Customer Reviews for 2004_Toyota_4Runner

2004_Toyota_4Runner

Average Customer Rating:
4.905 of 5
4.9
 of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 21(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Review 1 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car I've ever owned

November 11, 2014
By runner
from San antonio TX
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"bought it new , just turned 210,000 miles , this is a great car, what I like most about it , is when you step on the gas it moves, no hesitation .
Plan to keep it for another 100K miles
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Vehicle I have ever owned

October 23, 2014
By Trevor
from Wausau Wisconsin
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great SUV! super reliable! pretty good gas mileage(even with the V8). This thing drives like a sports car, but is as sturdy as any truck. It is super roomy. I actually left my lights on all day at work and it still started up! eight hours later! Still has original 10 year old battery too! Toyota did a great job! Stop looking and buy one!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good car

September 8, 2013
By Walewale
from Reading PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I Like this car very much. I will always buy the Toyota 4runner again I love this car I will like to get the 2014"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great vehicle

February 6, 2013
By YoungMoneyCars
from Fort Worth, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great car all around. Looks tight and runs great. Seats are comfortable and there is a truck load of storage space. This car does its job and keeps you lookin fresh too."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this truck

January 13, 2013
By NY guy
from New York, ny
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought our 2004 4runner limited V8 with 74k on it to upgrade from our 1994 4runner sr5 (which still ran like a top with 150k on it, but i wanted airbags).
I love this truck. It looks great and it handles and accelerates (with premium gas in it it's a monster) as well as my old BMW. I love the pull of the V8.
It feels sturdy as heck in turns- ours has the gas suspension that was an option new. It really adds to the stability. The truck barely has any body roll in tight turns at speed.
I am now at 100k which I know is no sweat for these trucks - i just keep changing the oil and the brake pads and this thing is as good as new.
Lots of cargo room for our dogs and a great sounding stereo. My next truck will be another 4runner if this one ever dies."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2004 Toyota 4Runner Limited (Black)

January 2, 2013
By Face Doctor
from Brookfield, WI.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was upgrading in vehicle features and not model year due to price and payment per month needed. I had a 2004 color Silver 4Runner base model but was looking for the color Black and with more interior features. So I purchased a 2004 Black 4Runner Limited. This is my 4th Toyota 4Runner in the last 12 years and all of them were purchased used, why take the new car price hit. The interior features are incredible, comfort unmatched in my opinion. The heated seats, V-8 engine and leather interior is incredible. I bought a one owner vehicle at a dealership in Illinois that was really taken good care of. I bought it with 100k miles on it and was a bit skeptical to begin with due to the miles, but it's a TOYOTA and they just keep running with little or no problems, just normal brake pads and rotors. Very very happy with my new purchase off cars.com website which led me to the dealership I bought my 4Runner at last month. Thanks CARS.COM !!! The Face Doctor."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most Reliable!

October 17, 2012
By SUV Enthusiast
from New Jersey
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just purchased my third 4Runner and couldn't be happier. 100% reliable - built to last, really. Couple of things (1) body-on-frame which means durability –it feels like new even after 100K miles, (2) made in Japan, maintenance is minimal and it has virtually zero defects based on my experience with other European and American cars (excluding BMW), and (3) I love how it handles - really fun to drive- compared to Honda Pilot for instance."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The one thing I can rely on

October 3, 2012
By Satisfied original owner
from San Antonio, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought the 2004 SR5 Sport new, that was almost 9 years ago. It only has about 55,000 miles on it because I have a short urban commute but it's my only vehicle so I need for it to go wherever I want. And it does. Whether on my short urban drives or cross-country trips, this car has never failed me. I chose it originally because of the truck chassis, high clearance, and decent gas mileage. I've kept it because it hasn't cost me trouble or money. It gets routine maintenance. Other than that, both components of the catalytic converter were replaced under warranty. The one structural problem is that the sunroof somehow drains into the cabin. Twice the dealer temporarily "fixed" this by cleaning the drain, then suggested that I keep it out of the rain. Overall, I am very pleased with this vehicle. It feels safe and I know it is reliable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great for travel

September 15, 2012
By lse's car
from okc ok
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i love this way it handles and this gas mileage is great.
the color and look is great still looks new have enjoyed long trips.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best vehicle ever owned

August 25, 2012
By 04runner
from Missouri
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My 4runner has been the best vehicle we have ever owned, It has the 4.7L V8 and gets 18-20 mpg on the highway. With 180,000 trouble free miles it is a great choice for anyone looking for a rock solid, reliable 4x4 vehicle I highly recommend it!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Toyota 4runner

July 14, 2012
By Joey P
from Colombus, Oh
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned 2 Toyota 4runners. My 2004 4runner was my favorite. I NEVER had any problems with it. Only thing I had to do was change the oil, battery, and tires. Very reliable vehicle!! Performance was great also! It's obvious why Toyota vehicles, especially the 4ruuner, retain such good retail value!! Theses vehicles are made with the highest quality and engineering. Tototas will easily last over 300,000 miles!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best cars on the road

March 13, 2012
By toyota forever
from minnesota
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 2000 4 runner used with 70,000 miles on it. 4 years ago when it had 175,000 on it my daughter rolled it. The insurance company totalled it and I bought it back for 800.00, put 500 worth of glass in it and 4 years and another 100,000 miles later , it still runs like a charm. Looks a little rough around the edges from the rollover, but runs fine. Never had any major mechanical problems, just normal maintenance.
Bought a Celica brand new 35 years ago and when I sold it, it had 285,000 miles on it. Only reason I sold it was it was a 2 door and I had 2 kids to get in and out of car seats-good car.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

just bought a few months back. Great so far.

December 29, 2011
By neesee
from Maine
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my first 4 wheel drive and im in my 40's. I love it so far. It has a v8 in it so you would think its a gas guzzler but not bad. I think ive figured it to be 17 to 19 miles per gallon, not bad. I can't tell you if it will be the most reliable vehicle i've ever owned because i just recently purchased it but i have high hopes. Love every thing about my 2004 toyota 4 runner."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best SUV in America

November 7, 2011
By Toyota Girl!
from Stafford Va
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I LOVE the Toyota 4Runner, its good on gas and very reliable. It also helps she looks good too! I had a 1998 and gave that to my son, 258,000 miles still runs good. I love and highly recommend cars.com very user friendly and have purchased several cars that I found on here. You Cars.com
Cookie"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New-to-me

June 4, 2011
By Lizzy B
from Boise, ID
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Ok, I can't give a perfect review because this car is new to me, but I can say this much: Everybody I know who has ever had a 4Runner loves it. Also, I traded in a 2009 Nissan Rogue that was COMPLETELY decked out (every bell and whistle possible), and this car rides/feels about a million times more comfortable in terms of ride and even just how it's built. I have the V6, and it seems to have plenty of get-up-and-go. So even though I "traded down" I got a great deal, I think I moved up overall."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my 4Runner

March 14, 2011
By NYC Weekend Traveler
from New York, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love this truck. Bought it used about 1 year ago with 70,000 miles on it. My model is a 2004 V8 Limited w/ the air suspension feature. I highly recommend this suspension option as my truck handles like a dream. The interior is super comfortable and spacious with plenty of room for dogs, friends, skis, luggage etc. It also has all the creature comforts... great stereo system, heated seats, etc.
This car feels really quick. Pickup is very strong at all speeds (I can't imagine the V6 feels this good..) I average gas mileage at around 17.5mpg.
The full time AWD is fantastic in the snow... I had to drive this thing around after a blizzard about a month ago and I was the only vehicle on the streets that could move.
I have not had a single problem with this truck since I bought it (knock on wood of course...)
This is my 2nd 4runner, and the last one was a '94 that I kept to 145000 miles. That car was still running perfectly when I sold, but I wanted something with airbags."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

4 runner sport v-8

January 9, 2011
By kipper
from woodbine,md
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"19.6 overall mileage regular gas toyota rd stainless exhaust system solid quiet ride with all kinds of get up and go no leaks or squeaks solid as a rock v-8 will go anywhere . you owe it to yourself to drive one . after that it is easy to see why they are the number 1 car in america"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

HONDA CONVERT AND NOT LOOKING BACK!!!

January 1, 2009
By New Believer
from Pennsylvania
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I traded my wifes 03 civic in for this without her knowledge for Christmas. Don't tell her that it was really a christmas present for me because i HATED the Honda. It was loud(at only 50K miles), weak, cramped and overall cheap feeling. No comparison between the two vehicles. No wonder Toyota is King. She is 5'2" and she loves it. I am 6'0" and i love it. We are sold! We had to drive 1700 hundred miles on a trip a week after we bought it and could not be happier with the ride and comfort. I feel like it should have more power on takeoff but I will gladly trade this for 21MPG average, 24MPG highway! We are already planning the purchase of a new one for her as i am stealing this one!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best SUV on market

May 31, 2007
By Yota
from Richmond, VA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Best car I've owner. A bit pricey but no doubt you will get your money worth and probably have money to spare when it comes time to upgrade. A good mix of luxury and rugged. I would recommend this vehicle to friends and family!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2004_Toyota_4Runner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Toyota owned yet!

December 26, 2006
By SUV & Truck Guy
from Spartanburg, SC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This was a replacement for a 2002 4Runner and is better in every respect except the exterior appearence. My wife prefers the new body style and I am more fond of the old school style. In spite of that, it is still better in every respect to the 2002 which was my favorite before this came along. We have had no issues with the vehicle since delivery."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.