Customer Reviews for 2003_Honda_Odyssey

2003_Honda_Odyssey

Average Customer Rating:
3.97 of 5
4
 of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
26 of 33(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Review 1 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hopeful

August 14, 2014
By Fuzz
from South Carolina
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have had my odessey for about a month. I was disappointed when I found out there was a recall on the transmission and saw all the reviews about the complaints about the transmission. I have replaced the timing belt and water pump as it didn't appear to have been done at 90,000 miles and it has 121,000. BUT, my mechanic says it's a great car and should last me a very long time. I hoping he's right!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome family vehicle- 9 years! 03 Honda Odyssey

August 7, 2014
By Zumbala
from Elyria, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Awesome family car for us for 9 years! Reliable, good power, great entertainment for the kids in the back, they watch DVDs with headsets on while we listen to what we want. Comfortable full size bucket seats. We kept up the maintenance up and it never broke down on us!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

dont buy this garbage peole please

February 17, 2014
By prisi
from providence
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Have one ..ever since I got it problems and more problems cant wait to buy a toyota it has transmission problems sensors problems electric problems..its a garbage van....."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2003 Honda Odyssey nice driver

October 2, 2013
By Odyssey Owner
from Smyrna,DE
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"For the money this vehicle was a good buy. It's pretty economical on gas, better than the ratings. The car drives very nice and has decent pick up being a V-6 makes it pleasant to drive. I purchased it locally as opposed to buying one several hours away. The car had one owner and was dealer maintained and all maint. records were furnished. Mileage was a bit higher than I would have liked but, these vehicles have a good reputation for being reliable into the 2 and 300,000 mile range. You would not think by the way it drives that it has the mileage it does. I probably will buy a newer one in a couple years or once I sell my other car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Extraordinarily Reliable & Solid, but...

January 27, 2013
By Lenexa KS
from Lenexa, KS
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought '03 EX used (1-owner) with about 120k miles and currently has about 190k miles. This van has been very reliable, with just repairs of typical wear items (tires, brakes, suspension parts). Vehicle is extraordinarily solid and doesn't have one squeak or rattle anywhere - the opposite of our '04 Sienna (which we bought new and have regretted many times). The engine runs like new and the only drivability/comfort complaint is that there is quite a bit of road noise, especially on the highway. The infamous transmission has been "whirring" occasionally for the past 50k miles but hasn't given me any problems. Yet. I know nearly 200k miles is unusual for the original transmission for these things, and the plan is to just drive this thing until the transmission goes (which could be next month or in 2 years!). Fantastic van otherwise and decent fun to drive for a van."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very comfortable van

December 12, 2012
By Lyn
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"So far so good. I do feel a little jerking in the transmission when starting out cold and the clock light does not work. I have read some bad things about the transmission after my purchase but I'm trying to think positive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Honda's are not reliable

August 1, 2012
By Vehichle Researcher
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We have had so many problems with our 2003 Honda Odyssey. Google any to see how many others had the same problem and you will see why you should stay away from Honda. To make matters worse Honda does not stand behind what they produce. Here are some of the bigger problems we had: Transmission replaced by Honda at 70k miles, but I had to pay $3500 to replace it again at 160k. At 60k miles paint started peeling off roof down to metal due to defective primer, but Honda only recalled the color midnight blue, not white which is what we had so the van looks like a junker. Engine mounts went bad with only 50k on the car $475 to replace 2 out of 4. Back window motors work sometimes and not others depending upon the temperature, smart key wore out and wouldn't turn ignition - had to get a whole new ignition key assembly put in, power steering pump died, AC valve had to be replaced, new brake rotors every 40k... Very sorry to say I would never buy another Honda or recommend one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I still owe money on it, but I can't go anywhere

April 26, 2012
By stuck in second gear
from Columbus, Oh
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I love the IDEA of this van. It was comfy for my family of 6 and drove well--at first--with decent gas mileage. It is lovely with leather and power everything, including sliding doors. But none of those things do me any good when the transmission won't shift out of second gear so it is just parked. To have the transmission replaced by a certified Honda dealer would cost double what the vehicle is actually worth for a tradein/at auction, and we still owe money on it! Even if we get the transmission fixed with a rebuilt, the infamous timing belt (debacle of '03s and '04s) will have to be replaced costing another $1000-$1500. Disappointing experience with Honda. Not likely to purchase another one. Sad."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Van

April 17, 2012
By knichole2000
from Hamilton, MS
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased this van from Honda on the used car lot and I love it. So roomy for my 5+ family. The kids don't want to stay out of it. It has been reliable so far. Honda dealership has been great to work with also."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Family Car

March 6, 2012
By mark s
from scottsdale, az
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very reliable, very comfortable van. It is ideal for families with small children. Transmissions are usually good for about 90K miles, so make sure that the transmission has been rebuilt when you buy an older model used Odyssey"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Transmission went out a month after purchase

January 10, 2012
By Money must grow on trees
from Utah
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"NEGATIVES:
*We purchased this van for at the time what we thought was a good price until a month later the transmission went out on us with no warning. We were 400+ miles away from our home with 3 small children. We took it to a Honda dealership and was told that yes it was the transmission. My husband did some research and found out that this was actually quite common so he talked to the serive department at Honda and asked them if there was anything Honda could do...well yes but no. They would pay 10% but only if we got the ECM(computer part) replaced as well which was another $800+. So on top of just purchasing this van we had to pay for a new transimisson with really no help from honda.
When talking to friends about what had happened with our new van I learned that this had happened to a lot of people who owned Honda Odysseys.
So... I love my van but hate that Honda doesnt stand behind their cars and help their customers out more. I feel like it is a defect on their side. If so many people are having problems with them they should take responsiblilty.
*It also has a lot of road noise.
*Besides the large trunk area it doesn't have a lot of storage. The jockey box is super small and doesn't have room to hold much besides the manuel.
POSITIVES:
*The seats are very comfortable.
*Lots of cup holders for front and back seats.
*Besides the transmission problems the van runs and drives great.
Summary: Good van but would be better if Honda would stand behind their product.
(97,000 miles)
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Value / Excellent Reliability

October 31, 2011
By Honda enthusiast
from Fort Worth, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I researched minivans on Consumer Reports and found their owners to be extremely pleased with them. The 2003 Odyssey EX I bought in July has not disappointed me. Not only did I get an excellent buy from a dealership, but I got a minivan that will likely outlast me.
Not many people know that, for long trips, you can push the front passenger seat all the way forward, take off the headrest and push the seat back nearly all the way, and enjoy the comfort of a "chaise lounge" chair. That is just one advantage of the Odyssey.
I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone in need (or want) of a minivan. Just remember that, if you're buying a used one with over 75 to 80,000 miles on it, be sure the timing belt and tensioner pulley have been replaced or ask for a discount of $400 to $500 to cover that cost.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good family car

June 20, 2011
By Teenage van lover
from Minnesota
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My dad bought our Honda van in 2004 and we have been driving it everywhere since. Overall this is a great car and it deserved every star I gave it. The exterior is attractive, Honda didn't over indulge in a fancy exterior like some carmakers tend to. The interior is very functional, there is nothing wrong with the inside, but to me it could be more luxurious. The newer models although priced higher have many more features I wish I had. The transmission is much better than those in a comparable dodge or Chrysler. It shifts well and it is a comfortable car to drive and ride in. The van also has good power, as I do occasionally put my foot to the floor to race and turn hard. It's not an bugatti but it certainly is not slow. The reliability is what you expect from a Honda. It's gone 150000 miles and it is still only in the shop for regular maintenance, and even with the harsh Minnesota winters the van starts and runs perfect. The van also gets a solid 25 miles per gallon, but we get 28 on trips. This is a fantastic car to drive across the country as my family has many times, and even though it's almost ten years old we don't even think twice about bringing it on our road trips. Overall it is a great car and I would recommend it to anyone wanting an suv but not wanting 15 miles per gallon."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Car!

June 6, 2011
By TiTi
from Hartford,CT
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm very excited with my new car. I have everything I need, economy, comfort, security and elegance all in one.
The Honda Odyssey is the best car for the family with a huge space for travel hours and hours around the state without spending much gasoline as other brands.
I'll recommend 100%.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Honda Odyssey in Cold Country

May 6, 2011
By Maark
from Duluth, MN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought a Honda Odyssey because of its reliability and its interior design which allows an 8'-0" ladder to be transported inside the car.
We wish the Odyssey still utilized four passenger doors like the pre-1999 Odysseys. The sliding doors do not respond well to cold climates. We also prefer cloth seats to leather. True, the front seats are heated, but the back seats are not, and leather seems to take longer to warm up than cloth seats."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2003 Honda Odyssey is now my dream car (sad huh?)

March 25, 2011
By Twins X 2
from Columbus, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"With our 2nd set of twins on the way my wife and I needed a 3rd car and it needed to set at least 6. I found a 2003 Odyssey for sale at local dealer and went to take a look. This vehicle ended up being an EX-L which was the top of the line model for that year I believe. It had leather interior, DVD player, heated seats, full power seats, basically every option other than the GPS (which would probably have been outdated by now anyway). It only had 93,000 miles, which was less than most of the 2006-newer ones that were for sale and the interior was FLAWLESS. The only knocks on the car were heavy use on the drivers armrest (I think this vehicle was only used for long trips as it was pristine inside and out, which would explain the armrest), the DVD player did not come with the wireless headphones* (but did have the remote) and the rear set head rests were missing. The dealer wanted $9,800 for it and I ended up getting it for $8,400, which seems like a steal to me. I have taken it on a few snowboarding trips with my kids and on one trip we ended up taking a friend and his son back with us and fit 2 adults, 3 kids, 6 snowboards & gear, 4 suitcases and a 42" TV boxed up in the van and we all roade comfortably. This vehicle is awesome! If you are thinking of buying one - do it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

steer clear

March 8, 2011
By tefuller
from Iowa
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought this van in the fall of '09. It was great in the first year. With 105,000 miles on it i did the timing belt, spark plugs and all other required maint. At 110,000 the transmission went out. I expected more from a Honda. It was 4500 dollars to replace the trans. The overall quality was not there, there were air leaks from the door seals, the power sliding doors didn't always work rite. If it were me I would look to buy a different van these are really dissapointing."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

like they say no ones perfect....

March 5, 2011
By honda guy
from new york ny
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"first and foremost honda is a great and realiable company. thats why i choose honda when i first purchased the honda i was happy with my purchase becuase honda took time and effort making this van . this is van is beutiful in and out it does the job right . only con i would say is fuel economy i get an average of 13 miles to the gallon on mixed driving. it clearly says i should be getting 18 city and 24 highway . but ofcourse it depnds on how you use the car but still im a experinced driver i drive well so i dont understand the extremly low fuel economy ....its a beutiful van great interior no cabin noise . fit and finish is great"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I would recomend it, if you like clunkers.

October 11, 2010
By Nick Rose 234
from Richmond, Rhode Island
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My mother has owned a 2003 Odyssey sense 2002, and she loves it. I absolutly hate it, I have been trying to get rid of it for 3 years. Yeah, it starts up every morning, and it probally always will. It has an amazing reliable engine. The exterior sucks. It is made of cheapy plastic. It looks like something you could buy at a gas station market. If you back into something, even lightly the whole Friggin' bumper will fall off. My has never hit something in her life, yet her bumber is falling off and the side paint is chipping, and to top it off the door doesn't work half the time. So if you do get the Honda Odyessy, get the one without the power doors, because when they get stuck, they are hard to close, because the are so friggin heavy. If you want a good Mini Van for your money, I would suggest a Toyota Sienna or a Chevy Uplander."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2003_Honda_Odyssey
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great big reliable car

April 9, 2010
By Car lover
from Seattle, WA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The odyssey in general is great. Versatile, comfortable and spacious. For Big or small family, towing, moving you name it. It will works for everybody."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.