Customer Reviews for 2003_Ford_Windstar

2003_Ford_Windstar

Average Customer Rating:
4 of 5
4
 of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
14 of 20(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Review 1 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Windstar

December 9, 2013
By Love my Fords
from Georgia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Windstar is Great Vehicle. This is the second one I have owned. Very Comfortable and reliable. A Smooth ride. You can make fun of fords but mine is a cool ride. There is an A**hole for every seat and mine fits in a Ford!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Search is Over

May 25, 2013
By mom of four
from North Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've been searching for a reasonable, reliable minivan for six months and am happy to say "the search is over".
I found this van more than fairly priced and in great condition. The salesman talked to me about it over the phone and had it pulled out and ready for a test drive when I arrived. It was super clean and my mechanic agreed it was an excellent deal. My kids actually love it! I will definitely go to Cars.com and Car One for our next vehicle.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very reliable

April 2, 2013
By car
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car from Gerald Nortz dealer in Lowville , NY with 32000 miles on it. A year and 3000 miles later my transmission went. I contacted Gerald Nortz and told him about the transmission and he gave me money towards fixing my transmission. This is a dealer that stands by his product. I would not hesitate to recommend his dealership. A. from Liverpool"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Second Windstar I've Owned

December 15, 2012
By Shade Tree Mech.
from West Springfield,Va.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great Van,Makes the wife happy loved her 1995 she bought her first one in Oct. 1994 and put all 150,000 miles on it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good van

November 28, 2012
By Windstar Fan
from Tennessee
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This van is good for at least 3 things: to look at, to transport cargo, and what it is usually used for is transporting kids and such. Overall what I use it for is just for transporting random stuff, such as garbage and various things."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2003 Ford Windstar

September 22, 2012
By Earl @ Nascar 1950
from Simpsonville,sc
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We just bought this 2003 Ford Windstar. All leather had about 136000 miles looks and drives like a new car. It has all the options. Rides great and it has a lot of style."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Cost Effective transportation

August 14, 2012
By Noble
from New York
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Have owned the 2003 Winstar since new and for the most part has not been very much trouble. It is no better or worse than the Toyota, Subaru, Buick and Chevy I currently own. Over 110 k miles and no problems with the power train. Minor electrical problems, otherwise great family vehicle for traveling with the entertainment system. Not a Honda Oydessy but cost a lot less money to!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

electrical needs work

March 4, 2012
By it's ok
from newfoundland,nl
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought my 03 windstar lx 3 yrs ago, it has already been in the shop 6 times for months on end trying to fix electrical issues, interer light comes on and off for no reason abs light is a pain in the butt. but the van runs great as far as the motor is concerned, I have mixed feelings on the windstar, ford needs to get some education on their electrical system or all of their vehicles will have issues."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Run from this Vehicle!!!

September 21, 2011
By Will Never Buy Ford Again
from Walla Walla, WA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We own an '03 Windstar SEL and it has been the absolute worst vehicle maintenance-wise we have ever owned! Regular maintenanceThe electrical issues went from an annoyance to being VERY expensive. We just spent a month and a half without the van due to a bad computer. Once the correct one was finally received by the Ford dealership, no one could get it programmed (one mechanic completely gave up on the van). Now $1100 lighter in the wallet. Have had the same issues as others have mentioned with doors popping open on their own, interior lights staying on for no reason, ABS/emergency brake lights staying on, etc. Now that we have it back, we're just waiting for the transmission to go..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

super car

August 6, 2011
By fordliker
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"our windstar runs like a champ in fact both of them very reliable
ps if u hate it you r dumb
all in all ford did a good job on the following models
.se
.se sport
.sel
.lx
windstar is my car
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst car i've owned

June 23, 2011
By formerwindstarowner
from new york
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"lots of electrical problems with this car - interior lights flash on & off and ford could never find a problem - also, problems starting & runs really rough when temp outside is over 80 degrees - also something ford dealer could never figure out - reliable in winter but terrible in the summer"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Worst car ever

January 25, 2011
By adal20
from New Jersey
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Too many problems , from check engine light to Abs and break light .
Most windstar's have problem with ABS module to replace and install software again $1200 . Bad fuel pump , when car is hot doesn't want start . Impossible to read codes reader cant connect to car computer. Problem with cracked rear axle huge recall from Ford .
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Van but lots of electrical Problems

January 13, 2010
By Family Guy
from Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Very Dependable and comfortable with lots of great features, but man the electrical problems! The guy who owned it before me had to replace one of the automatic door motors at least. For me, the power window COMPUTER (not switch COMPUTER $400) went out, one of the power door connection plates fell apart, the vcr buttons don't always work, and of course there is the good old "Insufficient EGR Flow" sensor that went bad. I would recommend the van if it were not for the Electrical Problems."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good to the last drop!

November 22, 2009
By himhaw
from Houston, Tx
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my '03 Windstar Cargo van in '04 & it already had 82,000 miles on it. It has been driven 5 days a week continiously for the last 5+ years as a work vehicle and has been as solid as can be! Only problems were A/C comp & Intake Manifold. After 254,000 miles the Transmission finally gave up! Never left me stranded! I think I got my money's worth! Off to buy an'06 Freestar to replace the Windstar..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

not the best car to be put out of ford

May 1, 2009
By BigFordFan
from annapolis MD
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"i got this car new in 2003 just as the new freestars rolled on to the lot its an SEL model with power doors the drivers side broke the park distance controal broke the sound system (80w)is just ok for any person that cares about sound systems but worst of all the tranny went out at 51,000 miles but overall it has a heck of a lot of power for a van plenty of room very good hwy MPG once i got 28adv on a road trip from western NC to annapolis and its very safe."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good

June 3, 2008
By car guy
from maryland
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"lots of power aroun town can ride 85 all day easy to use controals no problems after 5 yrs and 50,000 mi ok mpg on freeway but not so good in city avg about 16.2 over all go for upper lvl when buying look for (SEL of LIMETD) because of features good in snow in Maryland."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best minivan!

November 12, 2007
By not driving a honda anymore
from va
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This van has everything a family could want it gets great MPG (averaging 26) and the interior is nice but could use some softer materials over all though, this is the best minivan ever!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Why did they stop making them?!?!?!!?!

October 8, 2007
By Mother of 5 wanting another Windstar
from Fairfax VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have a family of 7 so a minivan was what we needed. we thought about chrysler but you pay a lot more money for a van that is same length and less aminities! We have and SE advance trac and we absolutly love it, it has the VHS and traction control and a lot other features. the price was a wopping 32,000 but we got them down to a little 24,000. the only problem i have with this vehicle is that the electrical has some glicthes a little bit like the light wont turn off right when you shut the door and stuff like that. but we do get out standing gas millage we get 26 and the vans rated at 23 so thats nice we can go 676 miles on a single tank of gas which is amazing! The speed of this vehicle is amazing considering its really heavy! we can pass people no problem on the highway. We bought this 2003 because we like the Windstar more than the Freestar. We still have a 1996 and that is and amazing van as well. When we heard that Ford stopped making vans we were so upset becuse they were the best minivans we ever owned but now they are only making "crossovers" THOSE ARNT AS GOOD AS A MINIVAN!! so we wish that Ford will step back into the minivan game"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great vehicle with a few "quirks"

August 10, 2007
By Van Lover
from Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought the 2003 Windstar Limited used last August. I have owned it for one year. During that time I have spent no money in repairs on it, just regular maintenance. I just turned up 40 000 miles. It does have a few electrical quirks. Sometimes the power sliding doors will not close, or just almost close and then re-open for no reason. The driver's power seat does not always tilt when you want it to, and then does shortly thereafter. The tailgate will not close properly sometimes, with the warning light and message coming on. After several attempts, you drive off and suddenly it will "close" by itself. The Tiger Paw Nail Guard full sized unused spare has a huge bulge in it. Dealer refuses to replace at any cost. I enjoy the van, feel safe in it, trust it, use the VHS player with a portable DVD player and all is well. If something were to happen to it, I would replace it with the same model as soon as possible."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2003_Ford_Windstar
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Vehicle for Family

February 22, 2007
By Silent Warrior
from Rochester, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I own a 2003 SEL.
Considering this vehicle is ~4000 lbs, it has incredible acceleration with the 200 HP V-6.
Dad has fun on the acceleration ramp d;^] . Traction control makes the vehicle very stable. It handles corners with ease. I was surprised at the reliability report on this site. It is better than the ratings they display in my opinion.
I drove from Rochester NY to Lake Placid and back to Rochester on 1 tank of gas.
Draw back:
1) Wind noise is disappointing on 2003 SEL.
2) FEATURES: Video was optional 4 of 5
3) VALUE FOR THE MONEY: No vehicle is worth $30,000 +. I was blessed and did not spend this much on the new vehicle. 4 of 5 (But many, many vehicles are over priced.)
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.