Customer Reviews for 2005_Pontiac_G6

2005_Pontiac_G6

Average Customer Rating:
4 of 5
4
 of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 20(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Review 1 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best car I've owned so far.

July 10, 2012
By Porsche Man
from Montgomery, AL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought an '05 G6 GT brand new in 2005. 102,000 miles later, I'm still very happy with the car and have had no issues with it. Runs well, easy to maintain and looks great!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car for an affordable price

June 4, 2012
By Average Joe
from St. Johns, MI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought the car about 5 months ago and I have absolutely loved it. I drive over 30 miles to work one way and it rides very smoothly and gets great gas mileage for a v6. Has great acceleration for merging and passing. Can get away from you a bit if you hit the gas too hard. Only problem I have with the car is that it does burn some oil. If driven aggressively it can burn through a lot of oil in 2000 miles or less. However I have no real complaints about the car, its a good looking, easy to drive, good on gas car that I think i'll keep for quite a few years."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

most piece of garbage I ever bought

March 31, 2012
By lou
from merrill,wi
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"It's nothing short of a money sucker, Ok here I go, brakes replaced several times rotors warp easily, struts ball joints, right ball joint replaced again in on year lots of clunking, rims get any little bit of anything in them car shakes alot, most interior lights don't work, most of the car is a blind spot, the list goes on for this money bucket."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE IT!

November 28, 2011
By Student from Michigan
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned my G6 GT for about 4 years now and I love it! It has been extremely reliable, never had a problem with it. Great gas milage about 23 in the city and 32 on the highway. Car drives great, and its fun to drive, fast and can handle almost any weather! Does great! I would buy another on tomorrow if I could!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What a Great buy !

August 2, 2011
By nicole
from south carolina
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchase my g6 couples of years and i had a problem out of it, all i do is change oil regularly and any sugguestions from dealership for the miles or ages i do. I am still amazed by Gas Mileage and getting 31 on the highway . I went from owning a Dodge Durango hemi to the G6 and it has been the best thing ever."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

worst car ever

May 21, 2011
By poct
from naptown
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Had this white 2005 g6 worst car I ever owned. Drove good for about a week, then the gas cap light came. Took it to the shop they couldn't stop it from happening,ok i could live with that. Then the next couple of month the ball joints needed to be replaced which were under warranty, but had to be without a car for about a week. Then the starter went out and that was the last draw. I can remember being stuck at the gas station waiting for the starter to cool down before i could leave, because the car would not start. All i can say worst car ever made would never buy this car or anything like it. OHhh only had 36000 miles when i bought it."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

October 4, 2009
By Sportz
from Durham, NC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had mine for almost four years and have had no problem. I have done regular maintenance and that is it. This car is fun to drive, gets you from point a-b, and has a decent amount of power."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Problem child

April 6, 2009
By Sad in South Dakota
from Spearfish, SD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"My 2005 G6 has sentimental value, but she's a pain in my patutty. I've had brake rotor problems every 20,000 miles. I just had the steering column replaced and now she's having new problems. She seems to constantly be vibrating from some problem or another. I love her for the short periods of time she's not wobbling or vibrating, but those times are few and far between."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Oops

February 8, 2009
By Leased it...
from shakopee, mn
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Where to start... After my new Monte Carlo, this car is a joke. Had a 2002 Monte and traded in for this. Never had a problem with the Monte (just high miles) so traded it for a 05 G6... Test drive was ok. After about 28k had to replace brakes in front and warped rotors, radio is a disaster, every time I start the car, the radio is somewhere else, the cd may come on at a random track, or a different radio station... weird. Dealership says never heard that one and won't fix it. When turning, a pronounced clunk is heard/felt in the front end. Speakers are CHEAP. Starter is going bad. MAY 09 Lease return, yay!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE IT! (so far)

January 30, 2009
By Scared Used Car Buyer
from Orlando
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I had never bought a used car and was very nervous to do so; however, the economy required me to look at used cars when my old Buick died a month ago. So far, I love my "new" 2005 Pontiac G6. Smooth performance & handling. Fantastic 6-speaker sound system. Sunroof. It's a bit smaller than my previous car so I'm not quite comfortable with the seating yet. I'm still not certain about gas mileage but seems to be in mid-20's around town. I did buy the extended warranty just in case. So far, I think I made a great choice."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great car- great value!

December 31, 2008
By High Mileage Driver
from Gaithersburg, MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've got 88,000 miles on my 05 G6 base V6 and I've been very happy with it. I bought it in April 2005, about 6 months after they first came out. At that time they only had the sedan in base or GT versions. At first I really liked the GT version, but when I realized it was $2400 more for tires and brakes that cost twice as much to replace (I had a 90 Ford Probe GT in high school and I almost went broke replacing tires and brakes on it), I went with the base version. I've been very happy with my decision. My first set of tires went almost 60k (Continentals), and my second set (Hankooks) aren't even halfway worn. The car handles very well, and the 3.5L engine has great pickup and gets 31 MPH on the highway. It goes well in the snow, even though it doesn't have the stability control (just traction control).
The only problems I've had was that the front brake rotors warped after 30K miles. The good thing is that they're easy and inexpensive to replace. So the girl who posted that the rotors and brakes go quickly is right. I replaced the battery after about 2 years, but most factory batteries will not get past 3 years.
So to summarize, this car is a tremendous value for the money, especially if you buy it used with low miles."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Tires and Brakes

October 9, 2008
By Jo Anne
from New Brighton, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Purchased the vehicle brand new. The vehicle is on its third set of tires. The vehicle is going on its third set of brakes and rotors turned. This has to be a manufacture problem. Rear window motor broken. Radio had to be replaced. Car would not start had to be towed to the dealership. Purchased a new battery last month. New windshield wipers.......the list goes on."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good value, reliable, VERY GOOD IN SNOW

March 1, 2008
By Bob-o
from sharon, WI
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this car is great for winter...good on gas. and great in the snow the car stops great!!! even on ice."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Car for the money

January 20, 2008
By Snowman
from Massachusetts
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have had this car for 5 months now and I love it. Love the full moonroof, power from the 6, power steering etc. Only thing wrong with it is due to the power of the 6 and my lead foot it does not handle well in the New England snow!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

a headache!

December 26, 2007
By disappointed
from rochester, ny
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have had major problems with this vehicle - electrical, steering, etc. Can't wait to get out of my lease!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

"Electrical Nightmare"

October 27, 2007
By Car lovin' firefighter
from Orlando, FL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought this car used in Feb. 06 with 28,000 miles. I also drive about 72 miles(all highway) roundtrip to work 3-4 days a week. I have had nothing but problems with this car, there is a recall on the electronic rack and pinoin steering, i am on my 3rd radio, 4th set of visors, the rear passenger window mower motor went out. There is an extended start problem with the ignition that after about 7 trips to the dealership still can't be pinpointed. Then most recently said "power reduced" then wouldn't start. All I have to say is BUY THE EXTENDED WARRANTY.But I love the way it drives, it is smooth on the highway yet still handles good in the city. Maybe I just got a "bad one" but I would not recommend this car to anyone except maybe my enemies."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Spluxury Car I've Driven

January 27, 2007
By Ashley
from Nova Scotia
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As a consumer who regularly test drives cars for fun, I was completely impressed by every feature of the G6. It has the feel and styling of a luxury car on the inside, with the look and performance of a sports car on the outside. The cockpit is very driver-oriented, especially love the way the computer system tracks everything and alerts you when your fluids are low or its almost time for an oil change. I've owned the car for about 6 months now and have not had a single problem with it, not even in the middle of winter in Nova Scotia."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I absolutely LOVEEEE this car! It is hot!

August 24, 2006
By Mike Carr
from Canada
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the best car I have ever owned. I would highly recommend it. I agree with the guy above about the panoramic sunroof.... it is like having a convertible.... I love it!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic!!!!!!

June 19, 2006
By Beach Man
from Chesapeake, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I love my G6. This is the best car I've owned. Before this I had a 1999 Grand Am, this blows it out of the water. The panoramic roof is so cool! I use it all the time. For those who want a car with great style, and is light on your wallet, the G6 is something you should 135% consider."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2005_Pontiac_G6
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

2005 Pontiac GS sedan

June 8, 2006
By John B
from Ontario, Canada
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"lots of problems with the brakes- severe vibrations due to rotors
Power Steering failure- this car comes with the new electic Power steering- it completely failure at 44000Km. It was under warranty at the time. The failure would still allow you to drive the car but you needed really strong arms to do it!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.