Customer Reviews for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe

2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe

Average Customer Rating:
4.21 of 5
4.2
 of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 of 19(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Review 1 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful and Safe

January 2, 2014
By River Addict
from California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I loved my 2003 Hyundai Santa Fe. I bought it used and beaten up, but gave it some TLC and it turned out to be a wonderful car. I have 4 big dogs and I go to the river 1-2 times a week to exercise them. The cloth interior of the car was the most manageable I have experienced in any other car I've had. The fur just vacuumed off. When I would go to the river, I would go off road and the 4WD was awesome and powerful. I didn't play with it, I simply drove over rocks and dirt to get to my secluded river spot. I was just in an accident involving a Ford Fusion rear-ending my Hyundai at 45 mph into a Dodge Durango that was turning. My Hyundai was totaled, but I came out of it with just scratches. The front of my car and trunk were smashed and 3 out of 4 doors dented, but inside the front and back seats were in perfect condition. I know that if I had had any passengers in the car they would have been just as okay as me. It's really comforting to know. Thank you, Hyundai."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Don't buy a Sante Fe

July 20, 2012
By zlo3d2
from Morgantown, WV
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have had this car for 6 years. I bought it used in 2006. I have replaced the brake pads and rotars (front and back) 3 times in the past three years. Something is wrong with that. Because of the poorly made brakes, I have had to replace my tires more often then usual for this area. Last year, a recal came out explaining that this specific year and model rusts extremely easy in the snowy climates (I'm in West virginia) because of the salt used to clear the roads. It recommended taking it in to the local dealership to have them inspect to see if there was any show of rust in the undercarraige. The dealership said no, and that I wouldn't be eligible to take part in the recall. Today, I took my car in to a local car shop because of the strange noises it's been making lately (praying that I wouldn't have to get my brake pads and rotars replaced AGAIN) and they told me the entire undercarraige is rusted out and would have to be replaced for around $1500. No way am I dumping more money into this car. I love the comfort level within the car. It definitely has the best interior or any car I have owned, but putting thousands of dollars into a used car every year is not ok with me. My husband has a Hyundai Sonata that has had similar brake problems as well. We will not buy Hyundai anymore. Seems to be a trend. The style is great, but be prepared to pour your cash into your local maintenance shop with a Hyundai."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely reliable commuting car!

November 14, 2011
By The Louman
from Lake Grove, NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I travel 45 miles to Queens NY...the suspension is great, gas mileage is a very respectable 24 miles per galon HWY. roomy for carpools, great auto! I also own a 2008 santa fe!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great car to get family & personal things done

October 7, 2011
By Mr. Mom
from Kew Gardens, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"If you need a car with a great engine. This is the one to drive. I recommend this car for the roomy interior. When you test drive it you will love it!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not bad not great

August 23, 2011
By Krystal
from Grand Junction, CO
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this car used and got what I thought was a great deal, but soon found out that it wasn't what I thought. The dealer told me that the a/c just needed charged but when I took it in I found out that the compressor is cracked= $2000! Needless to say I was not going to shell that out for a car I paid only $9000 for! With in the 1st 2 years of owning it I put almost $1500 into it without fixing the a/c. Aside from that, it has been a great car that is fairly reliable, I live in Colorado and it handles great in the snow and I don't even have any of the fancy handling. But in the long run, not a bad suv because it drives like a car and gets great gas milage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great SUV and super price

May 18, 2011
By Chenango landowner
from Long Island, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought my 2003 Sante Fe base model- 4 cylinder and manual transmission - back in Dec. 2010 and It had 74,000 miles and cost me $5400 !!!
Never will I buy a new car ever again ! This SUV is absolutly perfect inside and out and it was inspected and no problems at all. It even had the timing belt replaced at 60,000 miles which saved me $300. Nobody wants manual transmission anymore and everybody wants power, so I got this SUV way below what its really worth.
I got this SUV to go up to my hunting property upstate and I'll be towing a small trailer with a small load and I'll be towing a 16 foot aluminum boat on another trailer, I don't need a super charged engine to do this kind of trailering.
This SUV is very nice inside, nice speakers and cd player and all the controls are easy to reach and use.Outside its got a very nice design , looks great and it has a roof rack , nice !
Can't go wrong for $5400 , This SUV had absoultly nothing wrong with it . I was hesitant to buy from a used car dealer and for some reason he wouldn't let me have it inspected ? but it was inspected after I bought it and all is fine. Really lucked out on this one.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my Santa Fe

April 29, 2011
By Santa Fe lover
from Virginia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased my 2003 Santa Fe brand new, February 2003 with the intention of driving it until it rotted off the frame! 8+ years later I still love it! Though I was never really a fan of the exterior appearance, it was recommended to me for all the features I was looking for. I researched it, test drove it and that was it, I fell in love...I no longer cared what it looked like. Over the years the look grew on me and I can't imagine driving anything else! It has a nice, smooth, quiet, comfortable ride, spacious back seat with lots of leg room, and I can load it up with large items...the cargo space fits much more than you can imagine! It was rated very high on safety but best of all, it has been incredibly reliable. I have never had any major problem and it has ~130,000 miles on it. I have had to change the tires once as well as the brakes one time for both front and back. The A/C compressor needed to be replaced last summer with the condenser needing to be replaced now. Again, it's 8+ years old, so I'm not complaining! I hope to have my Santa Fe for another eight years!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best vehicle I have had

December 31, 2010
By cozycottage
from Little Rock, AR
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought used in 2004 with 23000 miles. I never have to take it in. At 150,000 miles I finally had to replace the original battery... this year I also had to fix the air conditioner. I am not real crazy about the lifetime fuel injectors but I have said that I will drive this until it dies. I love it. 12-31-2010"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great for a teenager's first car

January 31, 2010
By sicemdawg
from North Carolina
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this for my daughter's first vehicle - it's a good size and weight, and the 2003 had the full complement of airbags as well - important to me for a first time driver. It has good pickup and enough power in the V-6 to get out of its own way, but the quick throttle tip-in on launch takes a bit of getting used to. It also provides excellent visibility all around - another important virtue since my daughter is short in stature. Overall, very pleased."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great SUV

January 3, 2010
By Sales Person
from Fort Wayne, IN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this used in 2005 with 45k miles, an SUV with more miles than I had planned, but this has turned out to be a great vehicle for me. In a typical week I cover 400-500 miles of territory and have been very pleased with how this vehicle has held up. I've owned this SUV now for 4+ years and 145k more miles with virtually no cost other than regular oil changes and routine maintenance up to the last six months or so, when I've had a few major repairs. Don't like the 2007 style change (bigger) so I'm looking for a 2006 with low miles to drive for another 5 years!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

6yrs and showing its age??

December 16, 2009
By Rosel
from Newington, CT
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I did a review a few days ago. I wasn't very happy with this car but now even more so. In all honesty this may be on the part of the service dept and not the car itself but...after paying a large repair bill on this car, about a month and a half later there was something wrong again. I dropped it off on a Sat. and after they looked into it, said it was a bolt that had to be replaced. They ordered it from their warehouse in NJ (which they said they would have by Tues. but they ended up having to get it from CA because NJ didn't have it. My husband picked it up this afternoon a day later than planned (because they were closing early) and drove it to his place of employment about 15 minutes away with no problems. We went there tonight so I could drive it home and a few minutes after I started driving, it started squealing when I gave it some gas, shuddering every time I stopped at a light or stop sign, no pick up at all. I prayed all the way home - about 30 minutes in traffic that I wouldn't break down. I am calling the service dept. in the morning to have it towed there. I wish I could trade this car in - it's all paid for - and get something other than a Hyundai but financially I'm not in a position at this time. As soon as I can, I am rid of this car and will never look to buy a Hyundai again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

6-yrs and showing its age?

December 14, 2009
By rosel
from Newington, CT
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"We bought our 2003 Santa fe in Jan of 04 and for the 1st yr I loved driving this car. After the 1st yr, the clutch burned out and I had to replace it. Was told normal wear and year and not covered under warranty. At the time it was also suggested I replace the master fly wheel (?) for another big cost but I said no. No problems after that but didn't enjoy driving it anymore. I've driven standards over the years and never had to replace a clutch and after one year in a new car??? A few years later something else happened with the clutch - not burned out but pedal went to the floor and stayed - another big bill. For the next few yrs it was ok but at around yr 4, things started going - 2 different sensors had to be replaced within a month(under warranty), something to do with the brakes (also under warranty), other minor repairs. Now after paying another large bill to replace several different belts etc., about a month and half later, I'm hearing a rattling/rumbling noise in the engine area - turns out to be a bolt that won't stay in when the tech adjusts it. I'm waiting now for the part to come in so I can have my car back tomorrow. I've had cars for longer than 6 yrs without the problems I've been having with this (and to replace a clutch after one year???). I don't plan on buying another - just don't have the confidence it will be reliable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Santa fe 2003

September 27, 2009
By Charles
from Guatemala
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have a Santa fe 2003, I changed engine because I bought it by internet and I was deceived. Now it has new engine but going up the hill it doesn`t have potency, even, it`s stopped in the middle of the hill. It has to rest for about half an hour. do you think it because it`s tip tronic. is it the autometic transmission?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice car for the money

June 4, 2009
By Hyundai owner
from Bristow, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This vehicle drive nice, is a litterbit noise. It fell like a heavy truck. confortable even in the back seat."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Average for reliable SUV

March 20, 2009
By Cageeys Cars
from Minneapolis, MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Pros: Exterior styling, Power, room, quietness, price
Cons: Stiff front setbacks, low rear seat, non-folding front passenger seat,
The Bottom Line: Much improved SUV, definitely worth a look before buying another SUV. The Santa Fe I drove had cloth seats, Very comfortable. With front-wheel-drive, there is some torque steer under hard acceleration at low speeds, but not enough that many people will find it objectionable.
Hyundai tends to favor relatively soft suspension tuning, and the Santa Fe does not aspire to provide the handling of a sports car. The steering lacks feel, and when pushed the Santa Fe plows. Yet lean in turns is not excessive and composure when the road turns bumpy is much better than in the past.The ride isn't entirely smooth, with the slightly busy, leadfooted feel that afflicts even better-than-average SUVs. Noise levels are markedly low, though. Under 40, it hardly feels like the Santa Fe is moving. Overall, the ride/handling compromise is pretty much where the average SUV buyer will want it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dependability

January 4, 2009
By Flyboy
from North Carolina
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The best way to describe the Santa Fe is that its fun to drive. The front wheel drive provides excellent traction in all weather conditions. The ride is comfortable and visibility in every direction is excellent. Hyundai delievers the performance and comfort of other SUV's in its class that costs much more."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great vehicle

July 6, 2008
By Mike
from Florida
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned the Santa fe for the past 5 years and the vehicle has always been reliable. The only problem we ever has was with the A/C clicking on and off periodically which took two trips to the dealer to get corrected properly and we have not had any problems since. Other than that it has been great with low maintenance costs. The GLS model came fully loaded at a great price."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

powertrain warranty doesn't cover much

April 20, 2007
By Captain of Industry
from Fredericksburg, Va
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"poor fuel economy, a few manufacturer defects that dealer couldn't figure out such as date on clock changing at 12pm each day, and a sudden lurching that happens when idling causing the driver to suspect he has been rear ended. Now a $770 bill to replace the defective fuel canister which causes the poor mileage, because the power train warranty doesn't cover it. And $600 to replace the timing belt. my suggestion is to never keep a Hyundai past the 60,000 mile warranty. The rear view mirror is a large blind spot for taller folks. On the positive side, it comes with a lot of standard features for a good price"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2003_Hyundai_Santa Fe
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Terrific Mini-SUV

December 23, 2006
By Santa Fee Fan
from STL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've loved this car/SUV. It's got the space of an SUV with the mileage of a car. Never had any problem with it other than a failed windshield wiper washer fluid pump which the dealer changed out free on warranty in 20 mins."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.