Customer Reviews for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class

2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class

Average Customer Rating:
4.421 of 5
4.4
 of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 19(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Review 1 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice looking car but not reliable

February 1, 2014
By Malab43
from NJ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I owned 2003 e320 since 2005. Bought with 29k miles on it. My first 3 years was great, no problem at all and runs great, but after approximately 3 years with 70k miles, the nightmare begun. Replaced the air suspension unit, ball joint, lower/upper arm, some parts for heating system, then recently while driving in really cold weather Abs/bas/esp/brakes lights came on and started making squicking noise and then all of sudden the rear window shattered in a million pieces. Brought to shop and it cost me several thousands to replace all kinds of modules, rear window, brake system, etc. I researched on line for any recalls and found out that there are recalls back in 2005 about brake hydraulics and electrical system. I reported it to MB corporate but they said the recalls are not legit. With this multiple problems occurred happened all at the same time I strongly believe that there are some issue with electrical system but MB is no help at all. Please think twice before buying MB."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

reliable

January 8, 2014
By Mason H
from Opa Loca, Fl
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"E320 is very roomy, very reliable, very smooth in driving. My wife and kids love this car. This car is very reliable, fun to drive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Greatest E320 ever

November 5, 2012
By Mr Mr from texas
from dallas fortworth,TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great car ,runs very strong ,excellent handling and performance, all i had to do is keep up with the recommended maintenance . I will buy another E320 any time ."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lucked out on this one!

March 20, 2012
By Geno
from Indiana
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Was browsing Cars.com one Saturday morning and came across a one owner 2003 E500 with 54K miles for $17,000 at a local Nissan dealership. As I could not believe that this vehicle had such low miles and was flawless per the pictures, I immediately raced to dealership to check it out. In short, I purchased the vehicle after the test drive. Priced to move as the dealers pre-owned section was overflowing and of course due to V8 engine. Use vehicle primiarily for highway driving/road trips."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

horsepower a plenty

March 5, 2012
By fast eddie
from houston, tx
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This E55 is beyond expectation, with 469 horsepower and 516 ft/lbs of torque, the car gives any 911 a run for the money, and you can bring 4 of your friends with you in total luxury and comfort. Try to stuff the in a Porsche or even an Audi, and leave any BMW in the dust."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Bad Deal

September 3, 2011
By Car Researcher
from alexandra, va
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Excellent drive - sounds good; however has missing parts on the inside. price has increased 700 dollars since Sept 2"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
Primary use for this car: Having fun
-9points
2out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an elegant car

June 12, 2011
By Elclaro
from Santa cruz, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Its a beutiful car lot of power.
this car is better that a bmw and of course
Parts are cheaper that volvo audi an even bmw
This car is your best option.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Safety First

November 22, 2010
By New MB Driver
from Rockland NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We bought a 2003 E320 4matic because we needed a used family car (as an alternative to driving our SUV all the time). My most important factor was safety as we were putting three kids in car seats in back seat. The E320 accomodates the 3 seats and doesn't feel completely cramped. Also, has head and side curtain as wll as the typical front airbags. What we also got in an 8 year old model year is incredible styling, handling, power (ours has v6 but, make no mistake, it goes). Since we have had it we've had some warning lights come on and then goe off appears to be sensor on the way out. But mechanically sound. My suggestion, if you want a great used car, find older MB with lower mileage, have it checked by mechanic for obvious major flaws, and then if no problems, buy it. Put some money aside for repairs if needed, that way you won't get scared away when people say - ohh - those are so expensive to fix. Because, I hate to say this, but our 8 year old Mercedes drives better than any brand new American or Japanese car I've driven, and it was half the price since it is 8 years old. Remember, when you buy a used quality car like this, you could replace practically the entire drive train and still be better off than buying a brand new basic car. And, you've purchased one of the safest cars out there, and one that holds the record for most miles on original engine (Volvo holds most total - but engine has been rebuilt twice)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was my car!

July 9, 2010
By Mr. B
from St. Paul, MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am the guy who just traded this car for an Odyssey. $67,000 buys a lot of car today. Imagine what it bought in 2003. There is not another one like it within 500 miles. The keyless go is sweet. You never have to take the key out of your pocket. The car unlocks itself when you get to it and then you push a button to start the car. It is also equipped with distronic which is a radar controlled cruise control. I will miss this feature the most. You set the cruise and if someone pulls in front of you it will slow down on its own and then return to speed when they get out of the way. It will also alert you if you are about to hit someone. Finally, it is really fast/quick. It is after all a 5 liter V8. My wife will miss that part.
-B"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2003 E500 Great Performance and Reliable

January 16, 2010
By Mercedes E500
from San Francisco, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I owned my E500 for a few years, and I'm very satisfied with it.
It has a great performance, and lots of luggage space (especially if you have the fold down rear seat option).
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

most car i ve owned its e55 kompresor

October 4, 2009
By chawo1
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i drive this car this car its perfcet
its very fast nice this car its a bomb this car go 0 to 60 in 4.5 secon its crazy
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I own an E500

February 23, 2009
By Mike benz owner
from Atlanta
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had my E500 for 4 years now and I love it. Trouble free and proformace is outstanding. I am very statisfied and got one for my lady. Love this car and will do it again when the times comes."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

E55 has been TERRIFIC

February 11, 2009
By E55 or Nothing
from Wheaton, Il
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was afraid of electrical problems in this model year, but my 2003 E55 has been flawless, now 2009 and 35,000mi. The E55 rides a little rough but all is forgiven with 469hp and 512ft/lb of torque! Think of it as a Viper that seats 5. A fun car for bopping around but not ideal for long range cruising, for that get the S550 your wife will thank you. Runs great in winter with snow tires but rims bend easily with potholes. The E55 is a toy, seating 5 just makes it a little more practical than a sports car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Piece of JUNK!

January 22, 2009
By Royman
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have been a Mercedes guy all of my like. In the last six months that I have owned my 2003 E500, it has broken down more than all of my prior MB's collectively! Airmatic...junk. The dash, heater control valve, ball joints, thrust arm bushings...the list goes on! The worst part about it, the car has 50,000 on the clock.
You will find many of these nice looking cars for sale with very enticing prices. Stay away. The reason the prices are so low...Junk! I've owned MB's forever, I'm considering switching to Lexus."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

World Class Sport Touring Performance and Value

April 29, 2008
By Delta Car Enthusiast
from Bay Area, California
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my first Mercedes Benz and it has been a great car for my daily business and family travel. Very comfortable for four (4) adults to travel long distance. The 5.0 liter has lot's of power on the highway. Our family has really enjoyed the large trunk and fold down rear seats. We have been experiencing 20 to 24 miles per gallon. Our E500 has been maintained by Mercedes Benz Service and has been very dependable without any issues. We also purchased the extended Starmark warranty for piece of mind and value. Definitely a luxury sport touring sedan with style and prestige. We've owned and driven several other European and Asian cars and this 2003 E500 sedan is better than the Audi A6, BMW 540 Jaguar S-Type, Infiniti M45 and the Lexus GS 430. Can't touch the elegance and sport! Performance and technology! Super ride and handling characteristics! Tastefully furnished! Will buy a Mercedes Benz again!!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

buy a bmw

April 27, 2008
By no more mercedes
from St Louis
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"My E500 was an excellent driving car with a great interior, but the reliability leaves a lot to be desired. Thought I was moving up from my Infiniti Q45 to this car, but the handling can't make up for the number of times it was in the shop. Radiator split, which caused the transmission line that runs through it to get anitfreeze in it and the tranny needed to be replaced. Then the air suspension went out, the moonroof went, then the motor mounts needed replaced, all in one year. Just traded it in on a 5 series BMW, if you buy this car get the extended warranty"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A spectacular drive

May 21, 2007
By Scott
from Naperville, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Mine's of the E500 Sport variety, absolutely love it - great stereo, great seats, and the brakes, while they take a (very) little getting used to, are absolutely superb in terms of stopping power. The V8 defines "flat torque curve" and really has a dual personality - one part calm and strong, the other part ferociously quick. Body feel is extremely tight, no rattles, etc. MB really built a magnificent car, now we just have to wait and see if it remains trouble free for years and years as past E-Class models. Based on waht I've seen so far, the answer should be yes."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The best Mercedes I ever drove

August 12, 2006
By Z man
from Los Angeles, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I owned this 2003 E320 for about 2 years now. The car runs and looks great through out. The interior is comfortable and inviting."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2003_Mercedes-Benz_E-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

minivan or luxury wagon

August 9, 2006
By napoleon
from Columbus
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"quality and great value for money for a family of six and a dog. German engineering, quality throughout, great ride quality and super brand and styling. The 320E sedan is an excellent alternative to a minivan with great performance and reasonable fuel economy."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.