Customer Reviews for 2004_Dodge_Durango

2004_Dodge_Durango

Average Customer Rating:
4.095 of 5
4.1
 of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
17 of 21(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Review 1 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST SUV THERE IS

July 19, 2012
By SLT
from South Lyon, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"From its beautiful,curvy,modern design to its amazing reliability and comfort this style of the Durango is the best. While driving one of the newer styles of the Dodge Durango I was amazed on how smooth, and quiet the ride was. Also on how much easier it was to drive than other Sport Utility Vehicles. Seats for up to seven with this much leg room and comfort was amazing. After all this what really made me just say "thats it im buying" was the high quality sound system! I didnt even get the one with the premium sound system and it was still the best!!!!!!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Love haste relationship

September 8, 2014
By Jstone
from Springfield, MO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I own the 04 limited hemi version of this vehicle. I love the interior, infinity sound system, power of the hemi and the smooth quiet ride. While pulling a 1000lb pound UTV on a trailer, I had to keep backing down from 80 mph. Now for the bad. Plagued with electrical problems, transfer case motors 1300.00 (5lb part) are in high demand, intake and cowling issues resulting in hydrolock. Mine seems fine, I've driven in down pours, auto car washes, etc. Why take a chance? I'm parting ways with Dodge, they have stuck it to way too many of their customers with vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Tow/Family SUV For The Frugal Driver

May 1, 2014
By American Made
from Denver, CO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After doing a lot of research I bought the 2004 Dodge Durango AWD with the 5.7l HEMI. This SUV is a BEAST with a tow capacity of 8,950lb and third row seating I've been able to take the family plus friends to the lake while towing our boat and had room for the dogs! I've owned my Durango for 4 years and haven't had a single problem with it, although if you are in the market keep in mind this vehicle drinks a lot of gas (as do all 8 cyl SUV's)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

04 Durango SLT 4x2 Hemi

June 10, 2013
By A little disappointed
from St Louis, MO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The Bad: The 04 Durango has an issue w/ the engine (at least it does on the 5.7L Hemi engine). It appears as if the intake manifold gaskets break down and the windshield cowl allows water to seap into the engine, often causing a thrown rod, etc.
It is evidenced during moderate to heavy rain as the engine will shake and sputter or even stall. There are several examples of this throughout the net, so please do your research before you decide to purchase (consider running the prospective vehicle through a car wash before purchasing to see if the engine shudders).
The Good: The issue described above seems to have mostly only affected the 04 model. The cowls can be replaced with better models to limit the amount of water that gets to the engine (to varying degrees of success), and I imagine with a gasket replacement, this should solve the issue.
I really like the Durango...so much so, that I am planning on purchasing an 05 model. I've enjoyed everything about the vehicle save how it runs in the rain. It rides very well, and is capable of carrying mixed loads of passengers and cargo easily. I use it as my daily driver, and have used it to tow various loads. So long as you take care of the issue described above, I think you'll find it to be a great vehicle at a bargain of similar sized vehicles."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good ride Bad on gas

March 25, 2013
By Good Girl
from Virginia
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The car looks good and rides good. I have the v8 Hemi so it definitely is not the best on gas. That's the only down side. I recommend this car if you don't have a problem forking out gas money!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst dealer ever

January 13, 2013
By guitar
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I do not recommend this dealer not even for a dog they are really bad on business I call then ask for a car was listed for 3000 and when I get there for my surprise the car was totally different from the picture showing at cars.com I travel from NJ spending gas and tools I feel like idiot. if you want buy a used cars this is not a good place."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
-9points
1out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Its pretty good

December 15, 2012
By Dur123
from Kentucky
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The car is really pretty and powerful. It is very fun to have. The only thing i dont like is i just had to have it fixed because of a pint problem, these cars are too new to have rust and ive seen some with the same problem. Best car ever overall, i like it better than the Yukon."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best car I have owned!!!

August 4, 2012
By Guru
from atlanta GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The durango has exceeded my expectations...I used to have a sports car but needed a SUV since I had a baby on the way I was looking into durangos for some time I LOVE THE WAY THE 04s AND UP LOOK! I found a great deal on one for 6500 dollars with 99,000 miles it was just awesome looking so I bought it. It drove so strong so smooth so quiet it was the best ride of my life I have driven big SUVs and pick ups but this vehicle surprise me...and for 17 miles to the gallon is not bad for a "tank" looking SUV this is by far the best vehicle"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

04 Durango worth every penny

January 9, 2012
By Dodge Hemi Lover
from san jose
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is dodges best suv. The 5.7 liter V8 can haul a house and still get 21mpg. We use this to go skiing and family playtime. Tons of room inside with third row seating and storage. Great for kids too with limited editions dvd and wireless headsets for movies and video games. Awesome sound system from Infinity. Amazing control in snow, ice and rain. 6000pounds of protection on these crazy california hwy's is great for the family too."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

2004 Dodge Durango

August 23, 2011
By HEMI fan
from Hanover, PA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good fit and finish. Great styling. Decent storage room for it's class, but much smaller than a Grand Caravan. Leather seats are too firm and lots of hard plastic throughout. VES video and Infiniti disc changer system are awesome! Digital dash controls on the LIMITED are nice. Split third row much better than the full seat. Tilt mechanism for rear seats not as friendly as Chevy EXT with third row but OK. Hemi guzzles around town at 8 to 14 mpg. Highway cruising with loads gets 22-23 mpg thanks to low final gear ratio. (We average about 15-18 with our routine). Overhead console with trip timer, economy meter etc... is a must to help get good mileage. Overall very pleased."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST SUV EVER

August 23, 2011
By 04 Durango
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i love my 04 durango i have a v8 with a hemi and it gets great gas mile when with 20in rims with them i can drive 40 miles back and forth and around the city i live in and i still have gas to go to work for 4 days on a 20 dollar fill up"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2004 Dodge Durango, Love it

May 9, 2011
By Gearhead_1971
from Rochester, NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 2004 Dodge Durango with 70,000 mi on it. I love this truck. It's got ample room, great stereo, great layout of controls. The 5.7 Hemi has more power than I expected. It really gets up and moves, tows like a champ. The only drawback for this vehicle is the gas mileage. I get an avg of about 16.5 MPG in mixed driving. I've seen the MPG go as high as 24 on the highway. It's much better than other models I've researched but more that I was used to in my 1999 Jeep Cherokee. The steering is smooth, responsive but not at all detatched like some larger vehicles. I would reccomend this truck to anyone looking for a full sized SUV"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

defective hemi

March 1, 2011
By russ
from indiana
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bad enngine at 80k miles. Many other problems. Chrysler is useless. Will never buy another Chrysler product."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

04 Durango

February 5, 2011
By myzetti
from Kansas City
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great vehicle. Had to replace radiator, so be sure to do recommended maintenance. 108k miles. Noisey on the road."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not the most reliable vehicle I've owned

November 17, 2010
By Listen
from New York, NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"It is great to drive, it has a lot of power, and it handles well in the snow. CD changer failed, seat frame cheap, breaks. Besides regular maintenance, at around 85,000 miles I had to replace the transmission. Also at about 92,000 miles there were severe overheating issues that Pepboys and the Dodge dealer could not pinpoint. Moreover, they replaced the manifold, water pump, clutch fan, head gasket, etc and still could not figure it out; you want to talk about wasting my time? After a month, they found out that the radiator was the cause. Last but not least, at 96,000 mi, the engine is making a loud noise that I cant describe. About 3 different mechanic's recommend a new engine. I quess you know....I am done...!! Within the last 18 months, Tranny $1500, Overheating issue $1800, and if Iam stupid enough to buy an engine $3000."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

July 31, 2010
By stymie
from New Mexico
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got my Durango used about 5 months ago. It rides smooth and quietly and love the feel and look. I am impressed they even made adjustable pedals for shorts girls like me, thank you. I am amazed how much room there is. When the time comes for a new SUV I am buying a Durango."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great vehicle

April 20, 2010
By Family Man
from Springfield, MO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We purchased the V8 (non hemi) model used with 45k miles on it and we have had it for two years now and it has been great. We have put over 40k miles on it and it has been very reliable. A couple small repairs have been made, like the seatbelt broke. Other than that, no other repairs made.
It handles very well and it has a smooth ride. I have not used it to tow. It is very roomy. The gas mileage is around 18 to 19 on the highway going 70+. Overall, it has been a great SUV."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So pleasant to drive I neglected my Porsche

August 24, 2007
By Porsche like enthusiast
from Baltimore
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased a Durango as my family grew. At the time I drove my Porsche 911 to work daily, rain, snow or shine. I needn't go into the Porsche performance. Shifting in rush hour traffic I thought would be about the only advantage to daily driving. I purchased the 5.7 Liter Hemi, SLT fully loaded. Pressing the accelerator modestly commands the beast. The horsepower, sound system, video system (watched movies while waiting for the wife to shop etc. not to mention my kids with their friends watching videos to and from events) and the view above the crowd left my 911 sitting for enough time to have my neighbors and coworkers question my sanity. I found no where else to submit my rating. My Durango is a 2004 which I purchased new. Yep, my Porsche got no major play time for 3 years. I'm going to sell it (Durango) to upgrade my Porsche, and recycle remaining funds for other things. I have the Durango, the Porsche and a Jeep Liberty. If I could keep it I would. The only dissatsifaction you could have with this vehicle would be something external to the vehicle, such as circumstances, not the vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most reliable, highest quality SUV available.

July 11, 2007
By Dodge Durango Lover
from White Plains, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We've driven two previous generation Dodge Durango's, a 98' and 01'. The new Durango, which was updated in 2004, was made by Daimler-Chrysler and it is very apparent in the new interior and exterior design and styling, as well as it's handling and high reliability. The fact that it has MDS, or Multi-displacement system is a huge bonus. The MDS automatically shuts down the engine cylinders from 8 cylinders to 4,while driving at highway speeds, saving gas and money at the pump. We recently had to replace the rack and pinion system, which was covered under the original warranty, most likely due to having several speed bumps in our complex. We average 18 mpg on the highway and 15 mpg around town. Unfortunately our lease is ending soon and we aren't looking forward to turning in our Dodge Durango Limited."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2004_Dodge_Durango
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

March 13, 2007
By love my Durango
from San Diego
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had my 2004 Dodge Durango for 3 years now, and I can only say it has been wonderful! It was the best pruchase ever, the handling and comfort is great and I love the new style."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.