Customer Reviews for 2003_Ford_Focus

2003_Ford_Focus

Average Customer Rating:
3.875 of 5
3.9
 of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
0
23 of 32(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2003_Ford_Focus
Review 1 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best purchase

January 9, 2013
By GWEdit
from San Diego, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"When I first made the decision to purchase a used car, I went for dream car. Working with the family mechanic, boy did he open my eyes, I quickly changed my mind and adjusted my search criteria. My criteria for car purchase included cost of insurance, MPG and availability of car parts. I knew I wanted a station wagon type vehicle as I have a large dog. As someone recently separated, I was on a serious budget so having something with relatively low-cost insurance was a major plus (only $300 every six months). I happened to drive a different Ford Focus wagon and liked the feel. Figuring out when the various car auctions took place, I made sure to scope the various dealer inventories and lucked into a 2003 model. Best purchase I've made ever (ok, so far). This car had 120k+ miles on it. Despite having to do some repair work on it (wear and tear/age related), this car still gets 28 mpg. I have low insurance because it's a station wagon and not an SUV. Car parts are relatively easy to find as it's a Ford and not a particularly special model. And I haven't even gotten to the a/c, which for a model of this age, works fantastic. This is one of those vehicles that will be driven into the ground because it can be. It was a great purchase from a good dealer and there are at least two other family members also interested in a similar model. Like a TARDIS, while this car looks small, it IS bigger on the inside. I've managed to transport 5 people (2 of whom were more than 200 pounds) along with a fully loaded cargo space with minimal effort. The only thing I do wish is for a bit more leg room in the back. As someone with long legs, I have my front seats all the way back, which does make it difficult for the long-legged folks to sit in back."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Ford Focus ZX3

December 10, 2012
By wolfwyndd
from 45432
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is actually the second Focus I've owned. The first was a Focus 4 door ZTS that I owned for almost a year before giving it to my wife before we split up. Comfortable, drove well, plenty of room. The only issue I had with it was it wasn't the best in inclement weather. Rain or snow. Even with new tires. The ZX3 that I own now so far has been the same. Comfortable, drives well, plenty of room even though it's a two door. With the rear seats folded down there was as much cargo space as I used to have in my Jeep Cherokee. Of course with the seats down only two people can ride in the vehicle at that point. So that's the trade off. Gas mileage is awesome. Right now I'm getting about 27 MPG and that's about 90 percent city driving."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

fine so far

November 26, 2012
By smkummer
from Louisville, KY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Pluses- nice egonomics for teenage daughter, easy to park, room for 5 teenage girls, power windows/locks and remote. Great milage
Negative-this model does not have anti lock brakes or automatic lights. Insurance went up. I have the 2.0 engine that might have a valve seat come loose and wreck engine (years 2000-04). Keeping fingers crossed on that."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for price.

October 4, 2012
By Dodd
from Riverside , CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car in 2004 with only 1,000. It now has 225,000 and 8 years later. The car still run as good as when I drove it off the dealer ship. I've only done regular maintenance. I would buy the car again. The gas mileage averaged about 31 which is not bad for how I drive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good All-Around Car

June 23, 2012
By Amateur Mechanic
from Omaha, NE
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I haven't owned this car long enough yet to say much about its reliability - it's not even due for its first oil change - but it's treated me well so far.
First and foremost, it has good fuel economy for a station wagon. We usually get 27MPG in city driving, beating the EPA's rating of 24, and our experience on the highway more or less matches their estimate of 30MPG.
Some interior features aren't the highest quality, like the sun shades that stick in 2-4 set positions and the center armrest/storage compartment that falls open if tilted up, but so far I have only minor complaints. One thing to watch out for, though: The driver's headrest is positioned such that it's really hard to look over your shoulder when changing lanes. It's best to adjust your mirrors to cover as much of your blind spot as possible.
There isn't much legroom in back, but it's roomy enough for two adults in front, two kids in back, and a dog in the cargo area (with room for luggage). The front seats also have a wide adjustment range, so you can create legroom in back (at the expense of the front).
It looks like it would be really hard to replace about anything under the hood (the alternator is tucked away beneath the power steering fluid reservoir and the engine coolant reservoir, for example), but fortunately I haven't had to do anything like that yet."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

besr ford i've had

June 16, 2012
By redd focus
from lancaster ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this 2003 Ford focus z-x5 used with 117 k onit. Now it has 172000 on it . The only thing i have replaced is tires and brakes. Most other cars have tierods ball-joints replaced by now nd I drive on some rough roads in Lancaster ohio."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little Runner

April 30, 2012
By The Raccoon
from Fort Wayne, IN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this car to drive back and forth to work and school. So I wasn't out for all the luxury. Its been a reliable little runner to go back and forth. Its a very smooth ride it has the performance I'm not used to in a little four cylinder."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

much better than....

November 28, 2011
By dinosaurcheese
from buffali,ny
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The cobalt I owned. It's smooth driving and has almost no blind spots. I love the hatchback, and its got pretty good gas milage. I would recommend this car to anyone of any age."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Buy Fords not foreign

October 31, 2011
By SE 4-door sedan
from Hendersonville, NC (Mountains)
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned this one for 4 years. 25-28 MPG. Rides smoothly and takes my mountain curves well at speeds up to 45 -50 MPH ( I'm a mountain boy and know how to "iron out" curves). I am 69 years old and have owned MANY cars. Read this and heed if you are young and inexperienced. This particular, smaller-sized Ford can't be beat."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car for Reasonable price.

April 3, 2011
By lilkk
from Wisconsin
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned my 2003 Ford Focus ZX3-5 speed manual since July of 2003. For being a lower priced vehicle I couldn't have asked for a better more reliable vehicle. I've only had two problems over the last, almost, 8 years. The first full summer I owned the vehicle the A/C went out, but was covered under warranty-no hassles. Recently I had to replace the alternator, otherwise besides routine maintenace it has been a fantastic reliable vehicle I couldn't be happier. When I bought the vehicle I was just going to college. The storage in the back of the vehicle is amazing for the size of this vehicle. I am just starting to look for a new vehicle as I would like a SUV/Crossover with 4 wheel drive. The focus handled really well especially for Wisonsin winters."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Resembles a More Expensive Car

February 14, 2011
By Focus Owner
from Central NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've had my focus for almost eight years now and it's been great. I like the exterior styling and the room inside. With the 2.3 L engine it moves pretty well. It's not as quiet as I would like inside and I had to have a bit of transmission work done, but the warranty covered that problem."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

why can't cheap cars stay that way

January 4, 2011
By Frugal Freida
from Duluth
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"We bought our 2003 ford focus, when our children were beginning to "leave the nest" we downsized for gas mileage, but we like to camp, canoe xc ski and have a large hunting dog-90 pounds. The focus ztw seemed the ticket, about 1/3 of what the passat wagons were going for, and at least half of the toyotas and no wagons there. Honda had them but finding auto trans were difficult-that's a different section.
I have appreciated the safety of the focus, with a decent pair of all season radials, I put a ton of prairie winter driving, no ditches and no accidents. In Duluth, where I live now, I switched to some quality winter tires, and have made it up hills with snow that make flatlanders pale on bright sunny days. Gas mileage is ok, but nothing to skip rope for.
roomy it's not, but it works, we get 4 people, there stuff for multiple days, and the dog. The roof rack extends the cargo capacity, but that tends effect the gas mileage, and we no longer use our rear mount bike rack as we've been advised that it really messes with the alignment.
It passes, well, the factory radio has a great antenna, important in rural mn. But the cd player has been glitchy since we've had it. Now we can reliably open the 2 front doors, and the hatch, 2 rear doors must be opened from inside. We've replaced the rack and pinion, brakes at least 2x, the ignition switch 2x, the rear defrost doesn't work and it's also been fixed 2x. Fuel injection system, because you can't just replace the sending unit, you have replace everything-thanks ford! so for a car with no payment it costs to keep it running. Not happy about that.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2003 Ford Focus LX with 317K WTF!!!

July 21, 2010
By copic
from Beecher, Il
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car used from my mother with 276K and she used it for work. She traveled back and forth from Chicago to Beecher. Everyday for 5 years. never gave up a fight. although things came apart in side the car like the glove box breaking and falling off. My car has almost 320 thousand miles on it and still going strong. I still cant believe it. I For a car that i only had to pay 500 For its paying for itself and i love how the stereo rattles when you turn up the volume to loud. Lets me know that my car has seen better days. But its a good car i'll drive it into the ground then ill fix it to drive it another 100k."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I loved my svt focus.

May 2, 2010
By sidewinder
from dallas
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I had a 2003 svt focus. I really miss it. It was so much fun to drive and handled like dream. It was so much fun to drive on steep winding mountain roads. It got real good gas mileage. I did have a problem with one of the mass air flow sensors going out. Other than that only regular maintence was done. I drove it hard and it never broke down. It has more room in the hatchback with the seats down then it looks. I traded it in but now i wish i would have kept it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Most likely to leave you stranded

January 21, 2010
By I wanna Honda!
from Austin, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I am writing on the day that my 2003 Focus had to be towed again to my mechanic. The first time was in July, a mere 2 months after buying the car due to a busted alternator which it turns out is a common problem in these vehicles at low mileage. Two weeks ago I took it again because it was riding rough due to the EGR getting water in it. My mechanic fashioned a little rubber umbrella over it to prevent that yet the rough ride continued. They checked everything and the car doesn't need a tune up so they are still flummoxed as to why it is running so rough.
Died again today, new alternator and all and is sitting in the shop again. I have owned this car less than a year. There are only 59000 miles on it.
It is great value for the money if you like giving money to a mechanic that is."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

powerful and mileage

December 16, 2009
By Kumar
from Al-Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i have a Ford Focus station wagon 2003 model. i am using this car for more than one year since then i haven't take my car to any workshop for maintenance. great power and mileage, i used to get about 650 kms per tank. i used to change engine oil and filter in every 3000kms. performance is excellent. interiors need to be improved. Overall-excellent."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice car if all the pieces didn't keep breaking!

October 26, 2009
By enkidu
from Virginia
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought my 2003 Focus ZX3 to have a reliable commuter car, and to be fair, it ran okay for the first couple of years. However, when it finally decided to get decrepit, it went all at once. First the ignition went. Then the front end. Then the electrical. We dumped way too much money into this car.
The car had potential, but I think it's the last Ford I'll ever buy.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

FocusSVT

October 17, 2009
By Rob
from Wisconsin
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The SVT is the muscle car of Focuses. 4valves/cylinder really pump the HP up well past wat you'd expect for a 2.0 L engine.
If you're looking for a fun car, but don't want to pay more than $10,000, get one of these!
Get snow tires, if you live in a snowy area."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Don't get into an accident with this car

December 29, 2008
By upset
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"I was in an accident and the seatbelt broke and the airbags did not deploy correctly. I smelled the powder but the airbag did not come out. I would not recommend a 2003 ford focus unless they know 150% that they would never get into an accident. (which is impossible)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2003_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2003 Focus SVT

November 8, 2008
By Dave
from Holly Springs, NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"Bought the car with 10k miles and now has 110k. No problems, very reliable. Does not burn oil. Only issue was right side tire wear which was corrected with solid buishings. Good gas mileage 25 city and 31 hwy, and I drive it hard. Blast to drive hanldes like a gokart. Cannot beat it for the $."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Commuting
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.