Customer Reviews for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser

2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser

Average Customer Rating:
4.219 of 5
4.2
 of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
26 of 32(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Review 1 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

CruiserNoMore

March 6, 2014
By CruiserNoMore
from Gaithersburg, MD
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I really did love my 2006 PT Cruiser Touring Edition for the first few years I drove it. I bought it used in 2009. The style is perfect, but the size difference between front and back makes turning and parking difficult. I've checked more curbs than I should admit. Mine didn't have Turbo, so it wasn't the best at ramping up to highway speeds, but otherwise the performance was fine for me.
My friends complained that the backseat was uncomfortable, especially for tall people. Passengers get really confused with the center control of the windows, but I liked it. YMMV. I never had electrical issues with this car.
I found the cargo space with seats up to be very roomy for hauling groceries, boxed furniture, bricks, a commuter bicycle, bags of compost and soil... you name it, I've hauled it. I've moved halfway across the country in this car, twice. The cruise control and heat always worked great, which I find essential.
Keep in mind that I always had the car regularly maintained, tuned up, oil change, whatever it needed. Here were my non-routine maintenance issues:
The wheel bearings began grinding/moaning after about a year, especially when trying to turn or go over speed bumps (before I started hauling heavy gardening items, I swear!).
I had a recurring problem with the fuel pressure/O2 sensor/some mystery thing that brought on the engine light intermittently.
I had a problem with the AC, but I don't recall what the cause or solution was. I know that it made the car to feel like it would stall if I tried to run it. I'm not big into cold, so I didn't put huge priority on fixing it until my friends complained.
In the last year, most of the motor mounts had to be replaced, lest the engine shake the car apart.
The radiator fan assembly died in rather epic fashion, thank you.
Lastly, the engine would die when I hit a bump on the highway. This was most likely due to battery connection issues. A year ago, the same thing happened, but the terminal oozed green corrosion from a clearly damaged terminal. This time it wasn't visibly obvious. I took it as my final sign that I'd spent too much money on this beast already. Sold to a dealer, and I'm done with unreliable cars!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dependable Workhorse

November 7, 2013
By Breez
from Daytona Beach, FL
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just purchased my second pre-owned Cruiser, which says a lot about how much I enjoy the car. My first was a 2005 Base model (5-Spd Man) with 9800 miles, and my current one is a 2006 Limited (5 Spd Man) with 24,000 miles. First off, what a difference in styling and standard features that come with the Limited. Great comfort and pleasant to drive, and I've always loved the "gangsta" retro '30s styling. When I traded my 2005 it had 172,500 miles on it giving much credence to its reliability and dependability. I averaged 28 to 32 mpg on Florida highways and country roads, so no disappointments there. Engine performance totally on par for a 4-Cyl engine with smooth, strong acceleration going through all 5 gears. As far as any major maintenance is concerned I changed the oil religiously at every 3000 miles, had to replace an A/C Evap Valve around 50,000, the timing belt at 97,000 miles (average life-span), and maybe two tune-ups. Had to put in a new clutch assembly around 30,000, most likely due to the original owner not knowing how to drive a stick (reason given for why it was traded in at such low mileage), and the clutch being self adjusting to point of failure without much warning. Anyway, ended up getting a whole new tranny out of the deal under warranty. Cargo capacity is more than ample, and rear-seat configuration change options are top-notch. I scuba dive and fish a lot and there's more than enough room to transport all my gear and coolers full of adult beverages with plenty of room to spare. All that being said, as long as there are PT Cruisers on the road, I'm going to be in one of them."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car

October 28, 2013
By Love My Car
from Lawrenceville, Ga.
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So far I really have enjoy my purchase of this PT cruiser.
I feel that the car has been taken care of by previous owners. I LOVE my little PT cruiser. From body style to the performance. Excellent vehicle.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Retro Fun

March 6, 2013
By DGS49
from North of Pittsburgh, PA
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought this car 2 months ago - it's an '06 GT with the Getrag 5-speed, and had 55,000 miles on it when I bought it (I bought a 36 month MOPAR warranty). I am driving it to work daily, about 120 miles/week. I'm averaging about 22mpg or a little better with 89 octane, taking it relatively easy on the throttle.
The performance is excellent, handling is good, and it has the feel of a nice, solid, sporty car. It was very well taken care of by the previous two owners, and it is visually like new. No problems yet.
I was a little bit foolish in buying it exclusively based on internet information and reviews - I hadn't even sat in one before I went to the (out of state) dealership to pick it up. My only dissapointment has been the seating position. It feels too high to me, and the seats are not very comfortable or supportive. In fact, I can't pull up too close to traffic lights because I have to scrunch down to look up and see when the light turns green.
But the car looks and drives great. I've had several compliments, and I have no regrets. The flexibility of the interior has also been a plus, as I often have to load up with golf clubs, boxes, suitcases, and such, and there is always a configuration that suits my needs. I like the small exterior size, too, which leaves plenty of space in my garage.
In my opinion, the poor resale value is a real plus. I would not hesitate to recommend that someone find a low-mileage, clean used one, as a good everyday driver."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great fun! Turbo is great!

February 7, 2013
By ChopRod
from Coulumbus, Ohio
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have owned for two years and no problems, Its a GT convertible with the high output 230hp engine. Boy what a difference that makes. Have driven other non-turbo models with average performance. Sort of blah. But the turbo changes its personality completely- for the good. Power heated leather seats add to the comfort. It has the AutoStick but why bother it shifts nicely by itself.
Read where they put heavy duty axles and some beefed up suspension components on the GT models. Feels nice and solid. Bumps at slow speeds gives some cowl shake but doesn't at higher speeds. A lot smoother than a friends Mustang convertible which doesn't have a roll bar like the PT does.
Easy folding power top plus it has a real rear glass window with defroster. Extra inner lining makes for quiet ride with top up. Really nice to have a power window switch to lower and raise all windows simultaneously.
Have averaged 23.3 mpg with light cruising. A lot of times its around 20-21- too tempting to give it more throttle to feel the turbo rush. Top of the line models always seem to perform better overall than base models.
For fun and easy cruising, the GT with the high output turbo is the way to go!
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

sharp

January 20, 2013
By Tombyrd
from North Port FL
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'v had the PT Cruiser for one month,and like almost everything about it. However I don't know if there's any way to improve the shoddy gas mileage performance approx. 20 MPG avg.It loves gasoline. I used to have a Saab convertible that got 30 mpg on the highway so I guess I'm spoiled. So far this is my only comlpaint."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

STYLISH AND EFFICENT

January 12, 2013
By OLD SCHOOL DRIVER
from Long BeaCHM, CA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I enjoy driving mytouring cruiser, it very easy to manuever, looks great the sound system is great and the interior is comfortable"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Car I ever Owned dont buy one

August 31, 2012
By akajondoe
from MAnor
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought a 2006 PT cruiser years ago and regret ever setting eyes on it since then. The car was used but only had around 23k as I bought it from a college kid that only used it to go back and fourth to school. Honestly it was the most money I had ever spent on a car and I was hoping to get many years out of it.
The AC went out at 32K and the motor finally burned up at around 45K. We took it to a shop but didn't bother to put another motor in it. Funny why Chrysler never warrentied these poor cars past 30k
The car had zero getup and go but because it was a standard we learned to shift it better to make up for the cars poor acceleration. Seats were very uncomfortable on long car rides. Backing up at night was a pain because the reverse lights were all but a joke in the amount of light they put off.
I doubt I will ever buy another Chrysler product."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

WingNut

March 19, 2012
By Cruise
from Greenville, SC
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I couldn't ask for more in style and comfort. It's great. It's a 4 cylinder and the mileage is acceptable, but it's not speed demon, or power horse. I absolutely love it. Have a drop top and it's the best."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Run Away Quickly

January 2, 2012
By The Real Deal
from Houston, TX
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Interior Design
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This car has given me so many problems. The radiator fan on this car is total garbage. I have replaced four of them. The A/C system always gives me problems and the oxygen sensors always give me problems. I would not recommend this car to any friend of mine. I would recommend it to my enemies. They will be in a life of misery. I do not know how it is going to run from day to day."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good car

September 6, 2011
By Sistermoon
from De
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Previous owner did not take care of the car. Not that we have shown it some love, it is a pretty good car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Commuting
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love/Hate relationship with my PT

August 30, 2011
By JuneBug
from Columbia, SC
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Interior Design
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've been driving this car for 5 years, and I really do like it. It was a saving grace at just the right time and it's been incredibly reliable. Come to think of it, I owe her an oil change. It's a very dependable car and it does get really good gas mileage.
The only thing I hate about car is the interior design. You drop something between the seats, BAM, it's gone. Don't even try to get it while you're driving, you have to pull over to fish it out. It's a hard car to keep clean. Think about all the things you drop while driving, you have to pull over every time.
So while I do really like this car otherwise, it's dependable and sound, it's slightly annoying in the "everything is a curve" design flaw."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Disappointing Fuel Economy

June 4, 2011
By Roadrunner
from Tampa, FL
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this car in January 2011 at a very good price. It had only 22k miles (very low for a 5yr old car) The car now has 35k miles & I am sure it will go another 150k, but I need to get rid of it soon because it is costing me an arm & a leg in gas. I do mainly highway driving but have never managed anything better than 22mpg. I drive at posted speeds & service the car regularly.
Another complaint is the lack of comfort in the back seat. My teenge boys refuse to ride in the car if we are to travel longer than 30 minutes.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unique, stands out from the crowd

April 8, 2011
By Live4CarsFreem
from Oregon
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this car because of the versatility and the classic look that resembles curves of the 30s and 40s fords and chevy's. I owned a Jeep Wrangler before my cruiser and I'm a fan of both, but the cruiser is economical. I achieve anywhere from 28 to 32 mpg on the highway and about 25 in city driving. I also live in a town full of hills. That is pretty good compared to what others say... I have a 5spd manual and I enjoy driving the car to this day even after 5 years. I added a K&N air filter and noticed an improvement in gas mileage. I also put an after market exhaust and noticed an increase in power and mileage too. It is black on black and hit 52,000 miles. I have had zero problems but I do know I need to replace the serpentine belt in 8k."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Built Strong

February 2, 2011
By Love My PT Cruiser
from Algoma WI
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Drive's great, I love the interior design, it has such a sophicated look, the outside is sharp looking too, black shiny paint and the rear end is higher than the front and it gives it a sporty look.
Purchased this car for a great price, used.
Downfalls, leaks a little oil from the oil pan and seals, needs a rear wheel brake cylinder, back wiper motor, but all and all this is a great vehicle, gas mileage is anywhere from 15 to 20 mpgs depending on load and hwy or city driving. Also this car is awesome for driving in snow.
"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Work
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

WORST CAR EVER

January 29, 2011
By BIG HIG
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"WORST CAR EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!! BOUGHT ONE AND NOW I WILL NEVER BUY ANYTHING FROM DODGE OR Chrysler AGAIN, NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS THAT MECHANICS COULDNT TRACE."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Teeny Box on Wheels

June 3, 2010
By Family Mom
from Utah
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Handling
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exterior Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interior Design
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have owned my PT for almost 2 years, and while it was the right price at the time, I wish I had spent more time shopping around. It has a terrible turning radius, worse than my old Ford Explorer. We bought it when we only had one child and could put the carseat in the center. Now that we have two kids, in order to fit an infant carseat in the back I have to have the passenger seat scooted as far forward as possible, making it so when I sit in the passenger's seat my knees literally touch the glove compartment. It does not have a lot of power, it is very sluggish shifting when accelerating, and going through canyons makes it struggle a bit. The bucket seats in the front are hard as rocks, not comfortable at all, especially when driving for any amount of time. There is enough room in the cargo space for an average amount of groceries, but it is not deep enough for anything more bulky. I can't even fit any kind of stroller larger than an umbrella style in the back. It has literally no clearance underneath, and when we bought it we had to have the air conditioner repaired, as the previous owner had bumped into a curb or bottomed out when pulling out of a parking lot, which cracked it and leaked out all of the AC fluid. I have been told this is a common problem. We have had to be extremely careful to make sure we do not repeat their mistake. I would not recommend this car to anyone, family or no!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: No
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Transporting family
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Car!!

February 18, 2010
By happy124673
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fast, fun and no major repairs! worth every penny. The 2.4l 230hp kicks butt. The power to weight ratio makes this car jump and the turbo kicks in and makes passing other cars quick and much safer. You really can't beat this car."
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Having fun
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Car of my dreams!

September 8, 2009
By susie
from Baltimore, MD
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I loved the retro look and once I drove it I was hooked. It feels like it was made for me. Seat is just right, I can see well out of all windows and mirrors, not to big but not to little... The only complaint is that the turning radius isn't too good. My husband says that he could turn a school bus around easier then this car. (However, it is my car & I don't care!!)"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: New
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2006_Chrysler_PT Cruiser
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Gas Mileage and Practical Design

July 14, 2009
By EmilyPT
from Arlington, VA
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exterior Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interior Design
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Photos
Click to enlarge
User submitted photo
"This is a brilliant little car. I used to think the retro styling was frivolous, but turns out it's all just thoughtful, practical design.
It's roomy inside and looks big on the outside, but at nearly two feet shorter than the Honda Accord, you can park it in surprisingly little spaces while hauling more than an Accord could ever hope to hold. The back seats come out easily but I just fold them down & use the back for my dogs, or multiple bicycles, or gear for a long road trip, or a private changing area. With all seats in place, you can fit seven normal-sized adults (two in the way back facing out the back window, old school station wagon style.)
Don't believe the people who complain about the PT's gas mileage! I consistently get 400-mile tanks, averaging 28-30 mpg, and that's with plenty of city driving in Washington, D.C.'s notorious traffic, often with the A/C on. I average 24-28 mpg city / 30-34 highway. A six-hour drive mostly on highways in mountains yielded upwards of 38 mpg as reported by the car's convenient mpg display. Whether you buy the stick or the auto, you'll be astonished by how well the PT conserves gas when you set the cruise control and just ride.
Other things I love about my 2006 PT Limited:
*Sunroof!! And the high ceiling. It feels bright and open inside.
*Perfect clutch -- so smooth and forgiving, easy enough for a beginner.
*Usually either my legs are too cramped or my arms too stretched when I drive a car, but the PT seat is upright & higher than most so it fits me perfectly. Love the lumbar support!
*High clearance & fabulous suspension that offers a gentle ride even on the roughest pot-holed roads.
*Adults fit comfortably in the back seats.
*Doors open extra wide & the grab handle above the glove compartment makes it convenient for a disabled passenger to get in and out of the car.
*And it has a built-in picnic table!!
What I'd change:
*The front windows & sunroof have auto-down but no auto-up.
*Water leaves blotches on the cloth seats -- annoying but not a big deal.
*A/C vents in the back would be nice.
After I'd had the car a couple weeks, the brake switch malfunctioned causing the brake lights to stop working, but the fix was simple. Other than that, no problems.
Specs: 2006 PT Cruiser Limited Edition, manual, purchased April 2009 with 38K miles on it. Now at 41K.
Overall: LOVE IT!!!"
I would recommend this vehicle to a friend: Yes
This vehicle was purchased: Used
Primary use for this car: Just getting around
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.