Customer Reviews for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer

2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer

Average Customer Rating:
4.182 of 5
4.2
 of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
17 of 22(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Review 1 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Truck

October 27, 2014
By 04Tblazer
from Hodgenville, KY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the best mode of transportation I have ever owned. It is so reliable, and the gas mileage isn't that bad. If you air the tires up between 40 and 45 the gas mileage goes up by 2 to 3 MPG. I filled up went 172 miles and filled up again. I divided it out and it showed me getting 22.9 HWY MPG. While hauling a little over 3000 Ibs. So just a few little things will make a world of difference. I also changed the fuel filter and in less than a week it paid for its self. If the air filter hasn't been changed in 3 years or so change it. It also made a world of difference as well."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BADASS SUV

May 28, 2014
By IveOwnedOneOfEverything
from Vermont
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"1st: A car isnt always to blame for problems. Bad previous owners, unintelligent drivers (turn key, hit gas, hit break, and it should last forever w/out even a headlight going out), shady mechanics, ... plenty of reasons you might read negative reviews. 2nd: As my 'name' states, ive owned at least one of everything. Short of ferrari, porsche, etc. And being a sufficient enough mechanic to do my own brakes, wheel bearings, power steering pump, rebuild an engine or two, and definitely the importance of ALL maintenance; I know how to do a smart and rational test drive when buying a newer used vehicle. ok, 3rd. This SUV alone is the best ive owned. Hands down. Outstanding performance for what is. ( '04 TB, 4.2 inline 6, 4x4) btw. Live in new england near canada; 4x4 has NEVER let me down. Very roomy and comfy. Average gas mileage. Driven out of and across states and im worry free. Literally 100 confidence. Mine stalls now and then too. But eveything, especially vehicles, have thier nitch. My jeep ran rough and loud, still lasted 250,000 miles though. I refuse to sell this SUV. I will drive it until the wheels literally fall off. Glides down the road. Ive hit two deer, and not only did the TB take 'em like a champ, I'd smile if a bear crossed the road. Feel very safe. And what used vehicle now-a-days doesn't have a stupid "check engine" light? My Navigator had one on from the start. Overall, if you find one that runs smooth and is in one piece, BUY IT!!!!! ... oh I do have one complaint, no ashtray. But then again I should't need one right? Haha. Way to go chevy. I understand why your the most used car Nascar!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Customer service?

May 14, 2014
By unhappy
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Called about a specific car found online to verify before traveling an hour for the trip. Salesman "AL" said the vehicle was still there. When we arrived, "AL" said they just sold that vehicle, but then offered another vehicle as an option. NO Thanks. I'm not stupid."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not Bad

December 20, 2012
By Chace
from Chicago
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought an 04 in 2010 with 97k mi on it. It now has 164k miles on it and it is still an excellent car. I wish we would have pruchased the AWD version, ice and snow do not like this car at all and vice versa. As far as maintenance it was simple wear and tear. However, the motor in both of the windows went out and cost me $350 to replace ONE. So, needless to say the passenger window will have to wait. The headlights are constantly going out but that's no big deal the automotive shop always fixes it cheap. I haven't really had any major repairs needed to the car (knock on wood) this is definitely an excellent car. I've driven from Chicago to Springfield, MO (about 900mi round trip) several times with no issues.. I love this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my Trailblazer, very comfortable!

August 17, 2011
By Trailblazer MOM
from Cincinnati, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car new in 2004. It is the V-8 version with 4wd. Can't say enough good about it. It has 83,000 miles on it now and have only changed the brakes twice. Did have a problem with the Dual temperature sensor in the back part of car but mostly a great car. We did recently have to change the ABS sensor as well. This is just wear and tear to me. It is still very quiet in the engine and it is 2011!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

kept stalling, terrible on curving roads

April 27, 2011
By mo
from Gilbert, az
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Bought new in 2004. Rode great, had a suspension package that made it a cushy ride. However, at 55,000 miles kept stalling at traffic lights. Went online and everyone said they had it at the dealer numerous times and replaced parts and still couldn't fix the problem. Another issue was the sway on winding roads. Very scary as it felt as if I had little control. The body of the vehicle felt as if the tires were one place, but the body had shifted. Almost lost control several times, and I don't mean at excessively high speeds. I traded it for a 2010 Ford Explorer and was amazed how agile this suv is and how much more I felt in control. It doesn't shift like the Trailblazer did."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2007

December 16, 2010
By lookin4bigfoot
from Erie
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned my trailblazer for about 2 months. I am very impressed with the 4 wheel drive and the stabilitrack feature. It gets great traction and control on the ice and snow. the sound system has improved over the 2001blazer i owned previosly.The on- star tecnology with hands free calling is state of the art. On the freeway this feels like it floats down the road. What a smooth ride! Absolutely the best vehicle I have ever owned!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome suv

December 10, 2010
By elintocable
from chicago,il
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love sporty cars but always wanted a small suv so when i had trouble with my mitsubishi spyder i went for a trailblazer,the best car i ever had it's so quiet and enjoyable for long rides that i can take half my soccer team with me.
only problem i had was the stereo worn out with the use other than that i totally recomend my friends to try this car...i love it.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My First Car

July 21, 2010
By Young Driver
from Rockford, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My 2004 Chevy Trailblazer is awesome! I got it a little over 2 years ago with 73000 on it... I fell in love with it when I test drove it so needless to say I bought it! I travel to Chicago from Rockford (about 300 miles round trip total) A LOT!!! It has never given me any issues really! Being that I am the only one in my family with an SUV we took it to New Jersey and on top of all the trips to Chicago it was the most enjoyable car we have ever taken! Handles great in snow and can Haul! My 6'2" dad didn't even have a problem riding in the backseat! Overall one of the best cars I have ever driven!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Mid-Size SUV

July 8, 2010
By Bass Guy
from Chicagoland
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"Going from two vehicles (a GMC 1500, I used only when needed and a Pontiac Grand Prix used for my daily travels) down to one, I wanted a vehicle that could pull my 20' Bass Boat every other weekend and still give me decent fuel mileage with my every day use. My Trailblazer fit the bill. Although a larger vehicle probably would give a better ride when pulling my boat, I don't pull my boat every day and didn't want to give up the mileage of the smaller SUV. Since the Trailblazer came into production, the exterior has always caught my eye, but the interior is lacking slightly over other models. Since buying my Trailblazer, I haven't had any maintenance issues. And if its anything like the other GM trucks I've had in the past, I'll have it for a long time."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very nice car

April 14, 2009
By hauls alot of kids and dogs
from Morenci, Az.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought this blazer used and it had 32,000 miles on it.
We've had to have it towed once, the shifter gear thingy went out.
We haul alot of kids and dogs,I have a cleaning business, so I pack it full!
We go the the lake akot and it does great in the sand too, all and all great little car!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I am so disappointed

June 27, 2008
By Big MOney
from Novi, MI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This car is horrible. It was good for the first 500 miles. The first problem was the cd player didn't eject the cd. Next was the noise from the car. horrible sound system. The engine is very loud and doesn't soun good when it skips when you accelerate. at 36,500 miles the rpm and gas gage stopped working. warranty was 500 miles over do so they didnt fix it. Now the worst was the 48,000 miles and the transmission was making weird noises and shook the car. Turns out it needed to be replaced. IT wasn't that bad, it only costed $3200. this car is not worth the money it was."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Second Blazer I have owned.

June 7, 2008
By Gold Miner
from California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"First blazer I owned I bought in 1991. It is still working with 200,000 plus. New 04 model has more than a decade of improvements on it which makes it even better than the first. Bought it used with 35,000 miles have put another 35,000 hard miles on it. About to do a 2,700 mile road trip with not many worries. Gas mileage for this SUV is awesome Over 300 miles to a 17 gallon tank. Cargo space has doubled it seems to me. The fold down seats are a breeze to work. Cup holders built into all four doors, and two in the front between driver and passenger. Seats are a lot more comfortable. Lots of leg space front and back. Will have it's real test on my mining property this summer."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great trade

June 6, 2008
By ajward
from North Carolina
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I traded my ford escape in on my trailblazer because we needed more room. I drove it and immediately fell in love. I chose the trailblazer over a denali because of how well it handled and the price.
I've just tripped 80,000 miles and haven't had any problems. It has plenty of room for my kids and their 6 foot 5 uncle in the back, does great on trips, plenty of cargo space, and all the options. We have enjoyed it so much we are considering an extended version. And for a SUV the gas mileage is great. I get no less than 23 mpg! We were really suprised at first and thought that was a fluke but it's been over a year and still going strong.
I don't use the 4 WD often, but it does good when we do get snow and on the beach.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

FIRST TIME OWNER

April 25, 2008
By FIRST TIME IN A BLAZER
from HOUSTON
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I got my Blazer, it had 20k miles, I made a few long trips, the ride was very smoth, I felt I could drive for ever, The fuel mileage was better that I thought it would be. I do not know about the reliability, but then I am a strickler for maint. so I don't thinK that will be a problem. The power just is not there, (don't pull out in traffic). other than that, you will love this truck!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My wife's first SUV

February 20, 2008
By Handlerguy
from Northeast Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife wanted an SUV when it was time to trade in her sedan. She picked this truck after driving it at the dealer's. She and I could not be happier with this vehicle. It has 46,470 miles on it, and the only problem was the shifter lockout switch, which was fixed quickly by the dealer under warranty. She uses the 4WD sparingly, but it has come in handy when the snows come. We both find the leather seats very comfortable on long trips to the beach for vacation, and there is plenty of room for luggage and coolers. We do not tow, but the hitch works well for our bike rack. The engine has enough power, but the fuel economy could be better. But overall, this has been a very comfortable, trouble free vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Slow, extremely expensive to repair

February 19, 2008
By Rick
from FT Drum, New York
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I owned a 2004Trail Blazer 4x4, and at 50K miles the fuel tank sending unit started leaking or should I said hemorrhaging fuel the repair was $752.69. Then the front bearings started to make grueling sound, that was $490 a piece and don’t get me started on how much fuel it uses. The interior have no leg room in the back seat if your passengers are taller than 5’5”.
Fuel economy is not existence for a in line six the engine uses a lot of fuel specially if you are towing a trailer. Would I recommend this truck to some one else? NO, No way.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

everything is fine except for .....

February 9, 2008
By outdoors man
from michigan
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i can't believe all the reviews i've read say it's comfortable. i find the seats are too stiff (for me) i can't go longer than 3 - 3.5 hours on a road trip without stopping at a rest stop and walking around. i bought it new and have had no problems with it (50,000 miles as of jan 08). i use it to tow a trailer and a boat, the 4 wheel drive comes in handy (michigan)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Comfortable on long drives!

March 16, 2007
By Mountain Pastor
from Nothern CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We live in the mountains about 2 hours from most things and so we have to really drive to get anywhere. This is the most comfortable car. The time just flies by as you are driving because you have such a smooth ride.
We have 45,000 miles on ours and it had a few minor things repaired under warranty, but nothing real big. It has never really given us any problems.
We loved it so much that when we needed something that could haul more people, we just upgraded to the extended version.
I would definately recommend this vehicle to others!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2004_Chevrolet_TrailBlazer
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Mid-size SUV

January 30, 2007
By Love of the Road
from Montgomery Village MD.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Better than I thought it would be. Wife and I had wanted a SUV for some time but thought it would be to much like a truck. Rides like a car and pulls like a truck."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.