Customer Reviews for 2005_Nissan_Xterra

2005_Nissan_Xterra

Average Customer Rating:
4.556 of 5
4.6
 of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Review 1 for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2005 Nissan Xterra SE

February 7, 2009
By Matt
from Arvada, CO
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This SUV (on a truck frame), is incredible! I live in the foothills of Colorado and this vehicle never fails me in the snow, which I drive in a lot. I haven't used four wheel low yet, but I hear it will get you out of anything (almost)! It is a great ski vehicle as well! One complaint I have is legroom in the back seat: it lacks it! Also, on long trips I tend to be a little sore in the back area! I have been very happy with the performance aspect, going up into the mountains is cake! I would recommend getting the premium sound system, I tried the standard and it is in a different ball game for sure! I am looking forward to towing the boat in the summer, should be a great tow vehicle as well!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dont get ripped off

February 28, 2014
By lOGG
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"although the Xterras are awesome and i would tell anyone to get one DONT GET RIPPED OFF. i bought my for 8,000! with 130,000 miles on it!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Xterra Offroad

January 31, 2014
By Xterra
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Powerful, big trunk, good 4x4, bad in snow in rear drive back end comes out too easy, good in snow with 4x4. Soft brake pedal feel."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Off Roaders Dream!

December 4, 2013
By BigRedX
from Southern California
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"These Xterras are built very solid! Extremely capable off roaders and can really take a beating. Lots of room and cargo tie downs. Seats fold up and give tons of space. I have driven mine 100s of miles in off road mountain trails in all types of conditions and my Xterra has gotten out of some very tough terrain. Great values compared to SUVs with similar capabilities."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstsanding source ... so pleased!

October 30, 2013
By Fugettabouttit
from Houston
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I worked very hard at researching just the right vehicle for my needs. I looked at many different avenues and cars.com was the top for my product source information. I located the dealer with just a phone call... test drove it and bought it within the hour. THANK YOU!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun SUV

August 13, 2013
By Xterra Guy
from Ohio
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased the Xterra new in 2005. It has been a great car to drive due to its ample power and spacious interior. I have the 4wd model and it is great in the snow,...most of the time i don't even need to put the vehicle into 4wd. I have had absolutely no problems with rust or any wear and tear issues on the interior, although i'm obsessive about upkeep. However, i did have the all to common issue with the radiator breaking and leaking into the transmission around 95,000 miles. Fortunately, I caught the issue very early and was able to replace the radiator and have the transmission flushed to prevent any damage. I have driven the vehicle thousands of miles since the initial problem and have not experienced any new problems. The car is a great and good-looking car to own!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dependable

April 10, 2012
By BB Experience
from Houston, TX
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is a reliable SUV and you can get lots of miles out of it. Stick with what works and stay away from American cars."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works hard, Plays hard.

April 5, 2012
By Mobius
from Fort Bragg NC
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is one solid SUV. I bought my Xterra SE '05 in '11 with over 100k miles on it for at the time a decent price. I love the tough look exterior, and the straight forward easy to navigate, easy to clean interior. I didnt buy this SUV with the intent to show off a pretty vehicale, I wanted an SUV that can work like a dog and can play like a dog! Whenever I needed to move things around there was always plenty of space inside once I laid down the seats. it helps that the back of the seats are tough plastics with rails and tie down points for ease of use.
When it came down to playing in the backroads, only once have I gotten stuck bad enough to get pulled out. But that was because I was in about 4FT of water. After being pulled out I had no trouble driving back home!
I dont regret buying this SUV and would recomend it to anyone who loves the outdoors, especially to those who drive in the city. For its size, I can better navigate through a parking lot than my little coupe I had.
The only complaint I have so far is the gas, 16 city, and on a flat road 60MPH steady, i can reach 28mpg. With a light foot, its not so bad."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Off-roading
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most fun vehicle i've owned

August 31, 2011
By Shag
from Rockford, IL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have a 2005 XTerra. For being full off-road and 4X4 capable, its a nice ride on the highway. I have averaged 27 mpg on the highway but intown driving is pretty hard on my gas. It has all the options i need without all the fluff i don't. The price was the deciding factor when looking at other comparables, and i've never regretted it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not perfect but may be the best thing out there.

April 9, 2010
By skeddy
from Vermont
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I LOVE driving it. No major problems. Lots of little annoying problems right from the get go. Window regulators, tensioning belt, battery, interior bulbs. Things that should not go wrong on a 1, 3, even 5 year old car. Windows have failed multiple times. The vehicle however has never left us stranded, is practical for our needs and is great in the snow. And again - a pleasure to drive. One more thing - we had kids since we bought this. Dog goes in back now, fine. But two car seats in the back leaves NO room for a third person to squeeze in with them. This was a surprise to us."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

05 X

February 9, 2010
By Kooch
from Chester county, PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i bought a 2005 Xterra S 4x4 in July of 2009 and i've loved it everyday! I live in the Philly area and this winter has been filled with lots of snow so far and this truck got me everywhere!!! Handled the snow quite well, i was passing other suv's on hills as if there was no snow. The only recomendation i have is that try to get one with VDC, Vehicle Dynamics Control, it's basically traction control. It would be quite helpful if you go out after the plow trucks come through and one of your rear wheels are on some snow and they slip a bit. In the summer i took it mudding and had a TON of fun. and took it on a few trips to the beach and had more than enough room to carry everyone's stuff. It's a great SUV for the money, especially great for a college kid like me in the NE. It's a super tough truck and inside, there's not much to it, which is good because that's less that can break. Overall i'm more than satisifed with my purchase, but wish i would have gotten one with VDC, but oh well. Oh before i forget, if you often have things in the back like i do, i would recomend getting a retractable cargo cover."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best vehicle in it's class

September 23, 2009
By Young guy's X
from Chester Springs, PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought my 2005 Nissan Xterra with 45000 miles on it and so far no issues to report at all. It handles great in the city, rougher ride, but it is an SUV on a truck frame and i like it. The seats are comfortable for long trips, took it on a 5 hour trip and loved the comfort. I've done some light off roading and it handled like a dream, can't wait for the snow to come. I do recomend if you get one of these, get a retractable cargo cover for it. I love it because there's not much to the interior, it is exactly what they say, "everything you need, nothing you don't". I looked at the jeep liberty and it was terrible, the toyota 4runner, and it was to frilly and soft. The explorer was absolutely horendous. If you are looking for a rough and ready SUV to take you anywhere get one of these, i strongly recomend it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My first SUV also my first 4X4

April 30, 2008
By Outdoor Enthusiast
from Winter Springs, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It's a very fun vehicle to drive. The only downside would be the gas milage. It's rated 16-21 so I'm getting 16."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gotta love that engine!

December 20, 2007
By Loving the roar of the engine
from San Diego, CA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I test drove this car first and no others could compare to the amazing roar of the engine, which pretty much sold me on it. My passengers have a rough time getting in and out of the back seat, due to the weird door design, but they make do, and enjoy the head room. It does handle a little rough, but I enjoy that, especially when going over curbs! While it looks big, it fits easily into most spots. My biggest issue with it is the gas mileage, usually about 12 MPG City and 17 MPG Freeway. Luckily, I work for a company that pays for my gas, so I don't experience the bang to my wallet, but still feel bad for not having a more fuel efficient vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not too shabby

July 25, 2007
By Mr. Awesome
from Denver
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"the '05 Xterra is definantly an overall great SUV, however, the interior could be much better. For starters, the back seats have very limited leg room, and theres no A/C in the back. Other than that, this SUV is an overall great vehicle."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for city and offroad

November 9, 2006
By Happy Driver
from Pittsburgh
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had my '05 XTerra for about a year and a half and love it. It's easy to maneuver in city traffic, has great pickup, and has performed well when I've had it offroad as well.
Before buying it, I read a of other reviews, and one complaint a lot of drivers had was that the seat length was a little short. If you're shorter, like me, this is actually a big plus!
I do wish it were about a foot longer, as I've had to wedge a few loads of lumber out the front window, but otherwise the wide, boxy cargo area is great.
The only problem I've had is a lot of under-the-hood squeaking - apparently there's a non-recall repair bulletin out for a plastic bushing repair that can be done, though I haven't gotten around to it yet.
Overall, it's a pleasure to drive all the time.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME TRUCK!!!!

September 7, 2006
By Bmac
from Richmond Va
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had my OR Xterra 4x4 for approx 6 months now, and I love it as much today as the day I bought it. I have had it off road only twice, but was very impressed with its manners and ability in the dirt. I had a 04 xterra and the new one is head and shoulders above the older style. More power, better road manners and nicer interior/exterior than the 04. The OR is a bit beefier with the bilsteins, just a tougher looking and equipped truck. I am so happy with it so far, I have only the best things to say about it. If you want one, I suggest you get one, you'll not be disappointed!!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2005_Nissan_Xterra
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love this car!

August 2, 2006
By carguy
from Chicago, IL
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is one zippy SUV, the ride is a little rough but very responsive. My only complaint is the material in the cargo area, packages tend to slide around on the hard plastic."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.