Customer Reviews for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee

2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee

Average Customer Rating:
3.573 of 5
3.6
 of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
15
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 star
8
41 of 68(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Review 1 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my jeep, all of them!!!

October 1, 2012
By Jeep owner
from Gaithersburg, Maryland
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my 5th Jeep Grand Cherokee. I have loved every one of them, only SUV I will buy. 80K miles of trouble free driving. Will be buy a New one in the spring."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

JGC Limited: Glad I got it

February 13, 2010
By Trux
from Florida
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have put close to 100,000 miles on my V8 Grand Cherokee Limited over the last 5 years. It has only been to the shop for scheduled maintenance and a couple of minor repairs (tire pressure sensor on one tire and the multi-function switch on the steering column). I love the exterior styling (the interior could use some improvement, esp hard plastic on the doors, etc...). It handles very well, and has been a pleasure to drive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Really Grand Cherokee

February 13, 2009
By Scott
from South China, Maine
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this in '07 with just under 40,000 miles on it. In the first week I hit a deer. There was a lot of damage, all the sheetmetal from the front bumper to the windshield had to be rebuilt, along with the radiator, trnsmission cooler, and air conditioner core. We were going 60 when we hit the deer, no one in the car got even a tiny scratch. We had it fixed right away, and have been enjoying it ever since. It is the "basic" Grand Cherokee (with the V6 and all wheel drive), but has all the features I need. It can pull my boats and get through the camp road during mud season. It is really good in the snow too. Around town I consistently get 18 - 20 mpg. On a trip from Maine to Virginia I got 24 mpg. It is very comfortable to drive, even long distances."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Vehicle, Bad Engine?

September 3, 2014
By Jeep Lover
from Bay Area, CA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Its hard to say anything bad about a vehicle that carried my family for the last 8 years. I would sell it to a family member, now that is has a new engine. At 74k miles the engine blew. It cost us 5500 to replace comparable to a probable 3500 to repair and they weren't sure that would fix the problem. Just one day it wouldn't move. We took very good care of it, and at 74k miles it was 7 years old, so we didn't drive it into the ground etc.
I am sad to say this happened right after it was officially paid off and here we are again with payments.
It didn't turn us off though, I am already looking at the new laredos :)
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Vehicle

August 11, 2014
By John D.
from Medina Ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have had this Cherokee for 2 weeks and love it so far. The engine is the 5.7 HEMI and the performance has been great. I tow a trailer and you don't even know it is back there. My gas mileage has been very good, 21.5 MPG for mainly highway use and 15.2 MPG pulling the trailer. My 2002 GMC Envoy would only average 15 MPG highway and 11 MPG pulling a trailer, I am looking forward to using the 4WD this winter. It should be a huge improvement over my Hyundai Sonata with Kumho tires."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fabulous

June 19, 2014
By Rooster
from Greenwood, Indiana
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A great vehicle absolutely love it. I'll never own anything but a jeep. Very reliable dependable vehicle. Fun to drive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Jeep

May 31, 2014
By MPC
from Colorado Springs, CO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This Jeep has been great for me. The Hemi power is awesome and it is bar none the best vehicle I have ever driven in the Colorado snow. Also, this thing has the best turning radius for a SUV. It is very fun to drive."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first vehicle

February 17, 2014
By Girl loves Jeeps
from Fremont, OH
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very good Jeep! I have a 4.7L V8 4WD 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited. It is very comfortable, the heated leather seats are relaxing and it doesn't take long for it to warm up when it's cold outside. The navigation radio is great and fun, something I've never had before. It's got lots of space for storing things and is a great family SUV, though it only seats 5 people total. Jeeps are customizable I've noticed so I wouldn't be surprised if there was an option for third row seats. I'm so happy to have it!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nice, but unreliable

October 27, 2013
By 05 jeep
from NY
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We loved our 05 grand Cherokee until we encountered many issues. They began to happen around the 70k mark. initially, the issue was due to the automatic headlights. Jeep replaced the switch 3 times and it did not stop. We could not use the auto headlights. they would constantly flash. Then, around the 120k mark, the car would just stop running at 70 mph! That was the last straw. We just traded it in on a 2013 honda pilot."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

durrible little maintenance needed

September 12, 2013
By daily road distance
from Kansas City, MO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This 05 3.7 of mine I've had since 09, bought it with 35000 on it and had to have the transmission rebuilt due to water getting in to transmission (was a recall on the transmission dipstick tube coming loose from transmission so it was free) have been running with no issues besides the normal brakes every 35000-40000, and fluid changes. It just hit 200,000 and the heater core began to leak, little to my knowledge that it was, but then found out when I overheated and caused head gasket to break. Overall this has been the best jeep I have ever had, very dependable, those of you who try to complain about location of where the heater core is (behind the dash) need to realize that is the location where most vehicles have it located. I am expecting to get many more years and miles out of it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

JUNK

August 15, 2013
By huckster
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"The 3.7 is junk dash has to be taken out to replace heater core ,junk ,new dodge trucks made in Mexico ,keep it I guess I will buy Korean or japanese"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dependable and nice ride

August 12, 2013
By Robert
from CT
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased new the 2005 Grand Cherokee V8 with all wheel drive, sunroof, skid plates, tow package, leather interior, and off road package. As of 2013 I have 60,000 miles and have had only minor problems. In the past seven years I had to replace the interior compartment fan switch $250, the transmission cooler hoses $300, and the key ignition switch $240. None of these would have left me stranded on side of the road.
My jeep runs well. The chassis still feels tight/solid when driving. All of the leather interior looks new. The jeep runs very confidently in snow, sleet, and rain. Mileage is 15 in the city and 21 on the highway. This is my third jeep purchased new. My first was the 1994 and second was the 1999.
I have considered other vehicles (BMW, Range Rover, Denali) and always come back to the Jeep mostly since Jeeps are known for having the best 4 wheel drive system on the market and I am 6 feet tall and like to step up in to my cars.
My plan is to have the 2005 Jeep until 150,000 miles or until Jeep comes out with a body style that I prefer better. New model types seem to arrive every 5 years so that may be 2015 or 2020."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Do Not buy one

July 15, 2013
By JeepUstink
from montgomery, ny
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought an 05 grand cherokee fully loaded in 06. After 60000 miles I have had to replace the engine, transmission 2x (yup two times). Is that all that needs to be said? I think so."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

capable

March 18, 2013
By scott
from seatlle wa
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great suv, awesome in all conditions and very fast, comfortable. never let me down towing or in the mountains."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Towing
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

5.7 LIMITED

February 26, 2013
By mountain runner
from Washington
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"ive owned the jeep for about a year, started with 95k miles now at 102k. the jeep spends more time on snow and ice then pavment. its the fully loaded model and it handles great in the snow. gets decent mpg for a 5.7 i get around 20 mpg hwy and 14ish in town. its extremely capable and no issues thus far. great for towing and long trips. only complaint is the buttons on hvac control are starting to wear threw. great suv recommend to anyone who needs a capable 4x4 suv thats fun and reliable."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best SUV out there!

January 14, 2013
By Jeep James
from Salt Lake City, UT
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my '07 Jeep 4.7 Limited in October 2012 and I love it. It came fully equipped with everything but the rear DVD entertainment system. This is the best SUV I've owned and it gets me through any conditions without any hesitation. I have a combined 22 MPG and with the 4.7 it has more than enough power to get the job done. When I take my dad to his doctor appointments he loves riding in it because he can easily slide in and out of the seat because the leather doesn't grab his pants like cloth seats would."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

STAY AWAY

November 19, 2012
By Jeep Dude
from Washington DC
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"These people showed me a Jeep .I sat in it started it and turned the heat on it would not go off. Showed me anything told me it was the car fax.It was clear the car was in an accident . Most of the cars looked like they where in a junk yard bought back to life.Please save yourself the trip."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-11points
0out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

run away

October 24, 2012
By average joe
from Boston,MA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought a 2005 silver jeep grand Cherokee laredo brand new in January 2006 this being my third jeep i thought it would be reliable like my 1989 jeep cherokee and my 2000 jeep Cherokee. the 2005 had problems since the start. it stalls in traffic and and the alarm goes off if you use valet key the air conditioner had to be completely replaced in 2008. i probably went thorough 10 sets of brakes. i have to change the battery a least once year. the most recent problem i have right now it overheats in traffic also. this jeep has been 76,000 miles of problem."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great car but not very smooth

July 31, 2012
By Car guy
from Los angeles ca
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This car is fun and looks great but even with new rotors car shakes at above 65. Sweet looking and I like the interior and love the phone option. Stereo good but rear speakers placed in position where they get muffled. Stunning looks though. I got the Hemi and even though mpg suffers I found other jeep engines too slow for me."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2005_Jeep_Grand Cherokee
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Buyers Remorse

July 3, 2012
By mistaken
from Indiana
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Three major fixes within 80000 miles. There is a reason the salesman tell you they wouldn't purchase this without buying the extended warranty. I will never buy another jeep in my life. Stupid on my part!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.