Customer Reviews for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata

2005_Hyundai_Sonata

Average Customer Rating:
4.706 of 5
4.7
 of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 of 17(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata
Review 1 for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great vehicle

March 19, 2012
By Family Sedan Owner
from Miami, Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my fourth Hyundai and the second one of this specific model, a 2005 Sonata. The 2002-2005 Sonata models are , I believe, the best mid-sized cars Hyundai has produced so far. Their styling is truly classic and the V6 engine is an economic wonder!! I would recommend this car very strongly to anyone."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

reliable car

June 11, 2013
By average joe
from minnesota
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"bought my 2005 hyundai sonata gls with 2300 miles on it. for the price, i thought it was a great buy. this car has been very reliable with only routine maintenance, tires, oil changes, breaks, ect. i drive a lot of highway miles and average anywhere from 26-29 mpg depending how fast i drive. the only negative thing about this vehicle is that i replace the low beam lights on it often. Still own this car today with 280,000 miles on it and it drives as good today as when i bought it. Replaced plugs at 275,000. found that firestone tires work the best for this vehicle. Got 95,000 miles out of the last pair of FR710 and currently have 45,000 miles on my current set"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2002 Saturn L200

May 23, 2013
By Mar
from Easton Pa.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought my son his 1st car from Auto America couldn't of been happier... The car runs GREAT salesman are VERY helpful and the owner is a very nice guy to do business with... If ur looking for a good vehicle I'd definitely recommend AUTO AMERICA... Thanks again for the great experience..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very reliable

May 11, 2013
By Lots of in town driving
from Iowa
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my Sonata used about 5 1/2 years ago. It has over 172,000 miles on it and is still reliable as ever. I do routine maintenance and have only replaced the brakes, battery, and tires so far. I've also replaced the headlights multiple times, but that's an easy fix. I drive mostly in town and get 19-22 mpg. It's starting to rust just a little near the windshield. I love the leather and moonroof, but wish the seats were heated. Sadly I'll be getting rid of my Sonata soon due to extensive hail damage (repairs > value of my car), but plan to look into buying another Sonata because it has been such a great car for me."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Better than nothing

February 23, 2012
By Andy
from Philly
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"this car is only good for first 50-70 k after that it lives in the shop, would never by hundai again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hyundai Sonata

November 7, 2011
By Rajeshkumar
from Maryland
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a 2005 model Hyundai Sonata last July 2011 and I am happy about the car. It is 2.7 liter 175 bhp engine - it is powerfull! even with 5 people in the car it runs as if I am the only passanger, so far (last 4 months) no additional expence appart from regular oil change. I am not that comfortable with the driver side seat height it is too low, but it is ok.
I am getting 15miles/galon in City and 27miles/gallon on Freeway.
The tyre grips on the road nicely, so that I have fine control on the driving.
Some how the brakes are not that impressive.
Interior of the car is just amaizing I love the interiors then the exterior look.
Overall this car is value for money appart from the problems due to the fact that it is 6 year old car.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressed with Hyundai

February 3, 2011
By Hyundai fan
from Greensburg, IN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We purchased a 2005 Hyundai Sonata in 2007. It has been the most reliable vehicle we have ever owned. We also have SUVs, but I would much rather drive the Sonata because it's zippier for quick trips around town. Gas mileage is very good, comfortable seats, plenty of leg room and a spacious trunk. Very impressed with Hyundai!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Whoda thunk it?

August 20, 2010
By HiddenJewel
from Pensacola, FL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a really nice car. I'm no kid. I've owned lots of cars. This is one that is fun to drive, economical and suprizingly not too small. I've had some small econimical cars in my day, but mainly go for the larger Crown Vic type of cars. When I tried the Sonata I was stunned at the nice ride, comfort, and nimble handling. I drive 60 miles to work, so my intent was to downsize from my Mercury to something less gas hungy. I'm Six feet, 200lbs, so I'm not huge but not tiny either. I tried a bunch of smaller cars and didn't like either the buzzy rides, lack of power or overall style and comfort. I would ask myself, "can I ride this car for 300-500 miles a week and still like it after a year". Almost always I came up with the answer, NO. Then I tried out the Sonata. It had enough ZIP in the engine (V6), smoothe quiet ride, and with the pseudo manual transmission, it's was a blast to drive. I left the dealership "thinking" it over and went back the next day to buy it. I'm glad I did. I have the full blown version with all of the upgrades. I highly recommend them too. About my only 2 minor quirks are, if you're taller than 6 feet, the sun/moon roof moulding will touch your hair or head. I think you lose about 1-2 inches of head room if you decide to get the retractable roof. The leather seats while nice and firm and of good quality, strong leather, might be a bit firm for some. I find them perfect, but my some might like a little softer cushion down there. Perhaps it's only an issue with the leather seat option. I would not hesitate to advise a friend or family to buy one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car very reliable

August 16, 2010
By Sonata Fan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had a 2005 Sonata LX and I love it! What a great car. It has over 75,000 miles and its still has never had an issue. I just get the regular maintenance done on it. It rides smooth and accelerates great. It looks like the Jaguar but for a fraction of the price. Overall it’s a great car and I have been very pleased with it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Work
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most reliable new car I have owned

July 27, 2009
By Primus
from Minneapolis, MN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought the 2005 Hyundai Sonata (top of the line model) at the end of the model year. I was looking for bulletproof reliability and this car was supposed to be just that. And it was. I drove it for almost 3 years and and about 17,000 miles. Not once did I have to take it back to the dealer for repair work. Just did routine maintenance. I paid about $14,000 and sold it for $10,500. Not too bad. I was 100% pleased wit the car. Would buy another one if the need arose."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

170,000 KM (over 100,000 miles) still going strong

July 8, 2009
By Owner
from Carleton Place, Ontario
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We loved this car's looks and we have had it since new. We have had ZERO problems with reliability. Normal replacement of battery and break pads has been the only "expensive" items. Easy to maintain yourself. Air filter for example takes seconds to replace unlike a GM we owned which was nothing but a money pit even under warranty!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty good car with minor flaws.

December 9, 2008
By BigGuySLC
from Salt Lake City, Utah
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We are getting a new car shortly and trading in our sonata,I have been reading some reviews of other cars and wonder how many were written by car companies well anyway on to my review. My wife and I love our car we are both big people and we have ample room in our car for road trips however back seat room leaves a lot to be desired. handling and performance are great with enough get up and go to make almost anyone happy but the manual shift is really just a gimmick i think i have used it 10 time in the 2 years we have owned our Hyundai. Location of the cruise control is one of my pet peeves on this car te controls are right on te steering wheel like normal cars but the switch is down on your left by your interior light dimmer really hard to switch it while driving and it turns off everytime you turn off the vehicle. Not a big issue but an issue nonetheless. Overall this car did great we only have had 2 minor problems with this car and they were fixed for free by the dealership promptly. Loses resale value quickly"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

high performance luxury

January 19, 2007
By street car inthusiast
from upstate new york, Ny
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this car gives great performance and great styling very good cost for what you get all wheel abs disc brakes 170 hp and the fun of shift tronic or slap shift"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Most Reliable Car I've Owned"

November 2, 2006
By Proud Hyundai Owner
from Long Island, New York
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I own a 2005 Hyundai Sonata. I Love it! It has a V6 engine. The pick up is great and so is the mpg. It looks ever so close to a Jaguar other than not having the jaguar on the hood. It's very sporty yet casual. My husband own a 2005 Chrysler 300 and loves driving my car. We actually will take the Sonota for our road trips because it drives so nice. It's handles great in the rain and snow. Those are the times I use the manual shift. It's so easy to use.This car is basic and luxurious. Definitely affordable and the Warranty is out of this world. There is no better."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Poor-Man's Jag.

September 15, 2006
By JP4200
from Fort Wayne, IN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently purchased a 2005 Sonata GLS and I am suprised at how much I enjoy it. I like the fake wood grain trim on the inside, the ride is smoother than my Oldsmoblie Aurora, and the slapstick makes passing fun. The 170 hp V6 feels faster because you can downshift to engage the DOHC, it shifts automatically once it gets to the red-line at 6500 rpm. The stock stereo system, while not a Bose system, sounds suprisingly good after you tweek it. There is ample trunk space, I have had 3 sets of golf clubs in it with room to spare. The only complaint I have is the upholstry on the seats, but seat covers are relatively cheap. The 2005 body style very closely resembles a Jaguar making it attractive to the eye. I never thought I would buy a Hyundai, but once I drove it that thought went right out the moon-roof, another nice feature. If you are looking to buy a car I would recommend at least test driving it, you will be suprised, the 2006's are made in America, and do not have the Jag body style, so go for the '05."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car!

August 1, 2006
By jn15
from cincinnati, ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I really like the way the Sonata drives and handles. I'm getting about 25 mpg. combined city and highway driving. Handles well in summer or snow.I've experienced absouletly no problems and has 25,000 miles on it since I bought it in July, 05!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2005_Hyundai_Sonata
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car for the money

May 12, 2006
By Hyundai fan
from Springfield, IL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a 2005 Hyundai Sonata V6 a year ago. I have put 32,000 highway miles on it thus far. The car is wonderful. It feels like a luxury car - wood trim, slapstick shifting, sun roof, etc., but was sold at a reasonable price. It has superior styling to the competitors, and has beautiful exterior lines that glisten in the sun similar to a Jaguar. This is my first "adult" car after law school, and I feel spoiled. Test drive one before you buy anything else if you are looking for classy sedan with some power."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.