Customer Reviews for 2003_BMW_540

2003_BMW_540

Average Customer Rating:
4.9 of 5
4.9
 of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2003_BMW_540
Review 1 for 2003_BMW_540
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My third 540

September 27, 2011
By BMW Fan
from Wilmington, NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The best car I've ever owned! Comfortable with all amenities. Good looking too! 8 cylinders under the hood and a tiptronic transmission make for quick and fun driving!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2003_BMW_540
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best BMW I've Owned

February 13, 2011
By BB
from Florida
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fourth BMW I have owned and by far the best. Quick, smooth and powerful. Great style and quality in and out."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2003_BMW_540
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2003 540i Excellence

February 8, 2011
By wjb
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought it as 2nd owner with 18k miles. Added about 30k miles of trouble free miles. Love the car and regret selling it. Bought a 2009 535i, which I really like, but I'm not sure the quality is the same as the 2003 540i. Anyway, once you own a BMW, it is hard to switch."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2003_BMW_540
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

80% of M5 performance at 60% of the cost

June 21, 2010
By Dilaar
from Boston Area
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I owned a 6 speed 2003 with sport package with all the options.....This is a fabulous handling car with tremendous acceleration....My estimate it does 0-60mph in 5s not the 5.6s as the engine wears in.
Especially the 2003 had a lot of extras thrown in that were found on the M5. Note that the single large bore exhaust on this one is a key giveaway for better than "rated" performance...and it only came in 2003.
I was getting better numbers as the mileage approached 50K compared to when I got it at 35K. Your mileage may vary! Gas mileage on those highway trips averaged 22-23 with the car pushed "HARD"....I mean sprints from 80-90 mph to 120mph-130mph all day long...The fastest I ever got it going was 141 mph. I left a lot of "fast" cars in the dust; the surprise on driver's faces with 400HP motors whom I could keep up with or out maneuver
in tight traffic.
What I enjoyed most was giving the bikers a run for their money....I could accelerate and stay on their tails at 130mph effortlessly...they usually gave up quickly; too much metal momentum too close to them at that speed.
So here is the downside...this is a high maintenance vehicle! Be ready and able to spend the money to keep it at its peak! Driving this thing when it is not in top condition can be frustrating. These vehicles require regular maintenance....If you have a garage and like to tinker with cars then buy this used (with service records) otherwise steer clear...Even a car that looks pristine could have very expensive problems lurking...My car looked and drove mint but had $7-10K of repairs/maintenance lurking in the next 10-15K after 60K....Beware! You either want to and can tinker with them OR you have dough! Stay away from these vehicles if you think you can take it to the local mechanic and stay on a budget.....
My trips from Boston to Toronto and back over two years were numerous and this vehicle made the drive something I looked forward to each time.
I LOVED the performance of the car! And I hated to part with that machine when I traded it in. After my wife and two daughters it was my closest love!
As a friend of mine once commented after he drove it for...."Driving this thing beats mediocre s@x!""
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2003_BMW_540
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

540i M-Sport

November 24, 2008
By GT3 Driver
from Paradise Valley
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my first BMW. I have owned 3 Porsches, 2 Infinities, 1 Merc, a Z06, and several Japanese luxo/sport sedans. This 540i is my choice for a daily driver yet can deliver enough performance on regular US roads to make me wonder why I even bother with my other cars. The ride is unbelievable when you consider the handling, and it so tight and quiet. Just a solid car. BMW also offers such great service - buy an extended warranty and it pays for itself. Only downside is you will go through tires in 40K miles as you can't rotate them due to the fatter rears. Jump into a 5 series and you won't even look at a working class 3 series... even with M badges."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2003_BMW_540
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

#3

November 18, 2008
By mgattmch
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is my 3rd 540iA, I obviously like them! Probably the best car I have ever driven, even flat out at 155mph (on the autobahn of course) the car is rock solid. Fit and finish are exemplary, as is performance and ergonomics. My only complaint is the car does not have Lexus reliability and the DSP sound system is not that good."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2003_BMW_540
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most Fun Car I've Owned

July 26, 2008
By Fun in the sun
from Phoenix, Arizona
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Wow, what an awesome car to hit the road with! Tons of power and handles like a dream. Great car worth picking up."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2003_BMW_540
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Car I've Owned

May 6, 2008
By BMW Enthusiast
from Phoenix, AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Looks great
The performance and handling is amazing
The sport package is a MUST
The Automatic Rear Sun Shade is also a MUST
Im going to buy another one"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2003_BMW_540
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2003 540i 6 speed sport ROCKS!!!

March 9, 2008
By Achtung Baby!
from Boston MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This car is 75% of an M5 of the same year. And that means a lot....The 2003 Sport Package is so close to an M5 (sans the engine) that one cannot go wrong if getting one of these instead of an M5.....the 540i is better suited to daily driving than an M5...one will have a hard time tapping the M5 potential on US metro area roads.
I have had the car for 500 miles and it is an unbelievable ride......I don't realize that I am going 110MPH until I look down at the speedo...This car will get me in trouble!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2003_BMW_540
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

what a sports sedan!!!

August 30, 2006
By esus
from charlotte nc
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The first impression you get is that this is a high quality vehicle. All interior materials are first class. The seats are very comfortable. It is very easy to drive the car for long distances without
feeling worn out. This car is very quick and handles extremely well. No complaints so far whatsoever. I have owned mine for a year and I still enjoy the craftmanship used to build this car.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.