Customer Reviews for 2005_Kia_Sedona

2005_Kia_Sedona

Average Customer Rating:
3.809 of 5
3.8
 of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
15 of 21(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Review 1 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

KIA

June 24, 2013
By bestdeal
from ST PAUL
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"NO MUST WORSE VAN EVER OWN.I WOULD NEVER GO THERE AGAIN,YOU BUY CAR ONE DAY ,THEN IN MORN.NO AIR,NO SPEED CONT.WHEN DROVE CAR SEEMED OK,THEN THEY SURE WANTED TO YOU TO SIGN AND GET OUT,NOTHING WRONG WITH CAR PERSAY,BEST DEAL.CALLED BRING IN WE WILL GIVE YOU A GOOD DEAL TO FIX IT,IF I WANTED TO FIX CAR,I LET MY 5 YEAR DO IT.DO NOT BUY BEST DEAL..."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best bargain I found anywhere

December 19, 2012
By cathyluvskias
from Elizabethtown Pa.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was looking for a Rondo made by the same company but when I found this van I could not resist the bargain. The car drives very well. It is roomy to haul groceries and it is handicapped friendly which was a priority. I have to admit I am a fan of the Kia brand. I have been driving a Kia since 2003 when I bought a brand new one, it is still on the road, my grand-daughter drives it everyday. The sales person was very nice, where I bought my van. It is not a luxury model, but it has all the features I needed. Lots of windows for my two schit-zu's to lick! I am very pleased with it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Buy

June 16, 2012
By MoHusker
from Joplin MO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought the 2005 in 2012 with 52K on speedometer and now have 60K wih no problems. It rides nice and has a lot more pep than reviews would have had me think. It is a heavier car and uses a little more gas about 19 on the highway but pays for itself by not being affected by cross winds when compared to my wife's new suv. Has made a great man's van because can haul plenty. I did upgrade the headlight bulbs because I do a lot of night driving on two lane blacktop and wanted more light. Good Buy"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

February 5, 2012
By Stormey
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this 2005 Sedona in 07 and I love it, I havent had any major problems, just normal wear and tear. I have no complaints at all about the 05 Sedona. Mine is at 167,000 miles and still driving it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most realible car I've Owned

December 19, 2011
By Minivan
from Worcester, MA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had my van almost brand new and I don't have any complaints of my van I love it and I would like to buy the same brand newer year soon"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Purchased used with 33K on it.

August 8, 2011
By stephen
from Illinois
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"we purchased it used with 33,000. The rear wiper blade
works but never touches the glass..No one can fix that.
We forgot to change the Timing Belt until last week ..at 103,000..they say we were very lucky as it is recommended at 60K.
Rear wheel barring was replaced.
Air conditioner high pressure hoe had to be replaced
and starter..but at the milage of 103,000 it is normallmaintance But all and all, I would purchase another IF the price was right. We only paid $10,300 with 33,000 back in 2008.
We have had 6 Dodge Caravans, 2 Windstars..the Kia is hands down the best
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Van for Little Dough

April 11, 2011
By HAWKFAN49
from Rockford, IL
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Cons: Rear storage area is very small. Driver's seat is designed for a petite woman that not very tall. Have to fill rear window washer from the rear. Have to replace costly timing belt at 60,000 (around $500).
Pros: Handles/rides better than G. Caravan. Not too bad on gas. Lights are good. Heater and A/C works really well. Dash functions have a good design. Plenty of room to haul around 4 kids nicely. Nice acceleration and it's cheap to replace tires on it.
Summary: Not a bad van for the money. Roomy and handles well. Rotten rear storage area and the interference engine requires a costly timing belt change at 60,000 miles. If you have young children that make messes in the car and a tight budget, this is the van to buy. No sense spending big money on a Chrysler Town and Country only to have it ransacked in a few years. Spoil yourself when the kids are out of the house."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good car for the money

September 12, 2010
By ShayfromKC
from kansas city
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My husband and I bought this Van off the lot in Dec.2005. It had 300 miles on it and came with the 10yr/100 thousand mile warranty. We havent had to use the warranty yet (knock on wood)
With that being said we have had to change the break pads 3 times now. Our van has 80,000 miles on it and it seems we changed them one right after the other, in one year... Not sure why that was but now we have expensive break pads and it seems to have worked.
I would encourage a friend to purchase a Kia because of the warranty and some have. I wish Kia would quit jacking up their prices and keep them at a competitive rate."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very good van for the money

August 28, 2010
By van man
from hammond in
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"good van for family travel,body and steering very good, comfortable seating and lots of room for children and grandma"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's almost paid for.....

January 7, 2010
By Sweet Baby
from Pompano Beach
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Believe it or not, I have not needed much work done on my Kia. I have owned it since Oct,'05 and I am quite pleased with it. My only issues are man she is thirsty. I get more like 12/18 on mileage. I bought it for the crash ratings, anyway. And am I glad I did. Last year, I was slammed in the rear from a drunk that never even put his brakes on, while I was sitting at a red light. I wasn't even sore, let alone injured. Almost 8000. in repairs got done. Kia was awesome in holding up to that idiot. (Totalled his SUV, FORD)I have an issue right now with the air system and the dealer tells me, this is going to be expensive. So, in Florida, me and the two little ones will be sweating for a while. I wish they had some sort of discount for loyalty at a dealer or something to help those out who are loyal, other than only during next purchase of a Kia."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mixed emotions

August 7, 2009
By niamh
from Small town Kansas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I owned a 2005 Kia Sedona LX van which I just traded in during "cash for clunkers." Numerous little things went wrong the first year, and Kia fixed them just as warranted. However, the major problems of very poor AC and heaters, (like "they didn't work!") made me regard it as a lemon. Nonetheless, I do realize that the Kia Sedona offers more options, smooth ride, 6 cycle engine with GREAT pick up, and one piece steel frame (competitors used two or three steel frames then,) and a longer warranty. So, I have mixed emotions. My gas milage was 17mpg. I believe I just got a lemon, but every manufacture has a lemon roll off the line at some point in time. I now own a 2010 Kia Forte EX and LOVE IT!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

05 KIA Sedona

May 22, 2009
By Jojo
from Tracy
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my kia sedona a month ago and so far I am really happy with it. It has all the rooms that I need, performace wise and exterior, interior is awesome. I really love my sedona. I will buy another one if I have to. I really recomend this to a friend. My Sedona really surpass beyond my expectation. I love it. This is the best compare to any minivan out there."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value

January 22, 2009
By Dad
from Maryland
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We bought new 4 years ago and couldn't be happier with our Kia. Incredible value for the low price we paid. plenty of room, drives great, strong engine, good handling, fits family of 5 comfortably. Had a problem with AC condenser that was replaced no cost under warranty very quickly."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very disappointed

March 11, 2008
By Disappointed mom
from Rockland, MA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought this with 14 miles on it and wished we never did. Day after we drove off the lot the engine light came on and stayed on. 3 days later needed to have the fuel pump regulator replaced said it was defective. At 6000 miles had to have it replaced again. At 3000 miles had to have the rotors replaced was told they were rusty from sitting at the docks. At 6000 miles had to replace the rotors again and brake pads. At 9000 miles they need to be replaced again to stop pulsating/vibration when stopping. Will no longer cover replacements under warranty. I was told brakes weren't big enough to stop a van this heavy and need to allow more stopping time and change driving habits. The roof rack can't be tightened and bangs when windy out or going down the highway. The tires that came with the van are very inexpensive and at 24000 miles I need to have them replaced. The door seals leak air by them and that started around 4000 miles and not covered under warranty. There are so many other smaller problems we have had and still have with this van. No storage in rear for anything, can't even fit a cooler. Stay away, wished we never bought it and stuck with it unless we want to increase auto payments. The warranty was a waste of money and the customer service is horrible."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Worst car I've ever owned

February 27, 2008
By Frustated Kia Owner
from Miami,FL.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"The gear box fail before it reach 10K miles among other things, it took the shop 4 week to fix it. Once they fixed it then they started working on the minor items like the passenger door lock actuator that failed and the alliment that has never been alligned. that took an additional week. Of course no loaner while all this happened. At 20K miles, the other door lock actuator failed but i decided to hold since I need the vehicle for work. Now at 35K miles, the Alternator Died, the dealer received the vehicle on monday, and said it might not be ready until tuesday. It is now wednesday and they tell me they have not started working on it. I am guessing another two weeks without a car.
I am selling this JUNK. Poor of the person who buys it.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

STAY AWAY

February 13, 2008
By Hate Kia, Love Toyota
from New York
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased a 2005 Sedona with 10,000 back in 2006. I have had it about 1 1/2 yrs. it has 46,000 miles. We are having tansmission problems (no problem we have this great warrenty right. THINK AGAIN). We have taken it to a Kia dealer twice (drove it once, towed it once). Computer says something happened the 2nd time just not sure what. Dealer says keep driving it, it if haoppens again bring it back. Yea, i'm going to keep driving it alright. Right to the Toyota dealership that gives me the best trade in value."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best Value By Far...

December 7, 2007
By Carpool Mom
from Warrensburg, MO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So, when we went minivan shopping, we looked at literally 10-12 vehicles, and finally decided on the brand Kia after much debate. The warranty backs up the drivetrain, which helped to reduce our worries about driving a fairly new brand/Korean brand. It's big enough and has enough power to be used to haul the high school football team, as well as preschoolers. Overall, not a luxury vehicle, but for less than 22k who can complain?"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a lot of truck for the money

June 8, 2007
By Rat
from morris illinois
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I like to compare the interior of my sedona ex
2005 kia to the Bmw interior/wood trim,leather
cd stereo and dash layout.Bought new on lot in 2006 with only 5miles on odometer for $19,500.00.I've recently at 28,000 miles installed a k&n performance air filter and 5w30 castrol syntec 1/2 synthetic engine oil and have increased my average town and highway miles from 17mpg to 20 mpg.Only problem was at 11,000miles it needed new pads and rotors from my stopping all 4800 lbs of van to quickly and warping rotors.Changed my slowing stops and now 17,000 miles later still no warped rotors or bad pads.Kia at 12,000miles replaced an emission part and gas cap to wipe out a check engine light for good.Van is tight and reponsive, high winds don't budge it on the road like most lighter vans.Recently with stood 60 mph wind gusts on wide open highways.5 star safety is worth a couple extra miles per gal for my family of 4 to be safe.
Kia has a lot of van and for a very reasonable price. We need to wake up Gm,Ford and Chrysler and learn to compete for price and quality.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Buy

August 10, 2006
By Bowler
from Raleigh, NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Best for the money, A no frills but not bare bones mini van. Too bad they made the 2006 bigger driving the price up. The slightly smaller 2005 and before made the great value. I'm glad we purchase the 2005 Kia."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2005_Kia_Sedona
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

stay away

June 6, 2006
By sad sherry
from texas
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"very disappointed. breaks are going out had to replace tires due to bad alignment when we purchased. but kia made us pay for the allignment even though the car was like that with only 10 miles on it. kia doesn't take care of customer."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.