was previously a rental car. I really never took care of this car; going extended miles between oil changes and never followed routine maintenance and this car has never failed me. It currently has 160,000 miles and I would drive this car anywhere. For two years I had this car in storage while I drove a company car - and when I went to start driving it again; all I had to do is put a new battery in it. (The company car broke down three times during this period) I will drive this car until it can not go any more and then I will buy another one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent car for the money

September 19, 2010
By J
from Rochester, NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 2003 Taurus SE in February of 2004 with 11k miles on it. Here I am almost 7 years later, and the car now has 173k miles on it, and it is still going strong. The engine isn't as powerful as some others on the market, and this car is definitely not going to carve up the Nurburgring, but the performance is still solid. I use the car mostly for work, and this thing shines brightest when pounding out miles on the interstate. It nearly drives itself, and requires little to no corrections to maintain the lane. I am fast approaching the 200k mile mark, and I will be buying the last model year of this style Taurus (2007) to replace this one because it has just been that good to me. I've test driven Hondas and Toyotas, but for the extra money you will pay for those cars, you don't get enough to justify the cost. If you're looking for a great car that you can get at a low price with bulletproof reliability, then you can't beat a Taurus in my opinion."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My second favorite car

August 19, 2010
By taurus
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My 08 Kia optima was recently totaled. I had to hurry and buy an affordable and reliable car. The 03 ford taurus was in almost perfect condition. It is amazing! The gas and get up is not as good as the Optima, nor does it handle the road the same, but it is still a great car! I would definately buy this car again!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2003 Taurus is a good car!

December 30, 2009
By RIck
from Brighton, MI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought the 2003 Taurus SES brand new off the lot for around $16,500 out the door. It now has 109,000 miles on it. Overall, a very good value for the money. It's a reliable family hauler with a moon roof, kickin stero(Mach system) and good trunk space. Overall highway is 27 MPG(acceptable).
I've had a few minor problems with the vehicle such as the passenger door automatic lock doesn't work anymore(I just push it down), and the 02 oxygen sensor broke in the engine compartment(I replaced it myself), easy fix. Other then that, I've had no major problems or repairs, so my overall value and cost to me is very low.
I'd recommend this car to anyone on a budget that wants a solid automobile.
(I'd like to buy the new Taurus, but there is nothing wrong with this one, so I'll probably keep it another few years............)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

my first car.

March 22, 2009
By taurus owner
from idaho
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"my parents bought this car for me, the summer of 2008(my first car). From a used car dealer, it was a real steal. 2003 ford taurus, 35,000 miles for only $5000. i couldnt believe it, the car was nearly 5 years old. and still had the new car smell. the previous owners took imaculate care of it. i have never had any problems with is. other than some lady crashing into my door. its been in the shop getting the damage fixed for 2 weeks now. ive missed it everyday. it now has 42,000 miles on it. havent had it too long. but i'd recommend this car to anyone. i still love it as much as when they first supprised me with it. i plan to drive this car until it falls apart."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Most reliable and affordable car I have purchased

March 20, 2009
By Dorie
from Indianapolis, IN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Ford Taurus is really the perfect car for someone who is looking for reliability at an affordable price.
My husband and I both own Ford Taurus'. It, along with an 01 Chevy Impala are the only cars that really have not given us any trouble. They are good looking cars too! You can by them used and if you take care of them, they will last you. They are American made too!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2003_Ford_Taurus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the 03 Taurus, so I bought 2

February 20, 2009
By T Man
from Green Bay, WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my first 2003 Ford Taurus when it was 2 years old and had 60,000 miles on it. My family was so satisfied with it that we bought another one. Their both SE and Black. Their twins literaly. Theres no difference whatsoever. Both cars have over 100,000 miles. One car has 10,000 more miles than the other. They both are very reliable. Never have any problems with them. I do ell me own work on the car as far as maintenance goes. If one car has a problem, eventually the other car will have it too. But its a minor problem. Its kinda nice to compare these cars.
If I count my relatives, my family owns a total of 6 Taurus's.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.