Customer Reviews for 2003_Saab_9-5

2003_Saab_9-5

Average Customer Rating:
3.944 of 5
3.9
 of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
14 of 18(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2003_Saab_9-5
Review 1 for 2003_Saab_9-5
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good deal

November 25, 2013
By Diamond in Training
from Vermont
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Car was as advertised, although my mechanic thinks a couple wheels were slightly bent causing minor vibration at certain speeds. The young salesman messed up when he told me I could pay with a credit card when they only accepted Debit cards! Fairly substantial difference as I lost the air miles I would have acquired!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2003_Saab_9-5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

SAABs are the best cars I've owned! On my 5th now!

April 4, 2013
By Nick
from Peoria, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My 9-5 Aero is the best riding car I've ever owned, which includes a BMW 325I, SAAB 9-3 Aero, VW Jetta turbo, SAAB 900 Turbo, Saturn, SAAB 9-7x. If you want a lot of car for the money, used SAABs are the way to go. You can't buy that much car for the money anywhere else. All european cars have some gremlins, but if you know how to use a computer & are mechanically inclined, you can find how to repair most things on these cars easily. This 9-5 has the best seats of any car I've ever saat in. They are super sporty and comfortable. The turbo 4-cylinder engine gets great highway gas mileage when you want it, and tons of power when you mash down the pedal. Interior is luxurious and driver oriented, which I prefer."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2003_Saab_9-5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

fun family luxury car

April 8, 2012
By cruzer
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"never get tired of driving this car, great handling and an excellent stereo system. Comfortable on long trips and easy to get some speeding tickets."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2003_Saab_9-5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice looking older car

December 27, 2011
By Joe Saab
from Shelton WA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This is my 3rd Saab so maybe I'm a Saab junkie. I bought this car because I likr to tool around in a stickshift and this car was in very nice condition for a 2003 and had only 54m miles . All Saabs have electircal issues and this one is no exception, the information display regularly comes up with alerts that propmt a visit to the service center only to find out they were false alarms. Learn to put up with it and turn it off when it pops up. Saab always safe and comfortable ride, this one is my cold/wet weather motorcycle, we need someting like that here in the North west."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2003_Saab_9-5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SAAB 03 AERO

December 12, 2011
By J-AERO
from New Hampshire
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Have been a Saab owner since 85. My first Aero. It's an amazing vehicle - advanced features for an 03."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2003_Saab_9-5
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The worst car I have ever owned

September 21, 2011
By Hate Saabs!!!
from Maine
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We bought a saab 9-5 2003 thinking it was going to be a safe reliable car. We were wrong. In a weeks time its had already needed a 300 dollar part replaced. I wanted to sell but the husband said no that it was a good car. Then it started leaking anit freeze. Before long the mass air flow sensor went. Then I was driving it down the highway and it stalled for no reason. To add more scary thing te shifter cable broke and I was stranded in the car with no one to help me as it rolled down the driveway. Then smoke started comming out of the muffler. The Piston rings in the engine went. So we need a new engine in a car we bought three months ago that has 74,000 miles on it. HATE IT!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2003_Saab_9-5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great car!

April 18, 2011
By Opto Saab Enthusiast
from Cary, NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought a used saab 95 several years ago. So far, I have had no major problems with my 95. The performance is good and the comfort is excellent. This car is ideal for long rides."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2003_Saab_9-5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I will like to buy another sabb 9-5

October 3, 2010
By muneco
from Arizona
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"If you want to save gas, ride a top of the line sedan and still drive it after 324000 miles buy a saab 9-5. i had a bmw and it drives and feels like all other european cars."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2003_Saab_9-5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Car

February 14, 2010
By RICKY
from Lowell, MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this car, runs great, good winter package, they could of done a litle better with the interior tho, other than that I would recommend this car"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2003_Saab_9-5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good mix of power , efficiency, & reliability

September 1, 2009
By 9-5 Reviewer
from Medfield, MA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned a 2003 9-5 since new and was looking at my records recently...I've had great luck with repairs, nothing major and I've turned 100k recently. I like this cars combination of power (the turbo 2.3L in the Aero puts out 250hp) and MPG(consistently get 29 mpg highway). The seats are great and has tons of space in the trunk / fold down options. Also traction control in the snow works great !"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2003_Saab_9-5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite car i have owned by far...

April 27, 2009
By CarolinaLady
from Hilton Head, SC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have loved thsi car since the day I got it about 4 years ago. I am hard on cars, I put between 30,000 to 40,000 miles a year on my cars. This car has risen to the occasion. It has never left me anywhere, and when it has costed me money, usually it was my fault. Before owning this car, I had driven a truck. The only issue that I had with this car, was the low profile tires. They seemed to pop easily, but I learned how to handle that after about the first 6 months."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2003_Saab_9-5
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A four-wheel money pit

April 24, 2009
By ricksaab
from San Francisco, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought a used 2000 9-5 wagon with 60K miles on it for $10K. I've put 30K miles on it since owning and have spent nearly $6000 in repairs during that time. What broke: serpentine belt, throttle body, water pump, fuel pump, ABS module, SID display, drive belt and upper idler pulley, motor mount, coolant temp sensor, neutral safety switch, DI cassette (ignition), and headlight bulbs that burn out every 6 months ($20 a pop for each bulb). Saab owners know that these are common problems. If you've never owned one, be aware that these problems could present themselves all within a short span of time. I love the car when it runs, but I hate it when it doesn't. Will never buy one again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2003_Saab_9-5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car for the savvy buyer

April 3, 2009
By bobsaab
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Do Saab's have a "love-hate" following?--For sure. However, if you do your homework, have your Saab inspected by a reputable mechanic prior to purchase, and buy from a reputable dealer, you can get a great deal on a solid, safe, European car for a fraction of the price of a Volvo, Lexus, Toyota, Honda, etc. Bought a used 2003 9-5 Linear with 50,000 miles on it. Had a full inspection prior to purchase--by 2 different Saab specialist shops because I had read about some of the horror stories associated with Saab. Now, 12,000 miles later, I've simply changed the oil with synthetic oil every 4,500 miles and enjoyed a ride with a European luxury feel. Much more solid than other cars in the price range. Do your homework and buy a Saab. Put the money you save back into the stock market..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2003_Saab_9-5
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

horrible car

February 27, 2009
By saynotosaab
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought the car one owner used, and after owning after 3 months things started to go wrong. The gas tank meter had to be fixed, coolant leaked, security alarm needed to be reset, transmission is starting to go out. DO NOT buy a SAAB!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2003_Saab_9-5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car I've ever owned!

November 18, 2007
By Jimbo
from Orange County, Ca
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car does everything so well. Tt's the best kept secret on the market. It gets 30mpg on the highway, has great performance, has very low maintenance cost and is just a dream to drive. My next car will be another Saab."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2003_Saab_9-5
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this car!

June 19, 2007
By Saab Lover
from Maynard, MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the 2nd Saab I've owned - the first a 9-3. As much as I liked the 9-3, I love the 9-5. The car is heavy and hugs the road. I love the design. It is comfortable - I drive about 43k miles a year and have sciatica. This is one of the few cars my back can endure. It is a little fussy starting at the change of seasons when the gas formula changes - it does always start, but it sometimes cranks for a while on the first cold morning start. It is fine from then on. I use 87 octane gas and it is fine, though sometimes the car seems to idle roughly and I have wondered if this is a gas issue. Both of my Saabs (both purchased gently used) have had little things break (the CD player in both, the compass in the mirror of the 9-5, a squeeky front seat). But all were easily repaired, and all repaired at no cost as they were covered by warranty. The ride is very nice - it is easy to speed in this car because at even high speeds there is no shimmy or shake - a lovely smooth, quiet ride. The heated seats are my best friend and it handles well in snow. I love the luxury of this car without spending big bucks (I had narrowed my search to this car or a BMW, and chose the Saab). I have 67k miles on my car, and I would definitely recommend this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2003_Saab_9-5
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

iwantedtoloveit

August 12, 2006
By exsaabowner
from Albuquerque, NM
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I loved how she drove. At 30k, the transmission leaked. The dealer had to pull the entire front end to fix it. I didn't like the dealer's repair shop. Seemed sketchy. I traded in the car for an old Volvo wagon. One week later, the used car dealer called me, seems THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL FELL OFF. Now, hmmm, 6 months before, the dealer had pulled off the front, now it's falling off.... So, do I blame Saab for a car that leaks at 30k, or the mechanic who can't be bothered to safely tighten everything?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2003_Saab_9-5
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great car overall!

May 18, 2006
By Mike
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Love the car. Great family car (wagon), but still sporty and quick off the ball. While the performance tires are not good in the snow - and require another set that have to be changed twice a year, still worth it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.