Customer Reviews for 2003_Saturn_Vue

2003_Saturn_Vue

Average Customer Rating:
3.622 of 5
3.6
 of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
6
23 of 37(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Review 1 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Problematic at best

May 27, 2014
By Pete
from GLENSIDE
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"2003 AWD VUE 6 CYLINDER. BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE OFF THE LOT. WE HAD PROBLEMS WITH IT IN THE FIRST 3 YEARS. ELECTRICAL WIRING FROM THE FIRE WALL INTO THE ENGINE WAS CONNECTED WITH A 16 PRONG CONNECTOR THAT CORRODED AND SENT THE CAR INTO LIMP MODE. THREE TIMES WE HAD IT WORKED ON AND THEY FINALLY RIPPED THE WIRING HARNESS OUT. WE ONLY HAVE 61000 MILES ON IT AND THERE IS A SUBSTANTIAL VALVE TAP, THE FRONT WHEEL BEARINGS WERE REPLACED AND NEED TO BE REPLACE AGAIN. GRANT IT IT IS AN 11 YEAR OLD CAR, BUT THE MILES DON'T WARRANT THE PROBLEMS WE HAVE DEALT WITH. OVERALL EVALUATION WOULD BE TO NOT TO BUY THIS CAR, IF I WERE YOU."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Vehicle

December 5, 2013
By Will
from Georgia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car was purchased because I needed a nice SUV that handled well and was reliable. We love this car, and it has been a great asset to the family. Would recommend this to anyone. Buy the 6 cylinder version, it's has much better performance."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Deal

October 7, 2013
By I love cars.com
from Cheyenne, wy
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I recently purchased a 2003 Saturn Vue that I found on cars.com. This website is very reliable and accurate. It married my search by price, and I found what I was looking for. I traveled 70 miles. I met my vehicle in excellent condition. It was under 70,000 miles, which is excellent for the year. Prior owned had all of the records. I am very satisfied!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Car's transmission died 2 weeks after I bought

August 18, 2013
By BurnedBySaturn
from Staunton, VA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I recently bought a 2003 Saturn Vue (3.0 liter AWD model) and the transmission completely crapped out in just under 2 weeks. Car ran beautifully until and then BAM suddenly the car stopped wanting to shift gears and was revving bad. Repair cost is around $4000!! I only paid $4800 for the frickin car!!! Avoid the Vue's like the plague. Research, research, research is all I can say. Apparently the vue's are notorious for transmission problems even at low mileage. Oh, and if you're wondering mine only had 97500 on it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GREAT gas mileage for an SUV!!!

April 4, 2013
By phatcatt77
from Bismarck, ND
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my Saturn Vue because we know we want to "add to our family" some day... Well I pictured myself trying to haul diapers, wipes, diaper bags, portable cribs or take-along baby swings in a little 4 door car with a closed in trunk.... Aaaaaannnnnd that didn't work so well for me. So I started researching the Saturn Vue and learned that the ones with a 2.2 engine get almost 25 mpg in town and almost 30 MPG on the highway! WOW! And it really does! Why settle for a little car that is going to leave us cramped for space when this SUV has it all and more??? It is very fun to drive and I got lucky and found one in "burnt orange" color --- looks awesome!
I have only owned my Saturn for about a month and it was about 128,000 miles on it, manual transmission. I have not had any problems with the transmission and it shifts very nicely. The stereo system isn't exactly one you would crank up and roll down the windows.... But I am a mom, I don't need a concert stereo system in my car. Mine is a base model, so I don't have the heated leather seats and what not, but the nice thing about having cloth seats is -- they're not cold when you get in the car anyway!
My only complaint that I really have, is that it is kind of a pain in the butt to unlock it. Almost every time I put the key into the door to open it, I have to wiggle the key back and forth and it doesn't want to open. So I bought a $36 unlock remote to get installed in it. Can't wait. And even though Saturn is no longer making cars, we can still get car parts from GM. If you don't want to drive a small car and be cramped for space, but can't afford an SUV that barely gets 8 mpg, then this is a great car! I am very happy with it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

VERY GOOD CAR

March 7, 2013
By LORDMAX
from MONTCLAIR, NJ
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"IT IS A WONDERFUL CAR TO DRIVE. THE ONLY PROBLEM I HAVE WITH THE CAR. THERE ARE WHEEL LOCKS I CAN NOT GET OFF."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not happy

February 5, 2013
By sad mother of
from Oregon
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"A year and 2 months ago. I bought this vehicle, 6 months later. The transmission stopped working in the middle of traffic. After $5k replaced transmission car started same issues less the 8 months later. Ran the car facts on the vehicle and transmission replace just 2 years before i purchased the suv. :( not easy for single mom of 3!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Paid for itself 3X over.

December 17, 2012
By Retired weather dude
from Winchester, Virginia
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"On Saint Patrick's day in 2003 my wife and I purchased a new Saturn Vue. It was the sport (cheap) version with a 4-banger and a manual transmission but seemed like a good value versus it's competitors so we took a chance. It is definitely a bit Spartan as far as creature comforts and accelerates at the speed of smell but I love this car! Now, nearly 10 years and 209,457 miles later, I still drive my Vue regularly--even on long trips and I never worry about being stranded because in all those years, it has never failed me! I must confess that one time after I "treated" her to premium fuel, she had a bad reaction (and my check engine light has been on ever since) but that was 9K miles ago and it still runs great and gets a very respectable 27 MPG in mixed driving conditions. I think I shall have her detailed on Saint Paddy's day--I plan to break the quarter million mile mark in late 2014 or early 2015!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Happy and Driving

May 23, 2012
By On the road again
from Melbourne, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a car today, and I have to say that the service was spectacular. They really worked with me and aided me throughout the process. The car seems in very good condition and is running great so far. I give both the car and the service an A+!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

HIGH PRICED TRANSMISSION!!!

March 26, 2012
By ish
from indianapolis
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased my Saturn Vue used. It ran fine until the month I finally paid it off and the transmission CVT belt went out... I searched months on ebay and other various shops and websites to find out that these specific transmissions run about $2000 plus. I am beyond pi**ed!! The transmission would have cost more than the car is worth. Besides the transmission trouble the interior is poorly made. Money down the drain and Saturn sadly still in the driveway."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Good SUV

February 2, 2012
By Diegacio
from los angeles , ca
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"THIS IS A VERY GOOD SUV , I never had any problem , is very good on gas economy I have the 4 cylinder awd and have owned it for almost 3 years now. I put over 30k on it and still have had no problems what so ever. It has over 65k now and it's still running strong and still looks great too! It's fun to drive and very peppy.""
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

THIS YEAR WAS THE MOST AWFUL YEAR FOR A CAR

January 8, 2012
By JO
from Harrisonville, MO
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"i BOUGHT THIS THROUGH A DEALER THAT DIDN'T DISCLOSED ANY INFORMATION ABOUT THIS VECHILE. WITHIN THE THRITY DAY OF BUYING IT. i JUST GOT IT REGISTERED AND PAID SALES TAX ON IT. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THEN TRANSMISSION WENT OUT. THIS YEAR AND MODEL HAS SPECIAL TRANSMISSION AND IT WILL COST ME 2000. i BROKE DOWN 170 MILES AWAY SO IT COST ME MONEY TO TOW IS BACK HOME, WHICH WAS ARM AND A LEG. NOW THIS. ISN'T THERE SUCH THING CALLED LEMON LAW. I CAN'T AFFORD TO BUY ANOTHER CAR. I DON'T KNOW WHAT i AM GOING TO DO, I CAN'T EVEN AFFORD TO GET THIS TRANSMISSION FIXED."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Got CVT? Run run away don't look back

April 6, 2011
By 03cvt
from Minnesota
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"If it has the CVT transmission, run away from it.
I thinked the car, but that transmission is trouble. No deal is worth a trans that is guarenteed to go bad and cost close to 6k. And it will go bad again and again.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

6 of one, half a dozen of the other

February 21, 2011
By Simon
from Louisville KY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Our Vue has a lot going for it. It's a 4 cylinder, 5-speed FWD. I've found the engine to be up to the task with decent acceleration from a stop and better than decent when accelerating above interstate cruising speed. The interior is attractive and comfortable and it can carry quite a bit with the rear seats down. The mileage, 25/30, is remarkable for a high profile vehicle.
But here's the deal. Both front wheel bearings failed at 59,000. A Saturn dealer replaced them ($800). The replacements failed at 99,000 (another $650 at an independent garage) and the computer failed at 102,000 ($900 at the dealer - no choice but to use the dealer). Computers do fail, OK; but I've taken Japanese vehicles to as high as 220,000 miles without ever replacing the bearings. This was my reward for making the effort to buy American.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's worth the money

January 20, 2011
By CARS
from Ft. Myers
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excelent car, economic, very reliable, has all you need for your family and needs, spaceous and nice design."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

beware

January 17, 2011
By daughters first car
from Columbia,SC
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"beware of poorly maintained, but good looking models... mine left me stranded within 6 days of purchase and a bill for $500 to replace a cheap battery and crankshaft position sensor. Pay the extra to have it inspected and do not expect the dealer to be forthcoming."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great car

June 1, 2010
By sir drivesalot
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great vehicle. I have the 6 cyl. awd and have owned it for almost 3 years now. I put over 30k on it and still have had no problems what so ever. It has over 100k now and it's still running strong and still looks great too! It's fun to drive and very peppy."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

03 VUE, 4 cylinder 5 speed

February 23, 2010
By aforeignowner
from somewhere outside US
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 2003 Saturn VUE, used, from a particular owner and I love it so far. It has a 5 speed manual transmision and the 2.2l engine. It´s not as powerful as some competition but is enough for me. I also get 25mpg on city which is even better than my previous 4 cylinder car. My black Vue has 94000 miles and still has not gone through major repairs. I was going to buy a 4 cylinder Vue with the VTi but I regretted and I chose the 5spd. I´m happy with my decision, it still does have good features, mine even has curtain airbags and Traction control. So far it has been a bargain"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

03 4 Cyl CVT

November 16, 2009
By CVT Owner
from Chicago
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I DO have the 04 4 cyl cvt and it has run great. The trans made a rubbing noise when it was under warranty and that's it. The salesperson told me when I bought it that you MUST have the CVT trans flushed at 50,000 miles whic I did. I have had no problems with it, and it still gets me up to 29mpg hwy/25 city. Also can fit three car seats via the latch which is very useful."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2003_Saturn_Vue
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Watch out for the CVT

August 13, 2009
By Roadmaster
from Michigan
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought my Vue off lease. It drove extremely well until the CVT gave out at 70k miles. Thank God for extended warranties. The replacement ran $4,800 at a Saturn dealer. Stay away from the CVT!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.