Customer Reviews for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type

2003_Jaguar_S-Type

Average Customer Rating:
4.444 of 5
4.4
 of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 18(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Review 1 for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Turns heads and a pleasure to drive!

December 31, 2013
By AverageHuman
from North Hollywood, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"2003 Jaguar S-Type is reliable. Still running strong at 103,000 miles. Minor issue with the radiator and a sensor but has been fixed (real simple). I love the car and it gets A LOT of people's attention. It stands out from your typical BMW, Mercedes, and Audi roaming the streets in California. I have the V6 3.0L engine and it runs great. As blunt as it may sound, it is a great car. There is not a day that goes by that I don't notice strangers admiring my car with their eyes. It is a truly unique and beautiful car. If you purchase a Jaguar S-Type, be sure to buy 2003-2008 models (reliability is best after 2003)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I cannot find the replacement

December 17, 2013
By Vadim
from Mahwah, NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Was looking at reviews and found my own review here, made in 2006. Here I am, 10 days short of 2014, and I'm still driving the same car. Soon it is 10 years I have it, it has almost 150K miles and it is the best car I ever had. I just love it! I drove it all over the east cost, from Key West to Niagara falls, it still looks, drives and handles almost like new. When car was about 110K it had some issues with the engine. I went to my mechanic and he replaced lots of staff inside the car, which cost me more then $4K, but I'm so glad I did that, because 3 years later I'm driving it with no problems whatsoever. The only problem with his repair was that the car started consuming more fuel, exactly as per specification (check my other review here to see how good it was before).
I understand that I need to find another car, that this one will break dead earlier or later, but every time I look at some new car I just don't like it as much as I do my old Jag. My wife has Mercedes C class, this is a joke comparing with the Jaguar, plus it cannot stop breaking. Bravo Jaguar for making such a nice car! This car made me to look for another Jaguar. Was looking at XF - it looks like made from cheap plastic inside. May be XJ will be next. One thing I don't understand - why Jaguar abandoned the vertical grille? This is a signature of the Jaguar car, and who said that it is an old looking?
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome power in a beautiful package.

August 1, 2013
By Mr rick
from Baltimore
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"All the power ever needed off the track. The sport mode throws you into the back of the seat. A wood and leather interior are both soft and hard and the sunroof is better than a convertible. Other cars copied the styling but this is the original. Couldn't afford a new one but a real gem if you find one well maintained."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great buy for a used car purchase.

June 4, 2013
By Andy from the Big Apple
from NYNY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 2003 Jaguar I purchased about a month ago is an amazing vehicle. The original sticker was $ 51,000, and I bought it from an old lady ( yeah really) who only put 30,000 miles on it, for 10k.
The interior and exterior is like new. She also had the car serviced for any little noise and kept up with the maintenance religiously.
That is the type of Jag S that you want, one that has been maintained from the beginning because that seems to be where all the problems are, off the assembly. Once fixed, the car is good to go.
And, from her receipts, during the first 5k, the car had some major issues that were fixed under warranty, mostly computer re settings.
This car had two major issues when I purchased it, both due to a Jaguar dealersmechanics incompetence. One was a radiator hose plastic pipe that was crushed by a mechanic who over tightened a clamp which caused the hose to fall off constantly. The second problem was a fuel pump that was installed wrong and crooked and not tightened down so the check engine light would go on and the gas actually leaked out of the top of the gas tank under the car, if you filled it up. Once my mechanic fixed these problems at a reasonable rate, the car has never had a problem. It's smooth, luxurious, fast, and gets great mileage, 26 mpg, for a 4.2 V8 that's amazing. The old lady also ordered the car with a special racing green metallic paint and a set of 4 chrome jag wheels. I smoked the windows and the car sparkles. The paint is like new and so are the wheels. So if you want an S type, make sure you get one with good records, and even then, have a mechanic go over it, the jag mechanics are overpaid incompetent fools, never bring the car to a jag dealer. This lady was charged 300.00 to have a tail light changed and they were the above mentioned jag problems. And don't buy a Jag with the Xenon lights, they are self leveling and the motor mounts tend to break. If you already did there is a fix on youtube which is simple and amazing. A dealer will charge you 2,000 to fix it. You can do it yourself with two screws and a drill bit for about $ 2.00.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Beauty Of A New Car

February 26, 2013
By Little Momma
from Central Islip,New York
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I went in looking for the Infinity G 35X and came out with the Jaguar S type and it's beautiful, and it runs like a dream. The car came equipped with cell phone capability ABS, All-wheel-drive, alarm system and it came with LoJack, This car is loaded sunroof, moonroof everything for the price I payed. It's my dream car. Reasonably priced. If I ever have to buy another car it will be through cars.com."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A bargain luxury vehicle.

May 18, 2011
By TDLAX
from Denver, Co
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"First purchased in 2003, I could well say this is a really nice vehicle. The styling is very luxurious. I have received many comments on how "nice it looked". It picks up really nice, has a decent amount of cargo space, and family friendly. What I do not like about the vehicle is the awkward locking system. As I am in the vehicle, I lock it up while I am inside, but it refuses to lock. Also, one time I purposely left the keys in the ignition with the vehicle on, and it locked me out (yes I did have my windows rolled down just in case). The overall locking system takes a long time to understand. This sedan is otherwise a wise choice for people with the money to afford its extensive repair costs and overall MSRP."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Wheels

April 7, 2011
By T's SJ
from Portland, Maine
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Love the interior wood look, the comfortable seats. OUtside sedan look with smooth lines. Elegant looking in and out."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

All American Brit.

March 28, 2011
By Todd B
from Tampa, FL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased this car from a used car dealership with 96 thousand miles on it, and other than a few scratches and 2 small holes in the leather it is in very good condition overall. I will not attempt to review things that you can read in the professional reviews and try to give you the 'feel' that you get from the various parts of the car.
Exterior: This car looks really, very good. It is a beautiful design that looks lean athletic and graceful from all the front end angles. The only place it seems to loose some of its gosh factor is at the rear which seems less special than it might. The long hood with the quad headlights and chrome leaper really resonate with the american view of what english cars should be. Yes the design got dated rather quickly, but it still retains enough exclusivity to get people to give you the admiring double take.
Interior: I got in the car and could just have closed my eyes and smelled the leather for a couple of hours. The redesign of the center stack for '03 really helps this car. The two tone interor color adds a sense of presence and the plastic soft touch surfaces don't scream cheap. Even though a lot of materials come from the Ford parts bin, the car retains it's British heritage well. If there is a complaint it is that the interior does feel very snug. The drivetrain tunnel intrudes on the space in the front, and being over 6 feet (6'1") I have a hard time finding a good balance between seat rake, and wheel placement. I find myself closer to the dash than I would prefer to get may arms and back confortable, and that puts my right knee just about grazing the dash. The trunk has sufficent space for two to travel with a fair amount of luggage, especially with the folding rear seats. The car is very quiet, with some tire noise and wind noise at the exterior mirrors being the only real intrusion during normal driving. Rear seat room is on par with a 5 series, but I wouldn't really want to put a pair of adults over 6 feet tall back there for any long stretch of time.
Engine: This car came with the 3.0 liter V6 and 6 speed ZF automatic (a huge improvement to the pre 03 cars and reason alone to walk away from the older 5 speed models). This car is heavy and its not a light to light racer. That said, it moves with suprising speed on the highway and you can easily find yourself going 90 plus without realising it. The transmission always seems to be in the right gear, and you never seem to have that hesitation that you get with some other tranmissions. Using the sport mode on the auto engages a more agressive shift pattern with noticable quicker shifts, as well as the tranmission holding gears a little longer during acceleration.
Ride and Handling: This is were the car shines. The 4.2 and the R have progressively firmer suspension setups and honestly, for the Tampa Bay area where I live, its vanity only to have the other cars. The standard suspension and handling set up on the 3 liter car works very well, never to hard or soft, always making you feel the car is better than you are. I haven't driven the car with the traction control off, so I can't tell you what happens when your exuberance exceeds your sense, but with the system engaged, the car can comfortable handle any road event thrown at it. Malfunction junction here at I 4 and I 275 can be taken "theoretically" at 20 to 25 miles per hour above the recommended corner speed without drama. Of course I don't know about that first hand....
Overall: As a used car the combination of luxury, size, and exclusive appeal really set this car apart from the everyone has to drive a BMW crowd. For high speed high comfort distance crusing this car is difficult to beat. Due to the cost of repairs, it is very important to purchase an extended warranty from one of the various nationwide vendors, but overall this car is no more or less realiable than anyother, especially with Ford assisting in that department. Keep in mind when you need parts that a Ford parts department is likely to have what you need at on half to one third the price of a Jaguar dealership.
Wholeheartedly recommend this car. I won't ever sell mine."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

CAR-REVIEW INC

November 1, 2010
By MR.REVIEW
from CA.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This design is classic retro, the color is beeeautiful!!!This particular car drives great and a certified mechanic checked it out in a detailed manner and gave it a 5 star mechanical rating !!! This 36K miles car is basically a 3 YR OLD CAR WITH A 7 YR. OLD PRICE !!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Be Very Careful with This One

October 13, 2010
By Riser
from Ohio
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I test drove tis car listed here and took it to a mechanic, who diagnosed car to have in excess of $3,000 worth of repairs. You do get what you pay for, and in this case you will likely pay far more than the sticker price. Look elsewhere if you want a "drive and go" vehicle that won't break down once you drive off the lot."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-4points
11out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Cat has claws!

July 17, 2010
By Jaglover
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The S-Type R is an absoluetly fabulous automobile! It is excellent in every stretch of the word. The performance, handling and style are beyond reproach! I'm considering buying another one....one to drive every day and one to store for the future. History is going to be very, very good to the S-Type R's! I'm in love with this automobile!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a pretty kitty! WOW

April 24, 2010
By Out West Jag Owner
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I did lots of homework online about the 'S' type Jags and decided after seeing one and driving a couple, that I needed a change from 2 prior caddys. WOW, it more than met my expectations. Just purchased it with 96K and it runs like a new car. Don't know all of its history but seems like it has been very well cared for. Bought it with a warranty just for a little piece of mind. I don't what I like the best; the looks, ride, performance or just overall feeling for the car. Totally in love with it.
Held out for the weather package (heated seats, rain-sensing wipers, traction control) and the memory options, plus lumbar. Can' say enough good about the car so far! Time will tell the whole story. I just need to remember all cars (in a matter of time and mileage) break down, its a given. I felt like I got a ton of car for well under 10K, but I had to look hard and clear to Rhode Island from Oregon!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wow

February 18, 2010
By MikeOh
from Ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this fabulous 2003 S-Type 4.2 just about a year ago and I have been falling deeper in love with it every day. The car has power, handling, style, comfort and class like no other. The features and luxury options are second to none. I got this car for a steal, it's a shame they loose so much value after just a couple of years. It has an elegance that is not matched by any other car. People stare at it because it does not have the cookie cutter look of a Lexus, Mercedes or BMW."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wow, I love this car

March 18, 2009
By MikeOh
from Ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"This is the best gift I have ever given myself. I bought this used Jag and the ride, performance and appearance are flawless. The cupholders could be bigger, but other than that it is great."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best haqndling car I've owned

June 27, 2007
By Car enthusiast
from Concord, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Overall it's an excellent car. It's fast, handles extremely well and is comfortable. Generally the service at the local Jaguar dealer has been good although the routine servce is expensive for what you get.
I would definitely buy another Jaguar but would buy a "preowned" one rather than new as I prefer someone else to eat the first two years depreciation."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So far, so good (one month)

March 25, 2007
By Tall car nut (6'4')
from Alpharetta, GA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought the 2003 S-Type because of the price/ value relationship. In 2003, the reviews of this vehicle were very positive noting major improvements over the 2002 in handling and interior design. When JD Power awarded Jaguar the highest reliability rating for 2003 vehicles among European manufacturers, I felt comfortable buying a used S-Type 3.0.
The main reason that I considered a Jaguar rather than another Lexus was the headroom. The headroom in this vehicle is a couple inches more than my previous-generation Lexus GS (which was always a bit too tight). Given the headroom and the seating, the driving position is excellent for me and has the adjustability to be excellent for anyone, I expect.
No doubt, this is a big car. With a longer wheelbase, it drives "bigger" than a Lexus GS. Still, the handling of this car is surprising. This is more of a sport sedan. The graceful exterior and the luxury amenities might lead you to think that it isn't.
The engine and transmission are strong and extremely smooth. Gas mileage is about 20 in all-around and fairly aggressive driving (and with the automatic transmission set on "sport")
The road feel comes primarily through the seat; the feel through the steering wheel is pretty minimal.
At first, the seat seemed hard with inadequate side bolstering and the road-feel through the seat seemed overly harsh. Then I realized that I needed to drive with an enthusiast driving position: arms extended and seat farther back, to take advantage of the side bolstering that is located at the front edge of the seat. (With arms fully extended, the wrist joints should reach the steering wheel.) With the seat back your weight will also be distributed across more of the seat, more on the legs and less on the butt. Result: great leg support for a tall guy and less of a feeling of seat hardness. (Lexus GS seats are not this deep from front to back.)
The interior styling is very nice. The traditional Jaguar wood is a big part of the design. Other than the wood, the interior materials are good but not great.
So far I can't rate the reliability of the vehicle, but I was very satisfied with the dealer when I took it in for the pre-purchase inspection. The people in the service department were quite personable, competent, and professional.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

S-Type R

August 8, 2006
By Bmwridr
from Indianapolis, IN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned my S-Type R for 2 years and have used it as a daily driver all that time. I just love this car, the perfect sports sedan. Fast and responsive but silky smooth. Tremendous Brembo brakes. Great sound system. All the bells and whistles. And very reliable, only 2 small problems both promptly taken care of by the dealer. Driving to the grocery or blasting down a country road, it feels totally at easy in any environment."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2003_Jaguar_S-Type
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Jaguar s-type 4.2 2003

June 19, 2006
By Vadim
from NJ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have this car for almost 2 years. Purchased it used. Had little problem with transmission - needed to flush. Other then that car runs excellent and does 30-31 MPG on a highway and 20 in a city. I love it. I wonder why all reviews have overage MPG much lower then I get?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.