Customer Reviews for 2003_Mercury_Sable

2003_Mercury_Sable

Average Customer Rating:
4.188 of 5
4.2
 of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
14 of 16(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2003_Mercury_Sable
Review 1 for 2003_Mercury_Sable
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Died after 100,000 miles.

December 28, 2013
By Mercury- Boo
from Los Angeles, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Like every other American car I've owned, this one's transmission went out at 100,000 miles. Prior to that, it was noticeably a bit sloppy, which is a common complaint with these cars. I bought the car in 2010 and had it for under two years.
The engine ran very strong. I had the LS Premium with the DOHC. It felt like it provided a lot more than 200 horses. I had no problems with the engine, other than some minor stuff--a leaky oil pan, for instance. Another thing--this car feels a lot bigger and heavier than it appears. The doors feel like they're 200 pounds when you open them. It's kind of a tank.
I had the premium stereo and the multi-disc player. It was okay, but nothing special. A couple of the lights went out on the stereo and I would have had to replace the whole thing to fix them. Too much bass caused the speakers noticeable grief. Good for 2003, I guess.
I also liked the adjustable pedals--pretty cool. There's a switch next to the seat that raises or lowers the gas and brake pedal. The seats are very comfy and the interior is roomy.
It's great on the freeway and not bad-looking, but if you run into a major problem, it's not worth the cost of repair, so I can't recommend it. I ended up selling mine with a busted transmission for $500 or so to a mechanic. All things considered, you might as well buy an old Jaguar."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2003_Mercury_Sable
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliability Extraordinaire!

January 24, 2013
By PumpkinHead
from Raleigh, NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this Sable LS Premium in Spring of 2006 with 32,000 miles from a national used car chain CM. I now have 157,000 miles on it and have done nothing but maintenance. I have run Amsoil & Mobil1 oil in it since I got it and changed the oil every 6,000-9,000 miles This car has amazed me for it's value & reliability.
It has plenty of get-up-and-go, has solid, stable handling, a reasonably quiet ride, is quite comfortable & roomy, has a big trunk and a nice complement of features. On the highway I get 25mpg and 21mpg combined even though I usually drive like i'm going to a fire ;-) I have kept good tires on it and gotten 65,000 from each set (65 from the orig OEM Continental Contacts, 65 from the Yokohoma Avid TZR and have almost 30 on this set of Toyo Versado LX and they still have lots of tread left).
This Sable (and its counterpart, the Taurus) would make a great 1st car for a teen or as a daily driver for anyone. I cannot recommend it highly enough."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2003_Mercury_Sable
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall best car I've ever owned

February 23, 2011
By CLE Guy
from Cleveland, OH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 2003 Mercury Sable LS Premium Wagon offers a blend of practicality, reliability and comfort that is extraordinary. For a family, the car seats 8, more than most minivans and does it with style and capability. The LS wagon has great features including, leather, ABS brakes, traction control, 16-inch wheels, driver, passenger, side air bags, premium sound and many have a power moonroof. The car is also very reliable, it runs well in any weather."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2003_Mercury_Sable
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

the worst vehicle I have ever driven

September 11, 2010
By unsatisfied customer
from queens ny
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"this car was and still is a lemon to say the least. the ac,turn signal,locks and engine were no good."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2003_Mercury_Sable
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2003 Mercury Sable

April 22, 2010
By Joe
from West Chester, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I own and drive daily, a 2003 Mercury Sable LS with 185,000 miles on it. It looks and feels like a brand new car. I have never owned a car that held up as well as this car has."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2003_Mercury_Sable
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real good car

January 23, 2010
By happy george
from Ft. Worth, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought Sept. 08 very reliable. Only fault is the roof line could be 2 inches higher to make it easier to get into.
Most newer cars have the same problem.
Drove 86 Cad DeVille fo 12 years before this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2003_Mercury_Sable
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I just bought it!!!

August 23, 2009
By sablette
from Baton Rouge, la
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It is very nice!!! Woodgrain and leather, the sound system is nice!!! It drives well also!! I feel I made a great choice!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2003_Mercury_Sable
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1 of the nicer vehicles out there

May 26, 2009
By penn-guy
from Pittsburgh, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I dunno, I dig the styling of this car. Very complete design, a beauty in black and a rear spoiler. Lovely wheels. Nice quality and full of options, roomy trunk, great visibility, quiet efficient engine. What more could you want really? (One thing, at this point all the cars should have CD/mp3/ipod capable audio systems standard!)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2003_Mercury_Sable
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Refined Automobile - Luxury Car

April 28, 2009
By Happy Owner of Sable
from NY, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"I have the Sable LS Premium. This is loaded with every option. Solid car is very quiet on the highway. It has a very good powertrain, very smooth and the steering is very precise. It is a fairly big car, but it is enjoyable to drive. I bought the car with about 45,000 miles on it, and it has been reliable, with nothing required by regular maintenance."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2003_Mercury_Sable
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

excellent transportation

April 17, 2009
By happy1
from Fort Worth, Texas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Got rid of 86 Cad. had for 12 years.
Drove this Merc. and knew it was the best value. Not as good riding as Cad. but, all cheaper cars don't ride good either. Merc. is solid, no rattles,etc.
Has 112000 and as a used car its a good value. Owned for 2 yrs.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2003_Mercury_Sable
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Third Sable

February 28, 2009
By Mercury Convert
from Oregon
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my first Sable 3 years old, as a temporary car, while I looked for another luxury car. It was so good, I kept it. After a 1986 Cadillac, followed by a 1988 Cadillac, and a 1991 Acura Legend; none of which could make it to 40,000 miles without several major repairs. The used 1992 Sable went to 140,000 miles with me, sold to a friend, and was totalled at 186,000 miles and never needed a major repair. I sold my second Sable at 135,000 miles, and last time I saw it was approaching 200,000 miles; with only a head gasket replacement. My 2003 Sable (bought as a demonstrator) is at 62,000 miles, with no repairs. I maintain the cars carefully. A consistent 20-21 mpg in town and 30 mpg on the road (all three cars). Would recommend the base 3.0 Vulcan V-6 as the cheaper to maintain and tough. Styling and reputation makes it a good business car without being "pushy"."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2003_Mercury_Sable
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

4 years no regrets

October 9, 2008
By Love my Sable
from Pennsauken, NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased, my 03 Sable GS Plus used with 18,000 miles four years ago. I have to agree with JD Powers, this is a dependable sedan! I have had to replace the camshaft syncronizer, otherwise at 64,000 miles she's a keeper."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2003_Mercury_Sable
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Try It -- You'll Like It

May 4, 2008
By Empty Nester
from Ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought my Sable LS Premium Wagon used 3 years ago (2005) with 31K. I now have 67K on it. Bought it for the price and its good looks.
My wife had a series of GM cars before this and the Sable has converted us to Ford. Very tight, comfortable, drives well, economical and almost maintenance free. Difficult to find anything to complain about.
Handsome from the outside, particularly the front grill, which is a huge improvement from its Ford counterpart (ugh). Comfortable for long trips. Large and comfortable interior. Useful hidden storage area in rear. At first my wife thought this was where the spare tire went and the car came without it.
Maintenance wise, I've had just a brake job in 35,000 miles. Interior, the radio display is a little confusing - a forest of buttons - but you get used to it. Also a little more wind and road noise than I would like, but that's a small complaint.
This car may not have the cachet of some others, but try it -- you'll like it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2003_Mercury_Sable
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

BOUGHT IT YESTERDAY

October 25, 2007
By phazed.0ut
from McMinnville, TN
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"So far I am happy with it. Very nice car. Love the power options, sun roof.
What I don't like is that I feel like I can't see out the windshield well enough, my head is almost touching the ceiling of the car. That is my ONLY complaint. I am a big girl though, but only 5ft 4, maybe there is a way I can find to lower my seat. I haven't found that out yet.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2003_Mercury_Sable
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car I've owned

July 15, 2007
By Car Enthusiast
from Clinton, Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 03 sable is Absolutly the most reliable car I've ever purchased. I have had it for almost 2 years, and enjoy it as much now as when I first bought it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2003_Mercury_Sable
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well Balanced car

December 16, 2006
By Car Entnusiast
from Rhode Island
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This car changed my mind about the company which makes it in some ways and thats a very good thing, its a great all around car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.