Customer Reviews for 2003_Kia_Sedona

2003_Kia_Sedona

Average Customer Rating:
3.25 of 5
3.3
 of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
9 of 16(56%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2003_Kia_Sedona
Review 1 for 2003_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for family use or weekend projects

March 27, 2013
By Jay M.
from Frisco, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Seats are comfortable for long trips. Extra safety for those with car seats. Has good get-up- and go.
Nice exterior body style and inside plenty of pockets, cup holders and storage.
Can carry tons of groceries or supplies.
Plenty of room to carry ladders, mulch, beach umbrellas, etc.
Very reliable and maintenance costs have been reasonable.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2003_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great used Vehicle

February 27, 2013
By Rider
from Westerville, Ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Over all this vehicle will serve my needs. This mini van is more compact inside, comfortable, rides nice. Great features, radio, small storage compartments. Good enough for my hobby equipment, biking & camping."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2003_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth Your Money

August 12, 2011
By Friend
from Mississippi
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Power sunroof and leather... nice. Great pickup, handles great. Maintaining the vehicle is easy and inexpensive. Great buy for our family."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2003_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Family Vehicle for the Money

July 2, 2011
By Rod
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This van is perfect for anyone that's on a budget and wants comfort and reliability in a vehicle. Routine maintenance is fairly inexpensive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2003_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best Mini Van I've ever owned.

October 28, 2009
By Great Mini Van for the price
from Sunnyvale, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a '93 Kia Sedona in 2006 with 36,000 miles on it. I really liked the way it handled. I also liked how easy it was to remove the rear seats. The three things that I didn't like were:
the horrible spark plugs that it came with. The gas mileage was horrible, 16 to 19 mpg until I changed the spark plugs, then I got 18 to 22 average mpg, depending on how I accelerated. The AC went out after 180,000 miles.
I drove the vehicle very hard for 184,000 miles and never had any problems with it except the AC.
Mechanically it was better than the Plymouth Voyager, and Mazda MPV that I had owned previously.
Never go to a dealer with it for servicing, because they lie, and the service is terrible and too expensive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2003_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Car I've ever owned

June 7, 2009
By Sad Sedona owner
from Carbondale, Il
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought my van new, it ran fine until 100,000 and the end of the warranty. After that, it has been one major repair after the other totaling thousands of dollars. It is sitting at a garage right now awaiting another $1,700 in engine repairs. It is cheaper to let it sit than get it repaired and have it break down again. Although the car loan is long ago paid off, I still make car payments on it, only they now go to my mechanic instead of the bank."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2003_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Minivan

March 25, 2008
By Audrey
from Missouri
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Nice minivan, can't beat the price for what you get. It handles really good around turns not like any minivan I had drivin before. I would definitle recommend this vehicle to a friend or family member. If fact there are 2 other Sedona minivans in my family."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2003_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

81000 miles closer to U get what u pay 4

December 13, 2007
By Russ
from charlotte nc
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The Service Dept sets a new mark for bad service. - UGWYP4
So my experienced mechanic told me to look at the bills for the past year. Sell as soon as possible. Brakes $400 airconditioning $400 door handle $300. Finger cuts from metal peeling off the plastic door handles.priceless
It does have an a 5 star on safety. Which does add value for a family guy.
This is my first and last Kia.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2003_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good van,

August 23, 2007
By teck guy
from chicagoland, il
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"good van, not outstanding but good solid van for us, we have 75000 and purchased new.
but i have a hot suggestion, pun intended, for repair of rear heater lines, bypass them with 90 degree hoses from pump to front heater and back to block instead of repair to rear heater lines. rear heater didnt work anyways because lines werent insulated anyways and chilled water before heater.
paint winshield etc no problems,"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2003_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

No Problems - Good value

July 14, 2007
By Cobra
from Atlanta
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Have had a Sedona EX with leather for 3 years and have had no problems...only expense was scheduled maintenence and tires. ours has leather, sunroof and captains chairs in the 2nd row. It has been very comfortable on trips with the kids. It may not be on par with them but it is a great value compared to the $30K+ cost of the Toyota or Honda vans."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2003_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

most terrible car i ever owned

July 10, 2007
By mommy of 3
from oahu
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Customer service is terrible! The paint on this car started peeling and cracking at only 3 years old and kias response "so sorry the warranty on the paint is up" thats it. They had no compassion, they did not care.
They tried to cover up a brake flaw by fixing the brakes after a near collision. Every time I take it in for something, something else goes wrong. I am so mad about the paint thing. My car is only 4 years old and it looks horrible! Their customerservice people are so cold! I hope to get rid of it soon. It is not even worth the blue book value.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2003_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

you get what you pay for

February 22, 2007
By eddie
from louisville, ky
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Beware of the 100,000 warranty, it only applies to the orig. owner, next owners will only get the 5/60,000 bumpber to bumper, and you'll need it: the wiper motor went out at 58,000, in the middle of winter, NOT GOOD! it was repaired under warranty but it took our local dealer 3 days to get the part, the alternator went out at 63,000, I called KIA, they told me "sorry about your luck" it was a $700 repair. The driver side head light went out at 70,000, it can only be repaired by the dealer, cost was $75. The power steering went out at 85,000, instead of getting it fixed, I traded for a Toyota Sienna, the difference is day and night with the Sienna being so much better in built quality and smoother ride. Other problems: weak A/C and front defrost, needed 4 brake jobs in 3 years of ownership, sub-par gas mileage. Save yourself some headaches and go with the Japanese or even domestic brands."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2003_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not too bad

December 26, 2006
By HP
from Cincinnati, OH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought a 2003 Kia Sedona new from a dealer in July 2003 - since then I have put over 65K miles on it. We have had no mechanical problems with it other than the air compressor noise and brakes wearing out faster than expected. My previous car was a VW at about the same purchase cost and this van has costed us a lot less in maintenance. The gas mileage isn't stellar, but overall, its performance is good. I have three complaints: 1. Premature rust pitting around the lower half of exterior. 2. The glass used for the windshield does not like humid weather - no matter what wiper/cleaner/fluid is used, the windshield does NOT wipe well in humid conditions (??). 3. The seats are very difficult to remove and are too heavy for me to carry. Overall, its not too bad."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2003_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for the family!

August 5, 2006
By Tony
from Westfield, IN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is a 2003 Kia Sedona EX that I purchased new from the dealer in December 2002. It is a wonderful family vehicle. We've taken it on several trips to Chicago & Florida. One trip to Colorado and one trip to the East Coast. Runs great!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2003_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Kia Sedona - Air Conditioner Woes

July 18, 2006
By Cool but Unhappy
from Richmond, VA
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This is an average van with average features and average power. There is nothing remarkable or stellar about it. It's initial cost was low, which is why we purchased it new. We've maintained it regularly, and it hasn't had any major problems except for one mysterious challenge that no mechanic can find the cause of. Whenever the air conditioner is running, we hear loud intermittent noises. Sometimes they sound like a race car taking off and sometimes like a prolonged groan. We've been hearing these sounds since the first time we used the AC (which cools nicely, incidentally). The noises appear to come from the rear passenger side of the van. We've taken it to Kia about 6 times to remedy the problem while the van is still under warrantee, and they can't find anything wrong with it. We've even contacted national Kia customer service to no avail. They just pushed us back to the dealer. This is very frustrating for us and the primary reason why we would never recommend Kia Sedona. Otherwise, it's been an OK value for the money. Next time I'd go with a more reliable and reputable brand."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2003_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

kia sedona

July 15, 2006
By nothappywithkia
from Phoenix, AZ
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"If you need a minivan, skip the Kia Sedona. What you save on the sticker price will cost you in the long run.
Our family purchased a new Kia Sedona in 2003 and it has been into the dealership about every 6 months. We properly maintain it by getting the oil changed and doing the suggested maintaining.
We have had problems with the compressor causing the airconditioning to malfunction 2 times in the last year. The brakes have had to be fixed 3 times. We bought a new van so we would not have to deal with repair issues. It also gets really bad gas milage(the worst in it's class).
It's true that you get what you pay for. There is a reason it is the cheapest minivan on the market."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.