Customer Reviews for 2005_Ford_Focus

2005_Ford_Focus

Average Customer Rating:
4.077 of 5
4.1
 of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
23 of 26(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2005_Ford_Focus
Review 1 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Car I've Owned

March 7, 2014
By RSD Bluegrass
from Northbridge, MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car during the Ford Friends and Family discount time, got a great price. I have the ZXW SES with the winter package and a 5 speed manual. Currently have over 202,000 miles, still with the original back brakes and battery. I have only replaced the alternator, front brakes, and anti-roll sway bars (did myself for less than $75), plus the usual tires, gas, oil, etc. I live in New England, and I can't believe the battery still starts the car after all these cold mornings. I also have the car equipped with a trailer hitch, and tow a trailer with a small professional sound system. I've done a lot of traveling with this sound system in the back of the car, which is amazing how much cargo can fit back there. Great car for us upright bass players! All in all, this is a great utility car.
I do wish it had another gear though, RPM is high on the highway, and could probably get better MPG. The car has very good power on the highway for passing. Interior could be nicer, but that's what you get with economy cars from 2005. Looking forward to getting another new Focus, just wish they would sell a wagon again.
I have not had issues with tires, use mostly tiger paws and they last 50,000 miles. Shamefully, I have never touched the coolant, and I only change the oil about every 7-8K miles. I don't think I've ever taken it to the car wash, and there is some rust on the exhaust, but the rest of the paint has held up real well. I am very happy with my Focus!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I hate this car

December 30, 2013
By jen
from Evansville IN
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I've had my 2005 ford focus for about three years. The arm rest broke. The CD holder falls down if there is anything in it. You can't change a headlight without taking half of the car apart. The interior is noisy and rattles most of the time. If there is any small thing that goes wrong with the car they make it to where you have to go to the dealership to get it fixed. Don't get this car unless you want to rely on the dealership for any and all maintenance."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great practical car

September 27, 2013
By BBBassist
from Waltham, Ma
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've had the car about 3 weeks. It rides better then the Mazda Protege5 I traded in though the Mazda did handle slightle better. I'm used to driving stick so the automatic has taken a bit to get used to, but it does have good pick up, you just have to hit the gas pedal a bit harder. I'm a musician and it's a perfect car for me, plenty of room and decent mileage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't do it

July 23, 2013
By Mickey
from Ontario
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We purchased this very 72000 mile car. Synchros in the standard transmission are gone. Grinds going into first, second and third gear."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun to Drive--great value

January 28, 2013
By Frugal Fred
from Virginia
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great handling and pep for the price--has also been great in snow.
Have owned Volvos & BMW in past. Parts costs much better with Ford. Paint finish and sound deadening are not as good, but price is a good offset. Radio/CD player has peeling paint on control buttons, and CD player does not work--radio functions great. Otherwise, car appears mechanically sound @ approximately 100K miles, and has the engine with a timing chain (no belt to replace)
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific Car, Great Value

March 27, 2012
By NH Driver
from New Hampshire
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A real gem. I bought my ST new in March 2005, the first American car I've owned (after having owned VW, Porsche, BMW, Nissan, Audi, Volvo--most bought new). I can truly say that this vehicle has proven to be, by far, the most reliable and best value of the bunch. Fun to drive, great in snow, good gas mileage. My only criticism is the seats--not much lumbar support (I'm tall). Plenty of room, though. Still looks new, inside and out, despite severe New Hampshire winters. Well built. I have a long commute, and my ST has never let me down, even after 100K(+) miles. I've liked it so much that I am looking at getting a 2012 Focus (while holding on to this one)."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

best used car bought

January 23, 2012
By another satisfied customer
from Laurence Harbor, NJ
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my 05 Ford Focus around this time last year and I must say that I am totally happy with my car thus far, from its performance all the way to the price I am paying for it. The people at Auto Solutions are very friendly and professional when it comes to selling their vehicles. They find a way to get you in the car you want for the money you want to spend, they get it done. I highly recommend their business and will continue to support them for many years to come."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

5 yr Review

January 31, 2011
By New car shopper
from boston
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought our 2005 Focus se NEW in 12/04. Got a GREAT deal. The only problem off the bat was the HVAC system leaking water into the foot well. This was fixed (through outsourcing) @ the local dealer for free. Took 3x. Probably a clogged drain plug. Other than a new set of tires (why do new car tires only last 29k??) new front brakes, a new battery & a new ERG canister (our fault-do NOT overfill your tank!) the car has been stellar. 5spd 4cyc gets 34 mpg hiway if you keep in under 70. I know this from driving from Syracuse to Boston. Around town it will get 24-28mpg. Headroom is excellent, even for back seat. The interior is lacking- a bit too plastic. Sound system? Just upgrade to new speakers. Seats? Ok at best. My wife likes them, but she is large and does not like side bolsters. I like something that holds you in place. But, the seats were fine for 300 mile cruises for both of us. Rear seat? Has a split back, which does not really matter. You MUST flip the read seat bench to fold down either rear seat back, taking away the 3rd psngr. for ski+golf trips. Also, keep in mind only 827lbs for total weight! All in all a great grocery getter, great MPG, and low-low maint costs. Who needs a 7 recall Coralla, anyway?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good running car

January 17, 2011
By Tatortot
from rhinelander wi
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This car has been a great car for my daughter.Its just the right size and has a sleek style to it.It runs great and great gas mileage.It handles excellent in the winter months and always starts.It was sure worth its money."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Okay, but it's my last ford

September 27, 2010
By LBJ
from Arlington Texas
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I purchased this car new. I have driven it to Colorado twice, and worked as an outside sales rep so it was a daily heavy driver for a year and a half. On one of my trips to Colorado, it began to give me trouble starting. I drove it home and took it to ford after another two weeks of issues. The fuel pump was out. Yet it got us home. The interior is cheap, my gear shift knob broke off around the 60K mark and the center console broke off right around 37k. Now the inside door latch comes out completely when opening it. If I give it a good hard whack it goes back into place and works fine for quite a while. My car now has 105k on it. It runs great, but is getting very loud. Make sure you buy very very good tires for it, or it will shred em in about a year despite excellent care. All in all, it's been reliable, and with regular maitnenance I sure I could drive it for 200k but do not know for certain that I will be able to. The cosmetic problems with the shifter and door are annoying, and frankly I am afraid the steering wheel might fall off. LOL.. Let's just say that my next car will be a Toyota, so I can drive it comfortably for at least 15 years."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I was looking for.

September 21, 2010
By Fishing car
from Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was specifically looking for a later model used Ford Focus Wagon with under 60K miles. I needed something for fishing gear and and that would get good fuel economy. I found exactly what I was looking for but it was already sold. I did leave the dealer my phone number and asked her to text me if the people backed out and sure enough a week later I got a text and we closed the deal. Worked out perfect. The whole online purchasing experience was great."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

couldn't pass it up

June 18, 2010
By raymo
from Milwaukee, wi
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this 2005 Focus with 108,000 miles on it and it's the best little car I've owned. It has every availible option and the gas milage is great! I went from a jeep grand cherokee getting 14 miles to the gallon to this which averages from 28 to 35 mpg! Af ter purchasing it I tinted the windows and it's a real looker! I would definetely refer this to more people. I'm glad I found this one. Good luck to any one finding a deal like mine."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

origional owner

June 13, 2010
By origional owner
from Denver
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great performer and no trouble for 95K all maint myself! replaced the strut rod connectors after they started rattling at 70 k"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very fun car

December 15, 2008
By NavyRefugee
from Virginia Beach, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned this car for 3 years and have loved every minute of it. It is bigger than it looks and has plenty of headroom. The drivers seat adjusts up or down so shorter drivers can easily see over the dashboard and taller drivers can have plenty of headroom.
The antenna is my only complain as it looks ugly. I replaced mine with a custom shorter antenna.
Great gas mileage. Lots of safety features.
My ST model has plenty of get-up-and-go."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Compact Big in Features and Performance

August 24, 2008
By Focused Focuser
from Marshall, MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have a 2005 Focus SES in dark gray, and I love it!
It seems awfully small, but the interior actually seems bigger on the inside than it looks on outside. The trunk is also huge! This is the "newest" car I've owned, and it's been very reliable, efficient, and fun. I get about 25-26mpg in town and 28-30mpg on the highway/interstate.
2 and only 2 complaints:
1. The rear window is angled in such a way that it is difficult to see sometimes. The spoiler also block the back window a bit, too.
2. Back seats are supposed to open up (I think...) but must be unlatched from the trunk. (This may be my own confusion, though!)
Drive with Focus!! :-)
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great car

April 16, 2008
By rising fuel prices not a big concern in a focus
from buffalo,ny
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"awesome gas milage, stick is fun to drive and has been very reliable for a cheap car. average gas milage 35+"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

for the money...

March 3, 2008
By frugal yankee
from northern new england
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i bought an '05 se wagon w/ 70,000+ miles, and it runs and drives like new. there is a ton of space, and good visibility all around. the little eyeglass and garage door remote console on the ceiling disaffects the rear mirror view.
over $3000 less than a comparable vibe or matrix, but w/ much better visibility.
mileage is just so-so. 26 - 29 combined in winter driving. i'm waiting for spring.
plenty of power, but likes to downshift early on big hills on the interstate in cruise control.
bought it for less than half the retail price, and the low resale value has me scratching my head. good thing i like it, because i know i will feel the pain in my wallet, when i'm ready to trade.
i also don't understand ford discontinuing the focus wagon. i think it competes well w/ other cars in that niche.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice car with out the sticker shock

December 4, 2007
By Focus Fanatic
from Gainesville, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My 2005 ZX3 is one of best small cars I've ever driven let alone owned. I loved my 2000 ZX3 so much, that I bought another one!
It's roomy enough for passengers in the back (even my 6'1" husband can sit back there comfortably) unlike so many other hatchbacks. The back seat can also lay down flat to allow for packing large/awkward items in the trunk more easily. All of the controls are within easy reach of the driver, although I am lucky enough to also have the radio/cd controls on the steering wheel stick. Five cupholders are also very conveniently located for the commuter driver or someone with children. The car handles nicely, but don't expect a BMW ride. I personally find the performance fine for my daily driving, although my husband dislikes the "lack of power" produced by the 136hp inline 4. It's also great on gas - I average 28 combined mileage, with 34-35 on the highway."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It may run forever..

October 11, 2007
By Sales Rep
from Youngstown OH
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Pros:
82,000 miles in 27 months
just standard maintainance
and a new set of tires
I still have about 40% of the break pads left
(5 speed) The engine still sounds very smooth and loves to rev.
Cons:
Now The fuel pump whines when I start it up.
and occasionally takes a few seconds to start.
Otherwise I can't come up with any reason why I need to buy another car - except that the Milan looks nicer
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2005_Ford_Focus
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

big car

October 7, 2007
By Car lover
from San fransisco
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"ford Focus really good car. sucks gas like private jet. 27 mpg horrible. otherwise good, like colors, features and all sorts of other things. we got as rental car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.