Customer Reviews for 2003_Mitsubishi_Montero Sport

2003_Mitsubishi_Montero Sport

Average Customer Rating:
3.933 of 5
3.9
 of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
12 of 15(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2003_Mitsubishi_Montero Sport
Review 1 for 2003_Mitsubishi_Montero Sport
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Car Experience Ever

October 15, 2007
By SUV Fan
from Mobile, Alabama
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"My Montero nightmare started almost immediatly. The SUV's engine would shut off in the middle of traffic, and the Mitsubishi dealership told me they could not find the origin of the problem unless the car shut off on their lot. The biggest problem with the car, however, is the engine. These SUV's seem to have some type of oil/lubrication problem, which causes significant damage to the engine. The dealership informed us that we most likely skipped oil changes and had sludge buildup (we had records for all of our oil changes), and they advised us that it was a damaged lifter. Anyway, the dealership was unable to correct the issue, and we've been driving a rattle-trap mess for 6 months. This past week, the oil pressure dropped to zero, and the dealership has advised us that we need a total engine overhaul (at our expense, even though our warranty is current). This SUV has some serious issues, and my biggest complaint is that the dealership is unwilling to honor the warranty and correct the issue."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2003_Mitsubishi_Montero Sport
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mitsu's Rock!!

November 11, 2009
By George
from TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Hello All, I own one of these for 3 years and it has never given me any trouble. I just keep the normal oils changed and tires and routines check ups done in time. I have 150K+ and this is going strong. Offroad/snowy or wet roads are a piece of cake for it, handles really well.Yes, it is better than all the US made Suv's and even powerful and heavier than 4runner or Cherokee's or Explorer's. Yes had them all. Trust me, if you can find one less than 75K , buy it and you will never regret that you did!! I am on the look out for another one. Great all round truck, with awesome looks and performance. It would be the perfect SUV, if you can out some bigger tires and have a 3 inch body lift. Rugged looks, but when you driv you wont feel a thing, unlike 4runner. Both are Japanese made and I prefer MS over 4runner and all my friends envy, owners pride!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2003_Mitsubishi_Montero Sport
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

HAPPY SO FAR

April 6, 2011
By trail crawler
from B_TOWN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought my '03 MTS limited two days ago and drove home 200 miles just fine. Mostly highway. Gets OK gas mileage for an SUV. At 87000 miles it's in great condition. Great value. Can't wait to try it out on the trail.
PROS: -Great handling response on dirt.
-Very good sound system
- Fun to drive
-Lots of passenger\ cargo room and storage
-Very stylish SUV
-Smooth ride at high speeds
-Not a clunker
-Easy to drive
CONS: -Over response of handling at high speeds
(just takes getting used to)
-Gas mileage is poor (as with all suv's)
-Awkward to get in and out
-Alarm system is touchy
-Check with fine tooth comb for dents
rust etc. ( very easy to miss when
purchasing)
-Not as much acceleration as
I hoped it would have, but enough.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2003_Mitsubishi_Montero Sport
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Baby

July 27, 2012
By pearkan
from Saskatchewan, Canada
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have over 350,000kms on my Mits which I bought in 2007 used. Have been across Canada and Eastern US with it...put it on a train to the far north of Quebec where they dont have roads and used it for hunting and fishing and drove it with semi tires for a couple of years.....It's very reliable, excellent choice. Parts are starting to need replacement now...and I have to order all my parts from the US and recently discovered an online order site from Canada which was super cheap. A Mits dealership wanted $150 for an inner tie rod end, I ordered it online for $18 from this site and my SUV is running perfect. Great value for your money if you buy one. I'm gonna drive it till it won't go anymore :)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2003_Mitsubishi_Montero Sport
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

has never let me down

June 29, 2010
By beaver
from rhode island
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned my Montero Sport for seven years and 150k and it has been performing well since our initial purchase. We did have an issue with the transmission "chattering" but that was easily remedied with changing the fluid to a synthetic. I use it mostly as a truck now and I have to say that it can definitely haul it's weight in gold. I love this vehicle and only wish that it hadn't seen the end of production."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2003_Mitsubishi_Montero Sport
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth buy !!!

September 19, 2009
By ~Raj~
from OK
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Hey, please dont buy this car new, rather buy it used cuz it somehow has a very low resale value for some reason which I dont now. I bought this one couple of months back with 50K miles on it, I did all the basic services +new tires and running ok so far. real value for the money, if you find a used one, buy it, check on trans and diff axles, definitely male looks!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2003_Mitsubishi_Montero Sport
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

garbage car

October 30, 2012
By dragopooch
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have to get rid of my Montero due to a broken bolt on the belt pulley system.One bolt trashes a vehicle. Not a good design. Found many others had the same problem but no recall. Earlier burning oil and found faulty head gasket.Spent over 3000 dollars in last 4 months on a car that is worth only 2500 on trade in.Plus how much more to replace engine."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2003_Mitsubishi_Montero Sport
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GREAT SUV

November 28, 2009
By Ghanaman
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Could you imagine l bought this SUV with 170,000 mileage? But guess what, it runs like new. Only had to replace the pulley, which was broke for montns, but never stopped the vehicle. I mean it really runs like a sporty vehicle, just as it was made. Gas consumption is also excellent. Would definitely recommend it to anyone."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2003_Mitsubishi_Montero Sport
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car!

June 18, 2008
By Dee
from Philadelphia, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Let me say this .... This SUV is AWSOME!! Feels like a Lexus but sure isnt priced like one. The drive is smooth and the look is second to none. The best SUV I ever bought. Please email me to ask me any questions .... I am one happy customer."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2003_Mitsubishi_Montero Sport
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most reliable vehicle I´ve ever owned

October 25, 2012
By trsp
from Tegucigalpa Honduras
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought mine online in the States from Honduras and it has been an excelent buy. Ideal for Central America. Have had no problems with it what so ever and have taken it to places that can´t compare to North America."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2003_Mitsubishi_Montero Sport
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not so great

May 19, 2009
By LMH
from auburn, wa
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Very poor mileage without any get up and go. Handles aweful, things fallin apart at 100,000 very expensive to repair. could get better mileage with a v8 on a jeep and at least be able to get up a hill."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2003_Mitsubishi_Montero Sport
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Car for all Season

September 1, 2010
By Nor-Remington
from Ottawa, Canada
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Montero Sport is a vehicle for all occasion ,all season and is very reliable. It is the smaller version of the Pajero which I have been using for more than 17 years for work and business."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2003_Mitsubishi_Montero Sport
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice...!!!

March 3, 2008
By WildCat
from San Diego
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really nice Mid-Sized SUV. Engine is pretty strong and very responsive when needed. It could use a little more of interior space. It handles awesome off -road."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2003_Mitsubishi_Montero Sport
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Deal

June 21, 2010
By Montero Mama
from Nashville. TN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My Montero had 300 miles on it when I purchased it, Just hit 100,000..no major problems..keep oil changed regularily. Runs like it did the day I purchased it"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2003_Mitsubishi_Montero Sport
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SATISFIED

April 25, 2014
By HERM
from COLUMBUS, OHIO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I USE THIS MONTERO MAINLY ON THE HIGHWAY. GETTING BETWEEN 19 AND 22 MPG. DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THEY DISCONTINUED THIS MODEL."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.