Customer Reviews for 2005_Acura_TL

2005_Acura_TL

Average Customer Rating:
4.594 of 5
4.6
 of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 32(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2005_Acura_TL
Review 1 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting Car

December 11, 2009
By Go Buckeyes
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Recently bought this used. Most impressive feature: very stylish, even after five years. Tons of interior features -- a highly intelligent car. The 270 HP engine accelerates with a snap. Brakes are awesome. Handling feels tight and "European" (a big compliment). Front wheel drive is not for everyone, I suppose, but I like it. Dealing with Illinois winters, I certainly wouldn't want RWD. (Would prefer AWD, which reportedly is available on more recent models . . . maybe someday.) Like the in-dash, six-CD-stack player. Not sure what else the Acura designers should have done with this vehicle. So far, we're extremely pleased with this vehicle, which gets great reliability marks from the consumer guides. Seemingly, a great value."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2005 TL

April 19, 2014
By Father
from Fallston, MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a 2005 TL w/nav with 74,000 miles on it for my son to drive to work and school. This is a phenomenal car. Even at 8 years old it is tight, handles very well, has amazing performance and is very comfortable to drive. I was so impress I bought an '06 for my other son to drive. I highly recommend the TL if you're looking for a great used car in the $10k-$12k range."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Under estimated vehicle on the road.

December 15, 2013
By that A**hole in the TL
from philadelphia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Please read i know my cars. Ill start off by saying im an infiniti guy. I love the g35 coupe..........then i bought the Acura TL dark blue dark leather interior, 155,000 miles. This car was dangerous for me. It drove like a dream, very comfortable & sporty at the same time! you can sit back and drive normal and instantly snap into a race mode, not that racing is good but the car hustles at the command of your foot loyally. Im the guy who merges on the highway going faster than the people already on the highway, excuse my wreckless actions but i know a good car when i drive one. The handling is the best in its class and closest to BMW ide say. The Torque is nowhere near Nissans 3.5 for all you nissan drivers reading. You have to apply more pressure on this pedal to go unlike the nissan you tap it and your gone. But while your going around 60 and you punch it the thing is a monster, and the handling holds up as if it can withstand the top speed of the car, switching lanes never felt so secure, and was never blinded by high beams or bright lights with the blue dimmed side mirrors and auto dimming rear view. i highly recommend you at least drive it, i sold it only because i had no service records for it & the way i drove it i didnt want to have anything go wrong while driving at high speeds. I constantly look at this car for sale though, tempted to buy it again. Very sleek and quiet....under estimated."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect

August 11, 2013
By honda 4ever
from Poughkeepsie
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've built integra after integra over the years, but I've always wanted a 04 to 08 TL 6 speed I finally bought one in gun metal grey with 74,000 on it and its 6 speed its so great I mean great for anyone! I do recommend the 6 speed over auto and I installed after market torque converter and shift bumps are a thing of the past I feel everyone should at least test drive one. They are the top of the line in the 04 to 05 body style tho"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great experience

April 17, 2013
By Tamika
from Philadelphia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Autobahn Motor Group was a great experience for me. The staff is so great and knowledgeable. Katherine the finance manager was a pleasure to work with. She gave me the best deal and totally looked out for my interest as a customer. I bought a car from them and I LOVE my car.. I will be referring everyone I know to Autbahn Motors. They have a great selection of vehicles to choose from..If you are looking for your dream car, like i was, go to Autobahn Motors located at Broad and Cheltenham Ave. Thank you Cars.com"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

finally found it

August 19, 2012
By commuter dad
from Frederick, MD
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Took a long time to find the vehicle I wanted. The vehicle is a little over-priced because of its name (and mileage), but worthy of its reputation. Haven't had a moments trouble with it since the purchase. This car had 191,444 miles on it when i bought it, but that didn't deter me in the least...I am planning to get at least another 100,000. My daughter is just 12 and I plan on it being her first car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not an acura again

April 12, 2012
By Honda lover
from Colorado
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I've owned 2 hondas before and accord and a civic. Then i got the acura thinking it will be reliable as the other hondas. 2 months after i bought it i had to change the timing chain and it started losing power after a little while. I sold it in less than 6 months. I probably won't buy another acura ever."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
-10points
1out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

acura TL

February 13, 2012
By acura man
from Richmond, Va
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this car the day after christmas and have not looked back. The interior is seamless and flows very well. the cd player is very accessible and does not distract you while driving. Bluetooth works well with the Iphone and sounds clear. I would recommend you to go and test drive the car so you can enjoy the same things i have for weeks now."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

had one b4

January 2, 2012
By had one b4
from little rock, ar
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this is an awesome car. would buy again in a heartbeat.all the features you could ever want, heated seats, nab, bluetooth, leather, and great pick up, omg…awesome"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2005 Acura TL

December 26, 2011
By First Acura Experience
from Cedar Rapids
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a red 2005 Acura TL with 60,000 miles on it. This car handles and drives like a dream. There is some road noise but it's not overly loud. The performance of the car has been phenomenal. It handles and accelerates very well. The turning radius is not as tight as some sports cars I have driven but it has not detracted from the experience for me. So far, this is is the best car I have owned."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

first car for son

May 24, 2011
By srob
from mpls, mn
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"After looking at other mid to small sedans the Acura TL stood out. Black ext with tan leather int., plenty of pick-up, small enough to minimize blind spots but can hold 4(or 5) comfortably. Small gas tank so the range is low. Haven't figured out mpg yet. Killer stereo, GPS, heated seats. My son is looking at rims and window tint to spice it up. Only have owned car for about two months, no big problems other than the stereo buttons have a mind of their own."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sleek, smooth and stick shift

May 13, 2011
By Luck Pusher
from San Diego, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had been eying the 2004-2008 TL for quite some time. I think it has one of the best body styles out there. I looked for MONTHS trying to find a stick shift and truth be told they are super rare. When a 2005 6-speed came up online, I went direct to the dealer after work and bought it.
Although the performance is incredible and powerful, the gas mileage is awful. You have to use super premium, which is *extra* expensive on top of the crazy high prices they are already. I get maybe 23 miles to the gallon. But, I figure for it not only being a luxury vehicle it is incredibly reliable. A small price to pay for that piece of mind.
Upsides: they also hold their retail value fantastically and have a lot of perks: navi, butt warmers, dual climate control, power everything, etc.
A couple of downsides which may seem trivial at first, but actually have become quite inconvenient. There is no light in the glove box. Also, my head rest creates a blind spot when I look over my shoulder, and I had to remove it completely. Although I suppose if you're not 5'4", it may not be problem.
Overall, great pick."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2005 Acura TL A-Spec

February 16, 2011
By Roch TL
from Rochester, MN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have the manual with A-Spec package, which is a great combo for performance and driving excitement. There is minimal torque steer for a front wheel drive, excellent in corners and plenty of power. The audio system sounds great as well."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Poor battery & cooler weather (50-60s) performance

December 30, 2010
By NoAcuras4me
from Orange County, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I've had 3 batteries replaced under 4 yr for 05 TL. The machanics @ dealerships state part of the issues was I was only commuting less than 15 mi/day & for less than a hour. Ever since then, I've been super cautious to not even leave my door or reading light accidently on, or listen to the radio when the engine is off at any pt. Few wks ago, it died again. Guess b/c I didn't remove my key from the ignition while the engine was off for less than 10 minutes. Now I have a carry a generator in my car in case I'm strained alone. Car stiffens in the morning & colder days. I will not purchase an Acura again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-7points
2out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

most reliable car i have owned and fun to drive

October 29, 2010
By rob
from fayetteville, nc
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"not as fun as the bmw 3 series but way more fun than th merc c class. incredibly roomy in front and back. so many standard amenities that cost extra in bmw or merc. interior styling excellent. acceleration in excellent although there is a little lag on take off. good in hot and cold climate and the front wheel drive is good in snow and rain. only problem is that this cars has oversteer and can eat up some tires really fast. and the gas mileage can suck if you are not careful."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just buy an Accord & save yourself some money.

September 20, 2010
By driver
from Maryland
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have owned an Audi a6 prior to the TL
I always liked the design of TL but once i owned one the quality of assembly just is not there.. RATTLES, SQUEAKS, Uneven gaps in interior plastic paneling..
The car feels very flimsy going over bumpy city roads..
The power & technology are awesome.. but both get eclipsed by sub-standard fit & finish on the interior..
Anyways maybe they have improved the fit & finish on the newer models but the gen-3 of TL was a miss IMO. So at least with an Accord you don't pay the premium...
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Buy In This Segment

September 3, 2010
By Pittsburgh TL Lover
from Hanover, MD
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this car! I have the 6 speed with the Brembo Brakes on the front. This car is not necessarily a rocket off the line but it is fast and it reaches speed effortlessly. It is also fun to drive in a spirited manner as it sticks to the road like glue around corners. The car came loaded (premium sound system, bluetooth, navigation and voice activation). I did not care for the Michelin MXMV (?) tires that came with it but I replaced them with Bridgestone Potenza RE 960 AS and they made a noticeable difference in performance and handling. I had some minor issues with the manual transmission initially when shifting from 2nd to 3rd gear. The dealer tried a few different things before switching to GM transmission fluid which did the trick. Mine is Abyss Blue Pearl and I often get complements on the appearance. For you car guys, this is one of those cars that you stop and look back at whenever you park. I purchased mine used in 2007 with 24,000 miles and currently have almost 90,000 on it. I look forward to getting behind the wheel every day and I would recommend this car to anyone who enjoys driving. During spirited driving you may notice some torque steer under heavy acceleration due to the Front Wheel Drive (FWD), however if you live in an area that gets any snow you will truly appreciate the FWD dynamics. Gas mileage is average and premium fuel (91 Octane) is recommended and is all I've ever used, but I've been rewarded with many miles of effortless cruising all while being entertained by the ELS surround sound system. I paid $25K when I bought it used in February of 07 (manual transmissions although a little rare are cheaper in this area) and I have never regretted the purchase. I look forward to many more years of happy motoring in my TL."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

July 25, 2010
By Long Island Car Enthusiast
from Long Island, NY
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the best all around car I have ever owned.
Starts right up in the morning, no matter what the weather is like outside. Cold starts at 12 degrees is no more difficult than when the temp is 95 degrees out there.
It handles well on wet or dry roads. No problems in moderate snow. Great in rain.
This car is a pleasure to drive. Very comfortable and it handles very well. It is not easy to find a car that does both well. This one does.
I plan to keep this car for a long time. I love it and think it is SO MUCH better looking than the new 4g version. The new generation car performs well, but that silly "Big Smiley Face" grill is just to cartoon-like to drive around in. Maybe ACURA will redesign the 5G to look classy again."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

JUST GO BUY IT~

July 1, 2010
By BATMANS BLACURA
from Hamden, CT
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my 3rd acura and prior to my purchase of a 2005 tl black on black i decided to test drive a bunch of cars to see if something got my attention. I did so and nothing compared to this car for what you get for your money! Dont bother with other cars. This is the best car in its class!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2005_Acura_TL
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the best!

April 17, 2010
By bergerhoo
from Minneapolis, MN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Though I sold BMWs for 17 years, I now own a TL with 95000 miles, and it is the best all around car I've ever had. No car is perfect, and there are things that could be a little better on the TL, but it doesn't get much better than this.
Things that would improve it:
Timing chain instead of a belt.
Longer wheel base.
Less front bumper overhang.
More direct road feel.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.