Customer Reviews for 2005_Mercedes-Benz_SLK-Class

2005_Mercedes-Benz_SLK-Class

Average Customer Rating:
5 of 5
5
 of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2005_Mercedes-Benz_SLK-Class
Review 1 for 2005_Mercedes-Benz_SLK-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun to Drive

April 10, 2014
By Head Turner
from Dallas, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have only had this car less that a month and don't have an issue with the car, but more so the dealer that sold me the car. Sold it to me with a defective tire and then has refused to make it right. Now the A/C has gone out. Not the car's fault. It is a used vehicle, after all. Car is absolutely gorgeous and so much fun to drive. Handles like a DREAM. It sits very low to the ground so you do feel every bump. Doesn't bother me at all but might bother some. I just got rid of a CLK so if you are wanting the ride of a CLK, you won't get that. It's definitely more sporty. It's definitely a head turner!! And quite a bit of trunk space which you wouldn't expect. This care is AWESOME!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2005_Mercedes-Benz_SLK-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SLK head turner

January 7, 2014
By Chris
from Scottsdale, AZ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Absolutely beautiful car...turns heads everywhere. The design is classy and ages well, this one won't ever look old and dated. Had my 350 for 6 months now with no problems at all."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2005_Mercedes-Benz_SLK-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Classy sports car

November 21, 2013
By ghsport
from Colorado Springs, CO
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The SLK is a class act in every respect. It's extremely well-made, very reliable (even after 120k miles), and VERY fast. My 6-speed 350 is just as fast as my ML63 AMG. I would highly recommend this car to anyone, its particularly amazing value as a used purchase."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2005_Mercedes-Benz_SLK-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Red rocket

June 23, 2013
By Rich
from Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I can't really comment on reliability. Have only had it three weeks. All the other areas for rating live to my expectations and more. It is an amazing car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2005_Mercedes-Benz_SLK-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Legendary MB Sports Car

October 22, 2011
By hinotes15
from Nashville, TN
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The SLK350 is a truly fantastic sports car. Equipped with the AMG Sport Package (includes ground effects kit, sport suspension, brembo brakes) and the extremely rare 6-speed manual, this car is one of the best sports cars out there. Steering is IMMEDIATE and laser-precise, acceleration is neck-snapping, clutch is lightweight but with a mechanical feel, and the 6 speed is crisp and clean.
The heating package (Airscarf neck-level heating, heated seats, automatic climate control ,and heated side mirrors) is a must-have. I have driven top-down in 40 degree weather, and with the heater blowing on my feet, Airscarf blowing on my neck, and heated seats turned up, it is perfectly comfortable. The "REST" feature is particularly neat. When the car is parked and turned off, the car will re-route residual engine heat through the cabin and maintain a set temperature for up to an hour. VERY USEFUL in truly cold weather, and will not drain the battery.
The retractable hardtop is nothing short of amazing. The engineering and attention to detail that went into the design of the roof/trunk arrangement is truly incredible. When the roof is up, the car is as quiet, solid, and airtight as any other fixed-roof vehicle. Up/down operation takes a mere 22 seconds. The SmartTop module (available aftermarket) allows the roof to fully operate on the move, up to 35 mph, a real time-saver when driving through a parking lot and looking for a space to park.
The car is perfectly reliable. I have over 92,000 miles on the clock, and the biggest problem I have had was a squeally belt, which was repaired quickly and easily. Maintenence can be expensive, but this needs to be understood prior to purchase. OWNING A MB WILL BE EXPENSIVE, but is definitely worth it.
My only true complaint about the car is the ride. The AMG sport package is fantastic for cutting-edge performance, but the sport suspension is punishing on rough roads. "Touring" tires takes the edge off a bit, but if you live in an area with truly rough roads I would not recommend the sport package.
Overall, a truly fantastic sports car. Looks GREAT, drives great, very practical, and very reliable. NOT CHEAP, but you get what you paid for, unlike some other brands. You won't regret the purchase of an SLK!
PROS:
styling
hardtop
performace
heating Package w/ auto climate control
exclusivity!
CONS:
ride quality w/ sport suspension
maintenance costs
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2005_Mercedes-Benz_SLK-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sporty SLK

October 3, 2011
By testjet
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Wow! If you want to have the fun of your life and turn heads doing it, get an SLK. Top down, airscarf up flying down the road at speeds you shouldnt be in one of the best looking cars on the road is one of the best feeling you can have in a car. I like the styling and performance, and its fun to have people rolling down there windows at stop light saying nice car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2005_Mercedes-Benz_SLK-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Actually is worth waht they advertise

April 11, 2011
By Dr. Ed
from Memphis, TN
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This has been a wonderful automobile. It is so well designed that the interior of the doors never get dirty from the road dust or even wet from rain or washing. Even the engine compartment stays pristine. Beyond that however, is the great running engine with smooth performance. It handles well and you can decide if you want it in regular or sport mode. The retractable top is marvelous."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2005_Mercedes-Benz_SLK-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love My Car

March 22, 2011
By Jade
from Frisco, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I absolutely love my Capri Blue SLK350. It is gorgeous and runs like a dream. The car handles well and has great pick up."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2005_Mercedes-Benz_SLK-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Power, power and more power

December 29, 2010
By Sports Car Enthusiast
from IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This V6 sports car has incredible power, and an incredible look! Press of a button and the top comes down in less than 30 seconds. Very comfortable, stylish and drives so nicely. Highly recommend!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2005_Mercedes-Benz_SLK-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The ride I've been waiting for...

April 7, 2007
By Mew Gull
from Northern California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The 350 SLK deals with concerns about urban security very nicely with its retracting hard top. It takes only seconds and the fit is perfect.
I ordered mine for factory delivery. All connections went smoothly & all was even better than expected. It was delivered Jan 2005; a silver 6 speed with sport suspension, navigation, heated seats and air-scarf. Euro models allow a menu of all the options, pick and choose only what you want. In the US market, if you choose the Nav system you also get the glove-box mounted CD changer. It already has an in-dash CD player and that's adequate for me, but I lost the glove-box; it's taken up with the unwanted changer.
I've seen complaints about the interior space. What? I'm 6'2" and of substantial mass; for me the interior is roomy and comfortable. I was cautioned about the limtited luggage space but found it ample; two of us spent 3 weeks touring Europe. We did it mostly with the top up because it was January. Top up, the trunk nicely held two 'wheelie" cases, one heavily laden garment bag & a medium size duffle.
Performance? WOW! This thing is amazing. The 350 offers 268 horses and the AMG V-8 antes up another 80+ horses. The 350's acceleration is very impressive and is clearly not limited by inadequate power. Who needs the extra HP? Despite fat sticky Pirelli P-Zeros that come stock, the traction control is the limiting factor. With Traction Control disabled I find that wheel spin is always on tap and therefore it is clear there is abundant torque. Handling is equally impressive. The car corners with such confidence that the driver never feels close to losing control, even on the really rough, poorly maintained, road surfaces we now find on Northern California back roads. I love the way it handles.
I have Auto-crossed with it about a dozen times and I find that my times are usually in the top two or three in my class. Of course it depends on the course, but usually the only cars faster are running race tires. It's all about getting the power to the ground so with race tires I believe the SLK could be a contender for top time of day.
The six-speed is crisp and clean with no ambiguity about the gates. I don't know about the 7-speed auto box but it sounds wonderful too.
This is a great car at a much better price than I could imagine."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2005_Mercedes-Benz_SLK-Class
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get ready for some FUN!

October 4, 2006
By SLK ALL THE WAY
from Houston Texas
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My 2005 SLK-350 is a blast to drive. get ready for some stares at stop lights! You don't see many of these cars out on the streets yet, so people are always staring at the car. I have the AMG package and this car handles really well. The NAV package is very percise, when you get to your destination a checkered flag appears on the screen. Make sure you get the Harmon K. Stereo that way you won't need to replace it, well worth the money. Hold on when you give it gas, this car is really fast. To take the top down you just hit a button and it is down and in the trunk in seconds .Buy one, You won't be disappointed!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.