Customer Reviews for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser

2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser

Average Customer Rating:
4.182 of 5
4.2
 of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
18 of 22(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Review 1 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Chrysler product

March 17, 2014
By Paul
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this PT Cruiser GT brand new in 2004 and never once regretted this decision. The car looks amazing and has power to spare. The heated leather seats quickly become one of my wife's favorite features. The interior is very roomy and adaptable. The rear seats can be folded, rotated forward, or removed from the vehicle entirely to allow room for large items. The front passenger seat can fold flat for additional room or as a flat surface for laptops, etc.
Fuel economy has been fair (and within Chrysler's estimates)with mixed driving averaging 25mpg.Highway driving has been a little over 28mpg."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

It will not ever happen again

November 10, 2013
By Ed. Doc
from HARVEY, IL.
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Very good power, but noisy front end, not comfortable at all, just paid out over $2,000.00 for front end work that most cars do not ever have to have done. I really think I purchased someone elses LEMON. I did not do enough research on THE PT CRUISER. "MY BAD""
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Service Ever

May 24, 2013
By Bahama Mama
from Cocoa Beach, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Rick was amazing, not at all pushy. He listened to my needs and made it possible for me to get an excellent car with the finances I had available. The car is in extremely good condition, not a scratch in the paint. Inside was in just as good shape. It's obvious the previous owner took great care of the car. The car runs well and is great to manuever in traffic. I couldn't be more pleased with the car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Turbo HO

August 3, 2012
By wecycle
from cntral CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"15 flat 1/4 mile
Had to tighten the setscrew on the shift knob.
Needed new front brake pads at 85,000 miles
The timing belt replacement was abear of a job.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

PT Cruiser GT HO Turbo 2004

February 9, 2012
By Trained Technician
from California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"When I was 5 years old I told my parents that I would design a car like the VW that had the engine in the front and the gas tank in the rear, well Chrysler did it for me, My brother owned a panel van that he drove to go surf in and I use to be envious of because of all the room inside. The PT designers incorporated some of its style from the delivery panel van. PT (panel truck)
Mitsubishi made the Dodge/Plymouth Colt Vista Wagon that is really popular still in Japan
Some know it as the Expo or Space Wagon
Well that is still a very popular design here in the States because it is such a great all around vehicle .
In Fact they were designated as a MPV Multi-Purpose Vehicle but Chrysler designated the PT Cruiser as a Truck for help with their Cafe standards,
The PT is actually more like the Expo than any other vehicle I've seen except it has more Style.
The PT is extremely aerodynamic and they suffer very little in any windy road conditions.
The engine is one of the longest stroke gasoline engines that were in production, and it has a tremendous amount of torque, but it is hard to match a transmission to an engine that has this type of power band ratio, and without forced induction of intake air to match the compression ratios (turbocharger) the engine got a reputation that no one on the road wanted to be behind one especially driving up a hill.
The combination of a turbocharger and the Autostick transmission the PT turned into a Porsche in
0 to 60 in 6 seconds
The Autostick transmission was like something used by VW also but with the PT the transmission has a failsafe built in that doesn't let the driver go over redline and will protect the engine by shifting for you in manual mode if the maximum RPM is met in the gear you have chosen.
Another safety feature that Chrysler gave the 2004 PT Cruiser GT was equal length drive shafts and traction control, this controls torque steer, a physical characteristic of FWD vehicles that you feel during acceleration because the drive wheels are also the wheels used to steer the car, and without this feature you feel a noticeable difference in the ability to hold on to the steering wheel in a corner while using the gas pedal at the same time.
The PT cruiser also has an advantage of being a car that was produced in record numbers.
Many models of vehicles that if they are discontinued have a limited supply of their specific
Model replacement parts, and the PT shared its production assemble with other Chrysler models.
The point being there will be replacement parts available for these cars for a long time.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

touring turbo

January 19, 2012
By G man
from los angeles California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought it use on 06 with 32,000 miles, great Overall is a great car. Poor mileage for being a small car, but great to drive. Response great, I have a heavy feet I have never been disappointed on the performance I have race vs mustangs and wana be racers and have smoke them, also a great head turner having that said the cons about the car is checking the oil levels as the turbo wil eat the motor oil and lead to head gasket problem I can't blame the car its the owner fault. I'll definitely keep my car forever I love this car. I have own other cars before and they can't compared to this car I use this car for going to work and local commute just check ur oil levels every month and u will do great"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

PT for me

December 20, 2011
By BEAR
from Owego,NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Roomy and comfortable, handels great, peppy,nice ride,love the body style. Interior is ergomomic, Coontrols are well placed and easy to use. Only one negative and that would be the music system. There is room for improvement in this catagory."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dependable and good on gas

October 22, 2011
By car for college student
from Inglewood, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had 2 great experiences in looking and finding a car using cars.com. The dealerships and the personnel were very helpful and made you feel very important. I would use this site again when I am looking for another car. The car drives really well, has great features, and is very good on gas which is important for me as the car is for a college student"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

One problem after another

August 1, 2011
By 04 pt owner
from Hampton Roads, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought this car with 8k miles on it in 2004, kept it regularly maintained and less than a year later I had to change the brakes and rotors and the mechanic said I had a small oil leak. A year later I had to replace the tires and the oil sending unit. The car had barely been driven all that time and had less than 20k miles on it! Now it barely has 90k miles on it and the engine has failed, I just replaced the head gaskets, timing belt, plugs and wires, thermostat, and it just had an oil change less than a month ago. I've put more money in this car than its worth. DO NOT BUY ONE!!! Look up the PT Cruiser forums and you will see how many people have had problems with them."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car

January 4, 2011
By PT Owner
from Altoona, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is one of the best cars I have owned in its class. I have had no issues with it and have kept it maintained. It has been driven on lots of trips and is enjoyable to own. The gas mileage is not what some people expect (22mpg), but it handles very well in sand (Florida) and in snow (Michigan). The body style makes it easy to see traffic and there are no real blind spots. I would buy another one in a heartbeat; I have owned this car from day one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PT cruiser GT high output

December 20, 2010
By CRJ Driver
from East Hampton, NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great car. The 2.4L turbo high output engine has all the power I need. It is faster off the line then most other cars.
The only draw back is the High Output 2.4l Turbo requires premium fuel. 91 octate is recommended. The book says you can run 87 in it, but they don't recommend it. I sometimes put mid-grade 89 in it, but if you "floor it" and get the turbo spinning fast you can hear the slightest "ping" from the engine. Therefor I mostly use premium.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great design, fun ride!

July 4, 2010
By Bluesman
from Wichita, Kansas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"2nd Cruiser! GT PT Turbo model! Under hood repairs not bad for do it yourselfers. Replaced the coil module under the intake, and replaced plugs and wires at the same time. Had all new brakes put on, and new tires at about 75000 miles. Other than that, no probs and it is a little beast! Everyone who rides in it claims it is comfortable, and it "really gets up and goes!" I get about 20 mpg town and 23-25 mpg highway. I can live with that for now. I love the auto-stick tranny and it will get you into traffic on the on ramps to interstates very quickly! Without the turbo the performance is fair, but the turbo is excellent, the reason for the 4 star rate on the performance is the turning radius. Was needed by design to fit it all under the body on the small chassis.
Interior leather is still looking good at almost 90,000 miles. Storage space is great, the folding/removeable seats are the greatest design I have seen! Able to pack all my Blues gig materials in the back and room for me and my sweetie in front!
Have joined cruiser clubs and they are ENTHUSIASTIC about these little Cruisers!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Handles Nice!

June 14, 2010
By Stylin Cruiser
from Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The car is great! It runs smoothly, takes tight turns, and has great acceleration. The seats are comfortable and the inside is roomy for its small size with plenty of cargo room.
The only downside is that they have a record of having problems with coolant and the head gasket; both of which are pretty major components. However, if you treat your car well, get regular check ups, and service it when needed, you'll be fine."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2004 Touring PT cruiser non turbo

May 2, 2010
By Dino
from Long Island NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my PT, it's is my far the most comfortable car I have ever owned. I maintain my PT and really take care of it and so far after 56,000 miles not one problem. Somebody I know has one that has over 300,000 miles on it. The PT also has a huge following of enthusiast that have clubs and forums. It's amazing if you have a problem someone will have an answer. The gas mileage could be better but I get around 23 mpg and will get 29mpg on highway trips which is what my Toyota used to give me without the smile factor the PT gives me. I really enjoy driving again. I will be sad to see the end of the PT cruiser."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Must have got a lemon

January 26, 2010
By nursedb
from vero beach, fl
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this car new. I loved the design especially the grill, and the great warranty offered at the time. I learned right away that it could not turn on a dime, not even close! It has been a front end nightmare from the beginning ! It eats tires and requires frequent alignments. I have put two new sets on in 5 years, with less than 50, 000 miles. Had to replace the engine mounts of all things at 25,000 miles. And dont even get me started on the brakes !!! They have squeeked forever, even with new pads. I must have got a lemon."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So far no problems!

May 18, 2009
By Chevy Venture owner
from Omaha, NE
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car used with 18K miles in July '08. I've put 16K on it in 10 months. It has the turbo, which was one of the main reasons I bought it. But, what I didn't research, was the MPG. It got 17-19 in the city and 20 or so on the highway...ouch! After I change the plugs (which you are supposed to do every 30K) with Autolite platinums, my mileage went up to 22-23 on the highway. The plugs are extremely easy to replace...just like most 4 cylinders.
The rear drum brakes make a lot of noise. I took it to the dealer, twice, but rather than try different brake pads, I decided to live with the noise and the 60% life left on the current pads. I was told the squeaking had to do with the E-brake. Not sure if I believe it.
The car has the sport suspension and has a lot of get up and go with the turbo. It drives like a tank and feels solid. I love how it handles. Like everyone else, I could complain about the turning radius, but won't. You just have to get used to it.
It should be interesting when it comes time to working on anything under the hood! There's no room under there! I imagine I'll have to remove a fender just to get to some of the parts along the engine belt area. If you don't mind getting your hands dirty, it should be no big deal, but I'm sure it will cost you a pretty penny if you have to pay a mechanic for his/her time!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Meh...

August 31, 2008
By Multilingual Idol
from Atlanta, GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've owned my Cruiser for about 4 years, and it recently blew a head gasket and now I'm going to trade it in...
However, for those of you considering it, I just think the Cruiser is a very average car. I think you can do worse, but you could also do better. It just depends on what you find important in a car.
The biology of the car is very convoluted, and apparently, Chrysler didn't think that this car would ever need help, but it does... and mechanics are often confused by the design. So, jobs that would normally be 30 minutes turn into 3 hours because, for example, they have to move three or four things before they can reach the problem. This means in increase in repair costs because of labor alone.
It's up to you, though..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

You get what you pay for

July 24, 2008
By tireed of pt
from kansas
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"have replaced brakes and wheel bearings(expensive repair)and also the battery all at under 40,000 miles.Very sluggish to drive,really poor turning and rear visability. I still like the looks of the car but am trading in for something of better quality( you get what you pay for I guess)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cute little bug-ererer!

March 11, 2008
By cj
from Sacramento, California
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A truly nice car! It is also fun to drive...
I love the color and for long travel.....it does great!
The seats are comfortable and gas milage is good, too!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2004_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Car, Smooth Ride.

November 16, 2006
By Zach S.
from Naples, FL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I got a Limited Edition PT for Christmas with only 12,000 miles and it has done a pretty good job. The best thing about the Car is its ability to avoid accidents and its amazing handling. Its MPG is Good at best. Brakes are very responsive. Pretty smooth ride... Wind is not to obnoxious with windows down..Inside of the car is very stylish as well as the outside. It is relatively quiet.. but you can somtimes still hear the wind muffling even with all the windows and doors shut. The PT is by no means powerful and the acceleration is average at best. The Wheels sometimes take a few seconds to get tractions in the rain.. as is said Body lean is the worst part about it.. but its not terrible."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.