Customer Reviews for 2005_Jeep_Liberty

2005_Jeep_Liberty

Average Customer Rating:
3.567 of 5
3.6
 of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
3
20 of 30(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Review 1 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

63K

June 19, 2014
By lobo
from Massachusetts
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"After faithfully doing scheduled maintenance, oil changes, etc., etc. the engine suffered a catastrophic failure--likely a bearing or a broken bolt, or some part of the block--at 63K miles. Jeep is unconcerned and is offering no compensation. The engine has to be either rebuilt or replaced."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The little SUV that could

November 22, 2013
By jedi105
from New York
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"First, to all thos out there who rate this vehicle poorly after purchasing one used I have one thing to say. People dont often sell their cars to dealers unless there is something wrong with them. So shame on you for not doing your due diligence and checking the cars out stem to stern before laying down the cash. To me, this truck is amazing. I too bought it used and it had a few problems, but repairing it was a dream. Parts were inexpensive and they were very easy to swap out. This little SUV is quick, agile, can haul a ton, handles the beach with aplomb. 4wd is amazingly capable in stock mode and when you upgrade it it is even more so. My only issue with the car is the sparse interior. Its kind of boring and a bit uncomfortable but hey, its a Jeep. If I wanted comfort over capability, I would have bought a Grand Cherokee. And in true to Jeep form, you cant kill these things. Mine has 175K miles and I have seen them with 250K plus still running and looking great. Take care of it and it will take care of you."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Diamond in the rough

July 15, 2013
By Farcepts
from Philadelphia
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very reliable and dependable SUV. The best in its class if you are truely holding it to its purpose or multi purpose. Renegade series is best class of all the liberty models. Comes ready to go where most others in its class will have trouble going. Comfort is sacrifice for utility and performance, but its worth it, because its not as bad as you might think. Engine has sufficient power to get the job done. Lots of low end tourqe, but not alot of top end power once you are at high speeds on Highway. But its a suv, not a sports car. Love this suv, tried all the others in its class, and by far this is way above the rest in both price and performance. Comfort was the only thing it fell behind to (not by far) when compared to Honda CRV, Toyota Rav4, ford escape. But these other mini-suv's fail in everything else. Only thing I would reccomend changing, are the tires that come with the Liberty from the dealership. The Goodyear Wrangler SR-A hurts the performance of the Liberty with its lack of grip on snow, dirt, rain, and sometimes dry roads. Upgrade to better tires if you want the best performance for your jeep. The liberty renegade is truely a underated and over looked mini suv."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Lemon

June 20, 2013
By RG
from Kansas City, MO area
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought this car used for my daughter to replace an old Buick. We were better off keep the old Buick. Nothing but problems since we brought it home. Power steering pump needed replacing, oil drain plug doesn't stay tight so oil leaks, cracked radiator. We checked car fax but I believe we were ripped off. Stay away from a used Jeep."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Toughest Small SUV

March 2, 2013
By RickyDee3312
from Massachusetts
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"They Jeep is the toughest vehicle that I ever owned. My daughter had a accident roll over in one without a scratch. My wife was rear-ended, the other car was heavily damaged, the Jeep had on damage(the spare tire absorbed the impact) It is powerful enough in town, but the mileage is poor. Tough as nails."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nice new ... warranty expires - Problems $

August 3, 2012
By JP Davis
from Columbus Ohio
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought new and loaded. Actually really liked it's compact size and handsome style. All was well under warranty and then ... wham. Have followed the recommended maintenance schedule precisely and now have 100k. Since warranty expired have had to replace transmission, power steering pump, A/C blower motor, power mirror motor, and numerous other inexpensive but nevertheless quality related parts and repairs. Please understand that I do not consider replacing brakes pads & rotors, tires, and so on as quality issues but rather consider normal costs of car ownership. My issue with Chrysler Jeep is Quality ... or lack there of. Have been buying Jeeps for 30 years. No more Jeeps or Chrysler products ever again. Done for my lifetime."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Never buy a this vehicle for economy

May 1, 2012
By Cupid
from New Berlin, WI
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Original equipment should be included with every used vehicle - if not, it does not even come close to "excellent" condition... Be careful and review what should be included before you make a purchase."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not sure yet

April 9, 2012
By slamminsam
from Evans City, PA
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Had vehicle one day, it has been recalled for safety issue. Chrysler-Dahlmler has not notified. I like exterior design and 4x4. Handling and comfort could be less like a truck, i.e.- Too stiff a suspension and driver's left foot has no comfortable resting position ( much like sitting at a dinner table).
Vehicle's interior stains with mere touch of any liquid and is extremely, if not impossible, to remove including water from opening door to rain. I am fearful of lowering window because of window regulator reported issues. Powertrain has ample acceleration for western PA. terrain but lacks MPG which is associated with manufacturers claims, i.e.- 18 MPG city. Lucky to get 14 and I don't drive in the city or have a "hot foot". Jeep liberty is not a truck, and most buyers are not looking for a truck. Exterior is an A, interior a C-. Handling and performance a B+ and fuel economy a D-. As far as manufacturer concern for reliability a D.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I love my Jeep Liberty

December 4, 2011
By Jeep Fan
from Cedar Springs, MI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I really love my Liberty but wish it was getting better Gas milage. I also have a 1998 Grand Cherokee Laredo that I have owned for the passed 10 years with over 200K miles on it and it gets better gas milage then the Liberty."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

not a family vehicle

November 1, 2011
By Jeep mama
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I absolutely loved this vehicle! I have owned in for 4 years. However, I bought it pre husband, babies and dogs...It fit me perfectly, always reliable, great in winter or off road but is WAY too small for a family! Small backseat is almost impossible for car seats."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love my Jeep Liberty

October 4, 2011
By Liberty Girl
from Georgia, GA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This a a beautiful, reliable, stylish SUV. I bought it for my daughter and she absolutely loves it for going back and forth to school."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth every penny

August 10, 2011
By Mea
from Il
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have a jeep liberty for over 6 years. Never Get tire of it. Always give me a brand new car feeling every time when I step in. Very very reliable. Especially winter. I have no worry to get to anywhere even in the worse condition. It's a powerful ride. Very quiet, comfy, adventure ride!! Highly recommended!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great yr. round car!

June 24, 2011
By ♥ my Jeep ☺
from Fenton, MI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I will be saying good bye to my awesome Jeep liberty diesel this week and getting a Jeep patriot limited soon...hopefully the next owners will enjoy this awesome ride as much as i have...i am feeling seperation anxiety...but i think i'll ♥ my leather interior & sunroof in my newer patriot starting next week! Great car in the snow & on dirt roads (i live in the country in MI). Enjoy your ride!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Vary Nice SUV for The Money

February 17, 2011
By Jeep Junky
from New Hope MN.
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this Jeep Libert new in 2005 I have never had any big problems with the drivetrain I have just under 100000 miles on it and she just keeps humming along. In MN this year we had a snow storm that droped 18" and the 4 wheel drive worked awesome I drove 22 miles to work in 10" of snow and drove my co-workers home that night ( they had to leave there cars at work they were snowed in ) What I dont like about it the engin seem a bit under powerd for me but then agin you cant get one with a V8 ( man that would be cool ) so over all I'm vary happy with my small SUV Jeep Liberty."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spectacular!

January 14, 2011
By Bia
from NYC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I Love this Truck!
It was great in every aspect of it...
Much better than I expected to be when I first got it...and the best part is, it makes you feel so safe on highways especially on extreme weather...
I definitely recomende this car.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GREAT SMALL SUV, STYLING IS NOT LIKE THE OTHERS

January 13, 2011
By JEEPSTER GUY
from WEST CHESTER PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"PROS: EXTERIOR STLYING, RELIABLE, GOOD VISIBILITY, GET UP N GO, 4WD
CONS: SEATS THAT GET STAINED EASILY (CAR COVERS REMEDY THAT), MPG COULD BE BETTER
SOME REVIEWS HERE STATE THE OBVIOUS, THAT IF YOU PT VEHICLE THROUGH HARD USE OR RIDE THE BRAKES, YOU WILL BE REPLACING THEM SOONER, PRETTY MUCH HOW YOU DRIVE ANY CAR. IT NOW HAS 83,000 MI (BOUGHT USED W/52,000) WHAT WE REPLACED IS THE FRONT BRAKES, SET OF TIRES (W/ALIGNMENT) AND THE POWER STEERING PUMP. NOTHING ELSE HAS BROKEN DOWN. WE HAVE HAD THE CAR FOR 3 YEARS NOW. IT SHOULD LAST US FOR AWHILE, BUT WE MAINTAIN THE VEHICLE AND CHANGE THE OIL EVERY 4K MILES OR SO. I LIKE THE LOOKS OF THE JEEP STYLING CUES: ROUND HEADLIGHTS, BUMPER FLARES, INTERIOR IS RETRO-MOD GREAT YOUNGER PERSON CAR. THE ONLY REAL CON IS THE GAS MPG OF ABOUT 21/17 THAT WE HAVE SEEN OR AROUND 18-19 MPG EVERYDAY USE. I LIKE TO GET ABOUT 22-23 FOR A SMALLER SUV TYPE, BUT IT IS RELIABLE."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Quality

December 15, 2010
By Cincy Deb
from Cincinnati
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a used 2005 Jeep Liberty and found the overall quality to be outstanding. It is easy to place in 4WD when needed."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Never Again... makes me sad

December 10, 2010
By Sports Car Enthusiast
from Miane
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Bought new, 2005 LOADED, have had nothing but problems. Replaced calipers, ball joints, brake pads 3x both front & rear. Put $4000 into it so far after warranty. Gets stuck in snow. Too light. Good height, blind spots on sides of windshield. Nice heated seats. Not enough power for me and mechanical problems are a disappointment. Looking to trade it in. Makes me sad. I had a 1992 cherokee which I LOVED and drove until it died. I wanted the same thing and thought Liberty fit the bill. I was wrong."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great teenager vehicle

March 10, 2010
By Happy Parent
from Tallahassee, FL
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought a used 2005 Jeep Liberty for our 16 year old and I have to say it has been an excellent vehicle! We have had no mechanical problems at all with it. It doesn't have alot of bells and whistles but it is very sporty, easy to handle and stands up to wear and tear. She was hit by a driver running a red light and the car took the impact really well, with minimal damage. Highly recommended as a vehicle for a young driver."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2005_Jeep_Liberty
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This is no Crossover!

February 26, 2010
By Jeep Owner
from Los Angeles, CA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We owned a 2005 Jeep Liberty for over 4 years. The Liberty is not a crossover,
it tips in at over 4200 pounds. This makes it safe in an accident, but the MPG is not that great. EPA rated at 17-22, but we never saw 22 mpg on the Freeway. We averaged more about 18 mpg combined. The 3.7 is just peppy enough for a vehicle of this size and weight. I handles decently, and you sit nice and high. But more like a truck than a crossover.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.