Customer Reviews for 2005_Ford_Excursion

2005_Ford_Excursion

Average Customer Rating:
4.35 of 5
4.3
 of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
18 of 20(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Review 1 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first, best and only car/SUV I've owned...

February 10, 2010
By Joe
from Queens, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the first car/suv I've ever purchased. Bought it pre-owned. Its a 2005 Excursion Limited. I live in Queens, NY. She is a pleasure to drive. Granted, the roads in Queens are often narrow and I move aside to let the smaller vehicles pass. But I expected that. On the highway, she is a breeze. Sure footed and surprizingly agile. But an Excursion is not a vehicle where one changes lanes constantly. Find a lane and stay in it. I've driven Suburbans before, and I prefer the Excursion. Its a pity Ford stopped making them. She has taken my friends to the country for hikes and there is plenty of space where all are comfortable. I recommend her to my friends who want to buy a second vehicle for family trips and such, of course, only where it is practicle to do so, such as weekend trips with 5 or more people and lots of luggage and/or pets."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

just bought 2005 turbo diesel

June 26, 2014
By ry
from tempe az
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I see all these mixed reviews im very impressed so far w/ it my first diesel vehicle hope all good reviews are true any input appreciated"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

May 1, 2014
By White Lighnin '
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought it new in 2000 and still have it now. I love this truck, it has been in 4 crashes demolishing the other cars, but only scratching the paint on it. I towed a 24ft boat, this truck will haul anything. It now has 220,000 miles and is still running strong. The only problem we had was the gas tank came loose while driving down the road, but all it took was a bolt that costed $20... This truck is awesome"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Vehicle if you want a truck but need a SUV

November 12, 2013
By Excursion Buyer
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"There is no way around it the Excursion feels like a truck, drives like a truck, and is a truck with a SUV body attached. But if you need a vehicle that can haul everything and tow a house while providing the comforts provided by a SUV, the Excursion is the way to go. With the diesel engine you can have your cake and eat it too with 15-18 mpg or better, with a vehicle that has a 6.0l engine and weighs 9000lbs."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Truck

June 4, 2013
By ExcurLvr2005
from Tucson, Az
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought our Eddie Bauer diesel 4 years ago and still lovin' it. Did have some problems with the fuel system but nothing I couldn't fix. We call her "The Lady" and she's got excellent manners. We love the power, versatility, and yes even the mileage. She'll pull a house down."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

bad suv,bad!!!

May 13, 2013
By XR1990
from DALLAS TX
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"these trucks are not good and i do not understand all these good reviews and then i saw why. most of these people have only owened this suv for a mont or has only 70,000 miles or so. well any car can get that far even a kia. but when these go over about 120,000 everything goes bad. a/c starts to leak freon, costs at least 400 to repair, the steering becomes lose so its undrivable cost more thsn 1000, the seats and arm rest tore up, and the egr system goes out on the engine and thats more than 1500, and that causes cataletics to go out, then the turbo its endless. and your better off with the diesel than the gas engines they are worse and have no performance at all the intirior desing is as bad as the extirior it has been looking like that since the f250s from the 90s. the front end is what looks the best because thats prety much all that has changed since then the 90s. so try to stay away from these trucks if you want a big suv your better off with the suburban that is why they still make it, 75 years in the making. and excursion was so bad that they only made it like five years."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-8points
1out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best vehicle ever!

December 15, 2012
By Diesel man
from Pennsylvania Philly
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love this vehicle! Gets 20mpg highway all day long with the 6.0 power stroke. I do recommend the bullydog tuner to make it have more pickup."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Lie after lie

September 3, 2012
By Marc
from Annapolis md
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I drove all the way out and was told the car was sold. Called again and was told the vehicle was across the street. We drove back out to find a huge Piece of junk. I have never scene so much caked on mud and dirt on a vehicles undercarriage. The rust, leaks, etc. Stay away from the 2005 excursion. This truck is trouble. So are the salesman."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Towing
-22points
1out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

largest truck i have ever owned

April 2, 2012
By cookiemonster
from raleigh , north carolina
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this truck for the purpose of going on camping and tailgating trips. It is large enough to carry everything we need and more friends also. Have only owned it for about one month now and I can see this truck lasting for a very long time. It had only 70924 miles which is very low."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this SUV

September 4, 2011
By Excurion owner
from Holley, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my Excursion, it is a 2005 limited. Had it since 2009. I owned one previously ( a 2002 excursion)concerned about gas prices I traded for a brand new traiblazer. Less than a year with the trailblazer I traded it in for a 2005 Excursion limited. I love it Can't believe Ford stopped making them. Have only put brakes on it. Don't know what I could ever replace it with.."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Truck ever we are on our second.

April 24, 2011
By Exursion
from Long Island New York
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"if the rating stars went uo higher then 5 i would put the highest. BEST truck ever, we had 2, first one we had was a new 2000 light blue one we used for pulling our 35ft travel trailer, it felt like we weren't even pulling anything. I have 4 kids and everyone had their own space, they loved it. The second we got was a 2005 Eddie Bauer, loved it. We bought it in 2008, along with a new travel trailer to go with it. Sadly on our vacation to florida with the excursion and trailer, we flipped rolling 5 times going 70mph. Everyone was safe and un-injured. Safest truck a person can buy for a family. Loved it, and miss it. we used it for everying.. camping, hiking, around town, everyday car. SO MUCH BETTER THEN A SUBURBAN."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved it!!!

April 16, 2011
By dj895cse
from NYS
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased a pre-owned 2003 Excursion XLT with a 5.4L V-8 in August of 2003 and it was my daily driver for 7 seven years. We live in NYS and drove it to Florida, Canada and everywhere else on family vacations. We have 5 girls and the Excursion comfortably seated everyone, luggage and all. It performed well and was surprisingly responsive for the largest production suv on the road. I logged 196,000 carefree miles and replaced the alternator in 2009. It was the most reliable vehicle I've ever owned! Sadly it was totaled in 2010 in a rollover accident, but I was able to walk away without a scratch or any pain what-so-ever. Our girls are in college and we no longer have a need for a large vehicle but I would recommend it to anyone who is in the market for a safe, reliable and comfortable large suv. The only downside is of course the $$$ for gas..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ultimate suv

June 20, 2009
By ford fellow
from Tucson, Az
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My wife and I bought an '05 Eddie Bauer 4x4 with the Powerstroke in Febuary and havn't regretted it one bit. "The Lady" as we affectionately call her has great comfort, quietness inside, good road manners for a truck her size and suprisingly good milage for a diesel. We average around 13 to 14 in town. Off-road ability is outstanding and manuverability is good. We can make a u-turn on a 4 lane road with no problem.
The interior is easy to configure and the cargo room is great especially with the tie downs in the back.
All in all a great truck.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2005 Moose!

February 27, 2009
By Happy Camper
from Left Coast
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I recently purchased 2005 4x4 Excursion Limited has just been acquired to replace aging 1999 Expedition Edie Bauer. The excursion retailed for $54,000 in 2005 and has all the bells and whistles of the Lincoln Town Car Limited from that date. Engine is V-10 gas with excellent power. Thing is a dream to drive.
This Excursion gets 10 local and 16 Freeway if you don't push it. That means it averaged under $O.35/mile for gasoline when I bought it.
Good rig for utility chores, hauls full size gun cases and tools without lowering seats, excellent performance in Winter snow and for mountain passes when required. Not daily driver, smaller rig that gets upwards of 25mpg freeway for that.
Why you ask then? People were panicking out of these things and so I was able to purchase it for $19,900 after tax (>$18,000) with 42,000 miles, and it is in beautiful condition, which included trade value of $7500 for my 1999 Expedition, which had 108,000 miles on it.
Total cost per mile is therefore less than most economical new SUV because of reduced capital cost.
Wonderful Sport Utility Vehicle, and that is what I use it for!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

88k and running strong!

July 23, 2008
By Powerstroke Excursion Family
from Nampa, ID
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"For hauling people and towing a big trailer, the Excursion with the 6.0 diesel can't be beat! 20 mpg highway empty and 11 to 12 mpg running around Idaho with a GCW of 19000#. Can't complain...."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

THIS IS THE THIRD DIESEL EXCURSION OWNED BY ME

December 5, 2007
By SQUIDMCRD-Sailor @ Marine Corps Recruit Depot
from SAN DIEGO, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Positive comment-seating better than my M/B E 320 Cabrio
Inadequate front and rear shocks when towing 11,000 lbs. Brochure states, "when adequately equipped" and Ford supplies no suspension upgrades with a hitch weight of 1,000+lbs.
One cannot get a factory trailer equipped vehicle to tow 11K lb trailers and must get a third party upgrade, which is pricey.
Hesitation on acceleration in the 6L diesel which was not evident in the 7.3L diesel. And the lighter engine should have had revalved front shocks, for it is squirrely on the freeways. I lowered the tire pressure (not good) when not towing and reduced my speed.
Would have been nice to have the integrated brake controller!
After a car wash, one must wipe down every door jamb and rear deck lid. Could have been sealed better.
I bring it to the auto craft shop for their lift and do the service myself and it is not difficult.
16.3 mpg when not towing.
Twin I Beam front suspension like a truck, but pricey alignment!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The only SUV to own for rural Alberta lifestyle

March 6, 2007
By rmk
from edmonton
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Ford Truck mechanical quality and reliability for work or play.
Diesel engine pulls heavy loads >10K lbs with ease. Bobcat or 4 place enclosed sled trailers no problem through the Rockies.
Excellent diesel fuel economy and power.
Huge fuel tank 167 Litres 600+ mile range non towing.
Very stable ride, unit weighs 8500lb full of fuel with family of four inside.
Need to use a little more break effort because of this weight.
Excellent HVAC system
Very comfortable seating and layout.
Excellent rear & side visibility.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

King of The SUV Hill

October 13, 2006
By Pete
from Long Island, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Gas mileage is about 15MPG. The power is excellent and so is the visabillity. Great Truck, would buy again!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

simply great

September 3, 2006
By DUB HUD
from Hartford, WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This vehicle was a pleasure to be in for the driver and the passengers. The seats were incredibly comfortable. the handleing was alright although a bit loose. i also like it's offroad capabilities."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2005_Ford_Excursion
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Broncotz

May 24, 2006
By Broncotz
from Harford County, MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The only thing wrong with this truck is the gas mileage. It has alot of room, and pulls a 32ft trailer like it is not even there. I have the V10. Gets about 8.5 miles to the gallon fully loaded & pulling a 9000lb trailer."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.