Customer Reviews for 2005_GMC_Canyon

2005_GMC_Canyon

Average Customer Rating:
3.846 of 5
3.8
 of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
9 of 13(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2005_GMC_Canyon
Review 1 for 2005_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

friendly, reliable, beautiful looking, 4 wh dr.

September 6, 2013
By small pick-up truck
from Brainerd, Mn.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I really love it nice in and out. looks like a new one
well taken care of. Roll-up turneau cover on the box.
I really like that. looked for over a month, finally found
one.... Just right for me
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2005_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome truck

July 22, 2012
By texas guy
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"nice truck alot of room good gas millage love my truck nice options motor is real good really nice truck"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2005_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Used Truck

June 18, 2012
By butch
from overland park kansas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought the above truck, a one owner with 79000 miles. I have driven it for over 2 months and am getting 29 mpg in the city. It looks great and I have had a lot of comments about how it looks. I really like the cool feature of the sun roof automatically closing when you trun off the engine. It handles great and I am impressed by the pick up and go it has,"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2005_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good ride

January 27, 2012
By The bodyman
from kentucky
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"had this ride since 2006- drove 6 yrs and only had to do routine service- and a 129.00 fuel sensor. just did the brakes at 90k. good gas mileage, still the same battery, a little snug for me on long trips- i'm 6'2' 200lb. Great engine and really smooth trans and 4whl drive...nice stereo and great hanfdling on the highway."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2005_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great ride and mileage

March 12, 2011
By MN canyon
from MN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought mine used in early 2010, one year in now and glad I did. I have the 4WD club cab and the 4WD was great to have this winter, shifts into smoothly and handled the snow effortlessly. With gas prices going up the 5 cyl is also nice on the wallet. I pull a simple 16 ft boat in the summer and it handles that well also. ZERO mechanical issues, even for a used. Routine maint is all I have invested."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2005_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Dissapointing

January 2, 2010
By CaryG
from Auburn Hills Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Purchased this truck with 26k miles. Once it hit 40k miles engine light keeps coming on. found our it was the gas cap and oxygen sensors. Runs rough. Should not have these problems with 75K on truck. Inline 5 does not work. Heard it from dealers everywhere. Trade is horrible."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2005_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best small truck I ever owned

January 20, 2009
By JT
from Stamford Ct
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this truck new in 2005,loved the look. I really didn't need a new truck, but couldn't pass up the price. It's a Sle reg cab 4wheel drive 5 cyl, it does everthing i want it to do, nice ride, light plowing, plus i get 27 mpg on trips. I'm very happy with vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2005_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Most troubled truck

December 28, 2007
By aircraft enthusiast
from fresno, ca
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have owned several GMC trucks and this one has had the most trouble the day I drove it off the lot. Good power and handling but with a cost of engine troubles.Every owner I have spoken with has had the same reaction. Major engine trouble just out of factory waranty. With severe engine noise after repairs."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2005_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

trash for cash

December 22, 2007
By construction worker
from California, Corona
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"worst truck I have ever owned.I am done with GM.Gutless always going to the dealership to solve many issue's."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2005_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Have Owned 3 GM Pick-Ups...

November 10, 2007
By Love Mid Sized PickUps!
from Washington, DC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have owned three GM mid-sized trucks. My old S-10 models were amazing! I traded in my 2002 S-10 for a 2005 Canyon, and was excited about the redesign. I have had numerous problems with my truck. Read the service bulletins BEFORE buying. The Canyon has among the most bulletins (103 for the 05’ models). I have had my transmission slip, my a/c and defrost blower went out, the car hard shifts between 1st and 2nd (very common complaint), I have had to replace my speakers, the tailgate is difficult to open, the truck idles terribly, and to top the cake my engine light just came on! My truck is not quite three years old! I have performed all applicable service on it. I am tired of taking it to the dealership. All of the problems I have had are all listed service bulletins. Always complete research before buying a car! I want my old S-10 back!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2005_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good truck at the right price.

March 21, 2007
By Jim
from Cleveland, Oh
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have about 31k on my 2005 crew cab 4X4.
Great truck, can haul people and stuff. Good in the summer and winter in cleveland. With factory tires, I've very seldom had it in 4WD---some times I put it in just to be safe.
With a couple of 2X4s providing support, the bed easily holds 4X8 sheets of plywood or drywall. Easily handles a load with the Z85 suspension.
I've had it on trips to WV and also towed (has factory towing) the biggest 2 axle Uhauls loaded with stuff and with stuff in the bed---both times the truck performed well with the auto/I5 combo. Great truck on the highway as well as in bad weather---good ride.
Only real downsides are: 1) it is really long and I still don't have the hang of urban/mall parking. And 2) it needs a better tuned exhaust---it just doesn't sound beefy---alhtough it is."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2005_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

IAM VERY HAPPY

November 4, 2006
By A TRUCK OWNER
from UTICA,MICHIGAN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I LOVE MY CANYON WHAT A TRUCK GM HAS DONE A GREAT JOB WITH THIS TRUCK I OWNED A GMC SERRIA BEFORE I PURCHASED THE CANYON AND LET ME TELL YOU IAM VERY HAPPY WITH THE PROFORMANCE AND THE STYLE OF THIS TRUCK THE POWER FROM A 5 CLYLINDER
INLINE SURPRISED ME AFTER HAVING A BIG TRUCK WITH A BIG V-8 ENGINE THANK YOU GMC YOU HAVE MADE ME A HAPPY CUSTOMER
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2005_GMC_Canyon
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A truck thats just right

June 20, 2006
By Armyguy
from kansas city
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought a 2005 canyon, whith the off road package, crew cab, the 3.5 liter inline 5 cylinger engine. I managed to get the truck used for $23,000 with 6,000 miles on it.The truck drove wonderful, very smooth and very quiet as well, somtimes i can barely tell its running when idling in traffic or similar conditions without looking at the gauges because the I5 puts out very little vibration. Has great acceleration more than i will ever need and plenty of 220 horsepower for any type of hauling or towing that a young man as myself will ever do but its rated 4,000 pounds of towing capacity will leave me open to anything i will probably want to tow. off road it handled great but im not a hard core off roader so this truck is perfect for the conditions i will want or run into. The 5 clyinder 220 horse engine has given me great gas mileage so in these times thats a big plus since its not a 6 cylinder or a 8 cylinder i get great mileage but still without losing alot of performance for being a 5 cylinder.I would recomend this truck to whoever is more a truck person than a car person and wants great performance for the average truck guy. The looks are awesome nice and sporty with good ground clearance and fat wheel wells. Came with mud flaps and chrome side step bars wich also help that sporty look as well. i get plenty of storage in the cabin and alot of room for my legs and head. An 9 hour road trip was quite comfortable. the stero sounds awesome and very loud. and plenty of safety features. the push button for wheel drive is so easy to use. overall this is a great midsize truck for the average truck guy."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.