Customer Reviews for 2005_Toyota_Highlander

2005_Toyota_Highlander

Average Customer Rating:
4.348 of 5
4.3
 of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
18 of 23(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Review 1 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2005 Toyota Highlander 2WD 4 clylinder

February 28, 2014
By 4th toyota I've owned
from West Islip
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've owned three different Toyotas, a 1992 Corolla 205,000 miles, 1999 Corolla 200,000, ry and the 2005 Highlander 108K. The old adage goes, "if you take care of your vehicle it will take care of you". As long as you follow recommended services at appropriate mileage intervals, I've never had a single problem, mechanically or otherwise. I like to do service earlier than what is stated, I'm kind of OCD when it comes to taking care of my vehicle(s).
The 2005 Highlander rides very much like a car, same drivetrain as the Camry 2.4L. The build is solid, you can hear it when you shut the door, none of that tinny sound like the other cheap imports. The truck earned 6 stars last year when it snowed 35 inches of snow on Long Island, there were stranded motorists - cars and fellow trucks abandoned on roadsides everywhere. I was fortunate to be driving this great vehicle, I have great confidence that I will not get stuck, for I know the Highlander can handle ice and snow and other crazy drivers with ease. One of the best vehicles I have ever driven. My next vehicle with be a Prius! I can't wait for my next adventure!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I expected more

August 16, 2013
By Ms Consumer
from Clovis, CA
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I think my review title says it all. I expected more from this car. I drove a Toyota Camry before this car. I bought my 2005 Highlander in 2010. I had to replace all the tires, rotors, belt and brakes. The tires and rotors are real expensive because they are basically truck tires and rotors. I had to put decent tires on this car because of concerns of road noise and load on tires. The first thing I notice is a lot of wind noise hitting the windshield, (annoying). The transmission jumps, I am not the only person with this problem. I have read the reviews. Driver seat is so uncomfortable. It is too narrow and hard. I get bad back pains if I'm in the car too long. The cloth interior is another big problem for this car. It gets dirty real easy and is hard to clean. I think that this type of cloth interior for a family car was a POOR decision. It does sit seven; however, I hope your family is skinny. My family is an average sized American family and we can seat 6 comfortable and 7 sqishable. After everyone was in the car there is no room for belongings unless they are carrying them . To own this car you really have to have a storage bin on top. The gas mileage in town is bad. I think I get 15 -17 and maybe less when I have the air running. Highway gas did good. I can not wait to get rid of this car. I gave it to my daughter to drive because of her growing family. Her oldest son of 4 is turning 7 and he is already getting too big for this car. I am looking for a sedan again. This was my first SUV and I don't think that I will EVER purchase another one."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very disappointed

August 16, 2013
By looking for reliability
from Boston, Ma
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"We have a 2005 toyota Highlander. We bought it new and for the first 100,000 miles it was great. However, since hitting the 100,000 mile mark we have had to had 3 wheel bearings replaced and it sounds like we are heading toward another replacement. These repairs are pricey. The dealership was unable to diagnose the problem so a local garage diagnosed and the dealer did the repair. Having owned a Honda CRV which I drove to 193,000 and never had to have a wheel bearing replaced, I am extremely disappointed with my Toyota. I was hoping to drive it to the 200,000 mile mark but I do not trust it and we will be replacing it soon. We will not be buying another Toyota."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A RELIABLE CAR

December 14, 2012
By LINDA
from ST HELENA ISLAND, SC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I AM A PREVIOUS OWNER OF A HIGHLANDER. MY 2003 HIGHLANDER WAS IN AN ACCIDENT IN SEPTEMBER AND IT WAS DEEMED TOTALED. I THANK GOD I WAS UNHARMED. SO I PURCHASED ANOTHER HIGHLANDER BECAUSE I LOVE MY FIRST SO MUCH. A VERY DEPENDABLE VEHICLE."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Missin' my Highlander

January 10, 2012
By Toyota Fan
from Florida
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"In crash yesterday..not my fault. Car was totaled and lst day out I miss that reliable vehicle. I was stopped at a traffic light, rear-ended at approx 40mph & sandwiched between a propane tanker (!) and the offending vehicle. Me and all three grandkids were unharmed! I'm thanking God and the sturdiness of the Highlander. Hopefully, the departed will be replaced w/another Totota."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great value

December 28, 2011
By fostfam
from hartford, ct
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Best suv for the $ safe, pretty, reliable, holds valu
e. Great for ski trips, or just every day driving. Seats in way back appropriate for short legs only
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Had a wreck, replaced immediately

October 26, 2011
By Big Fan
from Athens, GA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Following a dramatic car wreck that totaled the car but protected the family from any significant injury, we went out and replaced it immediately with the exact same model. We couldn't be any happier. We have the 4 cylinder which has great pep. Highly recommended."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Bang for the BUCK

August 10, 2011
By Kyle
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a type of car that will last longer than you! I have owned a Toyota Highlander for the last 6 years and it is the most reliable car I have ever owned. Perfect for a family, or a child... Excellent Safety ratings, perfect mountain car!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very good choice.

October 1, 2010
By The One
from austin, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent vechicle. More room and comfort than appears. Very smooth and quiet drive train. Would buy this vehicle over and over again. I have friends that own them and feel the same way."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

just awesome!

March 22, 2010
By highlander rocks
from Pennsylvania PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The safety is just great! It is a mid size suv. It is a perfect car for people who are scared of car accidents. I love the headlights!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

High Marks for Highlander 2005

January 29, 2010
By Highlander Enthusiast
from Chesapeake, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"This is a very good suv to drive. The only issue that I have with this suv is that the transmission "jumps" once in a while during take off. The gears do not shift as smoothly as I think they should.
The radio has good sound, the brakes are very good, it is quite spacious (I am 5'8'). I would definitely buy a highlander from 2005 to 2007 with leather upholstery only (I have fabric). The fabric seats are too difficult to keep clean; the cloth is not the type of cloth that cleans easily."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent SUV

January 1, 2010
By New parents
from Suburban Philadelphia, PA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We have owned 3 Toyotas previously, 2 Corollas 1990 & 2003, & 1 Yaris 2007. When we needed a bigger vehicle for an expanding family we decided to go with the Toyota Highlander. After test driving both the 4 cyl and the V6 we decided to go with the V6 as it seemed like it is better suited for this vehicle. We found a used 2005 Highlander that fit our budget. Gas milage has been 20-21 MPG with 75% city driving. Driving in snow is a breeze with the 4x4. Overall performance & reliability is excellent, only regular scheduled maintenance has been required so far. Our only complaints are the lack of an outside temperature gauge, our old Toyota had that standard ... and we find the center console to be poorly designed. Also, the center position in the backseat was not adequate to install our infant car seat, we had to use the left spot to install it safely. Other then that we like the interior, we have leather seats with power adjusted front seats and 3rd row bench. In all we'd recommend this vehicle to anyone, it is very solid."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Reliable vehicle

August 4, 2009
By 1st Highlander/suvBuyer
from El Dorado Hills, CA
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchsed used Aug of 2008. Wanted one because I liked the way they looked am very pleased with performance of vehicle, however the power/leather seats are not the most comfortable they are too narrow and don't adjust to my liking, and a little too hard, however this is a good "car" The phoney wood grain is way too shiney and reflects sunlight too much aside from that I think I would buy again. Have had no problems so far. Am not too impressed with the JBL sound system unless mine just doesn't work properly?? Average about 19/20 in town and about 27 on highway (not bad for size and weight)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this Highlander

June 27, 2009
By LoveMyHighlander
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We love our Highlander. Toured across the country in it, pulling a small camper. The handling and performance were excellent even with the camper in tow. After 10,000 we loved it even more. Comfortable, clean, feels great to drive, and best of all, it doesn't feel like a klunky SUV - it feels like driving a nice car (but to be honest, no, not a sports car). Great ride, great handling. AWESOME reliability - never a problem in 5 years."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just another Toyota

April 27, 2009
By 81dog
from Cincinnati
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The seventh Toyota that we have purchased, a 2005 Highlander, is quite a bit like the other six... almost perfect. Thank you Toyota."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What every SUV should be like

July 22, 2008
By The SUV family forever
from McKinney, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We leased our very first Highlander in 2005 and it was our first Toyota as well. In fact we liked it so well when the lease was up last month we purchased it. We have averaged 27-28 MPG on the highway and topped 29 on one trip. Our in town average is between 19-21 MPG. The third row seat is real handy when we need to carry 7 people. A previous SUV of another name would not carry 4 guys and our golf clubs, the Highlander does. The only time this beauty saw the inside of the dealership was to change the oil and rotate the tires. Never had such a reliable vehicle as this, EVER. Thank you Toyota!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my 2005 Toyota Highlander

May 21, 2008
By Mr. Highlander
from Englewood, NJ
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It is smart beautiful and perfect fit...
handles great really quiet! It is comfortable for 7 people (2+3+2) family
There is plenty of room (Family Vacation/ Road Trip)
Good gas mileage.
It is by far the best TOYOTA SUV.
Fits my lifestyle - smoth comfort,
HIGHLANDER very well designed, authentic.
100% QUALITY... as every TOYOYA will RUN FOREVER...
Plus safe and Excellent Reliability
I really love It.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Handling

April 2, 2008
By Mimi23
from Dallas, TX
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the best handling car I've ever driven, even in snow, heavy rain, standing water.
Front & rear seats are extremely comfortable. Reclining back seats are good on road trips. Plenty of back seat leg room.
Expected better gas mileage. In town avg. 15 MPH; Hwy. avg is 20.
The biggest negative is the road noise!!!! Horrible, Horrible, Horrible road noise.
Other negatives: Dash design is functional but UGLY! A/C vents are poorly situated. Does not have compass or thermometer.
Despite the negatives, I would buy it again.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Expected More From Toyota

March 27, 2008
By Dental Hygienist
from North Carolina
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"After owning a Toyota Corolla my first college car. When purchasing an SUV I only shopped Toyota hoping for the same great service. I feel that had I have shopped around as I was only able to afford a base model- I think that I could have gotten more features from other manufactures for my money- I would have liked a car with the outside temp display as this is helpful in the winter predicting ice conditions. Living in the mountains esp. I think that Toyota feels that they can justify higher priced base model vehicles just because of their name. However this Highlander has somewhat uncomfortable -seats. Difficult to see out of -glad newer models have rear cameras. Also would like to see bumpers with rubber covers- these painted bumpers seem to scratch easily- and are ugly after awhile. Gas mileage could also be better-lucky for those that can afford the hybrids. Also my heater is broken, $800.00 to repair so I have chosen to just purchase an extra coat. The moral of the story- Toyotas are not made like they used to be and be sure and shop around -dont just buy a brand-"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2005_Toyota_Highlander
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

the only NEW car I ever owned

January 16, 2008
By none
from Tampa Florida
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Handling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The most inportant reason I bought this car was for good gas mileage. Sticker 21 & 26. Well not even close. The year I had to travel I 275 the best I ever got was just under 21mpg. Now that I have only a few miles to go with the air on I am getting 14.5 to 16.0 mpg. This is a 4 cyl. & I see no reason the mpg should be so low & the dealership is no help. I put nitro in the tires & now the milage did go to almost 17mpg. BUT this is still less that a 1996 Blazer 6cyl. with 80,000 plus miles. I would not but another Highlander & not advise anyone to if they want any type of good mileage."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.